REMARKS
1. On pages 10-13 of the remark Applicant argued “Nowhere does Chun teach or suggest that the UE can be in both modes simultaneously, such that the "base station is connected to the remote wireless device by: a direct signaling connection; and an indirect signaling connection via a relay wireless device" as recited in the independent claims.
In response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. First examiner notes here that Applicant improperly and narrowly reads the claim limitation “receiving, from the base station over the direct signaling connection, a first SIB comprising non-relay-related System Information (SI); receiving, from the relay wireless device over the indirect signaling connection, a second SIB comprising relay-related SI; applying the SI comprised in the first SIB and second SIB” as claimed to be receiving and/or applying first SIB and second SIB simultaneously as argued on page 12. Applicant argued, but did not claim wherein the first SIB and the second SIB are received and/or applied simultaneously.
Prior art Chun at [0166] discloses a remote UE receiving SIB from a base station directly when the remote UE is in communication range of the base station corresponding to first SIB. [0135] discloses access control information in the SIB corresponding to system information. [0166]; [0168] Fig.14: S1403; S1405 shows and discloses the remote UE receives access control information from the base station through relay UE corresponding to relay related system information in a second SIB. [0153]-[0155] discloses the remote UE has checked an access grant in accordance with the access control information transmitted through the SIB means the remote UE can apply system information received from the base station directly or receiving system information received from the base station through the relay UE which is corresponding to indirect signaling since base station is using relay UE to transmit SIB to the remote UE.
For the above reasons, examiner maintains the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 89 and 102 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No, US 2019/0182747 to Chun et al. (hereinafter Chun) in view of U.S. Publication No, US 2024/0015637 to Cheng et al. (hereinafter Cheng)
As to claims 89 and 102, Chun discloses a method performed by a remote wireless device for managing received system information blocks (SIBs), wherein the remote wireless device has a direct signaling connection to a base station and an indirect signaling connection to the base station via a relay wireless device (Chun; [0166]), the method comprising:
receiving, from the base station over the direct signaling connection, a first SIB comprising non-relay-related System Information (Sl) (Chun; [0166] discloses a terminal device can receive SIB directly from a base station);
receiving, from the relay wireless device over the indirect signaling connection, a second SIB comprising relay-related SI (Chun; [0166]; Fig.14: S1403 and S1405 discloses a terminal device receiving SIB from a relay terminal):
applying the SI comprised in the first SIB and second SIB (Chun; [0153]-[0155] discloses the user terminal receives access control information (=SI) in the SIB and applying the access control information to access to a network);
Chun discloses a user terminal that can receive SIBs from base station and remote station, but fails to disclose of the user terminal stopping acquisition of SIBs. However, Cheng discloses
stopping acquisition of one or more further SIBs (Cheng; [0116] discloses a user terminal 115-b that is configured to receive RRC signaling indication that indicates stops monitoring SIBs)
It is obvious for a person of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings and sends a RRC signaling after receiving SIBs that indicates to stop monitoring or acquiring SIBs. One would be motivated to combine the teachings in order to use the limited resources in an effective way.
4. Claims 90-92 and 103-105 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No, US 2019/0182747 to Chun et al. (hereinafter Chun) in view of U.S. Publication No, US 2024/0015637 to Cheng et al. (hereinafter Cheng) in view of U.S. Publication No, US 2023/0180097 to Zhang et al. (hereinafter Zhang)
As to claims 90 and 103, Chun-Cheng discloses wherein stopping acquisition of the one or more further SIBs comprises to stop relay-related SI transmission (Chun; [0166] discloses the remote UE has determined whether to access the network by directly receiving the SIB from the eNB means stopping acquisition of the one or more further SIBs comprises to stop relay-related SI transmission).
Chun-Cheng fails to discloses a remote UE requesting to a base station for SIB acquisition. However, Zhang discloses
transmitting an indication to the base station (Zhang; [0147] discloses second UE 320B (=remote UE) can request the NW (=base station) to send the SIB messages).
It is obvious for a person of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings before the effective filing date of the invention and sends a request from a remote UE to the base station so that the base station can send SIB message directly to the remote UE when the UE is in coverage area of the base station.
As to claims 91 and 104, Chun-Cheng discloses a remote terminal receives SIB from a relay UE, but fails to disclose the remote terminal transmitting an indication to the relay wireless device indicating that the relay wireless device is to stop non-relay related SI transmission. However, Zhang discloses
wherein stopping acquisition of the one or more further SIBs comprises transmitting an indication to the relay wireless device indicating that the relay wireless device is to stop non-relay related SI transmission (Zhang; [0145]-[0147] discloses The second UE 320B may send a SIB request message to the first UE 320A to request the first UE 320A forwarding NW SIB messages. The SIB request message may be sent via PC5-RRC message. The SIB request message may include at least one of the following: a SIB forwarding indication, required SIB list, and forwarding mode. The forwarding mode of the SIB request message may indicate that the second UE 320B is to expect the first UE 320A to forward NW SIB messages via a sidelink master information block (SL-MIB), broadcast, unicast or PC5-RRC message. Upon receiving the SIB request message, the first UE 320A can determine to forward the requested NW SIB messages received from NW (e.g., the network node 310) to the second UE 320B. The first UE 320A can forward the requested NW SIB messages via PC5-RRC message, unicast, broadcast or SL-MIB).
