DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to an application filed 08/28/2023 in which claims 1-2, 4-9 & 13 have been amended and claims 14-15 have been added in a preliminary amendment filed 08/28/2023. Claims 1-15 in the application are pending and currently being examined.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/07/2023, 04/18/2024 & 07/19/2024 are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
5. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a textured or a smooth roll” recited in claim 5 and “generatrix recessed frustum structure, a generatrix protruded frustum structure, a frustum structure, or a staircase structure” recited in claim 8 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
7. Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
As regards to claim 13, line 3 recites “high-precision repeatable positioning devices” which is a relative term and renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examination purposes, examiner is interpreting “high-precision repeatable positioning devices” as any device positioning device. To correct this problem, amend claim 13 to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
As regards to claim 14, lines 2-3 recites “high-precision repeatable positioning devices” which is a relative term and renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examination purposes, examiner is interpreting “high-precision repeatable positioning devices” as any device positioning device. To correct this problem, amend claim 14 to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
As regards to claim 15, lines 2-3 recites “high-precision repeatable positioning devices” which is a relative term and renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examination purposes, examiner is interpreting “high-precision repeatable positioning devices” as any device positioning device. To correct this problem, amend claim 15 to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claims 1-8 & 10-15 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Becker et al. (US 2017/0157966 A1) hereinafter Becker (the terminology of the claims in the application is used, but the references of Becker are included between parentheses).
Regarding claim 1, the recitation “for a lithium-ion battery (LIB) separator… adhesives… separator coating adhesive… coating adhesive droplets… to form incompletely covered coating layers”, this recitation is a statement of process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use which does not patentably distinguish over Becker since Becker meets all the structural elements of the claim and is capable of applying adhesives for separator coating adhesive & coating adhesive droplets to form incompletely covered coating layers for a lithium-ion battery (LIB) separator, if so desired, and does not add structure to the claim. Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use of a known apparatus does not give it patentable weight. See In re Thuau, 57 USPQ 324, CCPA 979 135 F2d 344, 1943. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus shows all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). It is additionally noted that it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). Furthermore, “expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666,667 (Bd. App. 1969). Thus, the “inclusion of material or article worked upon does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 (USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). Therefore, Examiner is disregarding any structural limitations to the apparatus based on process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and the process intended to be used with the apparatus. See MPEP 2114 & 2115.
As regards to claim 1, Becker discloses a dispensing device for a lithium-ion battery (LIB) separator (abs; fig 1; clm 1), comprising: a coating adhesive transferring device (3+9), wherein the coating adhesive transferring device (3+9) comprises an adhesive accommodating device (3) and a relief roll (9); accommodating grooves (6) for accommodating adhesives (4) are provided on the adhesive accommodating device (3); transferring protrusions (10) are arranged on a rolling surface of the relief roll (9); the transferring protrusions (10) are configured to insert into corresponding ones of the accommodating grooves (6) on the adhesive accommodating device (3) capable of transferring a separator coating adhesive (4); the separator coating adhesive (4) capable of forming coating adhesive droplets covering transferring end surfaces (G) of the transferring protrusions (10); and a planar bottom roll (11) rotates reversely relative to the adhesive accommodating device (3), such that a coating film (12) is driven to move, and the coating adhesive droplets on the transferring protrusions (10) capable of dripping onto the coating film (12) capable of forming incompletely covered coating layers on the coating film (12) ([0015]; [0021]; [0026]; [0028]-[0030]; [0041]-[0043]; [0077]; [0079]; fig 1; clm 1-4).
As regards to claim 2, Becker discloses a dispensing device (abs; fig 1; clm 1), further comprising a feed amount controller (5) and the planar bottom roll (11), wherein the planar bottom roll (11) is located under the coating adhesive transferring device (3+9); a film passing gap (see fig 1) for allowing the coating film (12) to pass through is provided between the planar bottom roll (11) and the coating adhesive transferring device (3+9); and the feed amount controller (5) is configured to detect and control feed amounts (implicit in order to control proper dispensing) when the transferring protrusions (10) on the relief roll (9) are inserted into the accommodating grooves (6) on the adhesive (4) accommodating device (3) ([0015]; [0021]; [0026]; [0028]-[0030]; [0041]-[0043]; [0077]; [0079]; fig 1; clm 1-2).
