DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendments received in the Office on 02/18/2026, the Office acknowledges the current status of the claims: claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8-13, 16, 19, 21, 23, 27, and 34 have been amended, claims 2, 17-18, 22 remain the same, claims 4, 7, 14-15, 20, 24-26, 28-33, and 35-41 have been canceled, and no new matter appears to be included.
In response to the amendments received in Office on 02/18/2026, the rejection of claims 1-2, 6, 12, 27, and 34 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A. Applicant’s Argument
Applicant argues Albert does not teach or suggest "estimating variations in received signal strength of the received reference signal received at the UEs comprises processing, in a prediction model ... (ii) a first Remote Electrical Tilt (RET) increment which defines the first potential electrical tilt change." Applicant further argues, Albert does not teach processing an electrical tilt change in a prediction model to estimate variations in signal strength. See arguments pages 16-17.
B. Examiner’s Response
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The cited portions (fig. 7 and pars. 0094-0096 & 0027) clearly teach the CNE 135 receiving the measurement reports which include a data table. Wherein the data table includes the received signal strength of users, the location of users, time stamps, and that alike. Whereas, the language “the CNE 135 receiving a data table including received signal strength of users, the location of users, time stamps, and that alike” respectfully indicates variations of received signal strength at User Equipments (UEs). Thus, using the broadest reasonable interpretation , the CNE 135 receives variations of signal strength at User Equipments (UEs) within the data table. Furthermore, the cited portions (fig. 7 and pars. 0094-0099, 0027, & 0101) clearly teaches the CNE 135 utilizing the user reports along with the BS parameters as training data for the signal strength prediction tool 760 to reconfigure network parameters, such as BS antenna, tilt, and predict reference signal received power (RSRP) values for the BS. Thus, the CNE 135 utilizing the data table including variations of received signal strength at User Equipments (UEs) as training data for the signal strength prediction tool 760 to predict reference signal received power (RSRP) values reads as estimating variations in received signal strength of the received reference signal received at the UEs. Furthermore, the CNE 135 utilizing the BS parameters, such as BS antenna and tilt, as training data for the signal strength prediction tool 760 to predict reference signal received power (RSRP) values reads as processing an electrical tilt change in a prediction model to estimate variations in signal strength.
All other Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The remaining arguments regarding independent claims 27 and 34 and all dependent claims 2-3, 5-6, 8-13, 16-19, and 21-23 generally recite the same reasonings as for claim 1 and are moot.
However, the amendments have necessitated a new grounds of rejection presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6, 12, 27, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albert et al. (US20220053345 hereinafter Albert) in view of Lee et al. (US20130142183 hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claims 1 and 34. Albert teaches the method and apparatus for a network node configured to estimate, for an antenna of a base station (fig. 7 and pars. 0094-0096, teaches the CNE 135 is further configured to utilize a calibration of signal strength prediction tool 760. Whereas, par. 0027, teaches the signal strength or coverage prediction tool is utilized to perform site selection for BS deployment; and for reconfiguring network parameters, such as BS antenna, tilt, and the like. Apart from planning and management, such a prediction tool can also be used to estimate and correct misaligned BS parameters, a task often referred to as site audit correction),
variations in received signal strength at User Equipments (UEs) (fig. 7 and pars. 0094-0097, teaches the CNE 135 receiving the measurement reports and BS configuration parameters. Whereas, par. 0099, teaches the CNE 135 can preprocess the collected reports and the corresponding BS configuration parameters and save them in a data table. The table attributes can include a time stamp or expiration timer for the data, the received signal strength of users, the location of users, BS configuration parameters, and the like)
the network node comprising processing circuitry and a memory containing instructions executable by the processing circuitry (fig.1 and par. 0048, teaches the core network 130 may further include a core network entity (CNE) 135, which responsible for the task of site audit correction, as described herein below. In certain embodiments, the CNE 135 is a base station, such as gNB 103. Wherein, fig. 2 and pars. 0050-0059, teaches the gNBs 101 and 103 of FIG. 1 could have the same or similar configuration as the gNB 102 illustrated in FIG. 2. Furthermore, the gNB 102 includes controller/processor 225 can include one or more processors or other processing devices that control the overall operation of the gNB 102), whereby network node is operable to:
