Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I; 1, 2, 5-10, 18, 19, 24, 29 and 30 in the reply filed on 11/10/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 19 and 24 depend from claim 1 which requires the total carbon amount of 0 and 0.25%. Claims 19 and 24 claim total carbon amounts outside of the range of claim 1, i.e. 0.01 to 0.38% (claim 19) and 0.02 to 0.5% (claim 24). Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-9, 13, 18, 19, 24, 29, 30, 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nukui et al (WO 2021199497 cited as US 20220145021) in view of Tachibana et al (US 20180305846).
Nukui is directed to glass direct roving and long glass fiber reinforced thermoplastic resin pellet. Nukui teaches a binder for purpose of improvement of adhesiveness between glass fiber and resin. The binder is equated with a surface treatment agent.
Nukui teaches the binder is a silane coupling agent [0037]-[0039]. Nukui teaches the attachment rate of the silane coupling agent with respect to the total amount of glass direct roving is in the range of 0.010 to 0.200% by mass wherein the attachment rate is determined is determined by extraction twice by methanol [0039]-[0040]. 0.01 to 0.20% is within the claimed range. Nukui does not explicitly refer to the methanol extraction as total carbon extraction amount, however as it is a methanol extraction, Nukui’s method is equated with the claimed extraction with methanol and the silane couple agent amount of 0.01-0.200% is equated with the total carbon extraction amount.
Nukui differs and does not teach the glass rovings are woven.
Tachibana is directed to a glass cloth, prepreg and printed wiring board. The glass cloth comprises a warp yarn and weft yarn woven together of glass filaments. Tachibana teaches the woven glass cloth provides for improved drillability for the circuit board due to the SiO2 composition [0011]. Tachibana teaches silane coupling agent having an unsaturated double bond group (ABST).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to weave the glass yarns into a woven fabric motivated to produce a prepreg for a circuit board with improved drillability.
As to claim 2, Nukui teaches the glass composition has SiO2 in amounts of 52-56% or high modulus with SiO2 in range of 60-70% [0025] and therefore Nukui differs and does not teach the claimed range of 95-100%.
Tachibana is directed to a glass cloth, prepreg and printed wiring board. The glass cloth comprises a warp yarn and weft yarn woven together of glass filaments with the SiO2 in the composition thereof of 98 to 100% by mass and the glass yarn is treated with a silane coupling agent having a unsaturated double bond group (ABST).
Tachibana teaches blending the SiO2 in the glass composition to almost 100% in attempt to reduce permittivity and dielectric tangent [0009]. When the SiO2 is increased to almost 100%, hole drillability by a mechanical drill used for low permittivity substrate may be remarkable deteriorated [0009]. In order to solve this problem, a glass cloth comprising a warp yarn and a weft yarn woven together, the warp yarn and the weft yarn each being a glass yarn comprising multiple glass filaments, wherein
one of the warp yarn and the weft yarn is a glass yarn comprising glass filaments each having an amount of SiO2 in a composition thereof of 98 to 100% by mass [0038], the other of the warp yarn and the weft yarn is a glass yarn comprising glass filaments each having an amount of SiO2 in a composition thereof of 45 to 60% by mass and an amount of B2O3 in a composition thereof of 15 to 30% by mass [0037]-[0039].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to employ a high silica glass composition motivated to improve the drillability of the printed circuit board.
As to claim 5, Nukui teaches a binder, equated with surface treatment agent, of a silane compound such as those listed in [0038]. Examples of the silane coupling agent include aminosilanes (such as γ-aminopropyltriethoxysilane, N-β-(aminoethyl)-γ-aminopropyltrimethoxysilane, N-β-(aminoethyl)-N′-β-(aminoethyl)-γ-aminopropyltrimethoxysilane, and γ-anilinopropyltrimethoxysilane), chlorosilanes (such as γ-chloropropyltrimethoxysilane), epoxysilanes (such as γ-glycidoxypropyltrimethoxysilane, β-(3,4-epoxycyclohexyl)ethyltrimethoxysilane), mercaptosilanes (such as γ-mercaptotrimethoxysilane), vinylsilanes (such as vinyltrimethoxysilane and N-β-(N-vinylbenzylaminoethyl)-γ-aminopropyltrimethoxysilane), acrylsilanes (such as γ methacryloxypropyltrimethoxysilane), cationic silanes (such as N-(vinylbenzyl)-2-aminoethyl-3-aminopropyltrimethoxysilane hydrochloride and N-phenyl-3-aminopropyltrimethoxysilane hydrochloride), and methacrylsilanes (such as 3-methacryloxypropylmethyldimethoxysilane, 3-methacryloxypropyltrimethoxysilane, 3-methacryloxypropylmethyldiethoxysilane, and 3-methacryloxypropyltriethoxysilane). As the silane coupling agent, these compounds can be used singly or in combination of two or more [0038].
Of the above mentioned silane coupling agents, Nukui teaches vinylsilanes (such as vinyltrimethoxysilane and N-β-(N-vinylbenzylaminoethyl)-γ-aminopropyltrimethoxysilane), acrylsilanes (such as γ methacryloxypropyltrimethoxysilane), and 3-methacryloxypropyltrimethoxysilane. The disclosed silanes meet formula (1) as noted in Applicant’s specification [0079] which describes the silanes as vinyltrimethoxysilane, 3-methacryloxypropyltrimethoxysilane, acryloxypropyltrimethoxysilane, 3-acryloxypropyltrimethoxysilane, 5-hexenyltrimethoxysilane, or mixtures thereof can be used.
As to claim 6 and 7, Nukui teaches the claimed silane coupling agents as disclosed in Applicant’s specification and therefore X is an organic functional group that does not form a salt with an ionic compound and does not contain an amine or an ammonium cation. The X groups have unsaturated double bonds and amino groups and therefore do not contain amine or ammonium cation.
As to claim 8, Nukui teaches a methacryloxypropyltrimethoxysilane which has a methacryloxy group.
As to claims 9, 19 and 24, Nukui teaches the methanol extraction, which is equated with total carbon extraction, is in the range of 0.010 to 0.200% by mass which is in the claimed range of less than 0.2%.
As to claims 13 and 18, Nukui and Tachibana are is silent with regard to bulk dissipation factor. As the combination of Nukui and Tachibana teach the same materials and structure as claimed it is reasonable to presume that the property of bulk dissipation factor is inherent. When the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention the examiner has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § 2112- 2112.02
As to claims 29 and 31, Nukui differs and does not teach a printed circuit board substrate.
Tachibana teaches a silane couple agent treated glass substrate that is woven for use in a printed circuit board. Tachibana teaches the silane treated glass filaments with high SiO2 composition provide for improved drillability.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to produce a printed circuit board from the glass cloth motivated to produce a printed circuit board with improved drillability.
As to claim 30, Nukui teaches the silane binder treated glass filaments are used as reinforcement in a resin. Nukui differs and teaches a thermoplastic resin.
Tachibana teaches the prepreg is in a matrix resin which can be thermosetting or thermoplastic [0203]-[0204].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to impregnate the glass cloth in a matrix thermosetting resin motivated to produce a printed circuit board.
Conclusion
/JENNIFER A STEELE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789