DETAILED ACTION
Claims 27-46 are presented for examination.
Claims 41 and 46 are amended.
Response to Arguments
The objection to the claims has been withdrawn based on Applicant’s amendment.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/05/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons set forth below.
The Applicant argues:
(1) Nilsson does not disclose the use of single-port reference signal resources as recited in the present claims, the rejections should be withdrawn, [Remarks, pages 7-9].
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with these arguments.
As per the first argument
As indicated in the previous rejection and below, Nilsson discloses transmitting, as part of performing a beam selection procedure with a user equipment, two single-port reference signal resources [fig. 1, paragraphs 0006, 0036, 0038, 0040, 0051, transmitting, as part of performing a beam selection procedure with a user equipment, two single-port reference signal resources (beam management procedure two different TRP beams are evaluated per radio transceiver device 200b)].
Regarding transmitting, two single-port reference signal resources, Nilsson discloses in paragraphs 0006, 0036, 0039, 0040, 0051, 0054, 0055, and 0069.
[0006] If the TRP has dual-polarized antennas, each CSI-RS resource will typically be configured with two antenna ports, one antenna port per polarization, such that the terminal device can measure average RSRP over both polarizations and hence reduce the risk of polarization mismatch. ….
[0036] FIG. 2 schematically illustrates the TRP 400a of radio transceiver device 200a according to embodiments. The TRP 400a comprises a first antenna array 410a and a second antenna array 410b. Generally, the TRP 400a might be assumed to comprise at least two antenna arrays 410a, 410b. In turn, each antenna array 410a, 410b comprises antenna elements of two polarizations P1, P2. The individual antenna elements might for this purpose either be single polarized or dual-polarized.
[0039] In the example of FIG. 2(b) the TRP 400a is configured to simultaneously transmit reference signals in beams B11, B12 from the first antenna array 410a using polarization P1, and in beams B11, B12 from the second antenna array 410b using polarization P2. The beams from both antenna arrays 410a, 410b thus point towards one and the same radio transceiver device 200b. However, as the skilled person understands, the beam management is illustrated in FIG. 2(b) can be generalized to two radio transceiver devices 200b, 200c.
[0040] Each reference signal might be regarded as being transmitted from an antenna port at the TRP 400a. Thus, assuming that one antenna port is transmitted from each antenna array 410a, 410b, or panel, or one antenna port for each polarization in one of the antenna arrays 410a, 410b, this will result in a so-called two-port beam management procedure. For the example of FIG. 2(a), the two antenna ports for each beam is transmitted for different polarization from the antenna array, whilst for the example of FIG. 2(b), the two antenna ports for each beam is transmitted from different antenna arrays as well as for different polarizations. This means that the correlation between the two antenna ports for each beam in the example of FIG. 2(b) statistically will be lower compared to the example of FIG. 2(a) due to the fact that both polarization orthogonality and spatial de-correlation is applied on the two antenna ports. With lower correlation between the antenna ports, spatial multiplexing and diversity might be improved. In this respect, polarization properties between the different antenna arrays could be rather random, especially if the antenna arrays are of a radio transceiver device embodied as a terminal device, and therefore polarization orthogonality could in some situation not be used for higher order spatial multiplexing and/or diversity. Hence, adding additional spatial de-correlation between the beams used for the transmission of the reference signals might help to still improve the performance of spatial multiplexing and diversity.
[0051] As disclosed above, in some aspects TRP 400a comprises two or more antenna arrays, or panels. There could then be different ways for radio transceiver device 200a to transmit the reference signals using a first of the two or more antenna arrays, or panels, and a second of the two or more antenna arrays, or panels. In some aspects antenna ports are used from those two antenna arrays, or panels, that have the lowest mutual correlation. Particularly, according to an embodiment radio transceiver device 200a has at least three antenna arrays, and the reference signals are transmitted at those two of the at least three antenna arrays having lowest mutual correlation.
[0054] S102a: Radio transceiver device 200a sequentially sweeps through beams of the first set of beams B11-P1, B12-P1 whilst transmitting the first reference signal in the first set of beams B11-P1, B12-P1.
[0055] S102b: Radio transceiver device 200a sequentially sweeps through beams of the second set of beams B11-P2, B12-P2 whilst transmitting the second reference signal in the second set of beams B11-P2, B12-P2.
