Claims 1-12 are pending in this application and are being examined.
Objection(s):
Claims 1-12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 1, replace “[Claim 1]” with –Claim 1.--.
In claim 2, line 1, replace “[Claim 2]” with –Claim 2.--.
In claim 3, line 1, replace “[Claim 3]” with –Claim 3.--.
In claim 4, line 1, replace “[Claim 4]” with –Claim 4.--.
In claim 5, line 1, replace “[Claim 5]” with –Claim 5.--.
In claim 6, line 1, replace “[Claim 6]” with –Claim 6.--.
In claim 7, line 1, replace “[Claim 7]” with –Claim 7.--.
In claim 8, line 1, replace “[Claim 8]” with –Claim 8.--.
In claim 9, line 1, replace “[Claim 9]” with –Claim 9.--.
In claim 10, line 1, replace “[Claim 10]” with –Claim 10.--.
In claim 11, line 1, replace “[Claim 11]” with –Claim 11.--.
In claim 12, line 1, replace “[Claim 12]” with –Claim 12.--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejection - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Safari et al. (Fish & Shellfish Immunology, Vol. 67, 2017, p. 441-448) as evidenced by Wikipedia (Apple cider vinegar according to Wikipedia 3 pages of PDF, retrieved on 10/14/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Safari et al. disclose a fermented apple composition having an effect of reducing or inhibiting expression of inflammatory cytokines (apple cider vinegar or ACV) (See for example, p. 442 left-hand column paragraph 2.1., and also Abstract).
Regarding claim 2, Safari et al. disclose the fermented apple composition reduces or inhibits the inflammation-induced inflammatory cytokine expression by 10% or more when inflammation-induced cells are treated therewith, as compared to inflammation-induced cells without treatment with the fermented apple composition (highest MRNA expression levels of immune related genes including IL8 in common carp fed +HACV and +LACV compared to control) (See for example, p. 443 right-hand column paragraph 5.3.1., and p. 444 Figure 1D and related legend showing fold increase of interleukin 8 (IL8) relative expression for ACV added diets).
Regarding claim 3, Safari et al. disclose the inflammatory cytokine is IL-8 (highest MRNA expression levels of immune related genes including IL8 in common carp fed +HACV and +LACV) (See for example, p. 443 right-hand column paragraph 5.3.1.).
Regarding claim 4, Safari et al. disclose the fermented apple composition has an anti-inflammatory effect (highest MRNA expression levels of immune related genes including IL8 in common carp fed +HACV and +LACV) (See for example, p. 443 right-hand column paragraph 5.3.1.).
Regarding claim 5, Safari et al. disclose the fermented apple composition is an apple acetic acid-fermented composition (apple cider vinegar or ACV, fermented product of apples mainly acetic acid) (See for example, p. 441 right-hand column “Introduction” -Continued).
Regarding claim 6, it should be noted that according to Wikipedia, the fermented apple composition of Safari et al. is an apple yeast-fermented and acetic acid bacteria-fermented composition (apple cider vinegar is apple juice fermented by yeast and then by acetic acid forming bacteria, etc.) (see p. 1 1st paragraph of Wikipedia).
Regarding claim 7, Safari et al. disclose the food comprising the fermented apple composition of claim 1 (ACV + dietary formulation = experimental diet, and feed additive) (See for example, p. 442 left-hand column paragraph 2.1., and p. 446 right-hand column paragraph below figure 3 legend).
Regarding claim 10, Safari et al. disclose a health functional food comprising the fermented apple composition of claim 1 (ACV + dietary formulation = experimental diet, and feed additive) (See for example, p. 442 left-hand column paragraph 2.1., and p. 446 right-hand column paragraph below figure 3 legend).
Regarding claims 8, 9, 11 and 12, i.e., the food is for preventing or improving enteritis (claim 8), the food is for improving or enhancing intestinal health (claim 9), the health functional food is for preventing or improving enteritis (claim 11), and the health functional food is for improving or enhancing intestinal health (claim 12). Although, Safari et al. do not explicitly disclose the claimed intended uses or properties of the claimed composition, however claiming of new uses which are inherently present in the prior art do not necessarily makes the claim patentable. Also, because the fermented apple composition disclosed by Safari et al. is the same as the claimed composition the claimed properties not explicitly disclosed are inherently present.
Safari et al. therefore anticipate the claimed fermented apple composition.
Double Patenting Rejection:
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1, 3, 4 and 11-13 of copending Application No. 18/275364 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 3, 4 and 11-13 of copending Application No. 18/275364 disclose a fermented apple composition, the fermented apple composition of claim 1, wherein the fermented apple composition is an apple acetic acid-fermented composition, the fermented apple composition of claim 3, wherein the fermented apple composition is an apple yeast-fermented and acetic acid bacteria-fermented composition, a food comprising the fermented apple composition of claim 1, the food of claim 12, wherein the food is for improving or enhancing skin health, and a health functional food comprising the fermented apple composition of claim 1. As such, the fermented apple composition of claims 1, 3, 4 and 11-13 of copending Application No. 18/275364, anticipate the claimed fermented apple composition of claims 1-12 of instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion(s):
No claim(s) is allowed at this time.
/KADE ARIANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1651