DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kobayashi (JP2007268693, cited in IDS, with reference to translation).
Claim 1: Kobayashi discloses a metal cutting milling tool (end mill 20), comprising: a body (22) rotatable around a central axis (L1) in a rotational direction, wherein the body comprises a front end (33), a plurality of land portions (24/40) extending axially rearwards from the front end (paragraph 28), a plurality of chip rooms (27) extending axially rearwards from the front end, wherein each chip room of the plurality of chip rooms is positioned between two adjacent land portions of the plurality of land portions (e.g. five of each alternating around the circumference, evident in the figures), each land portion of the plurality of land portions being delimited by a leading surface (on which the inserts 23 are mounted) and a trailing surface (opposite to the above) as seen in the rotational direction (e.g. Fig. 1), and wherein each land portion as part of the leading surface in a radially outer and forward region, includes an insert seat (40) arranged for receiving a cutting insert (23) wherein at the front end of the milling tool, in a plane perpendicular to the central axis, an angle between a radius intersecting a radially outer point in the insert seat of a first land portion of the plurality of land portions and a radius intersecting a corresponding point in the insert seat of a second land portion of the plurality of land portions defines a seat pitch angle (essentially each of α1- α5, where in Kobayashi this angle is shown between adjacent insert faces rather than seats but ultimately measures an analogous angle and is merely circumferentially offset by insert thickness) for the first land portion, and wherein the first land portion and a second land portion are adjacent consecutive land portions in the rotational direction (see Fig. 1), at least three different land portions of the plurality of land portions have seat pitch angles that differ in value (all five are different, e.g. 60°, 75°, 72°, 76°, and 77° - paragraph 35), and wherein at the front end of the milling tool, each land portion of the plurality of land portions has a respective arc length (base end thicknesses W1-W5) defined by the circumferential distance along the radial periphery of the milling tool between the insert seat and the trailing surface for respective land portion (Fig. 1), wherein a longest arc length is at most 10% longer than a shortest arc length (e.g. they may be set equal - paragraph 50), wherein the insert seats each include a screw hole (29) for fixing one of the cutting inserts (paragraph 28), wherein the screw hole extends transverse to the insert seat, and wherein each screw hole is a through hole (this appears to be the case, e.g. in Figs. 3-5), and wherein each screw hole extends from one chip room to an adjacent chip room to an adjacent chip room in the rotational direction (this appears to be the case, e.g. in Figs. 3-5).
Claim 2: Kobayashi further discloses cutting inserts (23) that are positioned one in each of the insert seats (40) and wherein all the cutting inserts are identical (the inserts 23 are presumed identical at least for the first embodiment for lack of disclosure to the contrary, and in view of a second embodiment where the inserts may differ - paragraph 51).
Claim 3: At the front end of the milling tool, in a plane perpendicular to the central axis, a line parallel to an upper side of a cutting insert and a line parallel to the trailing surface, associated with the same chip room as the cutting insert, of the adjacent land portion, defines an opening angle (chip space angle β) for a respective cutting insert, and wherein at least three of the opening angles differ in value (paragraph 39).
Claim 7: A longest screw hole is at most 10% longer than a shortest screw hole (given the holes pass through the thickness of portions 46 and their lengths would correspond essentially to the base end thicknesses W1-W5 discussed above, the screw holes are also presumed to be within 10% of each other, e.g. equal as cited for W1-W5).
Claim 8: The longest arc length (W) is at most 5% longer than the shortest arc length (they may be equal as noted above).
Claim 9: The shortest arc length (W) is at least as long as a thickness of the cutting inserts (evident in e.g. Fig. 1, 3, 7).
Claims 10-11: A largest seat pitch angle (α) is at least 5° larger than a smallest seat pitch angle, or at least 8° larger than a smallest seat pitch angle of the seat pitch angles (the largest angle is 77°while the smallest is 60°, where the difference is 17° - paragraph 35).
Claim 12: All the seat pitch angles have different values (e.g. 60°, 75°, 72°, 76°, and 77° - paragraph 35).
