Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/05/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/06/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27-41 and 43-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davydov (Pub. No.: US 20180219601 A1, hereafter “Davydov”) in view of Khoshnevisan (Pub. No.: US 20200153543 A1, hereafter “Khoshnevisan”).
Regarding Claim 27, Claim 45, and Claim 46
Davydov teaches a device, method, and medium comprising
A first network device (Davydov Fig. 8: 800, eNB) for transmission of reference signal resources comprising an antenna arrangement (Davydov Fig. 8: 842, antenna pairs) having at least two panels (Davydov Fig. 8: 842, antenna pairs), each of the at least two panels is configured to generate beams (Davydov ¶0041: beamforming by eNB) in different directions (Davydov Fig. 8: 822 and 826), the first network device comprises control circuitry configured to (Davydov Fig. 8: 800, eNB; Davydov teaches an eNB, e.g. a base station, having multiple antenna, and beamforming by the eNB to two different locations): transmit (Davydov ¶0041: transmission in general), as part of performing a beam selection procedure (Davydov ¶0041: be more promising in forming a wireless communication channel) with a second network device (Davydov ¶0041: channel with UE; Davydov teaches transmitting information for forming a channel with a UE): a first reference signal resource (Davydov ¶0033: CSI-RS) in one or more beams (Davydov ¶0033: RE pairs) from a first of the at least two panels (Davydov ¶0033: associated with each eNB antenna port; Davydov teaches a CSI-RS being transmitted through RE pairs and are associated with each of the plurality of ports); and a second reference signal resource (Davydov ¶0072: second CSI-RS) in one or more beams (Davydov ¶0072: establish) from a second of the at least two panels (Davydov ¶0072: second portion following the first portion in an ordered set of antenna ports; Davydov teaches a second RSI-RS being used to establish a second portion for the plurality of ports), wherein the one or more beams from the first of the at least two panels (Davydov ¶0033: plurality of antennas) is different (Davydov ¶0033: first polarization) from the one or more beams from the second of the at least two panels (Davydov ¶0033: plurality of second antennas having a second polarization; Davydov teaches the plurality of antennas having two different polarizations);
Davydov does not explicitly teach
and wherein the first reference signal resource is time-wise overlapping with the second reference signal resource when transmitted
However, Khoshnevisan teaches
and wherein the first reference signal resource (Khoshnevisan Fig. 8: 805, DMRS information, e.g. information containing CSI-RS, see ¶0071) is time-wise overlapping (Khoshnevisan ¶0082: DMRS may overlap in time and/or frequency) with the second reference signal resource when transmitted (Khoshnevisan ¶0082: two transmission layers; Khoshnevisan teaches information containing a CSI-RS with two transmission signals that can overlap over time).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Davydov by way of Khoshnevisan, to include an element that teaches information containing a CSI-RS with two transmission signals that can overlap over time, as taught by Khoshnevisan in Fig. 8 and ¶0082, to improve BS and UE communication systems by allowing simultaneous communication across multiple reference signals at the same time or frequency and improve throughput.
Claim 46 differs by the following limitation, which is also taught by the prior art, Davydov teaches
A non-transitory computer-readable medium (Davydov Fig. 15: 1518) comprising, stored thereupon, a computer program for transmission of reference signal resources in a first network device (Davydov ¶0094: instructions; Davydov teaches a computer-readable medium containing executable instructions)
Regarding Claim 28
Davydov in view of Khoshnevisan teaches the device, method, and medium as explained above in Claim 27. Davydov further teaches
wherein the at least two panels are configured to generate beams in the same OFDM symbol (Davydov ¶0081: CSI-RS groups may contain the same message, and the CSI-RS contains OFDM, see ¶0033; Davydov teaches a plurality of CSI-RS with the same message, e.g. an OFDM symbol).
Regarding Claim 29
Davydov in view of Khoshnevisan teaches the device, method, and medium as explained above in Claim 27. Davydov further teaches
wherein each reference signal resource comprises at least one single-port reference signal resource (Davydov ¶0030: each resource element corresponds to an antenna port; Davydov teaches the reference signal corresponding to an individual antenna port).
Regarding Claim 30
Davydov in view of Khoshnevisan teaches the device, method, and medium as explained above in Claim 27. Davydov further teaches
wherein each reference signal resource is a two- port reference signal resource (Davydov ¶0032: CSI reference signal may be transmitted on a 2-port antenna numbered 15 through 22; Davydov teaches the reference signal can refer to a 2-port antenna with an associated value).
