DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 21, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 2, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroyuki et al (JP 2011-258760) in view of Takeya et al (EP 3930018), Yamazaki et al (US Pub 2010/0025676), and Saitoh et al (US Pub 2018/0151595).
In re claim 1, Hiroyuki et al discloses an inorganic/organic hybrid complementary semiconductor device comprising: a substrate (i.e. 10); a p-type organic semiconductor layer (i.e. 2s); an n-type metal oxide inorganic semiconductor layer (i.e. 1s) between the substrate and the p-type organic semiconductor layer (i.e. see Figure 5; see at least paragraph 0019, subsection (8) and paragraph 0021); and a protective layer (i.e. 1i, 2i) between the p-type organic semiconductor layer and the n-type metal oxide inorganic semiconductor layer, wherein when viewed from a direction perpendicular to a main surface of the p-type organic semiconductor layer, the p-type organic semiconductor layer is disposed and thus at least a part of the p-type organic semiconductor layer overlaps the n-type metal oxide inorganic semiconductor layer or the p-type organic semiconductor layer does not overlap the n-type metal oxide inorganic semiconductor layer (i.e. it is inherent that when one of ordinary skill in the art would look at the main surface of the p-type organic semiconductor in Figure 5 of Hiroyuki et al that at least a part of the p-type organic semiconductor layer overlaps the n-type metal oxide inorganic semiconductor layer), and a distance between the p-type organic semiconductor layer and the n-type metal oxide inorganic semiconductor layer is 1 mm or less (i.e. when viewed from the direction perpendicular to the main surface of the p-type organic semiconductor layer 2s, the p-type organic semiconductor layer 2s is formed so as to overlap with the n-type metal oxide inorganic semiconductor layer 1s via first insulating layer 1i having a thickness of 0.5 µm, a third electrode 3e having a thickness of 0.1 µm, and a second insulating layer 2i having a thickness of 0.5 µm, thus the distance between the p-type organic semiconductor layer 2s and the n-type metal oxide inorganic semiconductor layer 1s is less than or equal to 1 mm – see paragraphs 0049-0051).
Hiroyuki et al does not explicitly disclose the p-type organic semiconductor layer is single crystal layer.
However, Takeya et al discloses the use of an organic semiconductor single crystal layer in a semiconductor device (i.e. see at least paragraph 0013).
The advantage is to obtain a film with a thickness thinner than conventional layers (i.e. paragraph 0014).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the p-type organic semiconductor layer as taught by Hiroyuki et al with the use of an organic semiconductor single crystal layer in a semiconductor device as taught by Takeya et al in order to obtain a film with a thickness thinner than conventional layers.
Hiroyuki et al does not explicitly disclose the n-type metal oxide inorganic semiconductor layer is amorphous.
However, Yamazaki et al discloses the use of an amorphous metal oxide inorganic semiconductor layer in semiconductor device (i.e. see at least paragraph 0113).
The advantage is to obtain a device capable of operating rapidly and be sufficiently reliable (i.e. paragraph 0009).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the n-type metal oxide inorganic semiconductor layer as taught by Hiroyuki et al with the use of an amorphous metal oxide inorganic semiconductor layer in semiconductor device as taught by Yamazaki et al in order to obtain a device capable of operating rapidly and be sufficiently reliable.
Hiroyuki et al does not explicitly disclose the n-type amorphous metal oxide inorganic semiconductor layer has a distribution of an oxygen defect amount in a thickness direction in which the oxygen defect amount is larger on the p-type organic semiconductor single crystal layer side than on the substrate side.
However, Saitoh et al discloses that it is a well-known matter that the oxygen concentration is reduced on the upper surface side of an oxide semiconductor layer, thus resulting in oxygen deficiency (i.e. see at least Figure 9; paragraphs 0166-0173).
The advantage is to obtain a device with better aperture ratio and light transmittance (i.e. paragraph 0009).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the inorganic/organic hybrid complementary semiconductor device as taught by Hiroyuki et al with the teaching that it is a well-known matter that the oxygen concentration is reduced on the upper surface side of an oxide semiconductor layer, thus resulting in oxygen deficiency as taught by Saitoh et al, which, in the process, obtain the n-type amorphous metal oxide inorganic semiconductor layer has a distribution of an oxygen defect amount in a thickness direction in which the oxygen defect amount is larger on the p-type organic semiconductor single crystal layer side than on the substrate side in order to obtain a device with better aperture ratio and light transmittance.
In re claim 2, Hiroyuki et al, as discussed above, does not explicitly disclose wherein the p-type organic semiconductor single crystal layer has an average thickness from 2 nm to 100 nm.