[0069] S201: Radio transceiver device 200a transmits a burst of two-port CSI-RS resources repeatedly in the same TRP TX beam. The two antenna ports of each CSI-RS resource belong to mutually different antenna arrays and mutually different polarizations. One way to implement step S201 is to perform step S102.
In other words, Nilsson discloses each CSI-RS resource will typically be configured with two antenna ports, one antenna port per polarization.
Therefore, given that Nilsson discloses two antenna ports of each CSI-RS resource belong to mutually different antenna arrays and mutually different polarizations, then Nilsson clearly discloses transmitting, as part of performing a beam selection procedure with a user equipment, two single-port reference signal resources.
Applicant argues that Nilsson is referring to antenna ports, not reference signal resource ports.
As indicated above, Nilsson discloses reference signal resource ports [paragraphs 0006, 0040, 0073, reference signal resource ports (antenna ports corresponding to the CSI-RS resource)].
Applicant discloses in paragraph 0047 of the specification
[0047] This is illustrated in FIG. 3, which illustrates transmission of reference signal resources, in terms of CSI-RS resources, in directional beams 162a:162f from TRP 140 of network node 200 towards user equipment 300a. …. In FIG. 3 six CSI-RS resources 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6 are transmitted from a first port using polarization P1 and a second port using polarization P2. As above, the CSI-RS resource consist of a single CSI-RS port that is transmitted over two antenna ports. Performing a beam sweep, as illustrated by arrow 190, between the beams 162a:162f thus enables the user equipment 300a to evaluate the six beams 162a:162f for a single polarization. Here the single port CSI-RS resources are precoded over both the vertically and horizontally polarized antenna elements, which thus means that only one polarization can be evaluated per OFDM symbol. ….
This is similar to the disclosure in Nilsson of
[0006] If the TRP has dual-polarized antennas, each CSI-RS resource will typically be configured with two antenna ports, one antenna port per polarization, such that the terminal device can measure average RSRP over both polarizations and hence reduce the risk of polarization mismatch. Another advantage with two-port beam management is that the terminal device can choose the best beam not only based on highest RSRP, but also consider parameters such as rank, user throughput, etc. One reason for choosing CSI-RS as the reference signal for beam management is that the terminal device can then directly report preferred CQI, rank and precoder after a beam management procedure, which will reduce the latency between a beam management procedure and data transmission.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “if a single CSI-RS resource (a single CSI-RS port) is transmitted in a given OFDM symbol using two ports, one being vertically polarized and the other being horizontally polarized, the result is a transmitted signal having a +45 degree polarization”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Regarding the rejection of claims 45 and 46, claims 45 and 46 recite the same limitations as set forth in claim 27, the response to claim 27 is also applicable to claims 45 and 46, and thus please refer to the response to claim 27 above.
Regarding the dependent claims 28-44, Applicant has not made specific arguments pertaining to why the cited references do not teach the recited claims. Without such arguments, the Examiner cannot respond and is not persuaded by such argument.
In view of above, it is clear that the system/methods of the cited art disclose the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27-40 and 42-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson et al., (hereinafter Nilsson), U.S. Publication No. 2019/0386733, in view of Freedman et al., (hereinafter Freedman), U.S. Publication No. 2018/0123674.
As per claim 27, Nilsson discloses a method for transmission of single-port reference signal resources, the method being performed by a network node [fig. 1, 4, paragraphs 0010, 0035, 0040, 0048, a method for transmission of single-port reference signal resources, the method being performed by a network node (method is performed by a radio transceiver device; reference signal are transmitted at a respective antenna port)], the method comprising:
transmitting, as part of performing a beam selection procedure with a user equipment, two single-port reference signal resources [fig. 1, paragraphs 0006, 0036, 0038, 0040, 0051, transmitting, as part of performing a beam selection procedure with a user equipment, two single-port reference signal resources (beam management procedure two different TRP beams are evaluated per radio transceiver device 200b)], wherein:
a first of the two single-port reference signal resources is transmitted over a first polarization [fig. 1, 2a, 4, paragraphs 0006, 0038, 0040, 0050, 0051, a first of the two single-port reference signal resources is transmitted over a first polarization (transmit reference signals in beams B11, B12 from the first antenna array 410a using polarizations P1 and P2; antenna elements might for this purpose either be single polarized or dual-polarized)],
a second of the two single-port reference signal resources is transmitted over a second polarization [fig. 1, 2a, 4, paragraphs 0006, 0038, 0040, 0050, 0051, a second of the two single-port reference signal resources is transmitted over a second polarization (second set of beams B11-P2, B12-P2 is transmitted in a second polarization P2; antenna elements might for this purpose either be single polarized or dual-polarized)],
Nilsson discloses the two single-port reference signal. Nilsson does not explicitly disclose the resources are time-wise overlapping when transmitted.
