Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 3/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 49-52 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/10/2026.
Prior Art of Record
The applicant's attention is directed to additional pertinent prior art cited in the accompanying PTO-892 Notice of References Cited, which, however, may not be currently applied as a basis for the following rejections. While these references were considered during the examination of this application and are deemed relevant to the claimed subject matter, they are not presently being applied as a basis for rejection in this Office action. The pertinence of these documents, however, may be revisited, and they may be applied in subsequent Office actions, particularly in light of any amendments or further clarification of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20190207136 A1) in view of Kido (JP 2020161442 A) in view of Mei et al. (US 20180294414 A1).
CLAIM 1. Chen teach the method for patterning a nanoparticle [QD] film (Chen, ¶661 ), the method comprising:
forming a first nanoparticle film on a support body (Chen, ¶742 - QDs are spin coated “to form a single-layer quantum-dot film.”), the first nanoparticle film containing a first nanoparticle and a first ligand (Chen, ¶74 - “QDs with a crosslinkable ligand”), the first ligand containing one coordinating functional group allowing coordination of the first ligand to the first nanoparticle (Chen, ¶74 - “QDs with a crosslinkable ligand” inherently contains at least on functional group to allow for the required attachment to the nanoparticle.);
bringing a first solution containing a second ligand (The crosslinking agent corresponds to the second ligand because it contains "a group R2" ([0063]) and "structures as shown in c, d and e of FIG. 4" ([0076]) which inherently possess the at least two functional groups necessary to bridge nanoparticles and form a "crosslinked network" ([0066]).) into contact with a first nanoparticle region that is a part of the first nanoparticle film (Chen, ¶743 - “the back plate is rinsed with the crosslinking liquid.”), the second ligand containing at least one kind of at least two coordinating functional groups allow coordination to the first nanoparticle film (Chen, ¶634 - “the back plate is rinsed with the crosslinking liquid.”), so as to exchange the first ligand coordinated to the first nanoparticle in the first nanoparticle layer-patterned region with the second ligand (The crosslinking of QDs (¶76) by the crosslinking liquid ¶63 requires an exchange because the second ligand (the crosslinking agent ) must displace or interact with the first ligand to bind to the nanoparticle surface and for the crosslinked network ¶66. See below, in view of Doc 2 & 3); and
washing the first nanoparticle film with a first washing liquid to wash away and remove the first nanoparticle film in a second region other than the first nanoparticle layer-patterned region, the first nanoparticle film in the second region not being brought into contact with the first solution, thereby forming a first nanoparticle layer pattern Chen, ¶66 - “the QDs 104 which are not formed as the crosslinked network are removed”.).
Further regarding, “so as to exchange the first ligand coordinated to the first nanoparticle in the first nanoparticle layer-patterned region with the second ligand”
Chen is silent upon, or does not explicitly state, that the contact with the solution involves a "ligand exchange" as the mechanism for patterning. Instead, Document 1 characterizes the process as "crosslinking" ([0063], [0076]).
However, Kido and Mei teach that applying a solution containing a ligand having at least two coordinating functional groups onto a nanoparticle film performs a ligand exchange (Kido, Claim 7- “A solution containing a short-chain crosslinkable ligand having reactive groups at both ends is added to a solution containing a lead halide-based perovskite precursor having a long-chain alkyl ligand, and the long-chain alkyl ligand is added. In step 1 of synthesizing a perovskite quantum dot in which at least a part of the above is substituted with the short-chain crosslinkable ligand.”; Mei, [¶26-31]). This ligand exchange replaces long-chain ligands with short-chain ligands, thereby insolubilizing the nanoparticles (Mei, ¶26-31 &Fig. 1).
Chen can be modified by Kido and Mei such that the "crosslinking" step of Chen is understood to be, or is replaced by, the well-known ligand exchange process. Chen already indicates that when the network is formed, the film is "anchored and thus cannot be removed with a solvent" ([0066]).
Thus, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) to apply the ligand exchange features of Kido and Mei to the patterning process of Chen. A PHOSITA would find it obvious to do so in order to more easily insolubilize and "anchor" the patterned regions of the nanoparticle film, addressing common solubility problems in the art. The resulting process would predictably arrive at the method for patterning a nanoparticle film via ligand exchange as recited in the claim.
Claim(s) 2, 3, 5 7 8 9-12, 17, 22, 26, 29, 30 and 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20190207136 A1) in view of Kido (JP 2020161442 A) in view of Mei et al. (US 20180294414 A1) in view of Cheng (CN 109994619 A).
