The amendments and responses filed on April 14, 2026 and May 27, 2026, are received.
Claims 5 and 6 are canceled.
Claims 1-4 and 7-12 are pending in this application and are being examined.
Answer to Arguments:
Withdrawn Objection(s) and Rejection(s):
The objection to claims 1-12, is withdrawn due to the amendment to the claims filed on 05/27/2026.
The rejection of claims 1-12 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Safari et al. (Fish & Shellfish Immunology, Vol. 67, 2017, p. 441-448) as evidenced by Wikipedia (Apple cider vinegar according to Wikipedia 3 pages of PDF, retrieved on 10/14/2025), is withdrawn due to the amendment to the claims filed on 05/27/2026.
With respect the provisional rejection of claims 1-4 and 7-12 (previously 1-12) on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1, 3, 4 and 11-13 of copending Application No. 18/275364 (reference application), no terminal disclaimer is filed and Applicant stated that it will address the double patenting rejection when claims are otherwise allowable. As such the rejection is maintained.
Applicant's amendments to claim 1, necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
Claim Rejection - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR20120021531A (English translation 11 pages of PDF).
Regarding claim 1, KR20120021531A disclose a fermented apple composition having an effect of reducing or inhibiting expression of inflammatory cytokines, wherein the fermented apple composition consists of a fermented product produced by fermentation of an apple concentrate and purified water with yeast and acetic acid bacteria, and the fermented product reduces or inhibits the expression of inflammatory cytokines (see for example, p. 1 1st paragraph, and p. 3 paragraphs 11-14/parts a-d).
Regarding claims 2-4, although KR20120021531A does not explicitly disclose the claimed properties of, reduces or inhibits the inflammation-induced inflammatory cytokine expression by 10% …, the inflammatory cytokine is IL-8, has an anti-inflammatory effect, however because KR20120021531A disclose the same fermented apple composition, therefore the claimed properties not explicitly taught are inherently present.
Regarding claim 7, KR20120021531A disclose a food comprising the fermented apple composition of claim 1 (apple cider vinegar) (See for example, p. 3 paragraph 10).
Regarding claims 8, 9 and 11-12, although KR20120021531A does not explicitly disclose the claimed properties of, preventing or improving enteritis, improving or enhancing intestinal health, however because KR20120021531A disclose the same fermented apple composition, therefore the claimed properties not explicitly taught are inherently present.
Regarding claim 10, a health functional food comprising the fermented apple composition of claim 1 (apple cider vinegar) (See for example, p. 3 paragraph 10).
KR20120021531A therefore anticipate the claimed composition.
Double Patenting Rejection:
Claims 1-4 and 7-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1, 3, 4 and 11-13 of copending Application No. 18/275364 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 3, 4 and 11-13 of copending Application No. 18/275364 disclose a fermented apple composition, the fermented apple composition of claim 1, wherein the fermented apple composition is an apple acetic acid-fermented composition, the fermented apple composition of claim 3, wherein the fermented apple composition is an apple yeast-fermented and acetic acid bacteria-fermented composition, a food comprising the fermented apple composition of claim 1, the food of claim 12, wherein the food is for improving or enhancing skin health, and a health functional food comprising the fermented apple composition of claim 1. As such, the fermented apple composition of claims 1, 3, 4 and 11-13 of copending Application No. 18/275364, anticipate or make obvious the claimed fermented apple composition of claims 1-4 and 7-12 of instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion(s):
No claim(s) is allowed at this time.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KADE ARIANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1651