Regarding Claim 31
Davydov in view of Khoshnevisan teaches the device, method, and medium as explained above in Claim 30. Davydov further teaches
wherein each reference signal resource is transmitted in two different beams (Davydov ¶0033: first and second antennas) wherein the two different beams are transmitted with non- parallel polarizations (Davydov ¶0033: polarization orthogonal; Davydov teaches two antennas with two antenna configurations with orthogonal polarizations).
Regarding Claim 32
Davydov in view of Khoshnevisan teaches the device, method, and medium as explained above in Claim 27. Davydov further teaches
wherein the antenna arrangement (Davydov Fig. 20: 2000) comprises at least one physical antenna panel (Davydov Fig. 20: 2010), wherein each panel is a logical unit (Davydov Fig. 20: 2004e) comprising a segment of the at least one physical antenna panel (Davydov Fig. 20: 2010; Davydov teaches a processing unit to handle instructions, coupled to at least one antenna).
Regarding Claim 33
Davydov in view of Khoshnevisan teaches the device, method, and medium as explained above in Claim 27. Davydov further teaches
wherein the antenna arrangement comprises at least two physical antenna panels (Davydov Fig. 20: 2010, e.g. one or more antennas, see ¶0111), and wherein the phase center (Davydov ¶0110: carrier frequency) of the at least two panels are spatially separated (Davydov ¶0110: multiple different phases; Davydov teaches one or more antennas having a carrier frequency having multiple different phases).
Regarding Claim 34
Davydov in view of Khoshnevisan teaches the device, method, and medium as explained above in Claim 27. Davydov further teaches
wherein the antenna arrangement comprises at least two physical antenna panels (Davydov Fig. 20: 2010, e.g. one or more antennas, see ¶0111) and wherein the at least two panels are configured to point (Davydov ¶0040: FD-MIMO beamforming) in the same spatial direction (Davydov ¶0041: FD-MIMO downlink; Davydov teaches one or more antennas generating FD-MIMO beamforming for downlink communication with a UE).
Regarding Claim 35
Davydov in view of Khoshnevisan teaches the device, method, and medium as explained above in Claim 27. Davydov further teaches
wherein the antenna arrangement comprises at least two physical antenna panels (Davydov Fig. 20: 2010, e.g. one or more antennas, see ¶0111) and wherein each of the at least two panels comprises two sets of antenna elements (Davydov ¶0033: antenna configuration), wherein a first set of antenna elements comprises antenna elements with a first polarization (Davydov ¶0033: first polarization), and a second set of antenna elements comprises antenna elements with a second polarization (Davydov ¶0033: second polarization), the first polarization and the second polarization are non-parallel to each other (Davydov ¶0033: polarization orthogonal; Davydov teaches two polarizations wherein they are orthogonal to each other).
Regarding Claim 36
Davydov in view of Khoshnevisan teaches the device, method, and medium as explained above in Claim 27. Davydov further teaches
wherein the antenna arrangement comprises at least two physical antenna panels (Davydov Fig. 20: 2010, e.g. one or more antennas, see ¶0111) and wherein the at least two panels are configured to generate beams (Davydov ¶0040: CSI-RS protocol supports FD-MIMO beamforming) using time-domain beamforming (Davydov ¶0027: OFDM symbols in the time domain with the CSI-RS; Davydov teaches one or more antennas using a CSI-RS with an OFDM symbol in the time domain, for use of beamforming).
Regarding Claim 37
Davydov in view of Khoshnevisan teaches the device, method, and medium as explained above in Claim 27. Davydov further teaches
wherein the one or more beams in which the first reference signal resource (Davydov ¶0067: CSI-RS) is transmitted differs from the one or more beams in which the second reference signal resource is transmitted (Davydov ¶0067: second CSI-RS assigned to a second group of UEs; Davydov teaches multiple CSI-RSs assigned to different groups).
Regarding Claim 38
Davydov in view of Khoshnevisan teaches the device, method, and medium as explained above in Claim 27. Davydov further teaches
wherein each reference signal resource is a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource (Davydov ¶0067: CSI-RS; Davydov teaches the signal resource is a CSI-RS resource).
