DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Applicant’s election, without traverse, of Group I, claims 1-9, 11 and 24-25 in the reply filed on December 18th, 2025, is acknowledged. Non-elected invention of Group II, claims 16-23 have been withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1-3, 7-9, 11 and 24-25 have been amended. Claims 10, 12-15 and 26 have been cancelled. Claims 1-9, 11 and 16-25 are pending.
Action on merits of Group I, claims 1-9, 11 and 24-25 as follows.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 25th, 2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 08/25/2023 are acceptable.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Jang (US 2020/0313108, hereinafter as Jang ‘108).
Regarding Claim 1, Jang ‘108 teaches a light-emitting element comprising:
an anode (Fig. 3A, (EL1); [0050]);
a light-emitting layer (Fig. 3A, (EML); [0050]); and
a cathode (Fig. 3A, (EL2); [0050]), wherein the anode, the light-emitting layer, and the cathode are disposed in this stated order, wherein the light-emitting layer (EML) includes a plurality of quantum dots (QD; [0052]) and an insulating material (ISL; [0051]), and an average value of a first gap (A_Annotated) between a quantum dot of the plurality of quantum dots (QDs) in an end face portion of the light-emitting layer on a side of the anode (EL1), and an end face of the light-emitting layer (EML) on the side of the anode (EL1), is less than an average value of a second gap (B_Annotated) between a quantum dot of the plurality of quantum dots (QDs) in an end face portion of the light-emitting layer (EML) on a side of the cathode (EL2), and an end face of the light-emitting layer (EML) on the side of the cathode (EL2).
[AltContent: textbox (B)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
Fig. 3A (Jang ‘108_Annotated)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4-6, 11, 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang ‘108 as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 2, Jang ‘108 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “in a case that when the light-emitting layer is equally divided, in a layering direction of the light-emitting element, into first, second, and third portions, an average density of the insulating material increases from the first portion to the second portion, and from the second portion the third portion, the first portion including includes the end face of the light-emitting layer on the side of the anode, the second portion is positioned further on the side of the cathode than the first portion, and the third portion is positioned even further on the side of the cathode than the second portion, and includes the end face of the light-emitting layer on the side of the cathode”.
However, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select
an average density of the insulating material increases from the first portion to the second portion, and from the second portion the third portion, the first portion including includes the end face of the light-emitting layer on the side of the anode, the second portion is positioned further on the side of the cathode than the first portion, and the third portion is positioned even further on the side of the cathode than the second portion, and includes the end face of the light-emitting layer on the side of the cathode on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. A person of ordinary skills in the art is motivated to select an average density of the insulating material increases from the first portion to the second portion, and from the second portion the third portion, the first portion including includes the end face of the light-emitting layer on the side of the anode, the second portion is positioned further on the side of the cathode than the first portion, and the third portion is positioned even further on the side of the cathode than the second portion, and includes the end face of the light-emitting layer on the side of the cathode in order to improve the performance of the quantum dot LED display device.
Regarding Claim 4, Jang ‘108 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “the insulating material has a carrier mobility of less than 10-6 cm2 /V.sec”.
However, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a material of the insulating layer such that a carrier mobility of less than 10-6 cm2 /V.sec on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. A person of ordinary skills in the art is motivated to select the insulating material has a carrier mobility of less than 10-6 cm2 /V.sec in order to improve the performance of the quantum dot LED display device.
Regarding Claim 5, Jang ‘108 teaches the insulating material (ISL) includes an inorganic material (see para. [0072]).
Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a material of the insulating layer includes an amorphous material on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. (see para. [0035] of Shimizu (US 2018/0040783)) as evidence. A person of ordinary skills in the art is motivated to select the insulating material includes an amorphous material in order to improve the performance of the quantum dot LED display device.
Regarding Claim 6, Jang ‘108 teaches the insulating material (ISL) includes a silicone-based material (see para. [0073]).
Regarding Claim 11, Jang ‘108 teaches an insulating layer (ISL), the insulating layer forms the end face of the light-emitting layer on the side of the cathode (EL2), and includes the insulating material, the light-emitting layer includes a quantum dot layer that includes at least the plurality of quantum dots and that forms the end face of the light-emitting layer on the side of the anode (EL1), and the light-emitting layer further includes a plurality of the quantum dot layers, including the quantum dot layer, and a plurality of insulating layers (ISL-3), including the insulating layer, that are alternately layered (see Fig. 6).
Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a plurality of the quantum dot layers, including the quantum dot layer, and a plurality of insulating layers, including the insulating layer, that are alternately layered on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. (see para. [0035] of Shimizu (US 2018/0040783)) as evidence. A person of ordinary skills in the art is motivated to select a plurality of the quantum dot layers, including the quantum dot layer, and a plurality of insulating layers, including the insulating layer, that are alternately layered in order to improve the performance of the quantum dot LED display device.
Regarding Claim 24, Jang ‘108 teaches a display device comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 12, (BS); [0115]);
a plurality of light-emitting elements (EML (B-G-R)) disposed on a subpixel-by-subpixel basis on the substrate (BS); and a bank (PDL; [0115]) separating the plurality of light-emitting elements on the subpixel-by-subpixel basis, wherein: each of the plurality of light-emitting elements includes an anode (EL1; [0083]), a light-emitting layer (EML; [0083]), and a cathode (EL2; [0083]), disposed in this stated order, the light-emitting layer includes: a main light-emitting portion including a light-emitting material, and an outer edge portion disposed at a position that surrounds the main light-emitting portion in a plan view of the substrate, and the bank includes a forwardly tapered face on a side surface, and is in contact with the outer edge portion at the forwardly tapered face (see Fig. 12).
