DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 30, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on August 30, 2023 are acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: i. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ren et al. (CN 103985310 A). Note: citations are made using the English machine translations of documents.
Regarding claim 1, Ren et al. teaches a magnetic suspension device, including: a base (5, 12 in Fig. 1), including at least two first magnetic action units arranged in interval and corresponding to each other (3, 14 in Fig. 1); and a suspension member (7 in Fig. 1), including at least two second magnetic action units (15, 16 in Fig. 1), the at least two second magnetic action units magnetically interact with the at least two first magnetic action units so that the suspension member is suspended between the at least two first magnetic units (Fig. 1; [0012], [0016]).
Regarding claim 2, Ren et al. teaches wherein the base includes a base member (12 in Fig. 1) and a frame member (5 in Fig. 1) which is connected to the base member and extends away from the base member (Fig. 1), and the at least two first magnetic action units are respectively disposed on the base member and the frame member (14, 3 in Fig. 1, respectively).
Regarding claim 3, Ren et al. teaches wherein the at least two first magnetic action units and the at least two second magnetic action units define an axis passing through a center of the suspension member. (Examiner’s note: the axis can be seen below in Image 1. As can be seen in this image, the magnetic action units are arranged in such a way that an axis passing through the center of the suspension member can be defined.)
Regarding claim 4. Ren et al. teaches wherein the suspension member is spherical or non-spherical, or regular or irregular shape (7 in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Ren et al. teaches wherein the at least two first magnetic action units include at least one first upper magnetic action portion (3 in Fig. 1) and at least one first lower magnetic action portion (14 in Fig. 1) arranged in interval and corresponding to each other, the at least two second magnetic action units include at least one second upper magnetic action portion (16 in Fig. 1) and at least one second lower magnetic action portion (15 in Fig. 1), the at least one first upper magnetic action portion and the at least one second upper magnetic action portion attract ([0016]: the upper magnet of the model (16) and the upper magnet of the base/frame (3) have unlike magnetic poles; that is, they attract. The magnetic poles can be seen in Fig. 1), and the at least one first lower magnetic action portion and the at least one second lower magnetic action portion repel or attract ([0016]: the lower magnet of the model (15) and the lower magnet of the base/frame (14) have like magnetic poles; that is, they repel. The magnetic poles can be seen in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Ren et al. teaches wherein the at least one first upper magnetic action portion (3 in Fig. 1) and the at least one second upper magnetic action portion (16 in Fig. 1) are arranged in interval. (Examiner’s note: the examiner is interpreting the phrase “arranged in interval” to mean that the two magnetic action portions are separate pieces arranged in such a way that they share the primary axis shown below in Image 1.)
Regarding claim 9, Ren et al. teaches wherein a distance between the at least two first magnetic action units is adjustable ([0012]: “the coil can provide subtle change of magnetic field, maintaining the suspension state of the earth model.” The control chip (9 in Fig. 1) and coil of the electromagnet (14 in Fig. 1) enables adjustment of the model suspension state. As seen in Fig. 1, if the magnetic field of the electromagnet (14 in Fig. 1) is either strengthened or weakened, there will be a corresponding change in the distance between the first magnetic action units (3, 14 in Fig. 1)
Image 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. (CN 103985310 A) in view of Marechal et al. (US 2012/0112589 A1). Note: citations are made using the English machine translations of documents.
Regarding claim 6, Ren et al. discloses the invention from above, but does not explicitly teach wherein one of the at least one first upper magnetic action portion and the at least one second upper magnetic action portion includes an arcuate face or tip, and the at least one first upper magnetic action portion and the at least one second upper magnetic action portion are substantially in point contact via the arcuate face or tip.
Marechal et al. discloses wherein one of the at least one first upper magnetic action portion and the at least one second upper magnetic action portion includes an arcuate face or tip, and the at least one first upper magnetic action portion and the at least one second upper magnetic action portion are substantially in point contact via the arcuate face or tip (2 in Figs. 1-3, [0095]-[0096]; the tip of the component is magnetic and has an arcuate shape. The pole piece 4 represents the first upper magnetic action portion, with the magnetic tip 2 representing the second upper magnetic action portion. The two pieces remain in contact with each other, creating a pivot point.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use the magnetic tip disclosed by Marechal et al. with the magnetic suspension device disclosed by Ren et al. in order to reduce rotational friction between the two magnetic action portions, allowing for easier movement.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. (CN 103985310 A) in view of Forshpan (US 2008/0060128 A1), in further view of Smoot et al. (US 2011/0074237 A1). Note: citations are made using the English machine translations of documents.
