DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 6-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected composition, method, and products, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/21/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kakimoto (JP 59-180542 and its machine translation).
Kakimoto disclose a negative resist and compound comprising an ester of an azidobenzoic acid polyol compound having a structure as instantly claimed. Compounds prepared in reference examples include those below as described by the reference
In the formulas, Ar1 and Ar2 are phenyl with azide crosslinking groups, n1 is 2 or 4, R1 to R4 are H, and L1 and L2 are -C(=O). The compounds as claimed meet the limitations of the instant claims 1 and 2.
With respect to the instant claim 3, as further seen in the formulas, at least one of R11 to R15 and at least one of R21 to R25 is a crosslinking azide group.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho et al (9,745,252) in view of Kakimoto et al.
Ho et al disclose a cross-linking compound having a general structure falling within the scope of the instant Formula 1.
In the formula, the instant Ar1 and Ar2 are each phenyl with azide crosslinking groups, fluorine atoms, and alkyl groups as substituents, L (instant group represented by n1) is a linking group which may contain oxygen heteroatoms (see examples, column 6, lines 31-57, instant L1 and L2 are -C(=O)O- and -C(=O). In examples, R1 to R4 are hydrogen atoms.
In the example, the linking group include -CH2CH2O-.
While the reference teaches similar structures and teaches the any suitable linking group, including a -CH2CH2O-, the reference fails to specifically teach a group wherein n1 is 2 or more.
Kakimoto et al has been discussed above. The reference teaches a compound falling within the scope of the instant claims, and teaches that known linking groups for bis-azide compounds include -CH2CH2O- groups, wherein the instant n1 is 2 or 4.
Given the teachings of the references, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the material of Ho et al, choosing as the linking group, that as taught by Kakimoto et al to be known and useful for a similar compound. The resultant compound would also meet the limitations of the instant claims.
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chua et al (8,530269) in view of Kakimoto et al.
Chua et al disclose an azide-based crosslinking agents comprising a general structure similar to that of the instant Formula 1.
In the formula, the instant crosslinking group is an azide, Ar1 and Ar2 are phenyl groups, with the remaining substituents being fluorine atoms (instant claims 4 and 5), and L being a linking group, with broad examples including -C(=O)O-CH2CH2O-C(=O)- wherein the L (instant group represented by n1) is a linking group which may contain oxygen heteroatoms (see examples, column 6, lines 31-57, instant L1 and L2 are -C(=O)O- and -C(=O).
In the example, the linking group include -CH2CH2O-.
While the reference teaches similar structures and teaches the any suitable linking group, including a -CH2CH2O-, the reference fails to specifically teach a group wherein n1 is 2 or more.
Kakimoto et al has been discussed above. The reference teaches a compound falling within the scope of the instant claims, and teaches that known linking groups for bis-azide compounds include -CH2CH2O- groups, wherein the instant n1 is 2 or 4.
Given the teachings of the references, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the material of Chua et al, choosing as the linking group, that as taught by Kakimoto et al to be known and useful for a similar compound. The resultant compound would also meet the limitations of the instant claims 1-5.
/AMANDA C. WALKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722