DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 10.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds 150 words.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Tool storage device (e.g. claim 1) - e.g. racks (paragraph 0024)
pressurized air ejection unit (e.g. claim 1) - e.g. a nozzle body disposed in the air blow box and a control valve (paragraph 0016)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “A tool transport device transporting a tool between a machine tool including a tool magazine holding a plurality of tools and a tool storage device storing a plurality of tools”. It is unclear whether claim 1 positively requires the machine tool including a tool magazine holding a plurality of tools and a tool storage device storing a plurality of tools, or if this is merely describing the intended use of the tool transport device. For examination purposes, it will be interpreted as referring to the intended use.
The limitation “A tool transport device transporting a tool…” is further unclear since it is written as if it were a method step (‘transporting”) whereas the claim is to an apparatus. It is suggested this be amended to recite --A tool transport device for transporting a tool…--, for example.
Claim 4, lines 5-6 recite “the loading operation and the ejecting operation” after establishing “another one of the loading operation and ejecting operation”, leading to confusion as to which of the loading operation and the ejecting operation are being referenced.
Claim 4 is also generally unclear given various alternatives (“or” limitations) and the use of apparent exceptions (“but”) in conjunction with the above. It is not necessarily clear what operations are encompassed within each alternative limitation (“or”). It is also unclear how one operation can precede another one but also overlap. The full scope of the claimed operations executed by the controller is thus not entirely clear. Claim 4 will be interpreted according to the examiner’s best understanding.
Claims 5 and 6 each recite “the loading operation”. Again, it is unclear to which this refers in view of at least two having been previously established.
The remaining claims are rejected by virtue of their dependency on at least claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuda et al. (JP6775704, cited in IDS, with reference to translation) in view of Ikeda et al. (JP2009131937, cited in IDS, with reference to translation).
Claim 1: Yasuda et al. discloses a tool transport device (10) [for] transporting a tool (T1, T2) between a machine tool (400) including a tool magazine (e.g. paragraph 80; Fig. 8) holding a plurality of tools and a tool storage device (200 or 250) storing a plurality of tools, comprising: a moving device (300) having a moving table (332) and configured to move the moving table to a working position set for the tool magazine and a working position set for the tool storage device (paragraph 21); a tool attachment/detachment robot (330) arranged on the moving table; and a controller (50) configured to control operations of the moving device and the tool attachment/detachment robot (paragraphs 26-27).
Yasuda does not disclose an air blow device arranged on the moving table, wherein the air blow device has: an air blow box having an opening for loading and unloading of the tool and having therein a space able to receive the tool; and a pressurized air ejection unit configured to eject pressurized air into the air blow box. However, Ikeda et al. discloses a tool transport device having an air blow device (4, 6) arranged on a moving table (5), wherein the air blow device has: an air blow box (4) having an opening (defined by inner wall 4a) for loading and unloading of a tool (2) and having therein a space able to receive the tool (e.g. as shown in Fig. 6); and a pressurized air ejection unit (6 - essentially having a nozzle in the blow box in the form of opening 4b and a control valve 30, see paragraph 20) configured to eject pressurized air into the air blow box (e.g. paragraph 25). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided an air blow device arranged on the moving table of Yasuda since it would allow for cleaning, lubricating, and rust-proofing tools when attaching, detaching, and exchanging tools (Ikeda, paragraph 1). Furthermore, in view of the controller of Yasuda generally controlling the overall apparatus, it would have further been obvious for the controller to be configured to control the air blow device in order to have similarly automated this feature and its operations.
Claim 2: Further referring to Ikeda, and similarly as discussed above, the pressurized air ejection unit includes: a nozzle body (essentially the opening 4b) disposed in the air blow box so as to eject pressurized air supplied from a pressurized air supply source; and a control valve (30) controlled by the controller (it is generally controlled by undescribed control means, paragraph 21, and so it would have been obvious to have controlled it by the controller as discussed for claim 1 above) so as to control supply of pressurized air to the nozzle body.
