DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 7, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by McMurtry et al. (US. Pub. No. 2006/0283034).
Regarding claim 1, McMurtry et al. discloses the invention where 14 is an articulated probe head; 8 is a first member; 12 is a second member coupled to the first member such that its orientation relative to the first member about a first axis can be changed between, and locked at one of, a plurality of predefined indexable orientations (see [0044]), wherein the first member and second member can be unlocked by separating the first member and second member along the first axis so as to thereby enable reorientation of the second member relative to the first member about the first axis (see [(0044)]; 10 is a third member coupled to the second member such that its orientation relative to the second member about a second axis can be changed between, and locked at one of, a plurality of predefined indexable orientations (see [0044]), wherein the second member and third member can be unlocked by separating the second member and third member along the second axis so as to thereby enable reorientation of the third member relative to the second member about the second axis, wherein the first and second axis are not parallel; and at least one powered mechanism (see [0050], solenoids 74) for controlling the separation of the first member and second member along the first axis and the separation of the second member and third member along the second axis, configured such that the separation of the first member and second member, and the separation of the second member and third member, can be controlled independently of each other (see [0051]).
Regarding claim 6, the stylus of McMurtry et al. includes a mount for receiving a tool (see [0030]).
Regarding claim 7, McMurtry et al. discloses the engagement elements as claimed (see [0044]).
Regarding claim 16, McMurtry et al. discloses that the articulated head is used with a positioning machine ([0002]).
Regarding claim 17, the method as claimed will be performed when the McMurtry et al. device is used in accordance with the McMurtry et al. disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McMurtry et al.
McMurtry et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, McMurtry et al. does not disclose the specific motors and drives of claims 2-5. The motors and drives of claims 2-5 are all old and well-known variations of the ones taught by McMurtry et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use the motors and drives as claimed in combination with the McMurtry et al. device based on manufacturer and/or end user preferences.
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McMurtry et al. in view of Jones (EP 0 637 729).
McMurtry et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, McMurtry et al. does not disclose the props as claimed. Jones discloses that props may be used for the purpose of locking and unlocking two relatively moveable members in different orientations (see col. 3, l. 23-col. 4 l. 23 and FIGS 1-3). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use the props of Jones in the manner as claimed in combination with the McMurtry et al. device for the purpose of locking the members of McMurtry et al. in different orientations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/GEORGE B BENNETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855
gbb
6 OCT 2025