receive, from the base station measurement data (fig. 7 and pars. 0094-0097, teaches the CNE 135 receiving the measurement reports and BS configuration parameters. Whereas, par. 0099, teaches the CNE 135 can preprocess the collected reports and the corresponding BS configuration parameters and save them in a data table. The table attributes can include the received signal strength of users and the location of users. Wherein, the “measurement reports and BS configuration parameters which include the data table comprising the received signal strength of users” reads as measurement data. Furthermore, fig. 7 and pars. 0094-0097, teaches the UE 116 transmits the measurement reports directly to the CNE 135, via the gNB 102), wherein the measurement data comprises signal strength measurements indicating received reference signal strength of the reference signal at UEs , and positional information of the UEs (fig. 7 and pars. 0094-0097, teaches the CNE 135 receiving the measurement reports and BS configuration parameters. Whereas, par. 0099, teaches the CNE 135 can preprocess the collected reports and the corresponding BS configuration parameters and save them in a data table. The table attributes can include the received signal strength of users and the location of users);
generate model coefficients by processing the measurement data in a training model (fig. 7 and pars. 0094-0096, teaches the CNE 135 is further configured to utilize a calibration of signal strength prediction tool 760. Wherein, the prediction tool can be a prediction model configured to predict reference signal received power (RSRP) values for the BS. Whereas, the language “predict reference signal received power (RSRP) values for the BS” reads as generating model coefficients. Moreover, par. 0101, teaches these user reports along with the BS parameters can be stored in a data table at CNE 135 and herein will be referred to as the training data. Furthermore, par. 0116, teaches CNE 135 can initiate the calibration of the signal strength prediction tool 760 for a class of BSs using the collected data tables. Whereas, the language “CNE 135 can initiate the calibration of the signal strength prediction tool 760 using the collected data tables” reads as generate model coefficients by processing the measurement data in a training model); and
estimate, for a first potential electrical tilt change, variations in received signal strength of the received reference signal received at the UEs (figs. 7-8 and pars. 0094-0099, teaches the CNE 135 utilizing the signal strength prediction tool 760 with the collected reports and the corresponding BS configuration parameters in a data table to predict reference signal received power (RSRP) values for the BS. Whereas, par. 0133, teaches the output of the prediction can be the mean received signal strength. Wherein, par. 0027, teaches the signal strength or coverage prediction tool is utilized to perform site selection for BS deployment; and for reconfiguring network parameters, such as BS antenna, tilt, and the like. Wherein par. 0089, teaches the configuration of a gNB can involve electrical tilt (E-tilt), which reads as an electrical tilt change. Furthermore, it would be obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art that the signal strength the prediction tool utilizes signal strength values and variations thereof, to carry out an estimation process for electrical tilt change, such that the potential tilt change, or future tilt change, is identified, particular to the next limitation recited below),
wherein estimating, for the first potential electrical tilt change, variations in received signal strength of the received reference signal received at the UEs comprises: processing, in a prediction model (figs. 7-8 and pars. 0094-0099, teaches the CNE 135 utilizing the signal strength prediction tool 760 with the collected reports and the corresponding BS configuration parameters in a data table to predict reference signal received power (RSRP) values for the BS. Whereas, par. 0133, teaches the output of the prediction can be the mean received signal strength), (i) the generated model coefficients (fig. 7 and pars. 0094-0096, teaches the CNE 135 is further configured to utilize a calibration of signal strength prediction tool 760. Wherein, the prediction tool can be a prediction model configured to predict reference signal received power (RSRP) values for the BS. Whereas, the language “predict reference signal received power (RSRP) values for the BS” reads as generating model coefficients), (ii) a first … increment which defines the first potential electrical tilt change (par. 0027, teaches the signal strength or coverage prediction tool is utilized to perform site selection for BS deployment; and for reconfiguring network parameters, such as BS antenna, tilt, and the like. Wherein par. 0089, teaches the configuration of a gNB can involve electrical tilt (E-tilt), which reads as an electrical tilt change. Furthermore, it would be obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art that in order to change the electric tilt there has to be a first increment of change), and (iii) the positional information received from the UEs (par. 0099, teaches the CNE 135 can preprocess the collected reports and the corresponding BS configuration parameters and save them in a data table. The table attributes can include the received signal strength of users and the location of users. Wherein, fig. 7 and pars. 0094-0099, teaches the CNE 135 utilizing the signal strength prediction tool 760 with the collected reports and the corresponding BS configuration parameters in a data table to predict reference signal received power (RSRP) values for the BS).