Claim 3: Referring to Yasuda, the controller is configured to execute, as operations for extracting the tool from the tool magazine (e.g. transporting a tool from the tool storage unit 250 or the machine tool 400 to the tool setup device 200 - paragraph 49), at least a moving operation of moving the moving table (332) to the working position set for the tool magazine (e.g. Fig. 8), and an extracting operation of causing the tool attachment/detachment robot to extract the tool from the tool magazine (the tool would have to be removed from the magazine to be transported back to the storage device). Ikeda further teaches, with respect to using the air blow box following extracting a tool from a machine tool (see paragraph 28), a loading operation of loading the extracted tool into the air blow box (e.g. Fig. 6), an ejecting operation of ejecting pressurized air from the nozzle body for a predetermined time by opening the control valve of the pressurized air ejection unit (paragraph 28), an unloading operation of causing the tool attachment/detachment robot to unload the tool from the air blow box (paragraph 29), and a stopping operation of stopping ejection of pressurized air from the nozzle body by closing the control valve of the pressurized air ejection unit (the air would be stopped at some point via valve 30, e.g. paragraph 26).
Claim 4: The controller is configured to execute the moving operation and the extracting operation sequentially (the robot must be moved into position before it can extract the tool and so these steps must be sequential), then execute the loading operation and the ejecting operation simultaneously or such that one of the loading operation and ejecting operation precedes another one of the loading operation and ejecting operation (e.g. for subsequent tool changing operations) but the loading operation and the ejecting operation overlap each other for a predetermined time (implied by the stopping of air being at the same time as final grabbing of the tool, which suggests some overlap between the ejecting and loading steps - Ikeda, paragraph 26), and then execute the unloading operation and the stopping operation simultaneously or such that one of the unloading operation and stopping operation precedes another one of the unloading operation and stopping operation (e.g. for subsequent tool changing operations).
Claims 7-10: The air blow box has a discharge port open to a bottom surface thereof (the chips would exit the box area through one of the openings thereof as they could not indefinitely accumulate, noting also that “bottom” is relative). The examiner further takes Official Notice that filters are commonly provided in debris removal systems for the purpose of collecting the debris e.g. for later disposal and/or recycling of air or fluids used in the system, and so it would have been obvious for the air blow device to have at a position under the air blow box (noting that “under” is relative), a filter member for capturing chips.
Claims 1-4 and 7-10 are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto et al. (U.S. PGPub 2016/0067840) in view of Ikeda et al.
Claim 1: Fujimoto et al. discloses a tool transport device (10) [for] transporting a tool between a machine tool (112, 117, 121) including a tool magazine (e.g. “tool magazine” in paragraph 51 and/or tool rest 131, paragraph 44) holding a plurality of tools and a tool storage device (stocker 151) storing a plurality of tools, comprising: a moving device having a moving table (21/23) and configured to move the moving table to a working position (31A) set for the tool magazine and a working position (31C) set for the tool storage device (paragraph 53); and a tool attachment/detachment robot (31) arranged on the moving table (paragraph 55). While a controller is not explicitly recited, the examiner submits that automation of the ”automatic tool changer”, in particular in conjunction with the use of a robot 31, would necessitate or at least render obvious a controller configured to control operations of the moving device and the tool attachment/detachment robot in order to allow for said automation.
Fujimoto does not disclose an air blow device arranged on the moving table, wherein the air blow device has: an air blow box having an opening for loading and unloading of the tool and having therein a space able to receive the tool; and a pressurized air ejection unit configured to eject pressurized air into the air blow box. However, Ikeda et al. discloses a tool transport device having an air blow device (4, 6) arranged on a moving table (5), wherein the air blow device has: an air blow box (4) having an opening (defined by inner wall 4a) for loading and unloading of a tool (2) and having therein a space able to receive the tool (e.g. as shown in Fig. 6); and a pressurized air ejection unit (6 - essentially having a nozzle in the blow box in the form of opening 4b and a control valve 30, see paragraph 20) configured to eject pressurized air into the air blow box (e.g. paragraph 25). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided an air blow device arranged on the moving table of Fujimoto since it would allow for cleaning, lubricating, and rust-proofing tools when attaching, detaching, and exchanging tools (Ikeda, paragraph 1). Furthermore, in view of the general automation of Fujimoto, it would have further been obvious for a controller to be configured to control the air blow device in order to have similarly automated this feature and its operations.
