DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to amendment
3. This is a Non-Final Office action in response to applicant's remarks/arguments filed on 05/12/2026.
4. Status of the claims:
• Claims 1, 6, 11, 13, 15, and 17 have been amended.
• Claims 1-11 and 13-17 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to remarks/arguments
5. Applicant’s remarks/arguments filed on 05/12/2026 with respect to amended independent claims are persuasive. However, upon further search and consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of ISHII et al. (US 2022/0132388 A1).
Please the rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1, 4, 6, 9, 11, 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MIAO (WO 2020197889 A1) in view of ISHII et al. (US 2022/0132388 A1).
Regarding claim 1, MIAO discloses a method for routing data over a wireless communication link in a cellular network (para. [0003]: methods, systems, apparatus, computer programs, or combinations thereof, for data transmission in new radio (NR) integrated access and backhaul (IAB) networks), the method being performed in an intermediate integrated access and backhaul, IAB, node (MIAO, Fig. 1), the method comprising the steps of: receiving a downstream signal from an upstream node (MIAO, para. [0014] [0046] [0053]: the destination IAB node receives the data packet from the source IAB node), the downstream signal comprising control data and payload data (MIAO, para. [0054]: the data packet may include a packet header, the packet header to include an address of a destination node of the one or more destination nodes and a path number that corresponds to a first path of the plurality of paths); and forwarding the payload data of the downstream signal to the downstream IAB node (MIAO, para. [0004] [0010] [0046]: forwarding the data packet from the source IAB node to the destination IAB node).
MIAO does not appear to explicitly disclose obtaining one or more scrambling identifiers associated to one or more downstream IAB nodes; wherein the downstream signal is intended for a downstream IAB node of the one or more downstream IAB nodes; determining that the downstream IAB node is the recipient of the downstream signal by determining that the control data of the downstream signal can be descrambled using a scrambling identifier of the downstream IAB node.
In the same field of endeavor, ISHII teaches obtaining one or more scrambling identifiers associated to one or more downstream IAB nodes (ISHII, Fig. 45A, para. [0232]: shown in FIG. 45A in which the DU part of IAB-node 24, e.g., Distributed Unit (DU) 52, desires to send the upstream RLF notification to a specific child IAB-node or a UE, the Cell RNTI (C-RNTI) of the recipient child IAB-node/UE may be used to scramble a CRC attached to a DCI); wherein the downstream signal is intended for a downstream IAB node of the one or more downstream IAB nodes (ISHII, Fig. 48, para. [0078]: an IAB-donor node sending an RRCReconfiguration message comprising a configuration for determining search space set(s) to be used by an IAB node or UE/IAB node); determining that the downstream IAB node is the recipient of the downstream signal by determining that the control data of the downstream signal can be descrambled using a scrambling identifier of the downstream IAB node (ISHII, para. [0231]-[0233], [0339]: The child IAB-node/UE 30 may attempt to decode, e.g., blind decode, monitor, detect, the DCI to which the CRC parity bits scrambled by the RNTI(s) are attached. For example, the child IAB-node/UE 30 may decode the PDCCH with the CRC scrambled by the RNTI(s). Moreover, paragraph [0339] further teaches the wireless terminal of Example Embodiment 29, wherein the processor circuitry is configured to de-scrambles the cyclical redundancy check CRC) value with a recipient's Cell-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI)).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teaching of MIAO to include the above features into the system of MIAO such as obtaining one or more scrambling identifiers associated to one or more downstream IAB nodes and determining that the downstream IAB node is the recipient of the downstream signal by determining that the control data of the downstream signal can be descrambled using a scrambling identifier of the downstream IAB node as taught by ISHII. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide IAB functionality combined with wireless self-backhauling capabilities (ISHII, para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 4, MIAO and ISHII teach all the subject matter of the method according to claim 1, and ISHII further teaches wherein the scrambling identifier is a cell radio network temporary identifier, C-RNTI, of the downstream IAB node (ISHII, Fig. 1, para. [0122] line 1 and [0232]: an IAB-node provides to its downstream (children/UEs). ISHII further teaches in para. [0232]: the Cell RNTI (C-RNTI) of the recipient child IAB-node/UE may be used to scramble a CRC attached to a DCI, see also Fig. 45A).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teaching of MIAO with the teaching of ISHII to include the above features such that the scrambling identifier is a cell radio network temporary identifier, C-RNTI, of the downstream IAB node as taught by ISHII. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide IAB functionality combined with wireless self-backhauling capabilities (ISHII, para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 6, MIAO discloses an intermediate integrated access and backhaul, IAB, node, for routing data over a wireless communication link in a cellular network (MIAO, para. [0037]), the intermediate IAB node comprising: a processor (Fig. 9: processor 912); and a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the intermediate IAB node to: receive a downstream signal from an upstream node (MIAO, Fig. 2, para. [0046]: the data packet from the source IAB node is forwarded to the destination IAB node), the downstream signal comprising control data and payload data (MIAO, para. [0054]: the data packet may include a packet header, the packet header to include an address of a destination node of the one or more destination nodes and a path number that corresponds to a first path of the plurality of paths); and forward the payload data of the downstream signal to the downstream IAB node (MIAO, para. [0004] [0010] [0046]: forwarding the data packet from the source IAB node to the destination IAB node).
