DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Applicant’s remarks/amendments of claims 1-9, 11 and 24-25 in the reply filed on June 10th, 2026, is acknowledged. Claims 1-3, 11, 12-15 and 26 have been amended. Claims 16-23 have been withdrawn from consideration. Claims 10, 12-15 and 26 have been cancelled. Claims 1-9, 11 and 16-25 are pending.
Action on merits of claims 1-9, 11 and 24-25 as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 11 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 103 as being unpatentable over Jang (US 2020/0313108, hereinafter as Jang ‘108) in view of Choi (US 2007/0069202, hereinafter as Choi ‘202).
Regarding Claim 1, Jang ‘108 teaches a light-emitting element comprising:
an anode (Fig. 3A, (EL1); [0050]);
a light-emitting layer (Fig. 3A, (EML); [0050]); and
a cathode (Fig. 3A, (EL2); [0050]), wherein the anode, the light-emitting layer, and the cathode are disposed in this stated order, wherein the light-emitting layer (EML) includes a plurality of quantum dots (QD; [0052]) and an insulating material (ISL; [0051]), and an average value of a first gap (A_Annotated) between a quantum dot of the plurality of quantum dots (QDs) in an end face portion of the light-emitting layer on a side of the anode (EL1), and an end face of the light-emitting layer (EML) on the side of the anode (EL1), is less than an average value of a second gap (B_Annotated) between a quantum dot of the plurality of quantum dots (QDs) in an end face portion of the light-emitting layer (EML) on a side of the cathode (EL2), and an end face of the light-emitting layer (EML) on the side of the cathode (EL2).
Jang ‘108 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “an insulating material filled between the plurality of the quantum dots”.
Choi ‘202 teaches an insulating material (Figs. 4A/4B, (50); [0049]-[0050] and [0071]) filled between the plurality of the quantum dots (Figs. 4A/4B, (41); [0071]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Jang ‘108 by having an insulating material filled between the plurality of the quantum dots for the purpose of voiding short service life and electrical instability (see para. [0051]) as suggested by Choi ‘202.
[AltContent: textbox (B)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
Fig. 3A (Jang ‘108_Annotated)
Regarding Claim 2, Jang ‘108 and Choi ‘202 are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “in a case that when the light-emitting layer is equally divided, in a layering direction of the light-emitting element, into first, second, and third portions, an average density of the insulating material increases from the first portion to the second portion, and from the second portion the third portion, the first portion including includes the end face of the light-emitting layer on the side of the anode, the second portion is positioned further on the side of the cathode than the first portion, and the third portion is positioned even further than the second portion on the side of the cathode than the second portion, and includes the end face of the light-emitting layer on the side of the cathode”.
However, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select
an average density of the insulating material increases from the first portion to the second portion, and from the second portion the third portion, the first portion including includes the end face of the light-emitting layer on the side of the anode, the second portion is positioned further on the side of the cathode than the first portion, and the third portion is positioned even further than the second portion on the side of the cathode than the second portion, and includes the end face of the light-emitting layer on the side of the cathode on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. A person of ordinary skills in the art is motivated to select an average density of the insulating material increases from the first portion to the second portion, and from the second portion the third portion, the first portion including includes the end face of the light-emitting layer on the side of the anode, the second portion is positioned further on the side of the cathode than the first portion, and the third portion is positioned even further on the side of the cathode than the second portion, and includes the end face of the light-emitting layer on the side of the cathode in order to improve the performance of the quantum dot LED display device.
Regarding Claim 4, Jang ‘108 and Choi ‘202 are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “the insulating material has a carrier mobility of less than 10-6 cm2 /V.sec”.
However, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a material of the insulating layer such that a carrier mobility of less than 10-6 cm2 /V.sec on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. A person of ordinary skills in the art is motivated to select the insulating material has a carrier mobility of less than 10-6 cm2 /V.sec in order to improve the performance of the quantum dot LED display device.
Regarding Claim 5, Jang ‘108 teaches the insulating material (ISL) includes an inorganic material (see para. [0072]).
Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a material of the insulating layer includes an amorphous material on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. (see para. [0035] of Shimizu (US 2018/0040783)) as evidence. A person of ordinary skills in the art is motivated to select the insulating material includes an amorphous material in order to improve the performance of the quantum dot LED display device.
Regarding Claim 6, Jang ‘108 teaches the insulating material (ISL) includes a silicone-based material (see para. [0073]).
Regarding Claim 11, Jang ‘108 teaches an insulating layer (ISL), the insulating layer forms the end face of the light-emitting layer on the side of the cathode (EL2), and the light-emitting layer includes a quantum dot layer that includes at least the plurality of quantum dots and that forms the end face of the light-emitting layer on the side of the anode (EL1), and the light-emitting layer further includes a plurality of the quantum dot layers, including the quantum dot layer, and a plurality of insulating layers (ISL-3), including the insulating layer, that are alternately layered (see Fig. 6).
Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a plurality of the quantum dot layers, including the quantum dot layer, and a plurality of insulating layers, including the insulating layer, that are alternately layered on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. (see para. [0035] of Shimizu (US 2018/0040783)) as evidence. A person of ordinary skills in the art is motivated to select a plurality of the quantum dot layers, including the quantum dot layer, and a plurality of insulating layers, including the insulating layer, that are alternately layered in order to improve the performance of the quantum dot LED display device.
Regarding Claim 24, Jang ‘108 teaches a display device comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 12, (BS); [0115]);
a plurality of light-emitting elements (EML (B-G-R)) disposed on a subpixel-by-subpixel basis on the substrate (BS); and a bank (PDL; [0115]) separating the plurality of light-emitting elements on the subpixel-by-subpixel basis, wherein: each of the plurality of light-emitting elements includes an anode (EL1; [0083]), a light-emitting layer (EML; [0083]), and a cathode (EL2; [0083]), disposed in this stated order, the light-emitting layer includes: a main light-emitting portion including a light-emitting material, and an outer edge portion disposed at a position that surrounds the main light-emitting portion in a plan view of the substrate, and the bank includes a forwardly tapered face on a side surface, and is in contact with the outer edge portion at the forwardly tapered face (see Fig. 12).
Jang ‘108 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “a deactivation material in which the light-emitting material is deactivated, the outer edge portion forms a deactivation layer made of the deactivation material, and the deactivation layer is continuous with the light-emitting layer via a thin film portion of a thin film, the thin film portion being thinner than a surrounding portion of the thin film that surrounds the thin film portion”.
However, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a deactivation material in which the light-emitting material is deactivated, the outer edge portion forms a deactivation layer made of the deactivation material, and the deactivation layer is continuous with the light-emitting layer via a thin film portion of a thin film, the thin film portion being thinner than a surrounding portion of the thin film that surrounds the thin film portion on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. A person of ordinary skills in the art is motivated to select a deactivation material in which the light-emitting material is deactivated, the outer edge portion forms a deactivation layer made of the deactivation material, and the deactivation layer is continuous with the light-emitting layer via a thin film portion of a thin film, the thin film portion being thinner than a surrounding portion of the thin film that surrounds the thin film portion in order to improve the performance of the quantum dot LED display device.
Regarding Claim 25, Jang ‘108 teaches a main light-emitting layer including the light-emitting material (EML), and an insulating layer (ISL) in contact with the main light-emitting layer on a side of the cathode (EL2) (see Fig. 4).
.
Claims 3 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang ‘108 and Choi ‘202 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee (US 2021/0371732, hereinafter as Lee ‘732).
Regarding Claim 3, Jang ‘108 teaches the insulating material (ISL) interposed between the at least one of the plurality of quantum dots (QDs) and the end face of the light-emitting layer (EML) on the side of the cathode (EL2) (see Fig. 4).
Jang ‘108 and Choi ‘202 are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “a plurality of first compounds that can forms a coordination bond with coordinate to the at least one of the plurality of quantum dots, the at least one of the plurality of quantum dots or the plurality of first compounds is in contact with the end face of the light-emitting layer on the side of the anode, and at least one of the plurality of quantum dots or the at least one of the plurality of first compounds is adjacent to the end face of the light-emitting layer on the side of the cathode, with the insulating material interposed between the at least one of the plurality of quantum dots or the plurality of first compounds and the end face of the light-emitting layer on the side of the cathode”.