CLAIM 2. Chen in view of Kido in view of Mei teach the method for patterning a nanoparticle film according to claim 1, Chen however may be silent upon wherein the second ligand is at least one kind of ligand selected from the group consisting of ligands represented by general formula (1) R¹-A¹-A²-(CH₂)ₙ-R² and a following general formula (2) R³-Z-R⁴,
in the general formula (1), each of R¹ and R² independently represents a coordinating functional group of the at least one kind of at least two coordinating functional groups, A¹ represents a substituted or unsubstituted -((CH2)m₁-X¹)m₂-group, A² represents a direct bond, an X² group, or a substituted or unsubstituted -((CH₂)m₃-X²)m₄-group, X¹ and X² represent polar bonding groups different from each other, each of n, m1, and m3 independently represents an integer of-from 1 to 4, and each of m2 and m4 independently represents an integer of-from 1 to 10, and in the general formula (2), each of R³ and R⁴ independently represents a coordinating functional group of the at least one kind of at least two coordinating functional groups, and Z represents a substituted or unsubstituted alkylene group having 1 to 10 carbons, or a substituted or unsubstituted unsaturated hydrocarbon group having 2 to 10 carbons.
As addressed with claim 1, Chen discloses the use of a crosslinking liquid containing structures that function as a second ligand ([0063], [0076]). Chen is silent upon, or does not explicitly state, that the second ligand specifically conforms to General Formula (1) or General Formula (2) as recited in Claim 2.
However, Cheng teaches a dithiol ligand selected from the group consisting of 1,8-octanedithiol (1,8-of octyl mercaptan) and hexa(ethylene glycol) dithiol (hexa(ethylene glycol) disulfide) (Cheng, Claim 3; Description).
At the time of the invention, the materials matching the recited formula conditions were known and used for the purpose of nanoparticle ligand exchange for solubility control. Material selection is material dependent, thus would be selected based upon suitability for the purpose. Specifically, the 1,8-octanedithiol taught in Mei matches General Formula (2) (R^3-Z-R^4) where R^3 and R^4 represent coordinating thiol groups and Z represents an alkylene group having 8 carbons.
Chen in view of Mei discloses the claimed invention except for the explicit recitation of the formulaic nomenclature. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) at the time the invention was made to modify the crosslinking agent of Chen by utilizing the specific dithiol ligands taught in Mei, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
A PHOSITA would be motivated to select these specific ligands to achieve the "anchored" and insoluble nanoparticle film described in Chen ([0066]) and the improved charge transport and "ordered shell layer" described in Mei. Because Claim 2 is written in the alternative, the disclosure of a species meeting General Formula (2) in Mei is sufficient to render the entire claim unpatentable.
CLAIM 3. Chen in view of Kido in view of Mei in view of Cheng teach the method for patterning a nanoparticle film according to claim 2, wherein the A² is a-the direct bond, and 2 ≤ ml X m2 + n ≤ 20 is satisfied (Cheng teaches specific dithiol ligands (e.g., 1,8-octanedithiol) and polyether segments where the total chain length predictably satisfies the calculated carbon/integer range of 2 ≤ ml X m2 + n ≤ 20.).
CLAIM 5. Chen in view of Kido in view of Mei in view of Cheng teach the method for patterning a nanoparticle film according to claim 2, wherein the A² is the substituted or unsubstituted -((CH₂)m₃-X²)m₄-group, and 2 ≤ ml X m2 + m3 X m4 + n ≤ 20 is (Cheng discloses complex bifunctional ligands containing polyether segments (hexa(ethylene glycol) dithiol) that functionally correspond to the substituted -((CH₂)m₃-X²)m₄-group, and 2 ≤ ml X m2 + m3 X m4 + n ≤ 20 and the recited carbon range.).
CLAIM 7. Chen in view of Kido in view of Mei in view of Cheng teach the method for patterning a nanoparticle film, according to claim 2, wherein the Z represents a substituted or unsubstituted alkylene group having 4 to 10 carbons, or a substituted or unsubstituted unsaturated hydrocarbon group having 4 to 10 carbons (Cheng teaches the use of 1,8-octanedithiol (8 carbons) and 1,9-nonanedithiol (9 carbons), both of which satisfy the recited limitation of a hydrocarbon group having 4 to 10 carbons.).
CLAIM 8. Chen in view of Kido in view of Mei in view of Cheng teach the method for patterning a nanoparticle film according to claim 2, wherein each of the polar bonding groups is selected from the group consisting of an ether bonding group, a sulfide bonding group, an imine bonding group, an ester bonding group, an amide bonding group, and a carbonyl group [olec acid] (It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the specific ligands of Cheng within the patterning method of Chen to predictably arrive at the claimed nanoparticle layer pattern.).