MIAO does not appear to explicitly disclose obtain one or more scrambling identifiers associated to one or more downstream IAB nodes; wherein the downstream signal is intended for a downstream IAB node of the one or more downstream IAB nodes; determine that the downstream IAB node is the recipient of the downstream signal by determining that control data of the downstream signal can be descrambled using the scrambling identifier of the downstream IAB node.
In the same field of endeavor, ISHII teaches obtain one or more scrambling identifiers associated to one or more downstream IAB nodes (ISHII, Fig. 45A, para. [0232]: shown in FIG. 45A in which the DU part of IAB-node 24, e.g., Distributed Unit (DU) 52, desires to send the upstream RLF notification to a specific child IAB-node or a UE, the Cell RNTI (C-RNTI) of the recipient child IAB-node/UE may be used to scramble a CRC attached to a DCI); wherein the downstream signal is intended for a downstream IAB node of the one or more downstream IAB nodes (ISHII, Fig. 48, para. [0078]: an IAB-donor node sending an RRCReconfiguration message comprising a configuration for determining search space set(s) to be used by an IAB node or UE/IAB node); determine that the downstream IAB node is the recipient of the downstream signal by determining that control data of the downstream signal can be descrambled using the scrambling identifier of the downstream IAB node (ISHII, para. [0231]-[0233], [0339]: The child IAB-node/UE 30 may attempt to decode, e.g., blind decode, monitor, detect, the DCI to which the CRC parity bits scrambled by the RNTI(s) are attached. For example, the child IAB-node/UE 30 may decode the PDCCH with the CRC scrambled by the RNTI(s). Moreover, paragraph [0339] further teaches the wireless terminal of Example Embodiment 29, wherein the processor circuitry is configured to de-scrambles the cyclical redundancy check CRC) value with a recipient's Cell-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI)).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teaching of MIAO to include the above features into the system of MIAO such as obtain one or more scrambling identifiers associated to one or more downstream IAB nodes and determine that the downstream IAB node is the recipient of the downstream signal by determining that the control data of the downstream signal can be descrambled using a scrambling identifier of the downstream IAB node as taught by ISHII. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide IAB functionality combined with wireless self-backhauling capabilities (ISHII, para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 9, MIAO and ISHII teach all the subject matter of the intermediate IAB node according to claim 6, further teach wherein the scrambling identifier is a cell radio network temporary identifier, C-RNTI, of the downstream IAB node (ISHII, Fig. 1, para. [0122] line 1 and [0232]: an IAB-node provides to its downstream (children/UEs). ISHII further teaches in para. [0232]: the Cell RNTI (C-RNTI) of the recipient child IAB-node/UE may be used to scramble a CRC attached to a DCI, see also Fig. 45A).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teaching of MIAO with the teaching of ISHII to include the above features such that the scrambling identifier is a cell radio network temporary identifier, C-RNTI, of the downstream IAB node as taught by ISHII. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide IAB functionality combined with wireless self-backhauling capabilities (ISHII, para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 11, MIAO discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium, comprising computer-readable instructions that, when executed on an intermediate integrated access and backhaul, IAB, node (MIAO, para. 3: computer program for data transmission in new radio integrated access and backhaul (IAB) network), causes the intermediate IAB node, to: receive a downstream signal from an upstream node (MIAO, para. [0014] [0046] [0053]: the destination IAB node receives the data packet from the source IAB node), the downstream signal comprising control data and payload data (MIAO, para. [0054]: the data packet may include a packet header, the packet header to include an address of a destination node of the one or more destination nodes and a path number that corresponds to a first path of the plurality of paths), and forward the payload data of the downstream signal to the downstream IAB node (MIAO, [0004] [0010] [0046]: forwarding the data packet from the source IAB node to the destination IAB node).
