DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2011/0043464) hereinafter “Lee” in view of Toyoda et al. (US 2008/0252223) hereinafter “Toyoda”.
Regarding claim 1, Fig. 5 of Lee teaches a display apparatus (Paragraph 0003) comprising a light emitting device (Item P), a light receiving device (Item S), and a substrate (Item 20), wherein the light emitting device (Item P) comprises a first electrode (Item 31), a light emitting layer (Item 35), a first electron transport layer (Item 36), an electron injection layer (Item 37), and a second electrode (Item 38), and where the light receiving device (Item S) comprises a third electrode (Item 41), an active layer (Item 45), a first hole transport layer (Paragraph 0060), the electron injection layer (Item 37) and a second electrode (Item 48) stacked in this order over the substrate (Item 20).
Lee does not teach where the light emitting device and the light receiving device comprise a common second electrode such that the second electrode of the light emitting device is stacked over the electron injection layer of the light receiving device.
Fig. 20 of Toyoda teaches where a light emitting device (Item 308) and the light receiving device (Item 309) comprise a common second electrode (Item CD) such that the second electrode (Item CD) of the light emitting device (Item 308) is stacked over the electron injection layer (Item EIL) of the light receiving device (Item 309).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the light emitting device and the light receiving device of Lee comprise a common second electrode such that the second electrode of the light emitting device is stacked over the electron injection layer of the light receiving device because this allows the formation of a pixel using at least one light receiving element and at least one light emitting element as a set (Toyoda Paragraph 0107).
Alternately, Regarding claim 1, Fig. 5 of Lee teaches a display apparatus (Paragraph 0003) comprising a light emitting device (Item P), a light receiving device (Item S), and a substrate (Item 20), wherein the light emitting device (Item P) comprises a first electrode (Item 31), a light emitting layer (Item 35), a first electron transport layer (Item 36), an electron injection layer (Item 37), and a second electrode (Item 38), and where the light receiving device (Item S) comprises a third electrode (Item 41), an active layer (Item 45), a first hole transport layer (Item 34), the electron injection layer (Item 37) and a second electrode (Item 48) stacked in this order (See Picture 1 below where the layers are stacked over the substrate in the order claimed along the dashed line indicated; See Examiner’s Note below) over the substrate (Item 20).
Lee does not teach where the light emitting device and the light receiving device comprise a common second electrode such that the second electrode of the light emitting device is stacked over the electron injection layer of the light receiving device.
Fig. 20 of Toyoda teaches where a light emitting device (Item 308) and the light receiving device (Item 309) comprise a common second electrode (Item CD) such that the second electrode (Item CD) of the light emitting device (Item 308) is stacked over the electron injection layer (Item EIL) of the light receiving device (Item 309).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the light emitting device and the light receiving device of Lee comprise a common second electrode such that the second electrode of the light emitting device is stacked over the electron injection layer of the light receiving device because this allows the formation of a pixel using at least one light receiving element and at least one light emitting element as a set (Toyoda Paragraph 0107).
Examiner’s Note: The Examiner notes that the claim language does not require that the stacking order is in a direction normal to the to surface of the substrate.
(Picture 1 Labeled version of a portion of Lee Fig. 5)
Regarding claim 2, Fig. 5 of Lee further teaches where the light emitting device (Item P) comprises a second hole transport layer (Item 34) between the first electrode (Item 31) and the light emitting layer (Item 35).
Regarding claim 4, Fig. 5 of Lee further teaches where the light emitting device (Item P) is configured to emit visible light, and wherein the light receiving device (Item S) is configured to detect visible light (Paragraph 0064).
Regarding claim 5, Fig. 5 of Lee further teaches where the light emitting device (Item P) is configured to emit infrared light, and wherein the light receiving device (Item S) is configured to detect infrared light (Paragraph 0064).
Regarding claim 10, Lee further teaches a display module comprising the display apparatus of claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1 above when combined with Toyoda) and a connector (Paragraph 0044 where vias in contact holes connect respective source and drains to an active layer).