CLAIM 9. Chen in view of Kido in view of Mei in view of Cheng teach the method for patterning a nanoparticle film according to claim 2, wherein the at least two coordinating functional groups are independent of each other, and each of the at least two coordinating functional groups is a thiol group, an amino group, a carboxyl group, a phosphone group, a phosphine group, or a phosphine oxide group (Cheng teaches that the at least two coordinating functional groups are independent of each other and selected from thiol groups (dithiols) and carboxyl groups (oleic acid), which are well-known in the art for surface coordination.).
CLAIM 10. Chen in view of Kido in view of Mei in view of Cheng teach the method for patterning a nanoparticle film according to claim 1, wherein the second ligand is at least one kind of ligand selected from the group consisting of 1,2-ethanedithiol, 1,2-propanedithiol, 1,3-propanedithiol, 1,2-butanedithiol, 1,3-butanedithiol, 1,4-butanedithiol, 2,3-butanedithiol, 1,6-hexanedithiol, 1,8-octanedithiol, 1,2-propanediamine, 1,3-propanediamine, 1,4-butanediamine, 3-amino-5-mercapto-1,2,4-triazole, 2-aminobenzenethiol, toluene-3,4-dithiol, dithioerythritol, dihydrolipoic acid, thiolactic acid, 3-mercaptopropionic acid, 1-amino-3,6,9,12,15,18-hexaoxaheneicosan-21-oic. acid, 2-[2-(2-aminoethoxy)ethoxyJacetic acid, 2,2'-(ethylenedioxy)diethanethiol, 2,2'-oxydiethanethiol, (12-phosphonododecyl)phosphonic acid, 11-mercaptoundecylphosphonic acid, 11-phosphonoundecanoic acid, and ethylene glycol bis(3-mercaptopropionate) (Cheng explicitly identifies specific species including 1,8-octanedithiol and hexa(ethylene glycol) dithiol, which are members of the same Markush group of short-chain crosslinkable ligands recited in the claim).
CLAIM 11. Chen in view of Kido in view of Mei in view of Cheng teach the method for patterning a nanoparticle film according to claim 1, wherein the first nanoparticle film is a first colloidal solution film containing the first ligand, the first nanoparticle, and a first solvent (Cheng discloses that the first nanoparticle film is formed from an initial colloidal solution containing a first nanoparticle and an initial oil-soluble ligand [e.g. olec acid]5.).
CLAIM 12. Chen in view of Kido in view of Mei in view of Cheng teach the method for patterning a nanoparticle film according to claim 1, wherein forming the first nanoparticle film forming includes comprises: first colloidal solution applying of applying a first colloidal solution containing the first ligand, the first nanoparticle, and a first solvent onto the support body, and first colloidal solution drying of drying the first colloidal solution applied onto the support body (Chen & Cheng teaches forming the nanoparticle film by applying a colloidal solution (i.e. QD solution) containing the first ligand and first nanoparticle to a substrate and Cheng further teaches subsequently drying the applied solution.).
CLAIM 17. Chen in view of Kido in view of Mei in view of Cheng teach the method for patterning a nanoparticle film according to claim 1, wherein the first solution further contains a polar solvent (Cheng teaches that the solution containing the crosslinking ligand further contains a polar solvent selected from ethanol, methanol, or acetonitrile.)6.
CLAIM 22. Chen in view of Kido in view of Mei in view of Cheng teach the method for patterning a nanoparticle film according to claim 1, wherein the first washing liquid is a polar solvent (Cheng explicitly teaches that the first washing liquid used for cleaning the modified film is a polar solvent such as ethanol.).
CLAIM 26. Chen in view of Kido in view of Mei in view of Cheng teach the method for patterning a nanoparticle film according to claim 1, wherein the first solution further contains a non-polar solvent (Mei teaches that the infiltrating solution can be a mixed solvent containing non-polar components to enhance the diffusion of bifunctional molecules into the quantum dot layer, [0034]].).
CLAIM 29. Chen in view of Kido in view of Mei in view of Cheng teach the method for patterning a nanoparticle film according to claim 1, wherein a concentration of the second ligand contained in the first solution is within a range from 0.01 mol/L to 2.0 mol/L (Mei teaches that the infiltrating solution can be a mixed solvent containing non-polar components to enhance the diffusion of molecules into the quantum dot layer, [0034]].).
