DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mouli (US Publication No. 2013/0001593) in view of Anderson et al (US Patent No. 6,867,460).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Mouli discloses a semiconductor device and a method of manufacturing, comprising: a substrate Fig 3, 16 including a principal surface; a semiconductor layer Fig 3, 18 formed as a surface layer of the substrate Fig 3, 16 or formed on the principal surface of the substrate Fig 3, 16, the semiconductor layer Fig 3, 18 having a crystal structure in which an angle between two of a plurality of crystal orientations with equivalent relationships on a crystal plane having a correspondence with the principal surface of the substrate is 60 degrees ¶0014-0019, the surface layer being the principal surface of the substrate Fig 3; an element region including a plurality of unit element regions formed on the principal surface of the substrate Fig 2. Mouli discloses all the limitations but silent on the fin arrangement.
Whereas Anderson discloses multiple fin transistors formed in the semiconductor layer Fig 5-6, in the respective unit element regions Fig 5-6, wherein the multiple fin transistors radially extend from a center toward an outer periphery of the element region Fig 5-6, and adjacent two of the multiple fin transistors have a spacing Fig 5-6. Mouli and Anderson are analogous art because they are directed to semiconductor devices having FinFETs and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Mouli because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of Mouli and incorporate the teachings of Anderson to improve device performance (Column 5, lines 24-38). Also, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the spacing (in º angle) of the fins, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ (CCPA 1980).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-15, 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
After further search and consideration, it is determined that the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the specific arrangement of the multiple fins’ transistor relative to the crystal orientations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicants’ argument that the prior art of record does not teach the arrangement/orientation of the fins structure, the examiner disagree and finds the argument unpersuasive. Anderson discloses the arrangement/orientation of the fins Fig 5, 220A-220C, 235A-235C to extend from a center Fig 5, 210 radially as shown in Fig 5 and in Column 5 line 17-Column 6, line 35. The NFET and the PFET structure are arranged in circular layout Fig 5. Therefore the combination of Mouli and Anderson discloses the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINE A ENAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811