DETAILED ACTION The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Acknowledgement of preliminary amendment dated 08/22/2023b changing the claims and placing the Abstract on a separate sheet. Domestic Benefit Present application 18 / 278 , 193 filed 08/22/2023 is a National Stage entry of PCT/JP2022/007132 with i nternational f iling d ate of 02/22/2022 . Foreign Priority Acknowledgment is made of a claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. § 119(a)-(d) or (f). Copies of the certified copies of the priority documents (i.e., application number 2021-031035 filed in Japan on 02/26/2021) have been received in this National Stage application from the International Bureau (PCT Rule 17.2(a)) on 08/22/2023 . Information Disclosure Statements The three information disclosure statement respectively submitted on 08/22/2023, 09/05/2025, 08/13/2025 were filed before first Office action. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the three information disclosure statements have been considered. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim s 1 -5, 8-9 , 16-17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated b y US 2019/0189438 A1 to Mikawa et al. (“Mikawa”) . Mikawa teaches of a template substrate provided with: a main substrate 20 having an edge 23, a peripheral part containing the edge, and a non-peripheral part positioned further inside than the peripheral part; and a mask pattern 30 positioned higher than the main substrate; wherein the mask pattern has: a mask part; a plurality of first opening parts (plurality of linear opening parts 31 disposed at the center of the substrate in Figure 10 ( A )) overlapping the non-peripheral part in a plan view, a width direction thereof being a first direction (width direction of three linear opening parts of linear opening parts 31 in Figure 10 ( A )), and a length direction thereof being a second direction (length direction of three linear opening parts of linear opening parts 31 in Figure 10 ( A )); and one or a plurality of second opening parts (plurality of linear opening parts 31 disposed so as to abut the peripheral part containing the edge in Figure 10 ( A )) arranged along the edge in a plan view. Mikawa indicates that the template substrate is used in ELO formation of a GaN-based semiconductor part, and that an electronic apparatus containing a semiconductor device is made using the GaN-based semiconductor part. Furthermore, as seen from Figure 10 ( A ) of Mikawa : at least one among the plurality of first opening parts and at least one among the plurality of second opening parts are mutually adjacent and overlap when viewed in the second direction; at least one among the plurality of first opening parts is positioned between two second opening parts that are lined up in the second direction; at least one among the plurality of first opening parts and at least one among the plurality of second opening parts are mutually adjacent and overlap when viewed in the first direction; the plurality of first opening parts are lined up in the first direction; a distance between the at least one among the plurality of first opening parts and one of the two second opening parts is greater than a distance between the one of the two second opening parts and the edge in a plan view; and the edge includes a curved surface section. With respect to independent claim 18 , given that claim 1 is taught by Mikawa therefore there is necessarily the apparatus for manufacturing the template and mask pattern forming unit such that the mask pattern forming unit is defined as the tools used to form the template in Mikawa. In other words the template , did not magically appear or fall from the sky, but instead the template was formed by tools in Mikaw a. Claim s 1-5, 8, 15-16, 1 8 -20, 26 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated b y US 2017/0263440 A1 to Schulze et al. (“Schulze”) . Schulze in Figures 9-11 teaches of a template substrate and a method for producing a template substrate comprising: an Si main substrate 902 having an edge 934, a peripheral part 910 containing the edge, and a non-peripheral part (interior regions 914, 1014) positioned further inside than the peripheral part; and a mask pattern (barrier structure 1016) positioned higher than the main substrate; wherein the mask pattern has: a mask part; a plurality of first opening parts (opening parts of barrier structure 1018 disposed in interior regions 914, 1014) overlapping the non-peripheral part in a plan view, a width direction thereof being a first direction (horizontal groove 1020), and a length direction thereof being a second direction (vertical groove 1022); and one or a plurality of second opening parts (opening parts of barrier structures 1016A, 1016B, 1016C, 1016D disposed on peripheral parts 910, 1010) arranged along the edge in a plan view. In addition, Schulze teaches of : at least one among the plurality of first opening parts and at least one among the plurality of second opening parts are mutually adjacent and overlap when viewed in the second direction; at least one among the plurality of first opening parts is positioned between two second opening parts that are lined up in the second direction; at least one among the plurality of first opening parts and at least one among the plurality of second opening parts are mutually adjacent and overlap when viewed in the first direction; the plurality of first opening parts are lined up in the first direction; and a distance between the at least one among the plurality of first opening parts and one of the two second opening parts is greater than a distance between the one of the two second opening parts and the edge in a plan view. Furthermore, Schulze also indicates that ELO formation is performed ( in paragraph 0062), and that GaN is used as an epitaxial layer. Additionally, Schulze indicates that the invention comprises the template substrate and a first semiconductor part (portion corresponding to epitaxial layer 914 in Figure 9 , or portion formed by ELO) which overlaps the mask part, and comprises a second semiconductor part (portion corresponding to polycrystalline layer 942 in Figure 9) which overlaps the one or plurality of second opening parts in a plan view, and that the first semiconductor part overlaps the plurality of first opening parts. With respect to independent claim 18 , given that claim 1 is taught by Schulze therefore there is necessarily the apparatus for manufacturing the template and mask pattern forming unit such that the mask pattern forming unit is defined as the tools used to form the template in Schulze. In other words the template, did not magically appear or fall from the sky, but instead the template was formed by tools in Schulze. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0263440 A1 to Schulze et al. (“Schulze”) in view of US 2012/0280363 A1 to Sumida et al. (“Sumida”) . Schulze teaches all limitations of claims 1 and 19 from which claim 27 depends. Regarding claim 27 , Schulze teaches all the limitations of claim s 1 and 19. Schulze does not expressly teach the orientation of the first direction and second direction. Sumida teaches of orientations in paragraph 0061 such that there is a first direction parallel to 11-20 and a second direction parallel to 1-100. The different directions with the respect to device/layer s have been achieved for both eas e of growth and the solidness for the structure itself. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize that combining Sumida’s layer directions in paragraph 0061 with Schulze’s invention would have been beneficial for the ease of growth and solidness of the structure itself. Allowable Subject Matter Claim s 6 , 7 , 11, 13, 14 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 6 contains allowable subject matter , because the closest art of record, singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other elements of claim 6, wherein the plurality of first opening portions comprise two first opening portions having distances different from each other in the first direction from a center of the main substrate, and one of the two first opening portions has the distance longer and a length in the second direction shorter than that of the other one of the two first opening portions. Dependent claim 7 contains allowable subject matter , because it depends on the allowable subject matter of claim 6. Claim 11 contains allowable subject matter , because the closest art of record, singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other elements of claim 11, wherein one of the one or more second opening portions has an annular shape. Claim 13 contains allowable subject matter , because the closest art of record, singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other elements of claim 13, further comprising: a seed layer overlapping the plurality of first opening portions in plan view. Claim 14 contains allowable subject matter , because the closest art of record, singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other elements of claim 14, wherein the peripheral portion is a region of 2 mm or less from the edge. Claim 21 contains allowable subject matter , because the closest art of record, singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other elements of claim 21, wherein the first semiconductor part and the second semiconductor part are separated from each other. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT JOHN P DULKA whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-7398 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm, EST . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT ELISEO RAMOS-FELICIANO can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-7925 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. 28 March 2026 /John P. Dulka/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817