CLAIM 30. Chen in view of Kido in view of Mei in view of Cheng teach the method for patterning a nanoparticle film according to claim 1, however may be silent upon wherein a viscosity of the first solution is within a range from 0.5 mPa's to 500 mPa·s.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of making semiconductor devices to determine the workable or optimal value for the viscosity through routine experimentation and optimization to obtain optimal or desired device performance because the viscosity is a result-effective variable and there is no evidence indicating that it is critical or produces any unexpected results and it has been held that it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges of a result-effective variable within given prior art conditions by routine experimentation. See MPEP § 2144.05
Given the teaching of the references, it would have been obvious to determine the optimum thickness, temperature as well as condition of delivery of the layers involved. See In re Aller, Lacey and Hall (10 USPQ 233-237) “It is not inventive to discover optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” Note that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed ranges or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the Applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 f.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Any differences in the claimed invention and the prior art may be expected to result in some differences in properties. The issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected. In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicants have the burden of explaining the data in any declaration they proffer as evidence of non-obviousness. Ex parte Ishizaka, 24 USPQ2d 1621, 1624 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992).
An Affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 must compare the claimed subject matter with the closest prior art to be effective to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Burckel, 592 F.2d 1175, 201 USPQ 67 (CCPA 1979).
CLAIM 48. Chen in view of Kido in view of Mei in view of Cheng teach the method for manufacturing a light-emitting device (Chen - Abstract, the light-emitting device including comprising a first electrode and a second electrode, and, between the first electrode and the second electrode, at least one layer including comprising a nanoparticle layer pattern containing a nanoparticle, the method comprising: forming the at least one layer, of the at least one layer including the nanoparticle layer pattern (Chen ¶72-73 – Chen teaches the layer is to be a LED for a display. A LED is a two terminal device, thus is understood to be between the disclosed pixel electrodes described in paragraphs 72-73.), by the method for patterning a nanoparticle film according to claim 1 (See regarding claim 1.).
Conclusion
JARRETT J. STARK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2822
3/20/2026
/JARRETT J STARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898
1 Chen et al. - [0066] As shown in FIG. 5-6, the QDs 104 which are not formed as the crosslinked network are removed, and the QDs 104 which are formed as the crosslinked network are reserved, such that a quantum-dot light emitting layer 103 corresponding to the patterns of the plurality of light emitting sub-pixels 102 is obtained.
2 Chen et al. - [0074] In step 3, red QDs with a crosslinkable ligand having the structure as shown in b of FIG. 4 is spin-coated on the hole-transport layer, in a thickness of around 10 nm, to form a single-layer quantum-dot film.
3 Chen et al. - [0076] In step 5, the back plate is rinsed with the crosslinking liquid containing the structures as shown in c, d and e of FIG. 4, to crosslinking the QDs in the areas which are not protected by the photoresist.
4 Chen et al. – [0063] For example, the substrate 101 including the quantum-dot film and the patterned photoresist 106 may be dipped in a solution (i.e. a crosslinking liquid) containing a group R2 and a corresponding catalyst; or the substrate 101 may be rinsed using the crosslinking liquid 105.
5 Cheng - Furthermore, in step S01, the preparation method of the initial quantum dot solution prepared by using conventional oil phase method. wherein the quantum dot of size range 1-10nm, the Bohr radius of the quantum dot larger than the particle size of the quantum dot. objective range of the Bohr radius of the quantum dot is 10-50nm, the value of the interval is not continuous, the corresponding value is corresponding to the different kinds of quantum dots. the quantum dot is CdSe, PbSe, PbS, PbSe/CdSe, PbS/CdS, AgS, HgS, CdTe, CdTe, CdTe/CdZnS, InP, InP/ZnS, InP/ZnSeS, etc., but not limited thereto. Furthermore, the quantum dot is oil-soluble quantum dot, quantum dot surface connecting the initial ligand, i.e., initial ligand is oil-soluble ligand, said ligand, such as oil-soluble long chain oleic acid (OA), oleylamine (OAm) trioctyl phosphate (TOP), trioctylphosphine phosphorus (TOPO) is not limited to this. the preparation temperature range of the initial quantum dot solution is 100-380 degrees centigrade, the preparation environment is an inert gas atmosphere, and finally, the initial quantum dot solution prepared to a concentration of quantum dot solution of 10-40mg/mL.
6 Cheng – “Specifically, the polar solvent and the solvent in the dispersion are the same, is selected from the group consisting of ethanol, methanol and acetonitrile in at least one of the washing time is 10-30min. after the soaking treatment, further comprises the step of drying the quantum dot thin film. the drying temperature is 60-150 degrees centigrade, the drying time is 10-30min.”