DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1-8, filed 01/28/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Son et al. (US 20220130915 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, 12, 13, 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 202100113535 A) in view of Son et al. (US 20220130915 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a display panel (10), comprising a light-transmitting display area ( DA2 with TA) and a main display area (DA1) adjacent to the light-transmitting display area (DA2), in a plan view of the display panel, (Fig. 1 provides a plan (top) view) wherein a light transmittance of the light-transmitting display area (DA2 with TA) is greater than a light transmittance of the main display area (DA1), (see page 4 of the translation) and the display panel comprises:
a substrate (100); (Fig. 1 and 2)
a pixel driving circuit layer (IL), located on the substrate (100) in a perpendicular direction perpendicular to the plan view (Fig. 1 provides a plan (top) view) and comprising a plurality of inorganic insulating layers (111-114) stacked in the perpendicular direction and a plurality of pixel driving circuits (TFT) arranged in the main display area (DA1); (Fig. 1 and 2)
an organic insulating layer (115+117), located on the pixel driving circuit layer (IL) in the perpendicular direction and comprising a first organic insulating sub-layer (115) and a second organic insulating sub-layer (117) located on the first organic insulating sub-layer (115); (Fig. 5a) and
a light-emitting layer (OLED), located on the organic insulating layer (115+117) in the perpendicular direction and comprising a plurality of first pixels (P in Fig. 4a) located in the main display area (DA1) and a plurality of second pixels (P1 and P2 in Fig. 5a) located in the light-transmitting display area (DA2) in the plan view (Fig. 1), wherein the first pixels (P) and the second pixels (P1 and P2) are electrically connected with the corresponding ones of the plurality of pixel driving circuits (TFT); (Fig. 2) wherein
the pixel driving circuit layer (IL) comprises a plurality of first grooves (annotated below) in the light-transmitting display area (DA2) and located between the second pixels (P1 and P2 in Fig. 5a) in a plan view (Fig. 1); the first grooves (annotated below) adjacent to different second pixels (P1 and P2 in Fig. 5a) are communicated (aligned) with each other; the first organic insulating sub-layer (115) fills the first grooves (annotated below) and contacts a portion (102) of an upper surface of the substrate (100) in the first grooves (annotated below); (Fig. 5a)
Lee does not disclose:
a first distance from a portion, overlapping the first grooves in the perpendicular direction, of a surface of the first organic insulating sub-layer located at the first grooves away from the substrate to the upper surface of the substrate is less than a second distance from a portion, located in the main display area, of the surface of the first organic insulating sub-layer located in the main display area away from the substrate to the upper surface of the substrate, and wherein the upper surface of the substrate is flat.
However, Son discloses:
and a first distance (annotated below) from a portion (of 170 annotated below), overlapping the first grooves in the perpendicular direction, of a surface of the first organic insulating sub-layer (170) located at the first grooves (annotated below) away from the substrate (100) to the upper surface of the substrate (SB) is less than a second distance (annotated below) from a portion (of 170 annotated below), located in the main display area (WA), of the surface of the first organic insulating sub-layer (170) in the main display area (WA) away from the substrate (SB) to the upper surface of the substrate (SB), and wherein the upper surface of the substrate (SB) is flat. ([0147], Fig. 10)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Lee and Son for a first distance from a portion, overlapping the first grooves in the perpendicular direction, of a surface of the first organic insulating sub-layer located at the first grooves away from the substrate to the upper surface of the substrate is less than a second distance from a portion, located in the main display area, of the surface of the first organic insulating sub-layer located in the main display area away from the substrate to the upper surface of the substrate, and wherein the upper surface of the substrate is flat in order to “helping to planarize the layers positioned under the encapsulation layer 600…. thereby increasing the flatness of the transmission areas TA1 and TA2” (Son, [0194]-[0195])
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the pixel driving circuit layer (IL) further comprises: a plurality of second grooves (annotated below) in the light-transmitting display area (DA2) and corresponding to the second pixels (P1/P2), one of the second grooves (annotated below) being communicated (aligned) with the adjacent first grooves (annotated below). (Fig. 5a)
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses the display panel according to claim 3, wherein a fourth distance (annotated below) from a surface of the first organic insulating sub-layer (115) located at the second grooves (annotated below) away from the substrate (100) to the substrate is equal to the first distance (annotated in Fig. 5a of claim 1). (Fig. 5a)
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses the display panel according to claim 3, wherein a depth of the first grooves (annotated above) is equal to a depth of the second grooves (annotated above). (Fig. 5a)
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the first organic insulating sub-layer (115) comprises third grooves (annotated below) in the light-transmitting display area (DA2) and corresponding (near) to the first grooves (annotated below), and a width (annotated below) of the third grooves is less than or equal to a width (annotated below) of the first grooves. (Fig. 5a)
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses the display panel according to claim 6, wherein a projection width (annotated above) of sidewalls of the third grooves (annotated above) on the substrate (100) is less than or equal to a projection width of sidewalls of the first grooves (annotated below) on the substrate (100). (Fig. 5a)
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses the display panel according to claim 1, wherein each of the first grooves (annotated below) comprises a plurality of sub-grooves (103OP-114-OP) stacked and communicated (aligned) with each other, and a width of the sub-grooves (112OP-114OP) away from the substrate (100) is greater than a width of the sub-grooves (103OP-111OP) adjacent to the substrate (100).