Regarding Claim 39
Davydov in view of Khoshnevisan teaches the device, method, and medium as explained above in Claim 38. Khoshnevisan further teaches
wherein the CSI-RS resources (Khoshnevisan Fig. 8: 805, DMRS information, e.g. information containing CSI-RS, see ¶0071) transmitted in the same OFDM symbol (Khoshnevisan ¶0082: OFDM symbols) has the same (Khoshnevisan ¶0082: same DMRS port group) transmission configuration indication (TCI) state (Khoshnevisan ¶0082: TCI states can overlap; Khoshnevisan teach information containing CSI-RS with the overlapping OFDM symbols and overlapping TCI states for the same DMRS port group).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Davydov by way of Khoshnevisan, to include an element that teaches information containing CSI-RS with the overlapping OFDM symbols and overlapping TCI states for the same DMRS port group, as taught by Khoshnevisan in Fig. 8 and ¶0082, to improve BS and UE communication systems by allowing simultaneous communication across multiple reference signals at the same time or frequency and improve throughput.
Regarding Claim 40
Davydov in view of Khoshnevisan teaches the device, method, and medium as explained above in Claim 38. Khoshnevisan further teaches
wherein the CSI-RS resources transmitted in the same OFDM symbol (Khoshnevisan ¶0082: OFDM symbols) has the same frequency allocation (Khoshnevisan ¶0082: overlap in frequency) or different frequency allocation (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim; Khoshnevisan teaches that the DMRS, e.g. CSI-RS resources, can overlap in frequency).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Davydov by way of Khoshnevisan, to include an element that teaches that the DMRS, e.g. CSI-RS resources, can overlap in frequency, as taught by Khoshnevisan in ¶0082, to improve BS and UE communication systems by allowing simultaneous communication across multiple reference signals at the same time or frequency and improve throughput.
Regarding Claim 41
Davydov in view of Khoshnevisan teaches the device, method, and medium as explained above in Claim 27. Davydov further teaches
wherein the first network device is a network node (Davydov ¶0064: eNB and UE communicate with each other on a network) and the reference signal resource is a channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) resource (Davydov ¶0064: CSI-RS symbols) transmitted from the network node (Davydov ¶0064: eNB may send CSI-RS configuration messages; Davydov teaches the eNB and UE communicate with each other in a network with CSI-RS symbols).
Regarding Claim 43
Davydov in view of Khoshnevisan teaches the device, method, and medium as explained above in Claim 27. Davydov further teaches
wherein the second network device is further configured to evaluate (Davydov ¶0082: index) the received reference signal resources (Davydov ¶0082: CSI-RS) and to report N best beams (Davydov ¶0082: transmit the ordered list) to the first network device (Davydov ¶0082: secondary circuitry 1720; Davydov teaches indexing information from the CSI-RS and transmitting the ordered list to a secondary system).
Regarding Claim 44
Davydov in view of Khoshnevisan teaches the device, method, and medium as explained above in Claim 43. Davydov further teaches
wherein the second network device is a user equipment (UE) (Davydov ¶0041: UE) or a network node (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim; Davydov teaches that the network device is a UE).
Claim(s) 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davydov (Pub. No.: US 20180219601 A1, hereafter “Davydov”) in view of Khoshnevisan (Pub. No.: US 20200153543 A1, hereafter “Khoshnevisan”), further in view of Pan (Pub. No.: US 20130039304 A1, hereafter “Pan”)
Regarding Claim 42
Davydov in view of Khoshnevisan teaches the device, method, and medium as explained above in Claim 27.
Davydov in view of Khoshnevisan does not explicitly teach
wherein the first network device is a user equipment (UE), and the reference signal resource is Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) transmitted from the UE.
However, Pan teaches
wherein the first network device is a user equipment (UE) (Pan ¶0071: UE), and the reference signal resource is Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) (Pan ¶0071: SRS) transmitted from the UE (Pan ¶0071: to BS from UE; Pan teaches the UE sending an SRS to a base station).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Davydov in view of Khoshnevisan by way of Pan, to include an element that teaches the UE sending an SRS to a base station, as taught by Pan in ¶0071, to improve a case where the SRS resources exist in a semi0static configuration and cannot meet the requirements and allowing for more dynamic configuration of the SRS.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN MICHAEL WHITAKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/JEFFREY M RUTKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2415