MIAO does not appear to explicitly disclose obtain one or more scrambling identifiers associated to one or more downstream IAB nodes; wherein the downstream signal is intended for a downstream IAB node of the one or more downstream IAB nodes; determining that the downstream IAB node is the recipient of the downstream signal by determining that the control data of the downstream signal can be descrambled using a scrambling identifier of the downstream IAB node.
In the same field of endeavor, ISHII teaches obtaining one or more scrambling identifiers associated to one or more downstream IAB nodes (ISHII, Fig. 45A, para. [0232]: shown in FIG. 45A in which the DU part of IAB-node 24, e.g., Distributed Unit (DU) 52, desires to send the upstream RLF notification to a specific child IAB-node or a UE, the Cell RNTI (C-RNTI) of the recipient child IAB-node/UE may be used to scramble a CRC attached to a DCI); wherein the downstream signal is intended for a downstream IAB node of the one or more downstream IAB nodes (ISHII, Fig. 48, para. [0078]: an IAB-donor node sending an RRCReconfiguration message comprising a configuration for determining search space set(s) to be used by an IAB node or UE/IAB node); determine that the downstream IAB node is the recipient of the downstream signal by determining that the control data of the downstream signal can be descrambled using a scrambling identifier of the downstream IAB node (ISHII, para. [0231]-[0233], [0339]: The child IAB-node/UE 30 may attempt to decode, e.g., blind decode, monitor, detect, the DCI to which the CRC parity bits scrambled by the RNTI(s) are attached. For example, the child IAB-node/UE 30 may decode the PDCCH with the CRC scrambled by the RNTI(s). Moreover, paragraph [0339] further teaches the wireless terminal of Example Embodiment 29, wherein the processor circuitry is configured to de-scrambles the cyclical redundancy check CRC) value with a recipient's Cell-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI)).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teaching of MIAO to include the above features into the system of MIAO such as obtain one or more scrambling identifiers associated to one or more downstream IAB nodes and determine that the downstream IAB node is the recipient of the downstream signal by determining that the control data of the downstream signal can be descrambled using a scrambling identifier of the downstream IAB node as taught by ISHII. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide IAB functionality combined with wireless self-backhauling capabilities (ISHII, para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 13, MIAO discloses a method for routing data over a wireless communication link in a cellular network, the method being performed in an integrated access and backhaul, IAB, donor node (MIAO, para. [0003]: method for data transmission in new radio integrated access and backhaul (IAB) network), the method comprising the steps of: receiving data for a user device (MIAO, para. [0054]: a source IAB node may involve receiving configuration information from a donor CU node), wherein the downstream signal comprises the control data and payload data (MIAO, para. [0054]: the data packet may include a packet header, the packet header to include an address of a destination node of the one or more destination nodes and a path number that corresponds to a first path of the plurality of paths [Examiner’s Note: data packet includes a header and data]); wherein the payload data comprises the data for the user device (MIAO, para. [0054]: the data packet may include a packet header, the packet header to include an address of a destination node of the one or more destination nodes [Examiner’s note: The header including an address of a destination node indicates that the data is for that destination node]); and transmitting the downstream signal to the intermediate IAB node (MIAO, para. [0048][0052]: forwarding, by the source IAB node and based on the selected numbered local path, the data packet to an intermediate node).