However, although Albert teaches processing, in a prediction model… a first … increment which defines the first potential electrical tilt change (pars. 0029 and 0089), the apparatus and methods of Albert explicitly fails to disclose, processing, …a first Remote Electrical Tilt (RET) increment which defines the first potential electrical tilt change.
Lee disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for Remote Electrical Tilt (RET), so Lee is analogous to Albert. Furthermore, Lee teaches processing, …a first Remote Electrical Tilt (RET) increment which defines the first potential electrical tilt change (fig 4 and pars. 0066-0068, teaches implementation component 410 can be configured to direct the optimal set of RET values, to the respective access points. Wherein, the optimal set of RET values reads as a first Remote Electrical Tilt (RET) increment which defines the first potential electrical tilt change due to being used for directions to change respective access points. Furthermore, par. 0065, teaches remote electrical tilt (RET) values, e.g., tilt values, for respective access points).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize processing, …a first Remote Electrical Tilt (RET) increment which defines the first potential electrical tilt change, as disclosed by Lee with the method and apparatus of Albert. The motivations for doing so would be to improve wireless coverage. (see Lee par. 0009)
Regarding claim 2. Albert and Lee teaches the method for claim 1. Albert further teaches configuring electrical tilt of the antenna based on the estimated variations in received signal strength (par. 0027, teaches the signal strength or coverage prediction tool is utilized to perform site selection for BS deployment; and for reconfiguring network parameters, such as BS antenna, tilt, and the like. Wherein, fig. 7 and pars. 0094-0099, teaches the CNE 135 utilizing the signal strength prediction tool 760 with the collected reports and the corresponding BS configuration parameters in a data table to predict reference signal received power (RSRP) values for the BS. Moreover, table attributes can include a time stamp or expiration timer for the data, the received signal strength of users, the location of users, BS configuration parameters, and the like. Whereas, par. 0133, teaches the output of the prediction can be the mean received signal strength). Thus, the mean of the received signal strength of users and the location of users within the data table for the signal strength or coverage prediction tool is utilized to perform reconfiguring network parameters, such as BS antenna and tilt, reads as configuring electrical tilt of the antenna based on the estimated variations in received signal strength);
and/or configuring electrical tilt of a plurality of adjacent antennas each corresponding to a different base station based on the estimated variations in received signal strength (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
Regarding claim 6. Albert and Lee teaches the method for claim 1. Albert further teaches the UEs are served by the antenna (fig. 1 and par. 0048, teaches the gNB 102 serves multiple UEs 111-116 via wireless interfaces respectively. Furthermore, pars. 0089-0090, teaches the gNB 102 antenna parameters impact the service to UEs 111-116. Thus, the UEs are served by the antenna).
Regarding claim 12. Albert and Meyer teaches the method for claim 1. Albert further teaches generating model coeffects by processing the measurement data in a training model comprises: generating modified versions of the prediction model by inputting a range of model coefficients into the prediction model (fig. 7 and pars. 0094-0096, teaches the CNE 135 is further configured to utilize a calibration of signal strength prediction tool 760. Wherein, the prediction tool can be a prediction model configured to predict reference signal received power (RSRP) values for the BS. Whereas, the language “predict reference signal received power (RSRP) values for the BS” reads as generating model coefficients. Moreover, par. 0101, teaches these user reports along with the BS parameters can be stored in a data table at CNE 135 and herein will be referred to as the training data. Furthermore, par. 0116, teaches CNE 135 can initiate the calibration of the signal strength prediction tool 760 for a class of BSs using the collected data tables. Thus, generating RSRP values (model coefficients) by imputing the collected RSRP values received from the UEs stored in the data table, reads as generating modified versions of the prediction model by inputting a range of model coefficients into the prediction model),
comparing the modified versions of the prediction model to the measurement data (fig. 10 and pars. 0131-0133, teaches CNE 135 determines the BS class and appropriate calibrated tool to use. Furthermore, pars. 0115-0116, teaches selecting the Model and Calibration Procedure. Wherein, CNE 135 can first perform a “goodness of fit” test, such as the Chi-squared test, Kolmogorov-Smirnov test, or the like, to validate if the newly collected data fits the existing calibrated model for that class. When a sufficient fit is not found, CNE 135 can signal an alarm for re-calibration of the signal strength prediction tool 760 for that particular BS class after including the newly collected data. Whereas, the signal strength prediction tool can be raytracing, a statistical channel model, or any other model. Thus, comparing the modified versions of the prediction model to the measurement data), and
selecting model coefficients from among the range of model coefficients that generate a modified version of the prediction model which best fits the measurement data (fig. 10 and pars. 1031-0133, teaches the output of the prediction can be generated. Wherein, the output of the prediction can be the mean received signal strength in the area surrounding CNE 135. In certain embodiments, a set of user locations can be given as an input and the mean received signal strength can be predicted at those locations. Furthermore, a set of observations (user RSRPs and locations) can be given as an input and the output of the algorithm can be a score or a likelihood that the observations satisfy the prediction tool. Whereas, one of the ordinary skill would understand that the “mean received signal strength” depends on the range of the input measurement data (RSRPs and location) which reads as selecting model coefficients from among the range of model coefficients. Thus, the resulting output of the mean received signal strength reads as a model coefficients from among the range of model coefficients that generate a modified version of the prediction model which best fits the measurement data).