It is obvious for a person of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings and sends a RRC signaling after receiving SIBs that indicates to stop monitoring or acquiring SIBs. One would be motivated to combine the teachings in order to use the limited resources in an effective way.
As to claims 92 and 105, Chun-Cheng discloses a remote terminal receives SIB from a relay UE, but fails to disclose transmitting an indication to the relay wireless device to indicate that the relay wireless device is to provide the second SIB comprising the relay-related SI to the remote wireless device. However, Zhang discloses further comprising
transmitting an indication to the relay wireless device to indicate that the relay wireless device is to provide the second SIB comprising the relay-related SI to the remote wireless device (Zhang; [0146]-[0147] discloses The second UE 320B may send a SIB request message to the first UE 320A to request the first UE 320A forwarding NW SIB messages. The SIB request message may be sent via PC5-RRC message. The SIB request message may include at least one of the following: a SIB forwarding indication, required SIB list, and forwarding mode. The forwarding mode of the SIB request message may indicate that the second UE 320B is to expect the first UE 320A to forward NW SIB messages via a sidelink master information block (SL-MIB), broadcast, unicast or PC5-RRC message. Upon receiving the SIB request message, the first UE 320A can determine to forward the requested NW SIB messages received from NW (e.g., the network node 310) to the second UE 320B. The first UE 320A can forward the requested NW SIB messages via PC5-RRC message, unicast, broadcast or SL-MIB)
It is obvious for a person of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings and sends a RRC signaling after receiving SIBs that indicates to stop monitoring or acquiring SIBs. One would be motivated to combine the teachings in order to use the limited resources in an effective way.
5. Claims 93 and 106 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No, US 2019/0182747 to Chun et al. (hereinafter Chun) in view of U.S. Publication No, US 2024/0015637 to Cheng et al. (hereinafter Cheng) in view of U.S. Publication No, US 2021/0266970 to Lei et al. (hereinafter Lei)
As to claims 93 and 106, Chun-Cheng discloses a remote UE has determined whether to access the network by directly receiving the SIB from the eNB, but fails to disclose wherein the remote UE sends a request to the base station. However, Lei discloses further comprising
transmitting an indication to the base station to indicate that the base station is to provide the first SIB comprising non-relay-related SI to the remote wireless device (Lei; Fig.7; [0083] discloses a BS 110 may transmit requested SIBs using a unicast transmission for each requesting UE 120. As shown by reference number 710, a first UE 120 (shown as UE A) may transmit, and the BS 110 may receive, an on-demand SI (=non-relay-related SI) request that identifies one or more on-demand SIBs (represented using SIB indices L.sub.4 and L.sub.5).
It is obvious for a person of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings and sends a RRC signaling after receiving SIBs that indicates to stop monitoring or acquiring SIBs. One would be motivated to combine the teachings in order to receive on demand SIB.
6. Claims 94-96 and 107-109 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No, US 2023/0180097 to Zhang et al. (hereinafter Zhang) in view of U.S. Publication No, US 2019/0182747 to Chun et al. (hereinafter Chun)
As to claims 94 and 107, Zhang discloses a method performed by a relay wireless device, the method comprising:
receiving an indication from a remote wireless device to indicate that the relay wireless device is to stop transmitting one or more first system information blocks (SIBs) comprising non-relay related system information (Sl) to a remote wireless device (Zhang; [0145]-[0147] discloses UE 320B to monitor network (NW) system information block (SIB) messages for relay reselection or path switch to direct Uu, when the PC5 link quality between the second UE 320B and the first UE 320A is poor means the UE 320A (=the relay wireless device) is to stop transmitting one or more first system information blocks (SIBs)); and
transmitting one or more second SIBs comprising relay-related SI to the remote wireless device; wherein the remote wireless device has a direct signaling connection to a base station and an indirect signaling connection to the base station via the relay wireless device (Zhang; [0145]-[0147] discloses The second UE 320B may send a SIB request message to the first UE 320A to request the first UE 320A forwarding NW SIB messages. The SIB request message may be sent via PC5-RRC message. The SIB request message may include at least one of the following: a SIB forwarding indication, required SIB list, and forwarding mode. The forwarding mode of the SIB request message may indicate that the second UE 320B is to expect the first UE 320A to forward NW SIB messages via a sidelink master information block (SL-MIB), broadcast, unicast or PC5-RRC message. Upon receiving the SIB request message, the first UE 320A can determine to forward the requested NW SIB messages received from NW (e.g., the network node 310) to the second UE 320B. The first UE 320A can forward the requested NW SIB messages via PC5-RRC message, unicast, broadcast or SL-MIB).