MIAO does not appear to explicitly disclose determining that the data is to be routed via an intermediate IAB node to a downstream IAB node of the one or more downstream IAB nodes; generating a downstream signal intended for the downstream IAB node, which comprises scrambling control data of the downstream signal using a scrambling identifier of the downstream IAB node.
In the same field of endeavor, ISHII teaches determining that the data is to be routed via an intermediate IAB node to a downstream IAB node of the one or more downstream IAB nodes (ISHII, Fig. 48, para. [0078]: an IAB-donor node sending an RRCReconfiguration message comprising a configuration for determining search space set(s) to be used by an IAB node or UE/IAB node); generating a downstream signal intended for the downstream IAB node, which comprises scrambling control data of the downstream signal using a scrambling identifier of the downstream IAB node (ISHII, para. [0231]-[0233], [0339]: The child IAB-node/UE 30 may attempt to decode, e.g., blind decode, monitor, detect, the DCI to which the CRC parity bits scrambled by the RNTI(s) are attached. For example, the child IAB-node/UE 30 may decode the PDCCH with the CRC scrambled by the RNTI(s). Moreover, paragraph [0339] further teaches the wireless terminal of Example Embodiment 29, wherein the processor circuitry is configured to de-scrambles the cyclical redundancy check CRC) value with a recipient's Cell-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI)).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teaching of MIAO with the teaching of ISHII to include the above features into the system of MIAO such as determining that the data is to be routed via an intermediate IAB node to a downstream IAB node of the one or more downstream IAB nodes; generating a downstream signal intended for the downstream IAB node, which comprises scrambling control data of the downstream signal using a scrambling identifier of the downstream IAB node, wherein the payload data comprises the data for the user device as taught by ISHII. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide IAB functionality combined with wireless self-backhauling capabilities (ISHII, para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 14, MIAO and ISHII teach all the subject matter of the method according to claim 13, and further teach, wherein the scrambling identifier is a cell radio network temporary identifier, C-RNTI, of the downstream IAB node (ISHII, Fig. 1, para. [0122] line 1 and [0232]: an IAB-node provides to its downstream (children/UEs). ISHII further teaches in para. [0232]: the Cell RNTI (C-RNTI) of the recipient child IAB-node/UE may be used to scramble a CRC attached to a DCI, see also Fig. 45A).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teaching of MIAO with the teaching of ISHII to include the above features such that the scrambling identifier is a cell radio network temporary identifier, C-RNTI, of the downstream IAB node as taught by ISHII. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide IAB functionality combined with wireless self-backhauling capabilities (ISHII, para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 15, MIAO discloses an integrated access and backhaul, IAB, donor node, for routing data over a wireless communication link in a cellular network (MIAO, para. [0037]), the IAB donor node comprising: a processor (Fig. 9: processor 912); and a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the IAB donor node to: receive data for a user device (MIAO, para. [0054]: a source IAB node may involve receiving configuration information from a donor CU node); wherein the downstream signal comprises the control data and payload data (MIAO, para. [0054]: the data packet may include a packet header, the packet header to include an address of a destination node of the one or more destination nodes and a path number that corresponds to a first path of the plurality of paths [Examiner’s Note: data packet includes a header and data]), wherein the payload data comprises the data for the user device (MIAO, para. [0054]: the data packet may include a packet header, the packet header to include an address of a destination node of the one or more destination nodes [Examiner’s note: The header including an address of a destination node indicates that the data is for that destination node]); and transmitting the downstream signal to the intermediate IAB node (MIAO, para. [0048][0052]: forwarding, by the source IAB node and based on the selected numbered local path, the data packet to an intermediate node).
MIAO does not appear to explicitly disclose determine that the data is to be routed via an intermediate IAB node to a downstream IAB node of the one or more downstream IAB nodes; generate a downstream signal intended for the downstream IAB node, which comprises scrambling control data of the downstream signal using a scrambling identifier of the downstream IAB node.