However, Freedman teaches the resources are time-wise overlapping when transmitted [table 1, paragraphs 0007, 0107, 0125, 0172, 0194, the resources are time-wise overlapping when transmitted (overlapping main lobes of different neighboring clusters use one or more of different frequencies, polarizations or time hops to avoid interference)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Nilsson by including wherein the resources are time-wise overlapping when transmitted as taught by Freedman because it would provide the Nilsson’s method with the enhanced capability of improving communication capacity [Freedman, paragraphs 0093, 0094].
As per claim 28, Nilsson discloses the method of claim 27,
wherein the first single-port reference signal resource and the second single-port reference signal resource are part of a common reference signal resource set [paragraphs 0038, 0039, 0069, wherein the first single-port reference signal resource and the second single-port reference signal resource are part of a common reference signal resource set (simultaneously transmit reference signals in beams B11, B12 from the first antenna array 410a using polarizations P1 and P2, and in beams B21, B22 from the second antenna array 410b using polarizations P1 and P2)].
As per claim 29, Nilsson discloses the method of claim 27,
wherein the first single-port reference signal resource is part of a first reference signal resource set, wherein the second single-port reference signal resource is part of a second reference signal resource set, and when a respective single-port reference signal resource from the first reference signal resource set is at least sometimes transmitted together with a respective single-port reference signal resource from the second reference signal resource set [paragraphs 0039, 0040, 0043, 0044, 0052, wherein the first single-port reference signal resource is part of a first reference signal resource set, wherein the second single-port reference signal resource is part of a second reference signal resource set, and when a respective single-port reference signal resource from the first reference signal resource set is at least sometimes transmitted together with a respective single-port reference signal resource from the second reference signal resource set (simultaneously transmit reference signals in beams B11, B12 from the first antenna array 410a using polarization P1, and in beams B11, B12 from the second antenna array 410b using polarization P2)].
As per claim 30, Nilsson discloses the method of claim 29,
wherein single-port reference signal resources from the first reference signal resource set are only transmitted over the first polarization, and wherein single- port reference signal resources from the second reference signal resource set are only transmitted over the second polarization [paragraphs 0033, 0039, 0040, 0043, 0044, 0052, wherein single-port reference signal resources from the first reference signal resource set are only transmitted over the first polarization, and wherein single- port reference signal resources from the second reference signal resource set are only transmitted over the second polarization (simultaneously transmit reference signals in beams B11, B12 from the first antenna array 410a using polarization P1, and in beams B11, B12 from the second antenna array 410b using polarization P2)].
As per claim 31, Nilsson discloses the method of claim 30,
wherein a respective single-port reference signal resource from the first reference signal resource set is always transmitted together with a respective single-port reference signal resource from the second reference signal resource set [paragraphs 0033, 0039, 0040, 0043, 0044, 0052, wherein a respective single-port reference signal resource from the first reference signal resource set is always transmitted together with a respective single-port reference signal resource from the second reference signal resource set (simultaneously transmit reference signals in beams B11, B12 from the first antenna array 410a using polarization P1, and in beams B11, B12 from the second antenna array 410b using polarization P2)].
As per claim 32, Nilsson discloses the method of claim 29,
wherein some single-port reference signal resources from the first reference signal resource set are transmitted over the first polarization and other single-port reference signal resources from the first reference signal resource set are transmitted over the second polarization, and wherein some single-port reference signal resources from the second reference signal resource set are transmitted over the second polarization and other single-port reference signal resources from the second reference signal resource set are transmitted over the first polarization [paragraphs 0039, 0040, 0043, 0044, 0052, wherein some single-port reference signal resources from the first reference signal resource set are transmitted over the first polarization and other single-port reference signal resources from the first reference signal resource set are transmitted over the second polarization, and wherein some single-port reference signal resources from the second reference signal resource set are transmitted over the second polarization and other single-port reference signal resources from the second reference signal resource set are transmitted over the first polarization (simultaneously transmit reference signals in beams B11, B12 from the first antenna array 410a using polarization P1, and in beams B11, B12 from the second antenna array 410b using polarization P2)].
