DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 42-46 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group (II), Species (B), and Modifications (Z2-Z5), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 30 December 2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group (I), Species (A), Modification (Z1) in the reply filed on 30 December 2025 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 30 August 2023 has been considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claim 29, Applicant states wherein the halogen element has a density from 1015 cm-3 to 1020 cm-3. It is unclear to one of ordinary skill in the art what calculation is used to find the density of the halogen element and it is unclear if the density of the halogen element is the mass density or the number density or a different density.
For the purpose of Examination, the Examiner is treating the density of the halogen element as the number density of the halogen element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 27-30, 32 and 34-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moon Gyu Han et al. (US 2020/0343487 A1; hereinafter “Han”).
Regarding Claim 27, Han teaches a light-emitting element (20, Fig. 2, para [0252] describes a light emitting device 20) comprising:
a light-emitting layer (13a, Fig. 2, para [0252] describes a first emissive layer 13a), that includes:
a quantum dot (para [0238] describes wherein the emissive layer 13a may include quantum dots),
a halogen element (para [0161] describes wherein the emissive layer 13a may comprise a halogen element), and
a coordination compound that is coordinated with the quantum dot (para [0145] describes wherein the emissive layer 13a may comprise an organic ligand present on surfaces of the quantum dots), wherein:
the coordination compound includes a compound having one or more, and n or less, carbon-hydrogen bonds, where n is a plural number (para [0146] and para [0147] describes wherein an organic ligand comprising a coordination compound may be oleic acid wherein oleic acid has one or more and n or less carbon-hydrogen bonds), or a compound having n chain structures with different elements bonded at any two coordination positions of an element that has a coordination number of four or greater (para [0146] and para [0147] describes wherein the organic ligand comprising the coordination compound may comprise a plurality of organic ligand compounds wherein a resulting structure would have at least n chain structures with different elements bonded at any two coordination positions, such as carbon, hydrogen and oxygen, and may have a coordination number of four or greater) and
a mass ratio between the coordination compound and the quantum dot is 0.5 or less (para [0159] describes the organic ligand material, representing the coordination compound, in the first emission layer may be less than or equal to about 20 % of the total weight of the emission layer 13a based on a total weight of the quantum dots).
Regarding Claim 28, Han teaches the light-emitting element according to claim 27, wherein the halogen element is present at, or near, a surface of the quantum dot (para [0156] describes wherein the emission layer 13a may include halogen as a ligand wherein the resulting halogen ligand would be present at or near a surface of the quantum dot).
Regarding Claim 29, Han teaches the light-emitting element according to claim 27, wherein the halogen element has a density from 1015 cm-3 to 1020 cm-3 (para [0164] describes wherein the molar amount of the halogen included in the emission layer may be greater than or equal to about 0.0001 wherein a molar amount of 0.0001 mol wherein the halogen element may be comprised of fluorine wherein fluorine has a density of 1.696 g/L, or 0.001696 g/cm3 wherein a number density of 0.0001 mol of fluorine would be (0.0001 x 0.001696 x 6.02214076 x 1023)/cm3 = 1.02135507 x 1017 wherein (1.02135507 x 1017) / cm3 falls within the range of 1015 cm-3 to 1020 cm-3).
Regarding Claim 30, Han teaches the light-emitting element according to claim 28,
wherein the quantum dot includes a core (para [0168] describes wherein the quantum dots may include a core) and a shell formed around the core (para [0168] describes wherein the quantum dots may include a shell on the core), and
a distance between the halogen element and the surface of the quantum dot is equal to, or less than, a distance corresponding to a thickness of the shell (para [0294] describes wherein the halogen is on the surface of the quantum dots further wherein para [0163] describes wherein the halogen element may bond with the metal of the quantum dot such as Zn wherein such a bond on a surface of the quantum dot would result in a distance between the halogen element and the surface of the quantum dot to be equal, to or less than, a distance corresponding to a thickness of the shell).
Regarding Claim 32, Han teaches the light-emitting element according to claim 27,
wherein the coordination compound includes a compound having three or more carbon-hydrogen bonds or a compound having three or more chain structures (para [0146] and para [0147] describes wherein the organic ligand comprising the coordination compound may be oleic acid wherein oleic acid has three or more carbon-hydrogen bonds).
Regarding Claim 34, Han teaches the light-emitting element according to claim 27,
wherein the halogen element includes F (para [0162] describes wherein the halogen element of the emission layer 13a may include fluorine (F)).
Regarding Claim 35, Han teaches the light-emitting element according to claim 27,
wherein the halogen element includes at least one of Cl, Br, or I (para [0162] describes wherein the halogen element of the emission layer 13a may include chlorine (Cl), bromine (Br) and Iodine (I)).