Jang ‘108 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “a deactivation material in which the light-emitting material is deactivated”.
However, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a deactivation material in which the light-emitting material is deactivated on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. A person of ordinary skills in the art is motivated to select a deactivation material in which the light-emitting material is deactivated in order to improve the performance of the quantum dot LED display device.
Regarding Claim 25, Jang ‘108 teaches a main light-emitting layer including the light-emitting material (EML), and an insulating layer (ISL) in contact with the main light-emitting layer on a side of the cathode (EL2) (see Fig. 4).
.
Claims 3 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang ‘108 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee (US 2021/0371732, hereinafter as Lee ‘732).
Regarding Claim 3, Jang ‘108 teaches the insulating material (ISL) interposed between the at least one of the plurality of quantum dots (QDs) and the end face of the light-emitting layer (EML) on the side of the cathode (EL2) (see Fig. 4).
Jang ‘108 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “a plurality of first compounds that can forms a coordination bond with coordinate to at least one of the plurality of quantum dots, at least one of the plurality of quantum dots or the plurality of first compounds is in contact with the end face of the light-emitting layer on the side of the anode, and at least one of the plurality of quantum dots or the plurality of first compounds is adjacent to the end face of the light-emitting layer on the side of the cathode, with the insulating material interposed between the at least one of the plurality of quantum dots or the plurality of first compounds and the end face of the light-emitting layer on the side of the cathode”.
Lee ‘732 teaches a plurality of first compounds (Fig. 4, (LD); [0077]) that can forms a coordination bond with coordinate to at least one of the plurality of quantum dots (QD), at least one of the plurality of quantum dots or the plurality of first compounds is in contact with the end face of the light-emitting layer on the side of the anode (EL1; [0048]), and at least one of the plurality of quantum dots or the plurality of first compounds is adjacent to the end face of the light-emitting layer on the side of the cathode (EL2; [0048]) (see Fig. 1),
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Jang ‘108 by having a plurality of first compounds that can forms a coordination bond with coordinate to at least one of the plurality of quantum dots, at least one of the plurality of quantum dots or the plurality of first compounds is in contact with the end face of the light-emitting layer on the side of the anode, and at least one of the plurality of quantum dots or the plurality of first compounds is adjacent to the end face of the light-emitting layer on the side of the cathode for the purpose of providing excellent dispersibility of quantum dot in the organic solvent (see para. [0077]) as suggested by Lee ‘732.
Regarding Claim 7, Lee ‘732 teaches a compound derived from a hydrocarbon-based solvent (see para. [0077]).
Regarding Claim 8, Lee ‘732 teaches at least one first compound (LD) that can coordinate to forms a coordination bond with at least one of the plurality of quantum dots (QDs) see para. [0077]).
Jang ‘108 and Lee ‘732 are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “the insulating material includes a tetrafluoroethylene-based material, and a second compound derived from a solvent including a perfluoro-based solvent, and the at least one first compound is soluble in the perfluoro-based solvent”.
However, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select the insulating material includes a tetrafluoroethylene-based material, and a second compound derived from a solvent including a perfluoro-based solvent, and the at least one first compound is soluble in the perfluoro-based solvent on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. A person of ordinary skills in the art is motivated to select the insulating material includes a tetrafluoroethylene-based material, and a second compound derived from a solvent including a perfluoro-based solvent, and the at least one first compound is soluble in the perfluoro-based solvent in order to improve the performance of the quantum dot LED display device.
Regarding Claim 9, Jang ‘108 and Lee ‘732 are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “the at least one first compound of the plurality of first compounds includes a binding compound and an excess compound having a higher free energy, with respect to molecular weight, than the binding compound, and a ratio of a quantity of the excess compound to a total quantity of the at least one first compound is 1/(2n) or less, where n is a total quantity of carbon atoms, halogen atoms, group III atoms, group IV atoms, group V atoms, group VI atoms, and hydrogen chains of the excess compound”.
However, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select the at least one first compound of the plurality of first compounds includes a binding compound and an excess compound having a higher free energy, with respect to molecular weight, than the binding compound, and a ratio of a quantity of the excess compound to a total quantity of the at least one first compound is 1/(2n) or less, where n is a total quantity of carbon atoms, halogen atoms, group III atoms, group IV atoms, group V atoms, group VI atoms, and hydrogen chains of the excess compound on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. A person of ordinary skills in the art is motivated to select the at least one first compound of the plurality of first compounds includes a binding compound and an excess compound having a higher free energy, with respect to molecular weight, than the binding compound, and a ratio of a quantity of the excess compound to a total quantity of the at least one first compound is 1/(2n) or less, where n is a total quantity of carbon atoms, halogen atoms, group III atoms, group IV atoms, group V atoms, group VI atoms, and hydrogen chains of the excess compound in order to improve the performance of the quantum dot LED display device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to semiconductor devices:
Zhang et al. (US 2022/0127527 A1)
Chung et al. (US 2020/0335715 A1)
Shimizu (US 2018/0040783 A1)
For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
/DZUNG TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893