Regarding claim 8, Ren et al. discloses wherein the base includes a base member (12 in Fig. 1) and a frame member (5 in Fig. 1) which is connected to the base member and extends away from the base member (Fig. 1), and the at least two first magnetic action units are respectively disposed on the base member and the frame member (14, 3 in Fig. 1 respectively); the at least one first upper magnetic action portion includes at least one permanent magnet (3 in Fig. 1, [0016]), the at least one second upper magnetic action portion includes at least one permanent magnet (16 in Fig. 1, [0016]), the at least one first lower magnetic action portion is disposed on the base member, the at least one first lower magnetic action portion includes at least one electromagnet (14 in Fig. 1, [0005], [0016]; the lower magnet 14 is wrapped in a coil that receives an electric current controlled by a control chip) and the at least one second lower magnetic action portion includes at least one permanent magnet (15 in Fig. 1, [0015]-[0016]); the frame member is detachably assembled with the base member (11 in Fig. 1, [0018]; Examiner’s note: based on Fig. 1, it is implicit that the base and frame are detachably assembled); the at least two first magnetic action units and the at least two second magnetic action units define an axis passing through a center of the suspension member. (Examiner’s note: the axis can be seen above in Image 1. As can be seen in this image, the magnetic action units are arranged in such a way that an axis passing through the center of the suspension member can be defined); and the suspension member is spherical or non-spherical, or regular or irregular shape (7 in Fig. 1).
Ren et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the frame member has an adjustable length.
Forshpan discloses wherein the frame member has an adjustable length (23 in Fig. 1, [0018]: “The length of tubular shafts 23 and the angle between them and base member 12 may vary, such that the height and position of support member 16 may be adjustable.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use the adjustable frame member disclosed by Forshpan with the magnetic suspension device disclosed by Ren et al. in order to accommodate varying sizes of suspension members.
Ren et al. and Forshpan disclose the combined invention from above, but do not explicitly disclose the base member further including at least one magnetism sensing member, and the at least one magnetism sensing member is connected to and coils of the at least one electromagnet.
Smoot et al. discloses the base member including at least one magnetism sensing member (124 in Fig. 1, [0025]), and the at least one magnetism sensing member is connected to and coils of the at least one electromagnet (236, Fig. 2, [0025]: “a Hall effect sensor may be provided as sensor 124 and provide a feedback signal via a line in arm 116 to a controller or actuator of the electromagnet 120.” The magnetism sensing member (Hall effect sensor) is connected to the electromagnet coils via the driver/actuator).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use the magnetism sensing member disclosed by Smoot et al. with the magnetic suspension device disclosed by Ren et al. and Forshpan in order to change sense and adjust the magnetic field of the electromagnet, enabling increased stabilization of the suspension member.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. (CN 103985310 A) in view of French (US 6275127 B1). Note: citations are made using the English machine translations of documents.
Regarding claim 10, Ren et al. discloses the invention from above, but does not explicitly teach wherein the suspension member further includes at least one electronic component, and the at least one electronic component is capable of providing at least one of electrical signal, optical signal, audio signal or/and vibration signal.
French discloses wherein the suspension member further includes at least one electronic component (60 in Fig. 7, para. (20) of Description: “A solar battery 14 when illuminated by light L supplies power by means of wires, not shown, to an electronics package 60 which generates appropriate electrical signals to power toroidal coil of wire 48 by means of wires not shown), and the at least one electronic component is capable of providing at least one of electrical signal, optical signal, audio signal or/and vibration signal (para. 20 of Description, as stated above).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use the electronic component and suspension member disclosed by French with the magnetic suspension device disclosed by Ren et al. in order to provide a signal to the suspension member for charging an internal light source, for the purpose of more clear viewing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Please see attached PTO-892.
Kazadi et al. (US 8149079 B2) teaches A levitating mount apparatus is provided which utilizes a permanent magnetic male and female levitation support as described in U.S. Pat. No. 7,501,922. The mount has two general forms. In one general class, the mount is attached to an axle aligned with the axis of symmetry of the female part of the permanent magnetic male and female levitation support. In the second class, the female part of the permanent magnetic male and female levitations support is attached to the bottom of the mount, and no axle is utilized. The mount is stabilized using a stationary support structure which has limited contact with the levitating portion of the apparatus at the top of the mount.
Contact Information
/FRED E FINCH III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/DANIEL R SCHWARCK/Examiner, Art Unit 2838