Claim 2: Further referring to Ikeda, and similarly as discussed above, the pressurized air ejection unit includes: a nozzle body (essentially the opening 4b) disposed in the air blow box so as to eject pressurized air supplied from a pressurized air supply source; and a control valve (30) controlled by the controller (it is generally controlled by undescribed control means, paragraph 21, and so it would have been obvious to have controlled it by the controller as discussed for claim 1 above) so as to control supply of pressurized air to the nozzle body.
Claim 3: Referring to Fujimoto, the apparatus (and implicitly or obviously a controller thereof) is configured to execute, as operations for extracting the tool from the tool magazine (e.g. transporting a tool from 131 to 151), at least a moving operation of moving the moving table (21/23) to the working position set for the tool magazine (31A), and an extracting operation of causing the tool attachment/detachment robot to extract the tool from the tool magazine (paragraph 56). Ikeda further teaches, with respect to using the air blow box following extracting a tool from a machine tool (see paragraph 28), a loading operation of loading the extracted tool into the air blow box (e.g. Fig. 6), an ejecting operation of ejecting pressurized air from the nozzle body for a predetermined time by opening the control valve of the pressurized air ejection unit (paragraph 28), an unloading operation of causing the tool attachment/detachment robot to unload the tool from the air blow box (paragraph 29), and a stopping operation of stopping ejection of pressurized air from the nozzle body by closing the control valve of the pressurized air ejection unit (the air would be stopped at some point via valve 30, e.g. paragraph 26).
Claim 4: The apparatus (and implicitly or obviously a controller thereof) is configured to execute the moving operation and the extracting operation sequentially (the robot must be moved into position before it can extract the tool and so these steps must be sequential), then execute the loading operation and the ejecting operation simultaneously or such that one of the loading operation and ejecting operation precedes another one of the loading operation and ejecting operation (e.g. for subsequent tool changing operations) but the loading operation and the ejecting operation overlap each other for a predetermined time (implied by the stopping of air being at the same time as final grabbing of the tool, which suggests some overlap between the ejecting and loading steps - Ikeda, paragraph 26), and then execute the unloading operation and the stopping operation simultaneously or such that one of the unloading operation and stopping operation precedes another one of the unloading operation and stopping operation (e.g. for subsequent tool changing operations).
Claims 7-10: The air blow box has a discharge port open to a bottom surface thereof (the chips would exit the box area through one of the openings thereof as they could not indefinitely accumulate, noting also that “bottom” is relative). The examiner further takes Official Notice that filters are commonly provided in debris removal systems for the purpose of collecting the debris e.g. for later disposal and/or recycling of air or fluids used in the system, and so it would have been obvious for the air blow device to have at a position under the air blow box (noting that “under” is relative), a filter member for capturing chips.
Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuda et al. and Ikeda et al. as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (KR20210003968, with reference to translation).
Claim 5: Yasuda et al. and Ikeda et al. teach a tool transport device substantially as claimed except for wherein the controller is configured to, in the loading operation, cause the tool attachment/detachment robot to rotate the tool about an axis of the tool for a predetermined time after loading the tool into the air blow box. However, Kim et al. teaches cleaning a machining tool wherein the tool is rotated while air is blown thereon (paragraphs 6, 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the controller to, in the loading operation, cause the tool attachment/detachment robot to rotate the tool about an axis of the tool for a predetermined time after loading the tool into the air blow box, to remove foreign substances around the tool (Id.).
Claim 11: The air blow box has a discharge port open to a bottom surface thereof (the chips would exit the box area through one of the openings thereof as they could not indefinitely accumulate, noting also that “bottom” is relative). The examiner further takes Official Notice that filters are commonly provided in debris removal systems for the purpose of collecting the debris e.g. for later disposal and/or recycling of air or fluids used in the system, and so it would have been obvious for the air blow device to have at a position under the air blow box (noting that “under” is relative), a filter member for capturing chips.
Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto et al. and Ikeda et al. as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (KR20210003968, with reference to translation).
Claim 5: Fujimoto et al. and Ikeda et al. teach a tool transport device substantially as claimed except for wherein the controller is configured to, in the loading operation, cause the tool attachment/detachment robot to rotate the tool about an axis of the tool for a predetermined time after loading the tool into the air blow box. However, Kim et al. teaches cleaning a machining tool wherein the tool is rotated while air is blown thereon (paragraphs 6, 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the controller to, in the loading operation, cause the tool attachment/detachment robot to rotate the tool about an axis of the tool for a predetermined time after loading the tool into the air blow box, to remove foreign substances around the tool (Id.).
Claim 11: The air blow box has a discharge port open to a bottom surface thereof (the chips would exit the box area through one of the openings thereof as they could not indefinitely accumulate, noting also that “bottom” is relative). The examiner further takes Official Notice that filters are commonly provided in debris removal systems for the purpose of collecting the debris e.g. for later disposal and/or recycling of air or fluids used in the system, and so it would have been obvious for the air blow device to have at a position under the air blow box (noting that “under” is relative), a filter member for capturing chips.
Claims 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuda et al. and Ikeda et al. as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Sano et al. (U.S. PGPub 2021/0402541).
Claim 6: Yasuda et al. and Ikeda et al. teach a tool transport device substantially as claimed except for wherein the controller is configured to, in the loading operation, cause the tool attachment/detachment robot to reciprocate the tool in an axial direction of the tool for a predetermined time after loading the tool into the air blow box. However, Sano et al. teaches blowing a tool wherein the tool is reciprocated in an axial direction of the tool for a predetermined time by an arm 53 gripping it (paragraph 77). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the controller to, in the loading operation, cause the tool attachment/detachment robot to reciprocate the tool in an axial direction of the tool for a predetermined time after loading the tool into the air blow box, so that dust and/or swarf adhering to the shank portion of the tool can be efficiently removed (Id.).
Claim 12: The air blow box has a discharge port open to a bottom surface thereof (the chips would exit the box area through one of the openings thereof as they could not indefinitely accumulate, noting also that “bottom” is relative). The examiner further takes Official Notice that filters are commonly provided in debris removal systems for the purpose of collecting the debris e.g. for later disposal and/or recycling of air or fluids used in the system, and so it would have been obvious for the air blow device to have at a position under the air blow box (noting that “under” is relative), a filter member for capturing chips.
Claims 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto et al. and Ikeda et al. as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Sano et al. (U.S. PGPub 2021/0402541).
Claim 6: Fujimoto et al. and Ikeda et al. teach a tool transport device substantially as claimed except for wherein the controller is configured to, in the loading operation, cause the tool attachment/detachment robot to reciprocate the tool in an axial direction of the tool for a predetermined time after loading the tool into the air blow box. However, Sano et al. teaches blowing a tool wherein the tool is reciprocated in an axial direction of the tool for a predetermined time by an arm 53 gripping it (paragraph 77). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the controller to, in the loading operation, cause the tool attachment/detachment robot to reciprocate the tool in an axial direction of the tool for a predetermined time after loading the tool into the air blow box, so that dust and/or swarf adhering to the shank portion of the tool can be efficiently removed (Id.).
Claim 12: The air blow box has a discharge port open to a bottom surface thereof (the chips would exit the box area through one of the openings thereof as they could not indefinitely accumulate, noting also that “bottom” is relative). The examiner further takes Official Notice that filters are commonly provided in debris removal systems for the purpose of collecting the debris e.g. for later disposal and/or recycling of air or fluids used in the system, and so it would have been obvious for the air blow device to have at a position under the air blow box (noting that “under” is relative), a filter member for capturing chips.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent 5,107,910, JP2009160699, EP0420039, and DE2754636 disclose additional examples of tool cleaning devices employing blown air.
Contact Information
/Matthew P Travers/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726