DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “cleaning-liquid supplying mechanism” in claims 7-8 and 10; “removing mechanism” in claim 7; “unit configured to heat the cleaning liquid” in claim 8; and “unit configured to heat the coated film” in claim 9.
The limitation “cleaning-liquid supplying mechanism” recites the generic placeholder “mechanism” coupled with the functional modifier “to dispense” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 12, shown in figure 1, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “removing mechanism” recites the generic placeholder “mechanism” coupled with the functional modifier “to remove” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 7, shown in figure 1, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “unit configured to heat the cleaning liquid” recites the generic placeholder “unit” coupled with the functional modifier “to heat” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: a cartridge heater, described in the specification at paragraph 51, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “unit configured to heat the coated film” recites the generic placeholder “unit” coupled with the functional modifier “to heat” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 13, shown in figure 1, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7-8, and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAGAI et al. (JP 2008/018649; citations to translations provided).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, NAGAI teaches a method of removing a water-soluble resin from a side of a base film comprising supplying a cleaning liquid from a cleaning-liquid supply system (two-fluid nozzle) as droplets (mist) to a surface of the coating film, retaining the droplets on the surface of the coating film, and removing the coating film containing the cleaning liquid from the base with a removing mechanism (paras. 17, 27-28, and 33). NAGAI does not disclose supplying cleaning liquid within a volumetric range of 1 cc or more and less than 200 cc per square meter. NAGAI teaches utilizing 200 or more cc per square meter in order to perform sufficient cleaning (para. 27). While NAGAI discloses a preferred range above that claimed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the same discloses that some resin would be removed within the range claimed, which meets the limitation as claimed. MPEP 2144.05 - Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 5, NAGAI teaches the cleaning liquid is water (para. 23).
Regarding claim 6, NAGAI teaches a droplet (mist) diameter of 20-500 microns (para. 29).
Regarding claim 8, KAWAZU does not teach a heating unit, but teaches heating the water to 60-100 degrees Celsius, such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide a heating unit in order to heat the water as disclosed.
Regarding claim 10, NAGAI does not explicitly teach the water supply mechanism is a mechanism is a mechanism other than a steam injection. NAGAI teaches application of mist (para. 28), and does not disclose steam, such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize a mist supplying device and not a steam injection device in order to perform the misting operation.
Regarding claim 11, NAGAI teaches application of mist (para. 28), and does not disclose steam.
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAWAZU et al. (JP 2004/169005; citations to translation provided) in view of NAGAI.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4, and 7, KAWAZU teaches a method of removing a water-soluble curable silicone resin coating film from a side of a base film comprising supplying a cleaning liquid to the surface of the coating film and subsequently removing the coating film with the cleaning liquid from the coated film (p. 2, paras. 14-15; p. 3, para. 4). KAWAZU teaches applying the water as a high-pressure stream at a temperature of 60-100 degrees Celsius (p. 4; para. 2), and not as droplets. NAGAI teaches another method of removing a water-soluble film from a base film via application of water as a mist (droplets), and that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize a mist of NAGAI in place of the high-pressure spray in order to cause the water to strike the sheet evenly with a constant impact force (NAGAI; para. 28). NAGAI does not disclose supplying cleaning liquid within a volumetric range of 1 cc or more and less than 200 cc per square meter. NAGAI teaches utilizing 200 or more cc per square meter in order to perform sufficient cleaning (para. 27). While NAGAI discloses a preferred range above that claimed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that the same discloses that some resin would be removed within the range claimed, which meets the limitation as claimed. MPEP 2144.05 - Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 3, KAWAZU does not explicitly disclose that the film is heated above 40 degrees Celsius, but discloses that the water is supplied at a temperature of 60-100 degrees Celsius (p. 4., para. 2), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would raise the film to above 40 degrees Celsius via conductive heat transfer per the laws of thermodynamics.
Regarding claim 9, KAWAZU teaches heating the coated film in a tunnel oven (p. 5, para. 8).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/5/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that NAGAI teaches away from applying cleaning liquid from 1-200, not including 200, cc per square meter as claimed because NAGAI teaches that cleaning with less than 200 cc per square meter would not produce sufficient cleaning. This disclosure does not teach that no cleaning will occur if less than 200 cc per square meter is utilized. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would understand this is a disclosure of using less than 200 cc per square meter, as presently claimed, but simply not sufficient to the purposes of NAGAI.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICKOLAS R HARM/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/PHILIP C TUCKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1745