Regarding claim 27. Albert teaches the apparatus for a base station configured to estimate, for an antenna of the base station (fig. 7 and pars. 0094-0096, teaches the CNE 135 is further configured to utilize a calibration of signal strength prediction tool 760. Whereas, par. 0027, teaches the signal strength or coverage prediction tool is utilized to perform site selection for BS deployment; and for reconfiguring network parameters, such as BS antenna, tilt, and the like. Apart from planning and management, such a prediction tool can also be used to estimate and correct misaligned BS parameters, a task often referred to as site audit correction. Furthermore, par. 0098, teaches the CNE 135 is a base station, such as gNB 103 itself),
variations in received signal strength at User Equipments (UEs) (fig. 7 and pars. 0094-0097, teaches the CNE 135 receiving the measurement reports and BS configuration parameters. Whereas, par. 0099, teaches the CNE 135 can preprocess the collected reports and the corresponding BS configuration parameters and save them in a data table. The table attributes can include a time stamp or expiration timer for the data, the received signal strength of users, the location of users, BS configuration parameters, and the like) the base station comprising processing circuitry and a memory containing instructions executable by the processing circuitry (fig. 2 and pars. 0051-0060, teaches the gNB 102 includes controller/processor 225 and memory 230. Wherein, the controller/processor 225 is also capable of executing programs and other processes resident in the memory 230), whereby the base station is operable to:
transmit, to a plurality of UEs, a reference signal (figs. 1 & 7 and par. 0097, teaches gNB 102 broadcasts a reference signal (RS) to enable users in its neighborhood to measure the signal strength via an RSRP measurement. Wherein, both served UEs 111-114 and non-served UEs 115-116 in the neighborhood of gNB 102 may correspondingly measure the RSRP from gNB 102);
receive measurement data (fig. 7 and pars. 0094-0097, teaches the CNE 135 receiving the measurement reports and BS configuration parameters. Whereas, par. 0099, teaches the CNE 135 can preprocess the collected reports and the corresponding BS configuration parameters and save them in a data table. The table attributes can include the received signal strength of users and the location of users. Wherein, the “measurement reports and BS configuration parameters which include the data table comprising the received signal strength of users” reads as measurement data. Furthermore, fig. 7 and pars. 0094-0097, teaches the UE 116 transmits the measurement reports directly to the CNE 135, via the gNB 102), wherein the measurement data comprises signal strength measurements indicating received reference signal strength of the reference signal at UEs , and positional information of the UEs (fig. 7 and pars. 0094-0097, teaches the CNE 135 receiving the measurement reports and BS configuration parameters. Whereas, par. 0099, teaches the CNE 135 can preprocess the collected reports and the corresponding BS configuration parameters and save them in a data table. The table attributes can include the received signal strength of users and the location of users);
generate model coefficients by processing the measurement data in a training model (fig. 7 and pars. 0094-0096, teaches the CNE 135 is further configured to utilize a calibration of signal strength prediction tool 760. Wherein, the prediction tool can be a prediction model configured to predict reference signal received power (RSRP) values for the BS. Whereas, the language “predict reference signal received power (RSRP) values for the BS” reads as generating model coefficients. Moreover, par. 0101, teaches these user reports along with the BS parameters can be stored in a data table at CNE 135 and herein will be referred to as the training data. Furthermore, par. 0116, teaches CNE 135 can initiate the calibration of the signal strength prediction tool 760 for a class of BSs using the collected data tables. Whereas, the language “CNE 135 can initiate the calibration of the signal strength prediction tool 760 using the collected data tables” reads as generate model coefficients by processing the measurement data in a training model); and