Lee ‘732 teaches a plurality of first compounds (Fig. 4, (LD); [0077]) that can forms a coordination bond with coordinate to at least one of the plurality of quantum dots (QD), at least one of the plurality of quantum dots or the plurality of first compounds is in contact with the end face of the light-emitting layer on the side of the anode (EL1; [0048]), and the at least one of the plurality of quantum dots or the at least one of the plurality of first compounds is adjacent to the end face of the light-emitting layer on the side of the cathode (EL2; [0048]) (see Fig. 1),
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Jang ‘108 and Choi ‘202 by having a plurality of first compounds that can forms a coordination bond with coordinate to at least one of the plurality of quantum dots, the at least one of the plurality of quantum dots or the plurality of first compounds is in contact with the end face of the light-emitting layer on the side of the anode, and at least one of the plurality of quantum dots or the at least one of the plurality of first compounds is adjacent to the end face of the light-emitting layer on the side of the cathode for the purpose of providing excellent dispersibility of quantum dot in the organic solvent (see para. [0077]) as suggested by Lee ‘732.
Regarding Claim 7, Lee ‘732 teaches a compound derived from a hydrocarbon-based solvent (see para. [0077]).
Regarding Claim 8, Lee ‘732 teaches at least one first compound (LD) that can coordinate to forms a coordination bond with at least one of the plurality of quantum dots (QDs) see para. [0077]).
Jang ‘108, Choi ‘202 and Lee ‘732 are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “the insulating material includes a tetrafluoroethylene-based material, and a second compound derived from a solvent including a perfluoro-based solvent, and the at least one first compound is soluble in the perfluoro-based solvent”.
However, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select the insulating material includes a tetrafluoroethylene-based material, and a second compound derived from a solvent including a perfluoro-based solvent, and the at least one first compound is soluble in the perfluoro-based solvent on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. A person of ordinary skills in the art is motivated to select the insulating material includes a tetrafluoroethylene-based material, and a second compound derived from a solvent including a perfluoro-based solvent, and the at least one first compound is soluble in the perfluoro-based solvent in order to improve the performance of the quantum dot LED display device.
Regarding Claim 9, Jang ‘108, Choi ‘202 and Lee ‘732 are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “the at least one first compound of the plurality of first compounds includes a binding compound and an excess compound having a higher free energy, with respect to molecular weight, than the binding compound, and a ratio of a quantity of the excess compound to a total quantity of the at least one first compound is 1/(2n) or less, where n is a total quantity of carbon atoms, halogen atoms, group III atoms, group IV atoms, group V atoms, group VI atoms, and hydrogen chains of the excess compound”.
However, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select the at least one first compound of the plurality of first compounds includes a binding compound and an excess compound having a higher free energy, with respect to molecular weight, than the binding compound, and a ratio of a quantity of the excess compound to a total quantity of the at least one first compound is 1/(2n) or less, where n is a total quantity of carbon atoms, halogen atoms, group III atoms, group IV atoms, group V atoms, group VI atoms, and hydrogen chains of the excess compound on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. A person of ordinary skills in the art is motivated to select the at least one first compound of the plurality of first compounds includes a binding compound and an excess compound having a higher free energy, with respect to molecular weight, than the binding compound, and a ratio of a quantity of the excess compound to a total quantity of the at least one first compound is 1/(2n) or less, where n is a total quantity of carbon atoms, halogen atoms, group III atoms, group IV atoms, group V atoms, group VI atoms, and hydrogen chains of the excess compound in order to improve the performance of the quantum dot LED display device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-9, 11 and 24-25, filed on June 10th, 2026, have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Interviews After Final
Applicants note that an interview after a final rejection is permitted in order to place the application in condition for allowance or to resolve issues prior to appeal. However, prior to the interview, the intended purpose and content of the interview should be presented briefly, preferably in writing. Upon review of the agenda, the Examiner may grant the interview if the examiner is convinced that disposal or clarification for appeal may be accomplished with only nominal further consideration. Interviews merely to restate arguments of record or to discuss new limitations will be denied. See MPEP § 714.13
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DZUNG TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893