Regarding claim 3, the recitation “such that the coating adhesive forms liquid film layers of a uniform thickness on a surface”, this recitation is a statement of process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use which does not patentably distinguish over Becker since Becker meets all the structural elements of the claim and is capable of forming liquid film layers of a uniform thickness on a surface, if so desired, and does not add structure to the claim. Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use of a known apparatus does not give it patentable weight. See In re Thuau, 57 USPQ 324, CCPA 979 135 F2d 344, 1943. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus shows all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). It is additionally noted that it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). Furthermore, “expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666,667 (Bd. App. 1969). Thus, the “inclusion of material or article worked upon does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 (USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). Therefore, Examiner is disregarding any structural limitations to the apparatus based on process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and the process intended to be used with the apparatus. See MPEP 2114 & 2115.
As regards to claim 3, Becker discloses a dispensing device (abs; fig 1; clm 1), further comprising an application device (7), wherein the application device (7) abuts against the adhesive accommodating device (3), such that the coating adhesive (4) is capable of forming liquid film layers of a uniform thickness on a surface of the adhesive accommodating device (3) ([0015]; [0021]; [0026]; [0028]-[0030]; [0041]-[0043]; [0077]; [0079]; fig 1; clm 1-2).
As regards to claim 4, Becker discloses a dispensing device (abs; fig 1; clm 1), wherein the application device (7) comprises a blade (doctor) configured to respectively scrape the adhesive (4) accommodating device (3) ([0021]; [0077]; fig 1; clm 1-2).
As regards to claim 5, Becker discloses a dispensing device (abs; fig 1; clm 1), wherein the adhesive accommodating device (3) comprises an anilox roll ([0015]; [0021]; [0026]; [0028]; [0077]; [0079]; fig 1; clm 1-2).
As regards to claim 6, Becker discloses a dispensing device (abs; fig 1; clm 1), wherein ratios Q of inner diameters d1 of the accommodating grooves (6) to diameters d2 of the transferring end surfaces (G) of the transferring protrusions (10) are greater than or equal to 1.5 ([0036]; [0077]-[0082]; [0084]; fig 1; clm 4).
As regards to claim 7, Becker discloses a dispensing device (abs; fig 1; clm 1), wherein the transferring end surfaces (G) of the transferring protrusions (10) are circular surfaces; the transferring end surfaces (G) have diameters d2 between 20 μm and 1 mm; and when the transferring protrusions (10) are inserted into the accommodating grooves (6), the transferring end surfaces (G) and bottoms of the accommodating grooves (6) have spacings L (W) between 20 μm and 250 μm (129 μm) ([0034]; [0036]; [0077]-[0082]; [0084]; fig 1; clm 4).
As regards to claim 8, Becker discloses a dispensing device (abs; fig 1; clm 1), wherein the transferring protrusions (10) each are a staircase structure (see fig 2) ([0015]; [0021]; [0026]; [0028]-[0030]; [0077]-[0084]; fig 1-2 & 5; clm 1).
Regarding claim 10, the recitation “wherein the coating adhesive droplets drip onto the coating film based on a tension difference between different materials”, this recitation is a statement of process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use which does not patentably distinguish over Becker since Becker meets all the structural elements of the claim and is capable of having the coating adhesive droplets drip onto the coating film based on a tension difference between different materials, if so desired, and does not add structure to the claim. Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use of a known apparatus does not give it patentable weight. See In re Thuau, 57 USPQ 324, CCPA 979 135 F2d 344, 1943. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus shows all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). It is additionally noted that it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). Furthermore, “expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666,667 (Bd. App. 1969). Thus, the “inclusion of material or article worked upon does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 (USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). Therefore, Examiner is disregarding any structural limitations to the apparatus based on process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and the process intended to be used with the apparatus. See MPEP 2114 & 2115.
As regards to claim 10, Becker discloses a dispensing device (abs; fig 1; clm 1), wherein the coating adhesive droplets area capable of dripping onto the coating film (12) based on a tension difference between different materials (features depend on properties of the adhesive rheology (such as viscosity) and rotational speed of the rollers) ([0015]; [0021]; [0026]; [0028]-[0030]; [0039]-[0069]; [0077]; [0079]; fig 1; clm 1-4).
