DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Claim Objections Claims 1-3 and 11-13 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 1 and 11 recite “[in…atom]”, claims 2 and 12 recite “[in…[in…atom]…-O-]”, and claims 3 and 13 recite “[in…atom]” in which the brackets should be omitted. Claims 1 and 11 also recite “a multivalent group (A2)” and “the polyvalent group (A2)”. For consistency purposes, “multivalent” should be changed to --polyvalent--. Appropriate correction is required. Applicant is advised that should claims 1-10 be found allowable, claims 11-20 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). The preamble for each set of claims is the only “difference” but are treated identically in the specification and are therefore considered substantial duplicates. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(d): (d) REFERENCE IN DEPENDENT FORMS.—Subject to subsection (e), a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers. Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 7 and 17 recite “wherein the compound (A) has two or more of the linking groups (A3)”. However, compound (A) of claims 1 and 11 requires “the polyvalent group (A2) is a divalent to tetravalent group” and “the linking group (A3) is bonded…to the polyvalent group (A2)” . Thus, claims 7 and 17 fail to further limit the subject matter of claims 1 and 11 respectively. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 10-14, 16, 17, 20, 22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Minegishi et al. (U.S. 2012/0181251) . Minegishi et al. teaches in Comparative Example 3, a resist underlayer composition comprising base component A-1, crosslinking agent b-3, thermal acid generator C-1, and solvent D-1 [0199] wherein crosslinking agent b-3 is the following: [0199] which is equivalent to a compound (A) of instant claims 1, 7, 11, and 17 , specifically formula (II) of instant claims 2 and 12 when n1 and n2 are 1, Z1 and Z2 are where X is an ether bond and n is 1, Y1 and Y2 are aromatic groups, m1 and m2 are 0, and Q is a divalent aliphatic hydrocarbon group, specifically compound (A) containing a partial structure represented by formula (III) of instant claims 3 and 13 when Ar is a benzene ring, X is an ether bond, and n is 1; thermal acid generator C-1 is diphenyliodonium trifluoromethanesulfonate [0194] which is equivalent to a thermal acid generator (B-1) of instant claims 1 and 11; and solvent D-1 is propylene glycol monomethyl ether acetate [0194]. The molecular weight of b-3 is 340.41 ( claims 4 and 14 ). The compound (A), component (B), and solvent (C) are each free from a material containing one or more aromatic groups containing two or more hydroxy, thiol, and/or amine substituents ( claims 6 and 16 ). Minegishi et al. also teaches e ach resist underlayer film-forming composition obtained in Examples and Comparative Examples was spin-coated onto an 8-inch silicon wafer, heated at a temperature of 180 ° C for 60 seconds using a hot plate (oxygen concentration: 20 vol %), and then heated at 350 ° C for 120 seconds to form a resist underlayer film having a thickness of 0.3 nm. After that, a three-layer resist process spin-on-glass composition solution (manufactured by JSR Corporation) was spin-coated onto the resist underlayer film, heated at a temperature of 200 ° C for 60 seconds, and then heated at 300 ° C for 60 seconds using a hot plate to form an intermediate film having a thickness of 0.05 µ m. Subsequently, an ArF resist composition solution (acrylic ArF photoresist manufactured by JSR Corporation) was spin-coated onto the intermediate film, and prebaked at a temperature of 130 ° C for 90 seconds using a hot plate to form a resist film having a thickness of 0.2 µ m. The resist film was then exposed via a mask pattern for an optimum exposure time using an ArF excimer laser exposure system manufactured by Nikon Corporation (numerical aperture: 0.78, exposure wavelength: 193 nm). After postbaking the resist film at a temperature of 130 ° C for 90 seconds using a hot plate, the resist film was developed at a temperature of 25 ° C for 1 minute using a 2.38% tetramethylammonium hydroxide aqueous solution, rinsed with water, and dried to obtain an ArF positive-tone resist pattern. The intermediate film was processed using the resist pattern as a mask, and the resist underlayer film was processed using the intermediate film as a mask. The substrate was processed using the resist underlayer film as a mask [0201-0202] and e ach resist underlayer film-forming composition obtained in Examples and Comparative Examples was spin-coated onto an 8-inch silicon wafer, heated at a temperature of 180 ° C for 60 seconds using a hot plate (oxygen concentration: 20 vol %), and then heated at 350 ° C for 120 seconds to form a resist underlayer film having a thickness of 0.3 µ m. The resist underlayer film was etched using an etching system "EXAM" manufactured by Shinko Seiki Co., Ltd. The conditions were CF4/Ar/O2 (CF 4 : 40 ml/min, Ar: 20 ml/min, O2: 5 ml/min), pressure: 20 Pa, RF power: 200 W, etching time: 40 sec, and temperature: 15 ° C [0204] ( claims 10, 20, 22, and 24 ). Claims 1- 4, 6, 7, 10 , 22, and 23 recite “protective film-forming composition against semiconductor wet etching solutions” and claims 11- 14, 16, 17, 20 , and 24 recite “resist underlayer film-forming composition” which refer to the use of the composition. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed composition is intended to be used does not differentiate the claimed composition from a prior art composition satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex Parte Masham , 2, USPQ2d 1647 (1987). This recitation of the composition is drawn to intended use; therefore, this limitation does not add any patentable weight to the claim (MPEP 2106). The composition of claims 1- 4, 6, 7, and 10 is identical to the composition of claims 1 1-14, 16, 17, and 20 . The composition of Minegishi et al. is the same as instantly claimed. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claims 1-20 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohashi et al. (U.S. 2019/0163064) . Ohashi et al. teaches t he composition for forming a protective film of the present invention contains a compound having a group of Formula (1) or Formula (2) on a side chain or a terminal and having a weight average molecular weight of 800 or more [0022] and e xamples of the group of Formula (1) include groups of Formulae (1-1) to (1-111) [0023] in which formula (1-1) is the following: [0023], specifically, poly(p-hydroxystyrene) as seen in Examples 1-10 [0066-0075] which is equivalent to (D) a polymer having a unit structure having one phenolic hydroxy group of instant claims 9 and 19 . Ohashi et al. also teaches The composition for forming a protective film of the present invention contains a crosslinker having, in one molecule, two or more groups that are at least one selected from the group consisting of a glycidyl group, a terminal epoxy group, an epoxycyclopentyl group, an epoxycyclohexyl group, an oxetanyl group, a vinyl ether group, an isocyanate group, and a blocked isocyanate group [0027] examples of the compound include 1031S [0028] which is equivalent to a compound (A) of instant claims 1, 7, 11, and 17 , specifically formula (II) of instant claims 2 and 12 when n1 and n2 are 2, Z1 and Z2 are where X is an ether bond and n is 1, Y1 and Y2 are aromatic groups, m1 and m2 are 0, and Q is a divalent aliphatic hydrocarbon group, specifically compound (A) containing a partial structure represented by formula (III) of instant claims 3 and 13 when Ar is a benzene ring, X is an ether bond, and n is 1. The molecular weight of 1031S is 1,033 according to page 22 of the instant specification ( claims 4 and 14 ). Ohashi et al. further teaches t he composition for forming a protective film of the present invention may contain a crosslinking catalyst as an optional component to promote a crosslinking reaction. As the crosslinking catalyst, an acidic compound, a basic compound, or a compound generating an acid or a base by heat may be used. As the acidic compound, a sulfonic acid compound or a carboxylic acid compound may be used. As the compound generating an acid by heat, a thermal acid generator may be used [0040] , e xamples of the thermal acid generator include K-PURE (registered trademark) CXC-1612, CXC-1614, TAG-2172, TAG-2179, TAG-2678, and TAG2689 (all available from King Industries, Inc.), and SI-45, SI-60, SI-80, SI-100, SI-110, and SI-150 (all available from SANSHIN CHEMICAL INDUSTRY CO., LTD.) [0042], and o ne or two or more kinds of the crosslinking catalyst may be used in combination. As the basic compound, an amine compound or an ammonium hydroxide compound may be used. As the compound generating a base by heat, urea may be used [0043] and e xamples of the amine compound include tertiary amines such as triethanolamine [0044] which are equivalent to component (B) which is a thermal acid generator (B-1) and/or a curing agent (B-2) selected from amine-based curing agents of instant claims 1, 8 , 11, and 1 8 . Ohashi et al. also teaches t he composition for forming a protective film of the present invention can be prepared by dissolving the components in an organic solvent. The composition for forming a protective film can be used in a homogeneous solution state. Examples of the organic solvent include ethylene glycol monomethyl ether [0050] ( claims 1 and 11 ). The composition of Ohashi et al. does not require a novolak resin and can therefore