As per claim 33, Nilsson discloses the method of claim 32,
wherein a respective single-port reference signal resource from the first reference signal resource set is always transmitted together with a respective single-port reference signal resource from the second reference signal resource set [paragraphs 0033, 0039, 0040, 0043, 0044, 0052, wherein a respective single-port reference signal resource from the first reference signal resource set is always transmitted together with a respective single-port reference signal resource from the second reference signal resource set (simultaneously transmit reference signals in beams B11, B12 from the first antenna array 410a using polarization P1, and in beams B11, B12 from the second antenna array 410b using polarization P2)].
As per claim 34, Nilsson discloses the method of claim 29,
wherein, when one single-port reference signal resource from one of the first and second reference signal resource sets is transmitted over one of the two polarizations, another single-port reference signal resource from another of the first and second reference signal resource sets is transmitted over another of the two polarizations [paragraphs 0033, 0039, 0040, 0043, 0044, 0052, wherein, when one single-port reference signal resource from one of the first and second reference signal resource sets is transmitted over one of the two polarizations, another single-port reference signal resource from another of the first and second reference signal resource sets is transmitted over another of the two polarizations (simultaneously transmit reference signals in beams B11, B12 from the first antenna array 410a using polarization P1, and in beams B11, B12 from the second antenna array 410b using polarization P2)].
As per claim 35, Nilsson discloses the method of claim 29,
wherein the single-port reference signal resources of the first reference signal resource set are transmitted partly over the first polarization and partly over the second polarization, and wherein the single-port reference signal resources of the second reference signal resource set are transmitted only over the second polarization [fig. 2a, 3, paragraphs 0040, 0054, 0055, 0057, wherein the single-port reference signal resources of the first reference signal resource set are transmitted partly over the first polarization and partly over the second polarization, and wherein the single-port reference signal resources of the second reference signal resource set are transmitted only over the second polarization (radio transceiver device 200a transmits several occurrences of the reference signal in each beam; a first burst of occurrences of the first reference signal is transmitted per beam in the first set of beams B11-P1, B12-P1; second burst of occurrences of the second reference signal is then transmitted per beam in the second set of beams B11-P2, B12-P2)].
As per claim 36, Nilsson discloses the method of claim 35,
wherein a respective single-port reference signal resource from the second reference signal resource set is always transmitted together with a respective single-port reference signal resource from the first reference signal resource set [paragraphs 0033, 0039, 0040, 0043, 0044, 0052, wherein a respective single-port reference signal resource from the second reference signal resource set is always transmitted together with a respective single-port reference signal resource from the first reference signal resource set (simultaneously transmit reference signals in beams B11, B12 from the first antenna array 410a using polarization P1, and in beams B11, B12 from the second antenna array 410b using polarization P2)].
As per claim 37, Nilsson discloses the method of claim 29,
wherein single-port reference signal resources of the first reference signal resource set are transmitted in beams of a first beam set, one single-port reference signal resource per beam, and wherein single-port reference signal resources of the second reference signal resource set are transmitted in beams of a second beam set, one single- port reference signal resource per beam [fig. 2a, 3, paragraphs 0040, 0054, 0055, 0057, wherein single-port reference signal resources of the first reference signal resource set are transmitted in beams of a first beam set, one single-port reference signal resource per beam, and wherein single-port reference signal resources of the second reference signal resource set are transmitted in beams of a second beam set, one single- port reference signal resource per beam (radio transceiver device 200a transmits several occurrences of the reference signal in each beam; a first burst of occurrences of the first reference signal is transmitted per beam in the first set of beams B11-P1, B12-P1; second burst of occurrences of the second reference signal is then transmitted per beam in the second set of beams B11-P2, B12-P2)].
As per claim 38, Nilsson discloses the method of claim 37,
wherein the first beam set and the second beam set are at least partly overlapping [paragraphs 0011, 0012, 0038, 0039, wherein the first beam set and the second beam set are at least partly overlapping (simultaneously transmitting a first reference signal in a first set of beams and a second reference signal in a second set of beams)].
As per claim 39, Nilsson discloses the method of claim 37, Nilsson does not explicitly disclose wherein pointing directions of the beams in at least one of the first beam set and the second beam set are time-wise alternated, wherein at a first time instance the first beam set and the second beam set are non-overlapping, and wherein at a second time instance the first beam set and the second beam set at least partly overlapping.