Zhang at Fig .3 shows and discloses the UE 320A and 320B are located in the network 315 that includes a base station. Chun fails to discloses wherein the remote UE has direct and indirect communication with the base station. However, Chun discloses
wherein the remote wireless device has a direct signaling connection to a base station and an indirect signaling connection to the base station via the relay wireless device (Chun; [0166] discloses a terminal device can receive SIB directly from a base station. [0166]; Fig.14: S1403 and S1405 discloses a terminal device receiving SIB from a relay terminal or indirectly from a base station).
It is obvious for a person of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings and sends a RRC signaling after receiving SIBs that indicates to stop monitoring or acquiring SIBs. One would be motivated to combine the teachings in order to use the limited resources in an effective way.
As to claims 95 and 108, the rejection of claim 94 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Zhang-Chun discloses further comprising receiving an indication from the remote wireless device to indicate that the relay wireless device is to provide the one or more second SIBs comprising the relay-related SI to the remote wireless device (Zhang; [0145]-[0147] discloses The second UE 320B may send a SIB request message to the first UE 320A to request the first UE 320A forwarding NW SIB messages. The SIB request message may be sent via PC5-RRC message. The SIB request message may include at least one of the following: a SIB forwarding indication, required SIB list, and forwarding mode. The forwarding mode of the SIB request message may indicate that the second UE 320B is to expect the first UE 320A to forward NW SIB messages via a sidelink master information block (SL-MIB), broadcast, unicast or PC5-RRC message. Upon receiving the SIB request message, the first UE 320A can determine to forward the requested NW SIB messages received from NW (e.g., the network node 310) to the second UE 320B. The first UE 320A can forward the requested NW SIB messages via PC5-RRC message, unicast, broadcast or SL-MIB).
As to claims 96 and 109, the rejection of claim 94 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Zhang-Chun discloses further comprising indicating, to the remote wireless device, an action to perform to apply SI comprised in one or more of the SIBs received by the remote wireless device (Chun; [0166] discloses the remote UE has determined whether to access the network by directly receiving the SIB from the eNB).
7. Claims 98-100 and 111-113 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No, US 2019/0182747 to Chun et al. (hereinafter Chun) in view of U.S. Publication No, US 2023/0180097 to Zhang et al. (hereinafter Zhang)
As to claims 98 and 111, Chun discloses a method performed by a base station, the method comprising:
transmitting one or more SIBs comprising non-relay-related SI to a wireless device (Chun; [0166] discloses a terminal device can receive SIB directly from a base station);
wherein the base station is connected to the remote wireless device by:
a direct signaling connection (Chun; [0166] discloses a terminal device can receive SIB directly from a base station); and
an indirect signaling connection via a relay wireless device (Chun; [0166]; Fig.14: S1403 and S1405 discloses a terminal device receiving SIB through a relay terminal).
Chun discloses the base station is to stop providing one or more system information blocks (SIBs) comprising relay- related system information (SI) to the remote wireless device (Chun; [0166] discloses the remote UE has determined whether to access the network by directly receiving the SIB from the eNB means to stop receiving of the relay- related system information (SI) to the remote wireless device).
Chun fails to discloses a remote UE requesting to a base station for SIB acquisition. However, Zhang discloses
transmitting an indication to the base station (Zhang; [0147] discloses second UE 320B (=remote UE) can request the NW (=base station) to send the SIB messages).
It is obvious for a person of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings before the effective filing date of the invention and sends a request from a remote UE to the base station so that the base station can send SIB message directly to the remote UE when the UE is in coverage area of the base station.
As to claims 99 and 112, the rejection of claim 98 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Chun-Zhang discloses further comprising broadcasting one or more SIBs comprising relay-related Sl (Zhang; [0146] Upon receiving the SIB request message, the first UE 320A can determine to forward the requested NW SIB messages received from NW (e.g., the network node 310) to the second UE 320B. The first UE 320A can forward the requested NW SIB messages via PC5-RRC message, unicast, broadcast or SL-MIB)
As to claims 100 and 113, the rejection of claim 98 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Chun-Zhang discloses further comprising indicating, to the remote wireless device, an action to perform to apply SI comprised in one or more SIBs received by the remote wireless device (Chun; [0166] discloses the remote UE has determined whether to access the network by directly receiving the SIB from the eNB).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 97, 101, 110 and 114 are objected, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FAISAL CHOUDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478