However, Takeya et al discloses an organic semiconductor single crystal layer has an average thickness from 2 nm to 100 nm (i.e. see at least paragraph 0016).
The advantage is to obtain a film with a thickness thinner than conventional layers (i.e. paragraph 0014).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the inorganic/organic hybrid complementary semiconductor device as taught by Hiroyuki et al with an organic semiconductor single crystal layer has an average thickness from 2 nm to 100 nm as taught by Takeya et al in order to obtain a film with a thickness thinner than conventional layers.
In re claims 3 and 13, Hiroyuki et al, as discussed above, does not explicitly disclose wherein the p-type organic semiconductor single crystal layer has a single domain of 0.0025 mm2 or greater.
However, Takeya et al discloses an organic semiconductor single crystal layer having a single domain of 0.005 mm2 or greater (i.e. see at least paragraph 0021).
The advantage is to obtain a film with a thickness thinner than conventional layers (i.e. paragraph 0014).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the inorganic/organic hybrid complementary semiconductor device as taught by Hiroyuki et al with an organic semiconductor single crystal layer having a single domain of 0.005 mm2 or greater as taught by Takeya et al in order to obtain a film with a thickness thinner than conventional layers.
In re claims 4, 14, and 15, Hiroyuki et al discloses wherein the substrate is a flexible substrate (i.e. in this case, the substrate is plastic – see at least paragraph 0027; it is well known in the art that plastic substrate is flexible).
Claim(s) 8, 9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroyuki et al (JP 2011-258760) in view of Takeya et al (EP 3930018), Yamazaki et al (US Pub 2010/0025676), Saitoh et al (US Pub 2018/0151595), and Nobuko et al (JP 2014-143403).
In re claim 8, Hiroyuki et al discloses a method for manufacturing an inorganic/organic hybrid complementary semiconductor device, the method comprising: providing a substrate (i.e. 10); forming an n-type structure (1s) on the substrate; forming a protective layer (i.e. 1i, 2i) on the n-type structure; and forming a p-type structure (2s) on the protective layer, wherein the forming the n-type structure includes: forming a precursor film by applying the precursor solution on the substrate (i.e. see at least paragraph 0059), the forming the p-type structure includes forming a p-type organic semiconductor layer by using a coating method (i.e. see at least paragraph 0034), when viewed from a direction perpendicular to a main surface of the p-type organic semiconductor single crystal layer, the p-type organic semiconductor single crystal layer is disposed and thus at least a part of the p-type organic semiconductor single crystal layer overlaps the n-type amorphous metal oxide inorganic semiconductor layer or the p-type organic semiconductor single crystal layer does not overlap the n-type amorphous metal oxide inorganic semiconductor layer (i.e. it is inherent that when one of ordinary skill in the art would look at the main surface of the p-type organic semiconductor in Figure 5 of Hiroyuki et al that at least a part of the p-type organic semiconductor layer overlaps the n-type metal oxide inorganic semiconductor layer), and a distance between the p-type organic semiconductor single crystal layer and the n-type amorphous metal oxide inorganic semiconductor layer is 1 mm or less (i.e. when viewed from the direction perpendicular to the main surface of the p-type organic semiconductor layer 2s, the p-type organic semiconductor layer 2s is formed so as to overlap with the n-type metal oxide inorganic semiconductor layer 1s via first insulating layer 1i having a thickness of 0.5 µm, a third electrode 3e having a thickness of 0.1 µm, and a second insulating layer 2i having a thickness of 0.5 µm, thus the distance between the p-type organic semiconductor layer 2s and the n-type metal oxide inorganic semiconductor layer 1s is less than or equal to 1 mm – see paragraphs 0049-0051).
Hiroyuki et al does not explicitly disclose the p-type organic semiconductor layer is single crystal layer.
However, Takeya et al discloses the use of an organic semiconductor single crystal layer in a semiconductor device (i.e. see at least paragraph 0013).
The advantage is to obtain a film with a thickness thinner than conventional layers (i.e. paragraph 0014).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the p-type organic semiconductor layer as taught by Hiroyuki et al with the use of an organic semiconductor single crystal layer in a semiconductor device as taught by Takeya et al in order to obtain a film with a thickness thinner than conventional layers.
Hiroyuki et al does not explicitly disclose the n-type metal oxide inorganic semiconductor layer is amorphous, and preparing a precursor solution of an n-type amorphous metal oxide inorganic semiconductor containing a metal salt by using a sol-gel method.
