DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed April 7, 2026, have been fully considered.
Applicant has argued that the amendments to the drawings and specification have overcome the objections set forth in the previous Office Action. Examiner agrees, and has withdrawn the objections.
Applicant has argued that the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been overcome by amendment. Examiner agrees, with the exception that one rejection was overcome in claim 1, but not in claims 11 and 15. Thus, the rejection is repeated below.
With regard to the prior art, applicant has argued that “the office action suggests that Knight’s single contact can be replaced by Chau’s multiple contacts. However, according to Knight, the asserted contact member 220 is repeatedly described as a ‘single-contact’ bulkhead connector that is ‘configured to act as a pressure bulkhead isolating switch 120 from pressure in lower perforating gun 300B…’” Applicant further argues that this statement by Knight “would deter one of skill in the art from combining Knight with Chau. Such an effort to deconstruct Knight’s single contact for Chau’s plural contacts in an attempt to generate Applicant’s claimed invention would destroy the intent of Knight’s teachings…” (Applicant’s Remarks, top of Page 10). Examiner respectfully disagrees. Knight uses the phrase “single-contact bulkhead connector 220” merely to distinguish from the “multi-contact bulkhead connector 160.” The multi-contact bulkhead connector 160 contains a plurality of electrical connectors 172, 180, and 190. In paragraph 0063, Knight teaches that the upper connector 172 “comprises a pair of detonator circuits or female contacts 184.” The lower connector 180 “comprises a wireline circuit or male contact 182 and a pair of detonator circuits or male contacts 184. Radial contacts 190 are electrically connected to the wireline contact 182 of the lower connector…” In contrast, single contact bulkhead connector 220 is described as having “a first or upper male contact 224, and a second or lower male contact 226” (Paragraph 0066). Thus, given that the single contact bulkhead connector 220 actually has two male contacts (224, 226) it is somewhat unclear exactly what “single contact” is intended to mean in the Knight reference. In any case, it is true that the single contact bulkhead 220 at least has fewer contacts than the multi-contact bulkhead 160. The rejection suggests modifying Knight’s male contact 226 to have multiple contact surfaces. Examiner’s position is that this modification does not necessarily add what Knight would consider to be additional “contacts” that would cause the bulkhead 220 to no longer be a “single-contact” bulkhead. Adding the spring-loaded “prongs” of Chau to Knight’s male contact 226 divides one contact surface into multiple contact surfaces, which are additional “contacts” in the context of applicant’s claims, but not separate “contacts” in the context of Knight’s disclosure. Knight’s disclosure does not teach away from using prongs in a single contact element to improve the quality of connection against the outer female contact surface.
Drawings
The drawings were received on April 7, 2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to claim 11, lines 17-18 state that “the receptacle end of the connector member is shaped to electrically receive the contact end of the contact member” and lines 24-25 recite “the connector contacts receivable in the receptacle end of the connector member.” However, claim 11 is describing a single component, as illustrated in Fig. 2C. The contact member 240a and the connector member 240b do not connect to each other, but connect to their counterpart in an adjacent component. Examiner suggests lines 17-18 be amended to state that “the receptacle end of the connector member is shaped to electrically receive the contact end of the contact member of the second of the adjacent components” and that lines 24-25 be amended to state “the connector contacts receivable in the receptacle end of the connector member of the second of the adjacent components.”
With regard to claim 15, lines 16-17 recite “the connector contacts receivable in the receptacle end of the connector member.” However, claim 15 is describing a single component, as illustrated in Fig. 2C. The contact member 240a and the connector member 240b do not connect to each other, but connect to their counterpart in an adjacent component. Examiner suggests lines 16-17 be amended to state “the connector contacts receivable in the receptacle end of the connector member of another downhole component.”
With regard to claim 16—if claim 15 is amended as suggested above—then line 2 of claim 16 should recite “the another downhole component”.
With regard to claim 17—if claim 15 is amended as suggested above—then line 2 of claim 16 should recite “the another downhole component”.
With regard to claims 18 and 19, these claims appear to be erroneous, as the “coupling end of the contact member” (i.e. 344a in Fig. 3A) and the “coupler end of the connector member” (i.e. 350a in Fig. 3A) are spaced apart from one another at the opposite ends of the connection shown in Fig. 3A, and do not engage each other. As described in paragraph 0043, the coupling end and the coupler end are meant to be joined to wires or cables via crimping.