In the same field of endeavor, ISHII teaches determine that the data is to be routed via an intermediate IAB node to a downstream IAB node of the one or more downstream IAB nodes (ISHII, Fig. 48, para. [0078]: an IAB-donor node sending an RRCReconfiguration message comprising a configuration for determining search space set(s) to be used by an IAB node or UE/IAB node); generate a downstream signal intended for the downstream IAB node, which comprises scrambling control data of the downstream signal using a scrambling identifier of the downstream IAB node (ISHII, para. [0231]-[0233], [0339]: The child IAB-node/UE 30 may attempt to decode, e.g., blind decode, monitor, detect, the DCI to which the CRC parity bits scrambled by the RNTI(s) are attached. For example, the child IAB-node/UE 30 may decode the PDCCH with the CRC scrambled by the RNTI(s). Moreover, paragraph [0339] further teaches the wireless terminal of Example Embodiment 29, wherein the processor circuitry is configured to de-scrambles the cyclical redundancy check CRC) value with a recipient's Cell-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI)).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teaching of MIAO with the teaching of ISHII to include the above features into the system of MIAO such as determine that the data is to be routed via an intermediate IAB node to a downstream IAB node of the one or more downstream IAB nodes; generate a downstream signal intended for the downstream IAB node, which comprises scrambling control data of the downstream signal using a scrambling identifier of the downstream IAB node, wherein the payload data comprises the data for the user device as taught by ISHII. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide IAB functionality combined with wireless self-backhauling capabilities (ISHII, para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 16, MIAO and ISHII teach all the subject matter of the IAB donor node according to claim 15, and further teach, wherein the scrambling identifier is a cell radio network temporary identifier, C-RNTI, of the downstream IAB node (ISHII, Fig. 1, para. [0122] line 1 and [0232]: an IAB-node provides to its downstream (children/UEs). ISHII further teaches in para. [0232]: the Cell RNTI (C-RNTI) of the recipient child IAB-node/UE may be used to scramble a CRC attached to a DCI, see also Fig. 45A).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teaching of MIAO with the teaching of ISHII to include the above features such that the scrambling identifier is a cell radio network temporary identifier, C-RNTI, of the downstream IAB node as taught by ISHII. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide IAB functionality combined with wireless self-backhauling capabilities (ISHII, para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 17, MIAO discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium, comprising computer-readable instructions that, when executed on an integrated access and backhaul, IAB, donor node (MIAO, para. 3: computer program for data transmission in new radio integrated access and backhaul (IAB) network), causes the IAB donor node to: receive data for a user device (MIAO, para. [0054]: a source IAB node may involve receiving configuration information from a donor CU node); wherein the downstream signal comprises the control data and payload data (MIAO, para. [0054]: the data packet may include a packet header, the packet header to include an address of a destination node of the one or more destination nodes and a path number that corresponds to a first path of the plurality of paths [Examiner’s Note: data packet includes a header and data]), wherein the payload data comprises the data for the user device (MIAO, para. [0054]: the data packet may include a packet header, the packet header to include an address of a destination node of the one or more destination nodes [Examiner’s note: The header including an address of a destination node indicates that the data is for that destination node]); and transmitting the downstream signal to the intermediate IAB node (MIAO, para. [0048][0052]: forwarding, by the source IAB node and based on the selected numbered local path, the data packet to an intermediate node).
MIAO does not appear to explicitly disclose determine that the data is to be routed via an intermediate IAB node to a downstream IAB node of the one or more downstream IAB nodes; generate a downstream signal intended for the downstream IAB node, which comprises scrambling control data of the downstream signal using a scrambling identifier of the downstream IAB node.
In the same field of endeavor, ISHII teaches determine that the data is to be routed via an intermediate IAB node to a downstream IAB node of the one or more downstream IAB nodes (ISHII, Fig. 48, para. [0078]: an IAB-donor node sending an RRCReconfiguration message comprising a configuration for determining search space set(s) to be used by an IAB node or UE/IAB node); generate a downstream signal intended for the downstream IAB node, which comprises scrambling control data of the downstream signal using a scrambling identifier of the downstream IAB node (ISHII, para. [0231]-[0233], [0339]: The child IAB-node/UE 30 may attempt to decode, e.g., blind decode, monitor, detect, the DCI to which the CRC parity bits scrambled by the RNTI(s) are attached. For example, the child IAB-node/UE 30 may decode the PDCCH with the CRC scrambled by the RNTI(s). Moreover, paragraph [0339] further teaches the wireless terminal of Example Embodiment 29, wherein the processor circuitry is configured to de-scrambles the cyclical redundancy check CRC) value with a recipient's Cell-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI)).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teaching of MIAO with the teaching of ISHII to include the above features into the system of MIAO such as determine that the data is to be routed via an intermediate IAB node to a downstream IAB node of the one or more downstream IAB nodes; generate a downstream signal intended for the downstream IAB node, which comprises scrambling control data of the downstream signal using a scrambling identifier of the downstream IAB node, wherein the payload data comprises the data for the user device as taught by ISHII. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide IAB functionality combined with wireless self-backhauling capabilities (ISHII, para. [0008]).