However, Yamazaki et al discloses the use of an amorphous metal oxide inorganic semiconductor layer in semiconductor device (i.e. see at least paragraph 0113) and forming an amorphous metal oxide inorganic semiconductor containing a metal salt by a sol-gel method (i.e. see at least paragraph 0116).
The advantage is to obtain a device capable of operating rapidly and be sufficiently reliable (i.e. paragraph 0009).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the n-type metal oxide inorganic semiconductor layer as taught by Hiroyuki et al with the use of an amorphous metal oxide inorganic semiconductor layer in semiconductor device and forming an amorphous metal oxide inorganic semiconductor containing a metal salt by a sol-gel method as taught by Yamazaki et al in order to obtain a device capable of operating rapidly and be sufficiently reliable.
Hiroyuki et al does not explicitly disclose the n-type amorphous metal oxide inorganic semiconductor layer has a distribution of an oxygen defect amount in a thickness direction in which the oxygen defect amount is larger on the p-type organic semiconductor single crystal layer side than on the substrate side.
However, Saitoh et al discloses that it is a well-known matter that the oxygen concentration is reduced on the upper surface side of an oxide semiconductor layer, thus resulting in oxygen deficiency (i.e. see at least Figure 9; paragraphs 0166-0173).
The advantage is to obtain a device with better aperture ratio and light transmittance (i.e. paragraph 0009).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the method for manufacturing an inorganic/organic hybrid complementary semiconductor device as taught by Hiroyuki et al with the teaching that it is a well-known matter that the oxygen concentration is reduced on the upper surface side of an oxide semiconductor layer, thus resulting in oxygen deficiency as taught by Saitoh et al, which, in the process, obtain the n-type amorphous metal oxide inorganic semiconductor layer has a distribution of an oxygen defect amount in a thickness direction in which the oxygen defect amount is larger on the p-type organic semiconductor single crystal layer side than on the substrate side in order to obtain a device with better aperture ratio and light transmittance.
Hiroyuki et al does not explicitly disclose forming an n-type amorphous metal oxide inorganic semiconductor layer by heat-treating the precursor film at 350°C to 400°C.
However, Nobuko et al discloses forming an n-type amorphous metal oxide inorganic semiconductor layer by heat-treating the precursor film at 350°C to 400°C (i.e. see at least paragraph 0026).
The advantage is to obtain a semiconductor device with improved characteristics (i.e. paragraph 0013).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the method for manufacturing an inorganic/organic hybrid complementary semiconductor device as taught by Hiroyuki et al with forming an n-type amorphous metal oxide inorganic semiconductor layer by heat-treating the precursor film at 350°C to 400°C as taught by Nobuko et al in order to obtain a semiconductor device with improved characteristics.
In re claim 9, Hiroyuki et al discloses wherein the forming the precursor film by applying the precursor solution is performed using a spin coating method (i.e. see at least paragraph 0034).
In re claim 11, Hiroyuki et al, as discussed above, does not explicitly disclose wherein the forming the p-type organic semiconductor single crystal layer includes: forming a p-type organic semiconductor single crystal film on a first substrate having hydrophilic and water-insoluble properties by using the coating method, and applying water or an aqueous solution to an interface between the first substrate and the p-type organic semiconductor single crystal film to separate the p-type organic semiconductor single crystal film from the first substrate, and disposing the p-type organic semiconductor single crystal layer on a second substrate, and the second substrate is at least one of a gate insulating layer or S/D electrodes of the n- type structure, the protective layer, or a combination thereof.
However, Takeya et al discloses a method which involves: forming an organic semiconductor single crystal film on a hydrophilic and water-insoluble first substrate using a coating method; applying water to the interface between the first substrate and the organic semiconductor single crystal film to separate the organic semiconductor single crystal film from the first substrate; and placing the separated organic semiconductor single crystal film on a second substrate having electrodes (i.e. see paragraphs 0046-0051).
The advantage is to obtain a film with a thickness thinner than conventional layers (i.e. paragraph 0014).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the method for manufacturing an inorganic/organic hybrid complementary semiconductor device as taught by Hiroyuki et al with a method which involves: forming an organic semiconductor single crystal film on a hydrophilic and water-insoluble first substrate using a coating method; applying water to the interface between the first substrate and the organic semiconductor single crystal film to separate the organic semiconductor single crystal film from the first substrate; and placing the separated organic semiconductor single crystal film on a second substrate having electrodes as taught by Takeya et al in order to obtain a film with a thickness thinner than conventional layers.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 10, 12, and 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817