estimate, for a first potential electrical tilt change, variations in received signal strength of the received reference signal received at the UEs (figs. 7-8 and pars. 0094-0099, teaches the CNE 135 utilizing the signal strength prediction tool 760 with the collected reports and the corresponding BS configuration parameters in a data table to predict reference signal received power (RSRP) values for the BS. Whereas, par. 0133, teaches the output of the prediction can be the mean received signal strength. Wherein, par. 0027, teaches the signal strength or coverage prediction tool is utilized to perform site selection for BS deployment; and for reconfiguring network parameters, such as BS antenna, tilt, and the like. Wherein par. 0089, teaches the configuration of a gNB can involve electrical tilt (E-tilt), which reads as an electrical tilt change. Furthermore, it would be obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art that the signal strength the prediction tool utilizes signal strength values and variations thereof, to carry out an estimation process for electrical tilt change, such that the potential tilt change, or future tilt change, is identified, particular to the next limitation recited below),
wherein estimating, for the first potential electrical tilt change, variations in received signal strength of the received reference signal received at the UEs comprises: processing, in a prediction model (figs. 7-8 and pars. 0094-0099, teaches the CNE 135 utilizing the signal strength prediction tool 760 with the collected reports and the corresponding BS configuration parameters in a data table to predict reference signal received power (RSRP) values for the BS. Whereas, par. 0133, teaches the output of the prediction can be the mean received signal strength), (i) the generated model coefficients (fig. 7 and pars. 0094-0096, teaches the CNE 135 is further configured to utilize a calibration of signal strength prediction tool 760. Wherein, the prediction tool can be a prediction model configured to predict reference signal received power (RSRP) values for the BS. Whereas, the language “predict reference signal received power (RSRP) values for the BS” reads as generating model coefficients), (ii) a first … increment which defines the first potential electrical tilt change (par. 0027, teaches the signal strength or coverage prediction tool is utilized to perform site selection for BS deployment; and for reconfiguring network parameters, such as BS antenna, tilt, and the like. Wherein par. 0089, teaches the configuration of a gNB can involve electrical tilt (E-tilt), which reads as an electrical tilt change. Furthermore, it would be obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art that in order to change the electric tilt there has to be a first increment of change), and (iii) the positional information received from the UEs (par. 0099, teaches the CNE 135 can preprocess the collected reports and the corresponding BS configuration parameters and save them in a data table. The table attributes can include the received signal strength of users and the location of users. Wherein, fig. 7 and pars. 0094-0099, teaches the CNE 135 utilizing the signal strength prediction tool 760 with the collected reports and the corresponding BS configuration parameters in a data table to predict reference signal received power (RSRP) values for the BS).
However, although Albert teaches processing, in a prediction model… a first … increment which defines the first potential electrical tilt change (pars. 0029 and 0089), the apparatus and methods of Albert explicitly fails to disclose, processing, …a first Remote Electrical Tilt (RET) increment which defines the first potential electrical tilt change.
Lee disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for Remote Electrical Tilt (RET), so Lee is analogous to Albert. Furthermore, Lee teaches processing, …a first Remote Electrical Tilt (RET) increment which defines the first potential electrical tilt change (fig 4 and pars. 0066-0068, teaches implementation component 410 can be configured to direct the optimal set of RET values, to the respective access points. Wherein, the optimal set of RET values reads as a first Remote Electrical Tilt (RET) increment which defines the first potential electrical tilt change due to being used for directions to change respective access points. Furthermore, par. 0065, teaches remote electrical tilt (RET) values, e.g., tilt values, for respective access points).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize processing, …a first Remote Electrical Tilt (RET) increment which defines the first potential electrical tilt change, as disclosed by Lee with the method and apparatus of Albert. The motivations for doing so would be to improve wireless coverage. (see Lee par. 0009)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, 8-11, 13, 16-19, and 21-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRACY LAUREN RAIMONDO/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/BENJAMIN H ELLIOTT IV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474