DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 2-3, the phrase “each of the one…” is considered vague and indefinite.
Claim 5, lines 2-3, the phrase “each of the one or more joint element” is considered vague and indefinite.
Claims 2-8 are included in this rejection because of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yaworski et al. (5606149).
Yaworski et al. discloses a thermoplastic insulation for an electric conductor joint comprising one joint element; wherein the one joint element comprises an insulating layer (14) made of a thermoplastic insulating material, and wherein the one joint element is adapted for surrounding the electric conductor joint (Fig. 2), and wherein the thermoplastic insulation constitutes a cylindrical layer around the electric conductor joint (re-claim 1). Yaworski et al. also discloses that the one joint element further comprises: an inner layer made of a first thermoplastic semiconducting material (16), covering an internal surface of the insulating layer, and adapted for abutting the electric conductor joint (re-claim 2); the one joint element further comprises: an outer layer made of a thermoplastic semiconducting material (12, col. 5, lines 26-29), covering an external surface of the insulating layer (re-claim 3); the one joint element of Yaworski et al. is connectable through heat treatment since it comprises structure and material as claimed (re-claim 4); the insulation is a tubular cylinder and the one joint element is a sector (Fig. 1d, 12a’, 12b’) of the tubular cylinder, wherein n elements form a full cylinder; and n is an integer between 2 and 10 (re-claim 5); the thermoplastic insulation comprises two joint elements (re-claim 6); the joint element is in the form of a tubular cylinder with at least one slit (re-claim 7); and an electric cable joint comprising a thermoplastic insulation according to claim 1 (re-claim 8).
It has been held that the patentability of a product claim is determined by the novelty and nonobviouness of the claimed product itself without consideration of the process for making it, “pre-moulded”, which is recited in the claim. In re Thorpe, 111 F. 2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966; see also In re Nordt Development Co., LLC, [2017-1445] (February 8, 2018).
Claims 1-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bahder (4487994).
Bahder discloses a thermoplastic insulation for an electric conductor joint (3/4) comprising one joint element; wherein the one joint element comprises an insulating layer (12) made of a thermoplastic insulating material, and wherein the one joint element is adapted for surrounding the electric conductor joint (Fig. 1), and wherein the thermoplastic insulation constitutes a cylindrical layer around the electric conductor joint (re-claim 1). Bahder also discloses that the one joint element further comprises: an inner layer made of a first thermoplastic semiconducting material (16), covering an internal surface of the insulating layer, and adapted for abutting the electric conductor joint (re-claim 2); the one joint element further comprises: an outer layer made of a thermoplastic semiconducting material (13), covering an external surface of the insulating layer (re-claim 3); the one joint element of Bahder is connectable through heat treatment since it comprises structure and material as claimed (re-claim 4); and an electric cable joint comprising a thermoplastic insulation according to claim 1 (re-claim 8).
It has been held that the patentability of a product claim is determined by the novelty and nonobviouness of the claimed product itself without consideration of the process for making it, “pre-moulded”, which is recited in the claim. In re Thorpe, 111 F. 2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966; see also In re Nordt Development Co., LLC, [2017-1445] (February 8, 2018).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 12230944. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-4 of said patent disclose the invention as claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the insulating gel 14 of Yaworski is not a thermoplastic. There is no mention of using a thermoplastic insulation in Yaworski. Examiner would disagree. Yaworski discloses that insulating gel 14 is a “gel may set…simply by cooling, in the case of thermoplastic gels” col. 3 lines 24-26.
Applicant argues that the heat shrinkable tube 120 of Bahder is described as comprising an intermediate layer 114 as an insulation layer which is preferably an unfilled cross-linkable polyethylene insulation or a crosslinkable EPR. Neither of these materials can be considered to be a thermoplastic. Examiner would disagree. Bahder discloses layer 114 being a cross-linkable polyethylene, not a cross-linked polyethylene. Polyethylene is a well-known thermoplastic polymer.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841