Claims 12-14 are rejected based on their dependence upon rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 6, 8-12, and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knight et al. (US 2020/0256166, hereinafter Knight) in view of Chau (US 2003/0075319).
With regard to claim 1, Knight discloses a component connector (Fig. 4) for a downhole tool positionable in a wellbore penetrating a subterranean formation, the downhole tool comprising a bulkhead (502) and a receiver (330) positioned in a housing (300A), the component connector comprising:
a contact member (220) positionable in the bulkhead of the downhole tool, the contact member comprising an elongate body with a coupling end (i.e. the uphole end) and a contact end (proximate 226); and
a connector member (342) positionable in the receiver (330) of the downhole tool, the connector member having another elongate body having a coupler end (i.e. the downhole end) and a receptacle end (i.e. the uphole end), the connector member having an engager (344) positioned about an outer surface of the connector member to provide engagement of the connector member with the receiver (note that this limitation is not understood in view of the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 above);
wherein the coupling end of the contact member and the coupler end of the connector member are connected to electronics (at least 524) in the housing and wherein the receptacle end of the connector member is shaped to electrically receive the contact end of the contact member of an adjacent component whereby electronics in adjacent components of the downhole tool are electrically coupled (see Figs. 3-5, it is noted that, due to the presence of the electrical connector, all of the electronics within the entire tool string are electrically coupled to each other);
wherein the connector member is a plunger connector member (element 342 moves as a plunger) and wherein the engager comprises a plunger spring (344) encircling an outer periphery of the connector member to provide movable engagement of the plunger connector member about the receiver (the plunger 342 moves relative to the receiver 330); and
Knight discloses that the contact end has a connector contact (226) extending from the contact end, the connector contacts receivable in the receptacle end of the connector member. In other words, Knight teaches only a single contact 226, rather than plural contacts.
Chau teaches a downhole electrical connection, where the male element has plural contacts (148).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified Knight by providing the multiple contact fingers of Chau on the male electrical connector, in order to provide a stronger physical connection due to the outward bias of the fingers (Chau, paragraph 0072, “finger arms 146 are resiliently biased towards one another in a way which maintains electrical contact between contacts 148 and electrical contact surface 123”).
With regard to claim 3, Knight teaches that the connector member (342) is a tube connector member (see tubular female end which engages with contact end 226) and wherein the engager comprises a raised gripper (i.e. the shoulder that abuts spring 344) to provide fixed engagement of the tube connector member in the receiver (the bias force of the spring holds the connector member fixed in the position shown in Fig. 4).
With regard to claim 5, Knight in view of Chau fails to disclose that the connector member (342 of Knight) further comprises at least one of an insulated layer, a non-insulated layer, and combinations thereof disposed about the outer surface thereof. However, Knight does teach an insulated layer (230) around the contact member (220).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified Knight in view of Chau such that the insulated layer was also placed on the connector member, in addition to the contact member, in order to provide further insulation between the electrical components and the housing (see Knight, paragraph 0066).
With regard to claim 6, Knight teaches that the contact member has a non-conductive contact coating (230) disposed about an outer surface thereof.
With regard to claim 8, Knight, as modified by Chau, discloses dual connector contacts (see two connector elements 148 in Fig. 2 of Chau, for example).
With regard to claims 9 and 10, Knight, as modified by Chau, fails to disclose triple or quadruple connector contacts, however, It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified Knight in view of Chau by providing triple or quadruple contacts, in order to increase the surface area of the electrical connection and thus decrease the chance of failure of the connection, and furthermore because it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
With regard to claim 11, Knight discloses a downhole tool positionable in a wellbore penetrating a subterranean formation, the downhole tool comprising:
adjacent components (300A, 300B, Fig. 2), each of the adjacent components comprising a bulkhead (502+560+592 in the upper component, and 102+160+240+200 of the lower component) and a receiver (330) positioned in a housing (300B + 500 of the upper component, 300B + 100 of the lower component), the housing having a pin end (upper component: threads 513; lower component: threads proximate numeral 118) and a box end (upper component: threads proximate numeral 118 at the female end of housing 300A; lower component: threads proximate numeral 613 at the lower end of housing 300B) at each end thereof, the pin end of a first of the adjacent components connectable to the box end of a second of the adjacent components (see Figs. 3-5, if considering the lower component to be the “first component” and the upper component to be the “second component”); and
a component connector (Figs. 3-5 and described in more detail below) positioned in each of the adjacent components, each of the component connectors comprising:
a contact member (220) positionable in the bulkhead, the contact member comprising an elongate body with a coupling end (224) and a contact end (226); and
a connector member (342) positionable in the receiver, the connector member having another elongate body having a coupler end (346) and a receptacle end (proximate 226), the connector member having an engager (344) positioned about an outer surface of the connector member to provide engagement of the connector member with the receiver;
wherein the coupling end of the contact member and the coupler end of the connector member are connected to electronics (at least elements 124, 524, 400A, 400B) in the housing and wherein the receptacle end of the connector member is shaped to electrically receive the contact end of the contact member (Figs. 2-5) whereby electronics in the adjacent components of the downhole tool are electrically coupled (note that, due to the presence of the electrical connector, all the electronics within the entire tool string are electrically coupled together);
wherein the connector member is a plunger connector member (element 342 moves as a plunger) and wherein the engager comprises a plunger spring (344) encircling an outer periphery of the connector member to provide movable engagement of the plunger connector member in the receiver (the plunger 342 moves relative to the receiver 330); and
Knight discloses that the contact end has a connector contact (226) extending from the contact end, the connector contacts receivable in the receptacle end of the connector member. In other words, Knight teaches only a single contact 226, rather than plural contacts.