11. Claims 2-3, 5, 7-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MIAO (WO 2020197889 A1) in view of ISHII et al. (US 2022/0132388 A1) and further in view of ABEDINI et al. (US 20220110077 A1).
Regarding claim 2, MIAO and ISHII teach all the subject of the method according to claim 1, but the references fail to teach wherein the forwarded payload data of the downstream signal comprises in-phase quadrature, IQ, samples as received in the downstream signal.
In the field of endeavor, ABEDINI teaches wherein the forwarded payload data of the downstream signal comprises in-phase quadrature, IQ, samples as received in the downstream signal (ABEDINI, Fig. 3, para. 73: the relay node may receive a downlink signal that carries information associated with a communication (e.g., in-phase and quadrature (IQ) samples)).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teachings of MIAO and ISHII with the teaching of ABEDINI to include the above features into the system of MIAO such as the forwarded payload data of the downstream signal comprises in-phase quadrature, IQ, samples as received in the downstream signal as taught by ABEDINI. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve network performance and increase reliability by providing the different nodes with link diversity for communications (ABEDINI, para. [0074]).
Regarding claim 3, MIAO and ISHII teach all the subject matter of the method according to claim 1, but the references fail to teach the step, prior to the step of forwarding the payload data of the downstream signal, of: aligning IQ samples received in the payload data of the downstream signal to constellation points of an assigned modulation scheme of the payload data of the downstream signal.
In the same field of endeavor ABEDINI teaches the step, prior to the step of forwarding the payload data of the downstream signal, of: aligning IQ samples received in the payload data of the downstream signal to constellation points of an assigned modulation scheme of the payload data of the downstream signal (ABEDINI, para. 32, 96, 99, 105-106: the wireless nodes that are deployed in the multi-hop network may be associated with a timing scheme or timing configuration that enables alignment of communications between wireless nodes associated with different links. Moreover, ABEDINI discloses a payload of the incoming signal may include time domain IQ samples, frequency domain IQ samples, symbols per antenna (e.g., IQ symbols of occupied tones). ABEDINI further discloses decoding the incoming signal (e.g., based at least in part on an MCS associated with the incoming signal)).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teachings of MIAO and ISHII with the teaching of ABEDINI to include the above features into the system of MIAO such as aligning IQ samples received in the payload data of the downstream signal to constellation points of an assigned modulation scheme of the payload data of the downstream signal as taught by ABEDINI. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve network performance and increase reliability by providing the different nodes with link diversity for communications (ABEDINI, para. [0074]).
Regarding claim 5, MIAO and ISHII teach the method according to claim 1, but the refences fail to teach the steps, after the step of forwarding the payload data of the downstream signal, of: fully decoding the payload data of the downstream signal and determining whether the full demodulating was successful.
In the same field of endeavor, ABEDINI teaches further comprising the steps, after the step of forwarding the payload data of the downstream signal, of: fully decoding the payload data of the downstream signal and determining whether the full demodulating was successful (ABEDINI, para. 99, 105: The relay node may de-scramble the incoming signal (e.g., using scrambling IDs associated with the incoming signal). The relay node may decode the incoming signal (e.g., based at least in part on an MCS associated with the incoming signal)); and providing feedback on success of the full demodulating to the upstream node (ABEDINI, para. 114: The relay node may generate the outgoing signal by processing the time domain IQ samples and including them in a payload of the outgoing signal (e.g., by fully encoding a transport block indicating the time domain IQ samples). The outgoing signal may be transmitted using a fronthaul link to another wireless node.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teachings of MIAO and ISHII with the teaching of ABEDINI to include the above features into the system of MIAO such as fully decoding the payload data of the downstream signal and determining whether the full demodulating was successful as taught by ABEDINI. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve network performance and increase reliability by providing the different nodes with link diversity for communications (ABEDINI, para. [0074]).