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the substrate (100) comprises a base substrate (101) and a barrier layer (102) thereon. (Fig. 5a)
Regarding claim 13 Lee discloses a display device, comprising a display panel (10), comprising a light-transmitting display area ( DA2 with TA) and a main display area (DA1) adjacent to the light-transmitting display area (DA2), in a plan view of the display panel, (Fig. 1 provides a plan (top) view) wherein a light transmittance of the light-transmitting display area (DA2 with TA) is greater than a light transmittance of the main display area (DA1), (see page 4 of the translation) and the display panel comprises:
a substrate (100); (Fig. 1 and 2)
a pixel driving circuit layer (IL), located on the substrate (100) in a perpendicular direction perpendicular to the plan view (Fig. 1 provides a plan (top) view) and comprising a plurality of inorganic insulating layers (111-114) stacked in the perpendicular direction and a plurality of pixel driving circuits (TFT) arranged in the main display area (DA1); (Fig. 1 and 2)
an organic insulating layer (115+117), located on the pixel driving circuit layer (IL) in the perpendicular direction and comprising a first organic insulating sub-layer (115) and a second organic insulating sub-layer (117) located on the first organic insulating sub-layer (115); (Fig. 5a) and
a light-emitting layer (OLED), located on the organic insulating layer (115+117) in the perpendicular direction and comprising a plurality of first pixels (P in Fig. 4a) located in the main display area (DA1) and a plurality of second pixels (P1 and P2 in Fig. 5a) located in the light-transmitting display area (DA2) in the plan view (Fig. 1), wherein the first pixels (P) and the second pixels (P1 and P2) are electrically connected with the corresponding ones of the plurality of pixel driving circuits (TFT); (Fig. 2) wherein
the pixel driving circuit layer (IL) comprises a plurality of first grooves (annotated below) in the light-transmitting display area (DA2) and located between the second pixels (P1 and P2 in Fig. 5a) in a plan view (Fig. 1); the first grooves (annotated below) adjacent to different second pixels (P1 and P2 in Fig. 5a) are communicated (aligned) with each other; the first organic insulating sub-layer (115) fills the first grooves (annotated below) and contacts a portion (102) of an upper surface of the substrate (100) in the first grooves (annotated below); (Fig. 5a)
Lee does not disclose:
a first distance from a portion, overlapping the first grooves in the perpendicular direction, of a surface of the first organic insulating sub-layer located at the first grooves away from the substrate to the upper surface of the substrate is less than a second distance from a portion, located in the main display area, of the surface of the first organic insulating sub-layer located in the main display area away from the substrate to the upper surface of the substrate, and wherein the upper surface of the substrate is flat.
However, Son discloses:
and a first distance (annotated below) from a portion (of 170 annotated below), overlapping the first grooves in the perpendicular direction, of a surface of the first organic insulating sub-layer (170) located at the first grooves (annotated below) away from the substrate (100) to the upper surface of the substrate (SB) is less than a second distance (annotated below) from a portion (of 170 annotated below), located in the main display area (WA), of the surface of the first organic insulating sub-layer (170) in the main display area (WA) away from the substrate (SB) to the upper surface of the substrate (SB), and wherein the upper surface of the substrate (SB) is flat. ([0147], Fig. 10)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Lee and Son for a first distance from a portion, overlapping the first grooves in the perpendicular direction, of a surface of the first organic insulating sub-layer located at the first grooves away from the substrate to the upper surface of the substrate is less than a second distance from a portion, located in the main display area, of the surface of the first organic insulating sub-layer located in the main display area away from the substrate to the upper surface of the substrate, and wherein the upper surface of the substrate is flat in order to “helping to planarize the layers positioned under the encapsulation layer 600…. thereby increasing the flatness of the transmission areas TA1 and TA2” (Son, [0194]-[0195])
Regarding claim 15, Lee discloses the display panel according to claim 13, wherein the pixel driving circuit layer (IL) further comprises: a plurality of second grooves (annotated below) provided in the light-transmitting display area (DA2) and corresponding to the second pixels (P1/P2), and the second grooves (annotated below) are communicated (aligned) with the adjacent first grooves (annotated below). (Fig. 5a)
Regarding claim 16, Lee discloses the display panel according to claim 15, wherein a fourth distance (annotated below) from a surface of the first organic insulating sub-layer (115) located at the second grooves (annotated below) away from the substrate (100) to the substrate is equal to the first distance (annotated in Fig. 5a of claim 1). (Fig. 5a)
Regarding claim 17, Lee discloses the display panel according to claim 13, wherein the first organic insulating sub-layer (115) comprises third grooves (annotated below) in the light-transmitting display area (DA2) and corresponding (near) to the first grooves (annotated below), and a width (annotated below) of the third grooves is less than or equal to a width (annotated below) of the first grooves. (Fig. 5a)
Regarding claim 18, Lee discloses the display panel according to claim 17, wherein a projection width (annotated above) of sidewalls of the third grooves (annotated above) on the substrate (100) is less than or equal to a projection width of sidewalls of the first grooves (annotated below) on the substrate (100). (Fig. 5a)
Regarding claim 19, Lee discloses the display panel according to claim 13, wherein each of the first grooves comprises a plurality of sub-grooves stacked and communicated with each other, and a width of the sub-grooves away from the substrate is greater than a width of the sub-grooves adjacent to the substrate.