be free of one ( claims 5 and 15 ) and the compound (A), component (B), and solvent (C) are free from a material containing one or more aromatic groups containing two or more hydroxy, thiol, and/or amine substituents ( claims 6 and 16 ). Ohashi et al. further teaches a method for forming a pattern using the composition for forming a protective film of the present invention will be described. Examples of a semiconductor substrate to be coated with the composition for forming a protective film of the present invention include a silicon wafer, a germanium wafer, and compound semiconductor wafers of gallium arsenide, indium phosphide, gallium nitride, indium nitride, and aluminum nitride. In a case of using a semiconductor substrate having an inorganic film on the surface, the inorganic film is formed, for example, by an atomic layer deposition (ALD) process, a chemical vapor deposition (CVD) process, a reactive sputtering process, an ion plating process, a vacuum vapor deposition process, or a spin coating process (spin on glass: SOG). Examples of the inorganic film include a polysilicon film, a silicon oxide film, a silicon nitride film, a boro-phospho silicate glass (BPSG) film, a titanium nitride film, a titanium oxide nitride film, a tungsten film, a gallium nitride film, and a gallium arsenide film. To such a semiconductor substrate, the composition for forming a protective film of the present invention is applied by an appropriate coating process such as a spinner and a coater. The composition for forming a protective film is then baked by a heating means such as a hot plate to form a protective film. A baking condition is appropriately selected from a baking temperature of 100°C to 400°C and a baking time of 0.3 minutes to 60 minutes [0052-0055] and s ubsequently, a resist pattern is formed on the protective film. The resist pattern is formed by a general method, that is, by applying a photoresist solution to the protective film, prebaking, exposure, post exposure bake abbreviated to PEB (if necessary), development, and rinsing [0056] and t he exposure is carried out through a mask (reticle) for forming a predetermined pattern [0057]. Ohashi et al. also teaches the protective film is dry etched using the formed resist pattern as a mask. When the inorganic film is formed on the surface of the semiconductor substrate used, the surface of the inorganic film is exposed. When the inorganic film is not formed on the surface of the semiconductor substrate used, the surface of the semiconductor substrate is exposed. Further, the semiconductor substrate is wet-etched with a basic aqueous hydrogen peroxide solution using the dry-etched protective film (including the resist pattern when the resist pattern remains on the protective film) as a mask. As a result, a desired pattern is formed [0058-0059] ( claims 10, 20, and 22-24 ). Ohashi et al. further teaches the present invention will be described further specifically with reference to Examples. However, the present invention is not limited to Examples described below [0062] and a n object of the present invention is to provide a novel composition for forming a protective film against basic aqueous hydrogen peroxide solution, and a method for forming a pattern using the protective film [0008]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the specific teachings of Ohashi et al. to include additional compositions comprising the above components and arrive at the instant claims through routine experimentation of combining equally suitable components for the sought invention in order to achieve excellent resistance to basic aqueous hydrogen peroxide in a lithography process. Claims 1-10, 22, and 23 recite “protective film-forming composition against semiconductor wet etching solutions” and claims 11-20 and 24 recite “resist underlayer film-forming composition” which refer to the use of the composition. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed composition is intended to be used does not differentiate the claimed composition from a prior art composition satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex Parte Masham , 2, USPQ2d 1647 (1987). This recitation of the composition is drawn to intended use; therefore, this limitation does not add any patentable weight to the claim (MPEP 2106). The composition of claims 1-10 is identical to the composition of claims 1-11. The composition of Ohashi et al. is the same as instantly claimed. Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohashi et al. (U.S. 2019/0163064) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tokunaga et al. (WO2019054420). U.S. 2021/0024773 is being used as the English translation . With regard to claim 21, Ohashi et al. teaches a method for forming a pattern using the composition for forming a protective film of the present invention will be described. Examples of a semiconductor substrate to be coated with the composition for forming a protective film of the present invention include a silicon wafer, a germanium wafer, and compound semiconductor wafers of gallium arsenide, indium phosphide, gallium nitride, indium nitride, and aluminum nitride. In a case of using a semiconductor substrate having an inorganic film on the surface, the inorganic film is formed, for example, by an atomic layer deposition (ALD) process, a chemical vapor deposition (CVD) process, a reactive sputtering process, an ion plating process, a vacuum vapor deposition process, or a spin coating process (spin on glass: SOG). Examples of the inorganic film include a polysilicon film, a silicon oxide film, a silicon nitride film, a boro-phospho silicate glass (BPSG) film, a titanium nitride film, a titanium oxide nitride film, a tungsten film, a gallium nitride film, and a gallium arsenide film [0052-0055]. Ohashi et al. does not specify the substrate is stepped. However, Tokunaga et al. teaches a stepped substrate coating composition for forming a coating film including a main agent and a solvent, the main agent containing a compound (A), a compound (B), or a mixture thereof [abstract] in which examples of the compound (A) include the following formula (aa-3): [0076] which is equivalent to Ohashi’s crosslinker 1031S and the instantly claimed compound (A). Tokunaga et al. also teaches a method for forming a planarization film from the stepped substrate coating composition of the present invention. Firstly, the stepped substrate coating composition is applied onto a substrate used for the production of a precise integrated circuit element (e.g., a transparent substrate, such as a silicon/silicon dioxide coating, a glass substrate, or an ITO substrate) by an appropriate coating method using, for example, a spinner or a coater. Thereafter, the composition is baked (heated) and then exposed to light, to thereby form a coating film. Specifically, a coated substrate is produced by a method including a step (i) of applying the stepped substrate coating composition to a stepped substrate, and a step (ii) of exposing the composition applied in the step (i) to light or heating the composition at 30°C to 300°C or 100°C to 300°C during or after light exposure [0132], and t he aforementioned substrate may have an open area (non-patterned area) and a patterned area of DENSE (dense) and ISO (coarse), and the pattern may have an aspect ratio of 0.1 to 10 or 0.1 to 100. The “non-patterned area” refers to an area where a pattern (e.g., a hole or a trench structure) is absent on the substrate. “DENSE (dense)” refers to an area where patterns are densely present on the substrate, and “ISO (coarse)” refers to an area where interpattern distance is large and patterns are scattered on the substrate [0134-0135] , t he stepped substrate coating film (planarization film) produced by the method of the present invention can be coated with a resist film, and the resist film can be exposed to light and developed by a lithography process, to thereby form a resist pattern. The substrate can be processed with the resist pattern. In this case, the stepped substrate coating film (planarization film) is a resist underlayer film, and the stepped substrate coating composition is a resist underlayer film-forming composition [0140]. Furthermore, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp. , 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07. In the instant case, both Ohashi and Tokunaga are directed to semiconductor manufacturing in which a substrate it protected with a film comprising an epoxy-containing compound. Tokunaga et al. also teaches other known substrates includes those which have steps. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ohashi et al. to include other known semiconductor substrates such as the stepped substrate taught by Tokunaga et al. and arrive at the instant claims through routine experimentation of substituting equally suitable components for the sought invention with a reasonable expectation of success. Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WO2018052130 (U.S. 2020/0183282) and U.S. 2013/0274433 . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT ANNA E MALLOY whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-5849 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT 8:00-4:30 EST M-F . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Mark Huff can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-1385 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Anna Malloy/ Examiner, Art Unit 1737 /MARK F. HUFF/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1737