Regarding claim 7, MIAO and ISHII teach the intermediate IAB node according to claim 6, but the references fail to teach wherein the forwarded payload data of the downstream signal comprises in-phase quadrature, IQ, samples as received in the downstream signal.
In the same field of endeavor, ABEDINI teaches wherein the forwarded payload data of the downstream signal comprises in-phase quadrature, IQ, samples as received in the downstream signal (ABEDINI, Fig. 3, para. 73: the relay node may receive a downlink signal that carries information associated with a communication (e.g., in-phase and quadrature (IQ) samples)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teachings of MIAO and ISHII with the teaching of ABEDINI to include the above features into the system of MIAO such as the forwarded payload data of the downstream signal comprises in-phase quadrature, IQ, samples as received in the downstream signal as taught by ABEDINI. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve network performance and increase reliability by providing the different nodes with link diversity for communications (ABEDINI, para. [0074]).
Regarding claim 8, MIAO and ISHII teach the intermediate IAB node according to claim 6, but the references fail to teach further comprising instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the intermediate IAB node to: align IQ samples received in the payload data of the downstream signal to constellation points of an assigned modulation scheme of the payload data of the downstream signal.
In the same field of endeavor, ABEDINI teaches further comprising instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the intermediate IAB node to: align IQ samples received in the payload data of the downstream signal to constellation points of an assigned modulation scheme of the payload data of the downstream signal (ABEDINI, para. 32, 96, 99, 105-106: the wireless nodes that are deployed in the multi-hop network may be associated with a timing scheme or timing configuration that enables alignment of communications between wireless nodes associated with different links. Moreover, ABEDINI discloses a payload of the incoming signal may include time domain IQ samples, frequency domain IQ samples, symbols per antenna (e.g., IQ symbols of occupied tones). ABEDINI further discloses decoding the incoming signal (e.g., based at least in part on an MCS associated with the incoming signal)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teachings of MIAO and ISHII with the teaching of ABEDINI to include the above features into the system of MIAO such as aligning IQ samples received in the payload data of the downstream signal to constellation points of an assigned modulation scheme of the payload data of the downstream signal as taught by ABEDINI. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve network performance and increase reliability by providing the different nodes with link diversity for communications (ABEDINI, para. [0074]).
Regarding claim 10, MIAO and ISHII teach the intermediate IAB node according to claim 6, but the references fail to teach further comprising instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the intermediate IAB node to, prior to forwarding the payload data of the downstream signal, fully decode the payload data of the downstream signal and determining whether the full demodulating was successful; and provide feedback on success of the full demodulating to the upstream node.
In the same field of endeavor, ABEDINI teaches further comprising instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the intermediate IAB node to, prior to forwarding the payload data of the downstream signal, fully decode the payload data of the downstream signal and determining whether the full demodulating was successful (ABEDINI, para. 99, 105: The relay node may de-scramble the incoming signal (e.g., using scrambling IDs associated with the incoming signal). The relay node may decode the incoming signal (e.g., based at least in part on an MCS associated with the incoming signal).); and provide feedback on success of the full demodulating to the upstream node (ABEDINI, para. 114: The relay node may generate the outgoing signal by processing the time domain IQ samples and including them in a payload of the outgoing signal (e.g., by fully encoding a transport block indicating the time domain IQ samples). The outgoing signal may be transmitted using a fronthaul link to another wireless node.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teachings of MIAO and ISHII with the teaching of ABEDINI to include the above features into the system of MIAO such as fully decoding the payload data of the downstream signal and determining whether the full demodulating was successful as taught by ABEDINI. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve network performance and increase reliability by providing the different nodes with link diversity for communications (ABEDINI, para. [0074]).
Conclusion
/JEAN F VOLTAIRE/Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417