Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rinne (US 7932615).
Regarding claim 1, Rinne discloses a method for packaging a semiconductor, the method comprising:
preparing a wafer (601-603) comprising a plurality of semiconductor devices [Fig. 6a, col. 11, lines 57-67, and col. 12, lines 1-17];
disposing a mask member (shadow mask) on the wafer [col. 10, lines 43-52]; and
supplying a conductive material (607) on the wafer to pass through the mask member (shadow mask) [col. 10, lines 23-25 and 43-52], thereby forming a conductive pattern layer (607) on the wafer [Fig, 6C].
Regarding claim 2, Rinne discloses wherein the preparing of the wafer comprises preparing the wafer, on which a passivation layer (605,606) is formed, on the plurality of semiconductor devices [Figs. 6a-6b].
Regarding claim 4, Rinne discloses wherein the disposing of the mask member comprises aligning the mask member (shadow mask) on the wafer [Col. 10, lines 43-46].
Regarding claim 5, Rinne discloses wherein the disposing of the mask member (shadow mask) comprises disposing the mask member on the wafer so as to be spaced apart (over) from the wafer (601-603) [Col. 10, lines 43-46].
Regarding claim 6, Rinne discloses wherein the forming of the conductive pattern layer (607) is performed by a sputtering process [Fig. 6C and Col. 10, lines 46-49].
Regarding claim 9, Rinne discloses after the forming of the conductive pattern layer, cutting the wafer for each semiconductor device [col. 11, lines 57-67 and col. 12, lines 1-17].
Regarding claim 10, Rinne discloses wherein the mask member comprises a shadow mask [Col. 10, lines 43-52].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rinne (US 7932615).
Regarding claims 7-8, the court has held that "[I]n considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom." In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968). In the instant case, Rinne discloses a first step of aligning a mask [col. 10, lines 43-46] and then, a second step of depositing the seed layer [col. 10, lines 46-49]. Therefore, Rinne makes obvious the limitations as recited in claims 7-8 since one ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the steps of aligning the mask and depositing the seed layer in Rinne are not required to be performed at the same time.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on February 5, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Rinne does not teach or suggest the features as now recited in claim 1. However, the Examiner disagrees. Rinne, as stated in the rejection above, does disclose the argued process in column 10, lines 23-25 and 43-52. Therefore, applicant's arguments are not persuasive and hence, the rejection is considered to be proper.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/Jose R Diaz/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815