However, Freedman teaches wherein pointing directions of the beams in at least one of the first beam set and the second beam set are time-wise alternated, wherein at a first time instance the first beam set and the second beam set are non-overlapping, and wherein at a second time instance the first beam set and the second beam set at least partly overlapping [table 1, paragraphs 0007, 0059, 0080, 0102, 0107, 0125, 0172, 0191, 0194, wherein pointing directions of the beams in at least one of the first beam set and the second beam set are time-wise alternated, wherein at a first time instance the first beam set and the second beam set are non-overlapping, and wherein at a second time instance the first beam set and the second beam set at least partly overlapping (overlapping main lobes of different neighboring clusters use one or more of different frequencies, polarizations or time hops to avoid interference; antennas can be steered using phase shifters, e.g., orientation of the antennas can be changed by using different phase coefficients, or can be mechanically steered; beams overlap to some degree, e.g., either partially or completely))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Nilsson by including wherein the resources are time-wise overlapping when transmitted as taught by Freedman because it would provide the Nilsson’s method with the enhanced capability of improving communication capacity [Freedman, paragraphs 0093, 0094].
As per claim 40, Nilsson discloses the method of claim 27,
wherein, for each of the polarizations, each of the two single- port reference signal resources is transmitted in its own beam [paragraphs 0038-0040, 0045, 0046, 0050, wherein, for each of the polarizations, each of the two single- port reference signal resources is transmitted in its own beam (simultaneously transmit reference signals in beams B11, B12 from the first antenna array 410a using polarizations P1 and P2, and in beams B21, B22 from the second antenna array 410b using polarizations P1 and P2; the two antenna ports for each beam is transmitted from different antenna arrays as well as for different polarizations)].
As per claim 42, Nilsson discloses the method of claim 27,
wherein the second polarization is orthogonal to the first polarization [paragraphs 0006, 0040, 0050, wherein the second polarization is orthogonal to the first polarization (polarization orthogonality and spatial de-correlation is applied on the two antenna ports; the first polarization and the second polarization are mutually orthogonal)].
As per claim 43, Nilsson discloses the method of claim 27,
wherein each of the two single-port reference signal resources is a CSI-RS [paragraphs 0005, 0067, 0069, wherein each of the two single-port reference signal resources is a CSI-RS (two-port CSI-RS resources)].
As per claim 44, Nilsson discloses the method of claim 27, further comprising:
receiving measurement reporting of the two single-port reference signal resources from the user equipment [paragraphs 0005, 0006, 0059, 0060, receiving measurement reporting of the two single-port reference signal resources from the user equipment (the terminal devices performs reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements and reports; the terminal device can then directly report preferred CQI, rank and precoder after a beam management procedure)].
As per claim 45, Nilsson discloses a network node for transmission of single-port reference signal resources, the network node comprising processing circuitry [fig. 1, 4, paragraphs 0010, 0011, 0035, 0040, 0048, a network node for transmission of single-port reference signal resources, the network node comprising processing circuitry (a radio transceiver device; reference signal are transmitted at a respective antenna port)], the processing circuitry [fig. 5, paragraphs 0011, 0074, 0075, processing circuitry (processing circuitry 210)] being configured to cause the network node to:
transmit, as part of performing a beam selection procedure with a user equipment, two single-port reference signal resources [fig. 1, paragraphs 0006, 0036, 0038, 0040, 0051, transmit, as part of performing a beam selection procedure with a user equipment, two single-port reference signal resources (beam management procedure two different TRP beams are evaluated per radio transceiver device 200b)], wherein:
a first of the two single-port reference signal resources is transmitted over a first polarization [fig. 1, 2a, 4, paragraphs 0006, 0038, 0040, 0050, 0051, a first of the two single-port reference signal resources is transmitted over a first polarization (transmit reference signals in beams B11, B12 from the first antenna array 410a using polarizations P1 and P2; antenna elements might for this purpose either be single polarized or dual-polarized)],
a second of the two single-port reference signal resources is transmitted over a second polarization [fig. 1, 2a, 4, paragraphs 0006, 0038, 0040, 0050, 0051, a second of the two single-port reference signal resources is transmitted over a second polarization (second set of beams B11-P2, B12-P2 is transmitted in a second polarization P2; antenna elements might for this purpose either be single polarized or dual-polarized)],
Nilsson discloses the two single-port reference signal. Nilsson does not explicitly disclose the resources are time-wise overlapping when transmitted.
