DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 9-10 are withdrawn from consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 and 11-20 in the reply filed on 27 April 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 9-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “also having” may be more appropriately written as “further comprising”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-8, 11-12 and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Quednau et al. (DE 102017104905).
Regarding claim 1, Quednau discloses an arrangement for providing a plurality of nanowires galvanically on a substrate (26) [0001], [0006] (= apparatus for galvanically growing a plurality of nanowires on a substrate), comprising:
A substrate module (28) [0155] (= a substrate holder);
A housing (27) [0155] (= and a housing);
An interior of the housing (= in which a chamber);
A control unit (34) (= a control unit), and
Electrolyte (6) supplied to the housing from tube (16) (= and a storage tank for an electrolyte are arranged). It is noted that the instant claim states a housing in which…a storage tank…are arranged”. The phrase does not require a specific structural arrangement. Moreover, the tube, sponge, etc. of Quednau read on the claimed storage tank since the electrolyte is stored within these elements. Alternatively, the container (35) reads on the claimed storage tank as it stores the electrolyte [0158].
The phrase “the apparatus being designed to grow the plurality of nanowires from the electrolyte onto the substrate when the substrate holder with the substrate has been inserted into the chamber” is directed towards the manner of operating the claimed device and does not further structurally limit the claimed device (MPEP 2114 II).
Regarding claim 2, in the instant claim the common casing of Quednau reads on the claimed chamber which is made of a material impermeable to the electrolyte [0129].
Regarding claims 3, 11 and 17, the claimed “designed to” does not further structurally limit the claimed control unit. Moreover Quednau discloses a control unit and adjusting parameters overtime [0023], [0101].
Regarding claims 4, 12 and 18, the claimed “designed to” does not further structurally limit the claimed control unit. Moreover Quednau discloses a control unit that is connected with a pressure device such that the pressure and/or a time of course of the pressure force can be controlled [0109]-[0110].
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Quednau discloses a sponge (10) (= an elastic element) that is placed on the substrate which is detachably connected to the receptacle (33) [0155]. The sponge may be removed from the substrate by adjusting the pressure unit (9) [0146].
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Quednau discloses the device comprising the sponge placed on the foil [0146]. The claimed “can be” is not a positive recitation of a structural element. The phrase “can be arranged” is not a positive requirement. The claimed “movable rest” is not particularly structurally limiting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6, 13-14 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quednau et al. (DE 102017104905) in view of Yu (CN 209602661).
Regarding claims 5-6, 13-14 and 19-20, Quednau fails to disclose the claim pump (as applied to claim 5, 13 and 19) and the claimed filter (as applied to claim 6, 14 and 20).
In the same or similar field of electroplating devices, Yu discloses a device comprising an environmentally friendly electroplating waste liquid filtration (title). Yu discloses the device comprising a filter cartridge (3) and a pump (5) that are fitted with shock-absorbing assemblies to reduce the noise and vibration caused by their use [0015], [0025].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a device comprising a pump and a filter because Yu discloses an electroplating device fitted with a pump and filter for filtering impurities in used electrolyte in an environmentally friendly manner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2014/0027294 – rotating cylinder, nanostructures
/Stefanie S Wittenberg/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795