As regards to claim 11, Becker discloses a dispensing device (abs; fig 1; clm 1), wherein the relief roll (9) and the coating film (12 - packaging materials, labels, antistatic materials, decoration materials, in security applications, for laser marking, as magnetic element or as lighting element) are made of the different materials (implicit, relief roll not print substrate having a functional coating produced in this way, in particular in packaging materials, labels, antistatic materials, decoration materials, in security applications, for laser marking, as magnetic element or as lighting element) ([0015]-[0069]; [0077]; [0079]; fig 1; clm 1-4).
Regarding claim 12, the recitation “wherein the coating adhesive droplets further drip onto the coating film under actions of gravities and centrifugal forces”, this recitation is a statement of process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use which does not patentably distinguish over Becker since Becker meets all the structural elements of the claim and is capable of having the coating adhesive droplets drip onto the coating film under actions of gravities and centrifugal forces, if so desired, and does not add structure to the claim. Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use of a known apparatus does not give it patentable weight. See In re Thuau, 57 USPQ 324, CCPA 979 135 F2d 344, 1943. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus shows all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). It is additionally noted that it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). Furthermore, “expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666,667 (Bd. App. 1969). Thus, the “inclusion of material or article worked upon does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 (USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). Therefore, Examiner is disregarding any structural limitations to the apparatus based on process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and the process intended to be used with the apparatus. See MPEP 2114 & 2115.
As regards to claim 12, Becker discloses a dispensing device (abs; fig 1; clm 1), wherein the coating adhesive (4) droplets are further capable of dripping onto the coating film (12) under actions of gravities and centrifugal forces (features depend on properties of the adhesive rheology (such as viscosity) and rotational speed of the rollers) ([0015]; [0021]; [0026]; [0028]-[0030]; [0039]-[0069]; [0077]; [0079]; fig 1; clm 1-4).
As regards to claim 13, Becker discloses a dispensing device (abs; fig 1; clm 1), wherein the feed amount controller (5) comprises a high-precision repeatable positioning device (implicit of continuous printing) ([0015]; [0021]; [0026]; [0028]-[0030]; [0041]-[0043]; [0077]; [0079]; fig 1; clm 1-2).
As regards to claim 14, Becker discloses a dispensing device (abs; fig 1; clm 1), wherein the feed amount controller (5) comprises a high-precision repeatable positioning device (implicit of continuous printing) ([0015]; [0021]; [0026]; [0028]-[0030]; [0041]-[0043]; [0077]; [0079]; fig 1; clm 1-2).
As regards to claim 15, Becker discloses a dispensing device (abs; fig 1; clm 1), wherein the feed amount controller (5) comprises a high-precision repeatable positioning device (implicit of continuous printing) ([0015]; [0021]; [0026]; [0028]-[0030]; [0041]-[0043]; [0077]; [0079]; fig 1; clm 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker as applied to claim 8 above (the terminology of the claims in the application is used, but the references of Becker are included between parentheses).
As regards to claim 9, Becker discloses a dispensing device (abs; fig 1; clm 1), wherein the staircase structure comprises a connecting base (see fig 2, rectangle) and a transferring boss (13); a cross-sectional area of the transferring boss (13) is less than a cross-sectional area of the connecting base (see fig 2, rectangle); the transferring boss (13) is a cylindrical structure (see fig 2); the connecting base (see fig 2, rectangle) is a frustum structure; the cylindrical structure has a height h1≤200 μm; and a ratio N of the height h1 of the cylindrical structure to the diameter d2 of each of the transferring end surfaces is less than or equal to 2.5 ([0015]; [0021]; [0026]; [0028]-[0030]; [0077]-[0084]; fig 1-2 & 5; clm 1), however Becker does not disclose a frustum structure.
Although Becker does not explicitly disclose the claimed shape & configuration, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Becker to have the shape & configuration recited in the claim is not expected to alter the operation of the device in a patentably distinct way as the shape & configuration is considered engineering aspects of a device, not problems or sources of problems to be solved. In addition, it is the position of the examiner that the disclosure provides no evidence of criticality with regard to the shape & configuration. Where the configuration of the claimed subject matter is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed subject matter was significant is not patent eligible subject matter. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)
Conclusion
14. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: all references cited on the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited excluding the above relied upon references.
/Jethro M. Pence/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717