Claim 2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 202100113535 A) in view of Son et al. (US 20220130915 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, respectively, and further in view of Kang et al. (US 20220085328 A1), hereinafter Kang328 and Kang et al. (US 20200083475 A1), hereinafter Kang475.
Regarding claim 2, Lee in view of Son disclose the display panel according to claim 1. Lee in view of Son do not disclose wherein
the pixel driving circuit layer further comprises: a plurality of protrusions disposed in the light-transmitting display area and corresponding to the second pixels, one of the plurality of protrusions being surrounded by the first grooves; a third distance from a surface of the first organic insulating sub-layer located on the protrusions away from the substrate to the substrate is greater than the first distance, and less than the second distance.
However, Kang328 discloses:
the pixel driving circuit layer (IL) further comprises: a plurality of protrusions (G) disposed in the light-transmitting display area (DA2) and corresponding (near) to the second pixels (222ab), one of the plurality of protrusions being surrounded by the first grooves (H3); (Fig. 8)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Lee, Son and Kang328 for the pixel driving circuit layer further comprises: a plurality of protrusions disposed in the light-transmitting display area and corresponding to the second pixels, one of the plurality of protrusions being surrounded by the first grooves in order to have “a transmission area having improved transmittance” (Kang328, [0002])
Kang328 does not disclose:
a third distance from a surface of the first organic insulating sub-layer located on the protrusions away from the substrate to the substrate is greater than the first distance, and less than the second distance
However, Kang475 does disclose:
a third distance (annotated below) from a surface of the first organic insulating sub-layer (207) located on the protrusions (annotated below) away from the substrate (100) to the substrate is greater than the first distance (annotated below) and less than the second distance (annotated below). (Fig. 7)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Lee, Son, Kang328 and Kang475 for a third distance from a surface of the first organic insulating sub-layer located on the protrusions away from the substrate to the substrate is greater than the first distance, and less than the second distance in order to have “a display panel capable of preventing infiltration of moisture via an opening of the display panel,” (Kang475, [0006])
Regarding claim 14, Lee in view of Son disclose the display panel according to claim 13. Lee in view of Son do not disclose wherein
the pixel driving circuit layer further comprises: a plurality of protrusions disposed in the light-transmitting display area and corresponding to the second pixels, one of the plurality of protrusions being surrounded by the first grooves; a third distance from a surface of the first organic insulating sub-layer located on the protrusions away from the substrate to the substrate is greater than the first distance, and less than the second distance.
However, Kang328 discloses:
the pixel driving circuit layer (IL) further comprises: a plurality of protrusions (G) disposed in the light-transmitting display area (DA2) and corresponding (near) to the second pixels (222ab), one of the plurality of protrusions being surrounded by the first grooves (H3); (Fig. 8)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Lee, Son and Kang328 for the pixel driving circuit layer further comprises: a plurality of protrusions disposed in the light-transmitting display area and corresponding to the second pixels, one of the plurality of protrusions being surrounded by the first grooves in order to have “a transmission area having improved transmittance” (Kang328, [0002])
Kang328 does not disclose:
a third distance from a surface of the first organic insulating sub-layer located on the protrusions away from the substrate to the substrate is greater than the first distance, and less than the second distance
However, Kang475 does disclose:
a third distance (annotated below) from a surface of the first organic insulating sub-layer (207) located on the protrusions (annotated below) away from the substrate (100) to the substrate is greater than the first distance (annotated below) and less than the second distance (annotated below). (Fig. 7)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before t]he effective filing date to combine the teachings of Lee, Son, Kang328 and Kang475 for a third distance from a surface of the first organic insulating sub-layer located on the protrusions away from the substrate to the substrate is greater than the first distance, and less than the second distance in order to have “a display panel capable of preventing infiltration of moisture via an opening of the display panel,” (Kang475, [0006])
Claims 9, 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 202100113535 A) as applied to claims 8, and 19 above, respectively and further in view of Kang et al. (US 20200083475 A1) hereinafter Kang475.