Chau teaches a downhole electrical connection, where the male element has plural contacts (148).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified Knight by providing the multiple contact fingers of Chau on the male electrical connector, in order to provide a stronger physical connection due to the outward bias of the fingers (Chau, paragraph 0072, “finger arms 146 are resiliently biased towards one another in a way which maintains electrical contact between contacts 148 and electrical contact surface 123”).
With regard to claim 12, Knight teaches that each of the adjacent components comprises one of a setting tool, a top sub, a release tool, a perforating gun (300A, 300B), and a collar locator.
With regard to claim 14, Knight teaches that at least one of the adjacent components is electrically connected to the surface by a conveyance (see element 24 in Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 15, Knight discloses a method of assembling a downhole tool, the method comprising:
providing a downhole component (300A) comprising a bulkhead (102+160+240+200) and a receiver (330) positioned in a housing (300A+100);
positioning a contact member (220) in the bulkhead, the contact member comprising an elongate body with a coupling end (540) and a contact end (226);
positioning a connector member (342) in the receiver such that an engager (344) along an outer surface of the connector member is in engagement with the receiver, the connector member having another elongate body having a coupler end (proximate numeral 346 in Fig. 4) and a receptacle end (proximate numeral 226 in Fig. 4); and
electrically connecting the coupling end of the contact member and the coupler end of the connector member (see Fig. 3) to electronics (124, 524, 400A, 400B, etc.) in the housing;
wherein the connector member is a plunger connector member (element 342 moves as a plunger) and wherein the engager comprises a plunger spring (344) encircling an outer periphery of the connector member to provide movable engagement of the plunger connector member in the receiver (the plunger 342 moves relative to the receiver 330); and
Knight discloses that the contact end has a connector contact (226) extending from the contact end, the connector contacts receivable in the receptacle end of the connector member. In other words, Knight teaches only a single contact 226, rather than plural contacts.
Chau teaches a downhole electrical connection, where the male element has plural contacts (148).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified Knight by providing the multiple contact fingers of Chau on the male electrical connector, in order to provide a stronger physical connection due to the outward bias of the fingers (Chau, paragraph 0072, “finger arms 146 are resiliently biased towards one another in a way which maintains electrical contact between contacts 148 and electrical contact surface 123”).
With regard to claim 16, Knight discloses connecting the downhole component (300A) to another downhole component (300B) by threadedly connecting a pin end of the housing of the downhole component (i.e. the threads 118 on the outer surface of the pin end shown in Fig. 3) to a box end (i.e. threads 110 on the inner surface of element 300A of the upper component) of the another downhole component.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knight in view of Chau as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tilley et al. (US 2016/0230477, hereinafter Tilley).
With regard to claim 4, Knight in view of Chau fails to disclose a connection spring positioned about the contact end of the contact member.
Tilley teaches a downhole electrical connection in which a contact member (203) is received within a connector member (103), and connection springs (230) transfer current between the contact and connector members.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified Knight in view of Chau by providing the connector springs of Tilley around Knight’s contact member, as the springs allow “for longitudinal and rotational movement” of the contact member with respect to the connector member, “while making electrical contact and providing for transmission of electrical power” (see Tilley, paragraph 0022).
Conclusion
/ROBERT E FULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676