However, Freedman teaches the resources are time-wise overlapping when transmitted [table 1, paragraphs 0007, 0107, 0125, 0172, 0194, the resources are time-wise overlapping when transmitted (overlapping main lobes of different neighboring clusters use one or more of different frequencies, polarizations or time hops to avoid interference)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the node described in Nilsson by including wherein the resources are time-wise overlapping when transmitted as taught by Freedman because it would provide the Nilsson’s node with the enhanced capability of improving communication capacity [Freedman, paragraphs 0093, 0094].
As per claim 46, Nilsson discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising, stored thereupon, a computer program for transmission of single-port reference signal resources [fig. 1, 4, paragraphs 0010, 0011, 0035, 0040, 0048, a non-transitory computer-readable comprising, stored thereupon, a computer program for transmission of single-port reference signal resources (a radio transceiver device; reference signal are transmitted at a respective antenna port)], the computer program comprising computer code configured so that, when run on processing circuitry of a network node [fig. 5, paragraphs 0011, 0074, 0075, processing circuitry (processing circuitry 210)], the computer code causes the network node to:
transmit, as part of performing a beam selection procedure with a user equipment, two single-port reference signal resources [fig. 1, paragraphs 0006, 0036, 0038, 0040, 0051, transmit, as part of performing a beam selection procedure with a user equipment, two single-port reference signal resources (beam management procedure two different TRP beams are evaluated per radio transceiver device 200b)], wherein:
a first of the two single-port reference signal resources is transmitted over a first polarization [fig. 1, 2a, 4, paragraphs 0006, 0038, 0040, 0050, 0051, a first of the two single-port reference signal resources is transmitted over a first polarization (transmit reference signals in beams B11, B12 from the first antenna array 410a using polarizations P1 and P2; antenna elements might for this purpose either be single polarized or dual-polarized)],
a second of the two single-port reference signal resources is transmitted over a second polarization [fig. 1, 2a, 4, paragraphs 0006, 0038, 0040, 0050, 0051, a second of the two single-port reference signal resources is transmitted over a second polarization (second set of beams B11-P2, B12-P2 is transmitted in a second polarization P2; antenna elements might for this purpose either be single polarized or dual-polarized)],
Nilsson discloses the two single-port reference signal. Nilsson does not explicitly disclose the resources are time-wise overlapping when transmitted.
However, Freedman teaches the resources are time-wise overlapping when transmitted [table 1, paragraphs 0007, 0107, 0125, 0172, 0194, the resources are time-wise overlapping when transmitted (overlapping main lobes of different neighboring clusters use one or more of different frequencies, polarizations or time hops to avoid interference)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the medium described in Nilsson by including wherein the resources are time-wise overlapping when transmitted as taught by Freedman because it would provide the Nilsson’s medium with the enhanced capability of improving communication capacity [Freedman, paragraphs 0093, 0094].
Claim(s) 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson, in view of Freedman, and in further view of Nilsson et al., (hereinafter Nilsson’417), U.S. Publication No. 2019/0387417.
As per claim 41, Nilsson discloses the method of claim 27, Nilsson does not explicitly disclose wherein the two single-port reference signal resources are transmitted in one and the same Orthogonal Frequency-Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol.
However, Nilsson’417 teaches wherein the two single-port reference signal resources are transmitted in one and the same Orthogonal Frequency-Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol [paragraphs 0012, 0044, 0053, 0060, 0062, 0065, 0077, wherein the two single-port reference signal resources are transmitted in one and the same Orthogonal Frequency-Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol (the reference signal is transmitted within one single OFDM symbol; two directional receive beams 150 might be switched within the one single OFDM symbol 400 when the polarization in which the reference signal is transmitted is switched within the one single OFDM symbol 400)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in the modified Nilsson by including wherein the resources are time-wise overlapping when transmitted as taught by Nilsson’417 because it would provide the modified Nilsson’s method with the enhanced capability of obtaining good performance [Nilsson’417, paragraph 0002].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rahman et al., U.S. Publication No. 2011/0205930 disclose cell-specific reference signals (also referred to as common reference signals), are transmitted during the first and fifth OFDM symbols of each slot when normal cyclic prefix and two antenna ports are configured.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469