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses the display panel according to claim 8, wherein the pixel driving circuit layer (IL) comprises:
a buffer layer (111), located on the substrate (100); (Fig. 5a)
a first gate insulating layer (112), located on the buffer layer (111); (Fig. 5a)
a second gate insulating layer (113), located on the first gate insulating layer (112); (Fig. 5a) and
an interlayer dielectric layer (114), located on the second gate insulating layer (113); (Fig. 5a)
Lee does not disclose:
the plurality of the sub-grooves comprises a first sub-groove and a second sub-groove, and
wherein a width of the first sub-groove formed on the buffer layer and the first gate insulating layer is less than a width of the second sub-groove formed on the second gate insulating layer and the interlayer dielectric layer.
However, Kang475 discloses:
the plurality of the sub-grooves comprises a first sub-groove (annotated below) and a second sub-groove (annotated below), and
wherein a width of the first sub-groove (annotated below) formed on the buffer layer (203) and the first gate insulating layer (205) is less than a width of the second sub-groove (annotated below) formed on the second gate insulating layer (207) and the interlayer dielectric layer (209). (Fig. 7)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Lee and Kang475 for the plurality of the sub-grooves comprises a first sub-groove and a second sub-groove, and wherein a width of the first sub-groove formed on the buffer layer and the first gate insulating layer is less than a width of the second sub-groove formed on the second gate insulating layer and the interlayer dielectric layer in order to prevent “infiltration of moisture via an opening of the display panel”. (Kang, [0006])
Regarding claim 10, Kang475 discloses the display panel according to claim 9. Kang475 does not explicitly disclose:
wherein an included angle between a bottom surface of the second sub-groove and a sidewall of the second sub-groove is less than or equal to 115 degrees.
However, Kang475 does show in Fig. 7 above that the second sub-groove is at an angle that is slightly over 90 degrees and therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use the teachings of Kang475 for an included angle between a bottom surface of the second sub-groove and a sidewall of the second sub-groove is less than or equal to 115 degrees with routine experiment and optimization. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
Regarding claim 20, Lee discloses the display panel according to claim 19. Lee does not disclose wherein
the plurality of the sub-grooves comprises a first sub-groove and a second sub-groove, a width of the first sub-groove is less than a width of the second sub-groove, and an included angle between a bottom surface of the second sub-groove and a sidewall of the second sub-groove is less than or equal to 115 degrees.
However, Kang475 discloses:
the plurality of the sub-grooves comprises a first sub-groove (annotated below) and a second sub-groove (annotated below), (Fig. 7)
a width of the first sub-groove (annotated below) is less than a width of the second sub-groove (annotated below) , (Fig. 7)
Kang475 does not explicitly disclose:
an included angle between a bottom surface of the second sub-groove and a sidewall of the second sub-groove is less than or equal to 115 degrees.
However, Kang475 does show in Fig. 7 above that the second sub-groove is at an angle that is slightly over 90 degrees and therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use the teachings of Kang475 for an included angle between a bottom surface of the second sub-groove and a sidewall of the second sub-groove is less than or equal to 115 degrees with routine experiment and optimization. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 202100113535 A) in view of Kang et al. (US 20200083475 A1), Kang475, as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Cha et al. (US 20220399407 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Lee in view of Kang475 disclose the display panel according to claim 9. Lee in view of Kang475 do not disclose further comprising:
a light shielding layer located below the pixel driving circuit layer, and provided with an opening corresponding to the first groove, wherein a width of the opening is greater than or equal to the width of the first sub-groove.
However, Cha discloses:
a light shielding layer (BML) located below the pixel driving circuit layer (TFT), and provided with an opening (BML-OP) corresponding to the first groove (in TA), wherein a width of the opening (BML-OP) is greater than or equal to the width of the first sub-groove (in TA). ([0124], Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Lee, Kang475 and Cha for a light shielding layer located below the pixel driving circuit layer, and provided with an opening corresponding to the first groove, wherein a width of the opening is greater than or equal to the width of the first sub-groove in order to “prevent a function of the thin-film transistor TFT arranged in the second display area DA2 from being deteriorated by light passing through the transmissive area TA” (Cha, [0083]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASHLEY NICOLE BLACKWELL/Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/JACOB Y CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897