Claim 13: All the cutting inserts are positioned at a same radial distance from the central axis (this is presumed the case for lack of disclosure otherwise and in view of Fig. 1).
Claims 14-15: The milling tool is an indexable (having inserts 23) end milling tool (paragraph 21) or slot milling tool (the tool could mill a slot).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 9, and 13 are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi in view of Schneider et al. (U.S. PGPub 2002/0085887, cited in IDS).
Claim 2: In the event that Kobayashi is insufficient in disclosing all the cutting inserts being identical, Schneider et al. teaches a similar tool wherein all the cutting inserts are identical (paragraph 36). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used identical cutting inserts so that they can be exchanged if necessary (Id.).
Claims 3, 9, and 13: Claims 3, 9, and 13, being dependent from claim 2, may alternatively be rejected over Kobayashi in view of Schneider et al. for substantially the same reasons as indicated above in view of Kobayashi alone.
Claims 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (or alternatively in further view of Schneider et al.).
Claim 4: The opening angles (chip space angles β) of Kobayashi are all acute and are thus all less than 100°, and appear to be at least about 45°, but it is unclear wherein all the opening angles are within 60-100°. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have set the opening angles to within 60-100° it has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). Additionally or alternatively, Kobayashi discloses that the opening angle is a result effective variable and is selected in view of chip discharge performance, for example (paragraphs 39-40). Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying Kobayashi to have opening angles within the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Kobayashi by making the opening angles to within 60-100° as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 9: Alternatively, while it appears to be that the shortest arc length (W) is at least as long as a thickness of the cutting inserts, it is further noted that Kobayashi discloses that the arc length is a result effective variable and is selected in view of based on the cutting resistance calculated from the cutting conditions of the workpiece, the number of chips 23 to be attached, and the shape of the chips 23, for example (paragraphs 40, 47). Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying Kobayashi to have arc lengths within the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Kobayashi by making the shortest arc length (W) at least as long as a thickness of the cutting inserts as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/1/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “anticipation requires that every limitation of the claim be disclosed in the prior art, either expressly or inherently”. However, with regard to implicit disclosure, "[I]n considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom." In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968). See MPEP 2144.01. Additionally, the express, implicit, and inherent disclosures of a prior art reference may be relied upon in the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 (MPEP 2112). Thus, applicant has omitted implicit disclosure from the list of valid options from which disclosure may be gleaned.
Figs. 3-5 of Kobayashi each show the rear side of a landing as the landings wrap around the central axis of the tool. It is understood the landings have screw holes 29, and the rear sides of the landings as shown each have what appears to be a similar corresponding hole, suggesting the hole 29 extends through the landing. This appears to be distinct from the cooling passages 17 and their exits 18 (Fig. 4, paragraph 34) which are located substantially above (e.g. Fig. 5). The examiner submits that one of ordinary skill would presume these unlabeled openings to be the rear exits of the holes 29 for lack of a better explanation.
Kobayashi does not explicitly describe the holes 29 as “blind”, contrary to Applicant’s assertion on page 8, and their off-handed mention as a “recess” does not necessarily preclude interpretation as a through hole.
In extending from the front side to the rear side of the land portion, the hole would naturally extend from one chip room to the other given the chip rooms are simply the spaces defined between the front and rear of respective land portions.
Similar through-hole structures are apparent is other references such as U.S. Patent 5,685,670 (Fig. 5), U.S. PGPub 2020/0198019 (Fig. 1a), U.S. PGPub 2018/0071840 (Fig. 1), U.S. PGPub 2017/0189972 (Figs. 7-9), and U.S. PGPub 2014/0072377 (Fig. 2) as a non-exhaustive list. For this reason, even if the above is ultimately found unconvincing or insufficient, the claimed features do not appear to be unique such that they are unlikely to be a fruitful avenue for further prosecution.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JP2014124693 discloses a milling cutter having different angle values δ which may be set within a range satisfying “87.5 ° ≦ δ ≦ 92.5 °.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Matthew P Travers/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726