Regarding claim 11, Lee further teaches an electronic device comprising the display module according to claim 10 (See rejection of claim 10 above) and a camera and/or a housing (Paragraph 0005 where a display and camera are integrated together and where a display and cell phone are integrate together, all of which would have a housing).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2011/0043464) hereinafter “Lee” in view of Toyoda et al. (US 2008/0252223) hereinafter “Toyoda” and in further view of Yamamoto et al. (US 2012/0223297) hereinafter “Yamamoto”.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Lee and Toyoda teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above except where the light receiving device comprises a second electron transport layer between the third electrode and the active layer.
Yamamoto teaches where a second electron transport layer is between a third electrode and an active layer (Paragraph 0124).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the light receiving device comprise a second electron transport layer between the third electrode and the active layer because one electron transport layer can be made of a material to inject electrons to the active layer and the other electron transport layer can be made of a material that allows an electron injection to receive electrons and inject electrons to the one electron transport layer (Yamamoto Paragraph 0124).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2011/0043464) hereinafter “Lee” in view of Toyoda et al. (US 2008/0252223) hereinafter “Toyoda” and in further view of Okamoto (US 2017/0365224) hereinafter “Okamoto”.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Lee and Toyoda teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above except where the first electrode is supplied with a first potential, where the second electrode is supplied with a second potential lower than the first potential, and where the third electrode is supplied with a third potential higher than the second potential.
Okamoto teaches where an anode is supplied with a potential that is higher than the potential supplied to the cathode (Paragraph 0079).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first electrode supplied with a first potential and the second electrode supplied with a second potential lower than the first potential because this allows the light emitting units to get the proper signals from the other circuits in the device (Okamoto Paragraph 0079).
Okamoto further teaches where a reverse bias is applied to a light receiving device (Paragraph 0123).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the third electrode be supplied with a third potential higher than the second potential because this will cause current to flow from the cathode to the anode (Okamoto Paragraph 0123).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2011/0043464) hereinafter “Lee” in view of Toyoda et al. (US 2008/0252223) hereinafter “Toyoda” and in further view of Kim et al. (US 2021/0043686) hereinafter “Kim” and Lee et al. (US 2018/0277040) hereinafter “Lee2”.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Lee and Toyoda teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Fig. 2 of Lee further teaches a pixel portion comprising a plurality of first pixels (Item R), a plurality of second pixels (Item G), a plurality of third pixels (Item B), and a plurality of fourth pixels (Item S), wherein the first pixels, the second pixels, the third pixels, and the fourth pixels each comprise one of the light-emitting device and the light-receiving device.
Lee does not teach wherein, in a first direction, the pixel portion comprises a first arrangement where the second pixel, the first pixel, the second pixel, and the third pixel are repeatedly arranged in this order, and a second arrangement where the fourth pixel, the first pixel, the fourth pixel, and the third pixel are repeatedly arranged in this order, wherein the first arrangement and the second arrangement are alternately repeated in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction, wherein, in the second direction, the pixel portion comprises a third arrangement where the second pixel and the fourth pixel are alternately arranged repeatedly, and a fourth arrangement where the first pixel and the third pixel are alternately arranged repeatedly, and wherein the third arrangement and the fourth arrangement are alternately repeated in the first direction.