Regarding Claim 36, Han teaches the light-emitting element according to claim 27,
wherein the coordination compound includes an inorganic compound, an organic compound, or a perfluoro compound (para [0146] and para [0147] describes wherein an organic ligand comprising the coordination compound may be oleic acid wherein oleic acid is an organic compound).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 31, 33 and 37-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon Gyu Han et al. (US 2020/0343487 A1; hereinafter “Han”) in view of Choelmin Jang et al. (US 2020/0313108 A1; hereinafter “Jang”).
Regarding Claim 31, Han discloses all the limitations of claim 27.
Han discloses the light-emitting element according to claim 27, further comprising:
a first charge transport layer in contact with the light-emitting layer (22, Fig. 3, para [0271] and para [0272] describes a first charge auxiliary layer 22 which may comprise a charge transport layer which is in contact with a light-emitting layer 23a which corresponds to the emitting layer 13a); and
a second charge transport layer formed on a side of the light-emitting layer opposite the first charge transport layer (24, Fig. 3, para [0271] and para [0272] describes a second charge auxiliary layer 24 which may comprise a charge transport layer formed on a side of the light-emitting layer 13a opposite the first charge transport layer 22).
Han fails to explicitly disclose the light-emitting element according to claim 27, wherein the light-emitting layer, on a side facing the second charge transport layer, is adjacent to the second charge transport layer with an insulating material interposed between the light-emitting layer and the second charge transport layer.
Jang teaches a similar light-emitting element (EE, Fig. 3A, para [0050] describes a light emitting diode EE), wherein the light-emitting layer (EML, Fig. 3A, para [0050] describes an emission layer EML), on a side facing the second charge transport layer (CTL2, Fig. 3A, para [0051] describes a second charge transport layer CTL2), is adjacent to the second charge transport layer with an insulating material interposed between the light-emitting layer and the second charge transport layer (ISL, Fig. 3A, para [0051] describes an insulating layer ISL disposed between the light-emitting layer EML and the second charge transport CTL2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Han with Jang to further disclose a light-emitting element comprising an insulating layer disposed between an emission layer and a charge transport layer in order to provide the advantage of providing for a transparent insulating layer which is capable of achieving a charge balance improving effect in a light emitting element (Jang, para [0073]).
Regarding Claim 33, the combination of Han and Jang discloses the light-emitting element according to claim 31,
wherein the first charge transport layer is a hole transport layer configured to transport holes to the light-emitting layer (Han, 22, Fig. 3, para [0272] describes wherein the first charge transport layer 22 may be a hole transport layer), and
the second charge transport layer is an electron transport layer configured to transport electrons to the light-emitting layer (Han, 24, Fig. 3, par [0271] describes wherein the second charge transport layer 24 may be an electron transport layer).
Regarding Claim 37, the combination of Han and Jang discloses the light-emitting element according to claim 31, further comprising:
an insulating layer formed between the light-emitting layer and the second charge transport layer (ISL, Fig. 3A, para [0051] describes an insulating layer ISL disposed between the light-emitting layer EML and the second charge transport CTL2).
Regarding Claim 38, the combination of Han and Jang discloses the light-emitting element according to claim 37,
wherein the insulating layer is amorphous and includes at least one of a glass-based material, a tetrafluoroethylene-based material, or a silicone-based material (Jang, ISL, Fig. 3A, para [0073] describes wherein the insulating layer ISL may comprise a silicon-based material such as SiN).
Regarding Claim 39, the combination of Han and Jang discloses the light-emitting element according to claim 37,
wherein the insulating layer has a light transmittance of 80% or greater in a visible light region (Jang, ISL, Fig. 3A, para [0073] describes wherein the insulating layer ISL may be any material that is transparent and does not block light generated from the light emitting diode wherein a resulting transparent layer would have a light transmittance greater than 80%).
Regarding Claim 40, the combination of Han and Jang discloses all the limitations of claim 37.
The combination of Han and Jang fails to explicitly disclose the light-emitting element according to claim 37, wherein the insulating layer includes an ether-based, perfluoro-based, or hydrocarbon-based solvent.
However, Han teaches wherein an organic solvent may be used in a film surrounding the quantum dots in the light emitting layer wherein said organic solvent may be comprised of an aliphatic hydrocarbon material (Han, para [0284]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Han with Jang to form an insulating layer comprised of silicon nitride with an organic solvent comprised of an aliphatic hydrocarbon in order to apply a known technique of forming an insulating layer on a surface of a light-emitting layer using a same solvent for both the light-emitting layer film and the insulating layer in order to provide the well-known advantage of simplifying the manufacturing process of both a quantum dot light-emitting layer and an insulating layer disposed on a surface of the light-emitting layer by using a same organic solvent for both material layers.
Regarding Claim 41, the combination of Han and Jang discloses the light-emitting element according to claim 37, wherein the insulating layer has a thickness of 5 nm or less (Jang, ISL, Fig. 3A, para [0081] describes wherein the insulating layer ISL may have a thickness of about 0.1 nm to about 10 nm wherein a thickness of 4 nm falls within the range discloses by Jang and is a thickness of 5 nm or less).
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER MICHAEL MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898