CTNF 18/278,881 CTNF 74962 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. DETAILED ACTION This office action is in response to response to application 18/278881 filed on 08/25/23. Summary of claims Claims 1-3, 5, 13 and 15-29 are pending. Claims 1-3, 5, 13-24 and 26-29 are rejected. Claim 25 is objected. Oath/Declaration The oath/declaration filed on August 25 th , 2023 is acceptable. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-3, 5, 13, 15-24 and 26-29 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Vellanki et al. (US Pub. 2021/0325786) . As to claims 1 the prior art teaches a method of pattern selection for a semiconductor manufacturing related process, the method comprising: obtaining a set of patterns (see fig 4 paragraph 0078-0079 and 0121-0124); representing each pattern of the set of patterns as a group of data points in a representation domain, wherein each data point represents the information associated with features within a portion of the given pattern of the set of patterns and wherein the representing comprises converting the given pattern using a set of basis functions, the set of basis functions characterizing the representation domain (see fig 1-4 paragraph 0123-0128); and selecting a subset of patterns from the set of patterns based on the groups of data points as a guide for mutual information between a given pattern and another pattern of the set of patterns (see fig 4-6 paragraph 0131-0140). As to claims 2 and 16, the prior art teaches wherein the information associated with the features comprises pixel values within the portion of the given pattern (see paragraph 0199-0200). As to claims 3 and 17 the prior art teaches wherein the amount of mutual information between the given pattern and the other pattern indicates an amount of information in the given pattern that is common with the other pattern (see fig 4-6 paragraph 0127-0131). As to claims 5 and 19 the prior art teaches wherein upon conversion, the group of data points corresponds to a set of coefficients associated with the set of basis functions (see paragraph 0080-0081). As to claims 13 and 27 the prior art teaches wherein the representation domain corresponds to electromagnetic functions (see fig 1-4 paragraph 0107-0112). As to claim 15 the prior art teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions that, when executed by a computer, system, are configured to cause the computer, system to at least: obtain a set of patterns (see fig 4 paragraph 0078-0079 and 0121-0124); represent each pattern of the set of patterns as a group of data points in a representation domain, wherein each data point represents the information associated with features within a portion of the given pattern of the set of patterns, and wherein the representation of each pattern comprises conversion of the given pattern using a set of basis functions, the set of basis functions characterizing the representation domain (see fig 1-4 paragraph 0123-0128); and select a subset of patterns for a semiconductor manufacturing related process from the set of patterns based on the groups of data points as a guide for mutual information between a given pattern and another pattern of the set of patterns (see fig 4-6 paragraph 0131-0140). As to claim 18 the prior art teaches wherein the set of patterns comprises patterns obtained from: a design layout desired to be printed on a substrate (see fig 1-4 paragraph 0121-0125); a simulated image associated with a patterning process; or a measured image associated with a patterned substrate (see fig 1-4 paragraph 0124-0129). As to claim 20 the prior art teaches wherein the set of coefficients associated with the set of basis functions correspond to a set of locations of pixels of the given pattern in the representative domain (see paragraph 0080-0082). As to claim 21 the prior art teaches wherein the instructions configured to cause the computer to convert the given pattern are further configured to cause the computer system to: project the given pattern of the set of patterns in a linear representation domain, and determine a linear combination of a set of orthogonal functions representing the given pattern of the set of patterns(see paragraph 0081-0089). As to claim 22 the prior art teaches wherein the set of basis functions comprises at least one selected from: a Hermite Gaussian mode; a Zernike polynomial; or a Bessel function (see paragraph 0108-0110). As to claim 23 the prior art teaches wherein the representation domain is a Hilbert space domain (see paragraph 0088-0091). As to claim 24, the prior art teaches wherein the instructions configured to cause the computer system to select the subset of patterns are further configured to cause the computer system to determine a total entropy of the selected patterns as a combination of information entropy associated with each group of data points corresponding to each pattern of the set of patterns, and select a plurality of patterns from the set of patterns based on the total entropy of the selected patterns (see fig 1-4 paragraph 003-0108). As to claims 26 the prior art teaches wherein the instruction are further configured to cause the computer system to: train, based on the subset of patterns, a machine learning model configured to determine one or more characteristics of a patterning process (see fig 4-6 paragraph 0127-0134); calibrate a non-machine learning model using the subset of patterns; or cause performance of metrology or inspection measurement on the subset of patterns (see fig 4-6 paragraph 0136-0142). As to claim 28 the prior art teaches wherein the electromagnetic functions comprise a set of transmission cross coefficient (TCC) functions associated with an illumination of a lithographic apparatus that is used to print one or more patterns of the set of patterns on a substrate (see fig 1-5 paragraph 0070-0076). As to claim 29 the prior art teaches wherein the instruction are further configured to cause the computer system to train, based on the subset of patterns, a machine learning model configured to determine one or more characteristics of a patterning process, wherein the machine learning model is configured to determine one or more characteristics of: an illumination of a lithography apparatus, a mask pattern of a mask, a projection system of the lithography apparatus, or a resist used for printing a pattern on a substrate (see fig 4-6 paragraph 0146-0150)sub . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim 25 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BINH C TAT whose telephone number is 571 272-1908. The examiner can normally be reached on flex 7:00Am-8PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jack Chiang can be reached on 571 272-7483. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /BINH C TAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851 Application/Control Number: 18/278,881 Page 2 Art Unit: 2851 Application/Control Number: 18/278,881 Page 3 Art Unit: 2851 Application/Control Number: 18/278,881 Page 4 Art Unit: 2851 Application/Control Number: 18/278,881 Page 5 Art Unit: 2851 Application/Control Number: 18/278,881 Page 8 Art Unit: 2851