Fig. 4 of Kim teaches a display device comprising a pixel portion comprising a plurality of first pixels, a plurality of second pixels, a plurality of third pixels, and a plurality of fourth pixels, wherein the first pixels, the second pixels, the third pixels, and the fourth pixels each comprise one of the light-emitting device (Any of Items R, B, G1 and G2) and the light-receiving device (Item RA), wherein, in a first direction (Left to right across the page), the pixel portion comprises a first arrangement where the second pixel (Item G), the first pixel (Item R), the second pixel (Item G), and the third pixel (Item B) are repeatedly arranged in this order, and a second arrangement where the fourth pixel (Item RA), the first pixel (Item R), the fourth pixel (Item RA), and the third pixel (Item B) are repeatedly arranged in this order, wherein the first arrangement and the second arrangement are alternately repeated in a second direction (Up and down across the page) orthogonal to the first direction, wherein, in the second direction, the pixel portion comprises a third arrangement where the second pixel (Item G) and the fourth pixel (Item RA) are alternately arranged repeatedly, and a fourth arrangement where either the first pixel or the third pixel are arranged wherein the third arrangement and the fourth arrangement are alternately repeated in the first direction (Left to right across the page).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a pixel portion comprising a plurality of first pixels, a plurality of second pixels, a plurality of third pixels, and a plurality of fourth pixels, wherein the first pixels, the second pixels, the third pixels, and the fourth pixels each comprise one of the light-emitting device and the light-receiving device, wherein, in a first direction, the pixel portion comprises a first arrangement where the second pixel, the first pixel, the second pixel, and the third pixel are repeatedly arranged in this order, and a second arrangement where the fourth pixel, the first pixel, the fourth pixel, and the third pixel are repeatedly arranged in this order, wherein the first arrangement and the second arrangement are alternately repeated in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction, wherein, in the second direction, the pixel portion comprises a third arrangement where the second pixel and the fourth pixel are alternately arranged repeatedly, and a fourth arrangement where either of the first or third pixels are arranged wherein the third arrangement and the fourth arrangement are alternately repeated in the first direction because this allows the light receiving device to act as a fingerprint sensor which receives light emitted from the light emitting device and is reflected or scattered from a fingerprint (Kim Paragraph 0078).
Fig. 1A of Lee2 teaches where a fourth arrangement has a first pixel (Item R) and a third pixel (Item B) alternately arranged repeatedly in first (Left to right across he page) and second (Up and down across the page) directions (Paragraph 0055).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a fourth arrangement where the first pixel and the third pixel are alternately arranged repeatedly because this allows for a rendering operation for expressing colors by sharing light emissions of adjacent pixels (Lee2 Paragraph 0057).
Regarding claim 8, Fig. 5 of Lee further teaches where the first pixel, the second pixel and the third pixel comprise the light emitting devices emitting light in different wavelengths (R, G and B), and where the fourth pixel comprises the light receiving device (Item S).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Lee, Toyoda, Kim and Lee2 teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Fig. 5 of Lee further teaches where the third pixel comprises a light emitting device emitting green light.
Lee does not teach where the area of the third pixel is smaller than an area of the first pixel, and where the area of the third pixel is smaller than an area of the second pixel.
Lee2 teaches where an area of the green pixel is smaller than an area of a red pixel or an area of a blue pixel.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the area of the third pixel is smaller than an area of the first pixel, and where the area of the third pixel is smaller than an area of the second pixel because this allows for a rendering operation for expressing colors by sharing light emissions of adjacent pixels (Lee2 Paragraph 0057).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, the Applicant argues that the Lee reference does not teach the order claimed because the Lee reference teaches away from the specific ordering claimed. The Examiner disagrees. Paragraph 0060 teaches where an HTL is disposed between the sensor second electrode and the organic light receiving layer. The Examiner understands that the Applicant’s remarks may be based on the fact that paragraph 0060 indicates the sensor second electrode as Item 41 which would place the HTL below the active layer. However, one having ordinary skill in the art would understand that the indication of Item 41 in paragraph 0060 was a typo as the sensor second electrode is indicted in the entirety of Lee (except for Paragraph 0060) as being Item 48. Further Paragraph 0060 states “although not shown”. However, if one were to take the recitation of the sensor second electrode to be Item 41 as stated in Paragraph 0060 at face value, the embodiment discussed in paragraph would be shown in Fig. 5 as Fig. 5 shows HTL Item 34 being between the active layer Item 45 and the sensor electrode Item 41. Lastly, Paragraph 0060 is meant to be an alternate embodiment to the embodiment stated in Paragraph 0059 where the HTL is between Item 41 and active layer Item 45. As such Lee does not teach against the claimed order and instead acknowledges at least one embodiment in which the HTL is between the active layer and EIL. Thus, the Examiner maintains the reliance upon Lee for the rejection of claim 1. Also, the Examiner provides an alternate rejection based upon an alternate interpretation of Lee to further reject claim 1 thus showing that Lee reads on the limitations of claim 1 of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC K ASHBAHIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891