DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art of record (Chernushevich et al.) does not teach or disclose the multi-device interface is applied to the combination of mass analyzers that includes both a quadrupole mass analyzer and a TOF mass analyzer. Examiner disagrees as Chernushevich discloses a mass spectrometer system 600 comprises a multi-device interface 602 which connects one or more ion sources 12a-n to one or more mass analyzers 16a-n (see Fig. 7 and paragraph [0053]). Chernushevich specifies that the object of the invention is to interface one or more ion sources to one or more downstream devices (see abstract). Furthermore, paragraph [0069] teaches that each of the mass analyzers 16a-n can be any type of analyzer, specifically quadrupoles and TOF. Therefore, the broadest reasonable interpretation of Chernushevich would allow one or more ion sources output to one or more downstream devices, one of which may be a quadrupole and the other may be a TOF analyzer.
Applicant further argues that Chernushevich directs ions from different ion sources to a different respective mass analyzer (e.g. ion source 12a must interface only with analyzer 16a, while ions from ion source 16n are analyzed by analyzer 16n). Examiner disagrees as Chernushevich paragraph [0053] explicitly teaches an embodiment where a single input (e.g. a singular ion source 12) provides ions which are sent to two or more chains of downstream elements (e.g. analyzers 16a-n) (see the “single input case” in paragraph [0053]). Furthermore, Chernushevich specifies that the object of the invention is to interface one or more ion sources to one or more downstream devices (see abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chernushevich et al. (US PGPub 2007/0057178, hereinafter Chernushevich).
Regarding claim 1, Fig. 7 of Chernushevich discloses a mass spectrometer (mass spectrometer devices, see paragraph [0001]) comprising:
at least one ion guide having an inlet for receiving a plurality of ions from an upstream ion source and an outlet through which ions exit the ion guide (ion focusing device 14 receives ions from an upstream ion source 12 and an outlet leading to multi-device interface 602, see Fig. 7 and paragraph [0053]),
an ion routing device having an inlet for receiving at least a portion of the ions exiting the ion guide and at least two outlets (multi-device interface 602 receives ions from ion focusing device 14 and outputs to at least two ion focusing devices 15a-n, see Fig. 7 and paragraph [0053]),
a first mass spectrometer positioned relative to the first outlet to receive ions exiting the ion routing device via the first outlet (first mass analyzer 16a receives ions from first ion focusing device 15a, see Fig. 7 and paragraph [0053]), and
a second mass spectrometer positioned relative to the second outlet to receive ions exiting the ion routing device via the second outlet (nth mass analyzer 16n receives ions from nth ion focusing device 15n, see Fig. 7 and paragraph [0053]);
wherein at least one of the first and second mass spectrometers comprises a quadrupole mass analyzer and the other mass spectrometer comprises a TOF mass analyzer (Fig. 7 depicts nth mass analyzers 16n, see paragraph [0053]; mass analyzers 16 may be any suitable mass analyzer such as linear quadrupole mass analyzer, a linear or reflecting TOF mass analyzer, a magnetic sector analyzer, and the like, see paragraph [0069]).
Regarding claim 2, Chernushevich discloses a controller operably coupled to the ion routing device for controlling distribution of ions received via the inlet of the ion routing device between the two outlets (potentials applied to exits to appropriately gate exits not desired, see paragraph [0054], controller is inherent).
Regarding claim 3, Chernushevich discloses the controller is configured to apply one or more control signals to the ion routing device such that ions received via the inlet of the ion routing devices are directed to each of the outlets during a different temporal interval (multi-device interface 602 does not have to be working simultaneously (e.g. different temporal intervals) when one or more ion sources provide ions for two different mass analyzers, see paragraph [0055], controller is inherent).
Regarding claim 4, Chernushevich discloses the controller is configured to apply one or more control signals to direct ions received via the inlet of the ion receiving device to the outlets during alternating temporal intervals (multi-device interface 602 does not have to be working simultaneously (e.g. different temporal intervals) when one or more ion sources provide ions for two different mass analyzers, see paragraph [0055], controller is inherent).
Regarding claim 5, Chernushevich discloses the controller is configured to apply one or more control signals to the ion routing device for substantially concurrently directing a portion of the received ions to one of the outlets and another portion of the received ions to the other outlet (one ion source provides ions for two different mass analyzers, see paragraph [0055], controller is inherent).
Regarding claim 9, Chernushevic discloses the ion routing device comprises a branched quadrupole structure (multi-device interface 700 includes a quadrupole rod set, see paragraph [0057]; branched outlets into ion focusing devices 15a-n, see paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 10, Chernushevic discloses the ion routing device comprises an electrostatic deflector (rods 700-706 of multi-device interface 700 apply potentials to guide (e.g. deflect) the generated ions, see paragraph [0057]).
Regarding claim 11, Chernushevic discloses a DC voltage source for applying DC voltage to the electrostatic deflector for causing at least a portion of the received ions to be directed to at least one of the two outlets (multi-device interface 700 includes a quadrupole rod set, see paragraph [0057]; quadrupoles that are used in mass spectrometers, and therefore subjected to both RF and DC voltages, see paragraph [0033]; DC voltage source inherent).
Regarding claim 12, Chernushevic discloses the controller is configured to apply control signals to the DC voltage source such that the DC voltage source applies one or more voltages to the electrostatic deflector for directing the received ions into the two outlets during different time intervals (multi-device interface 700 includes a quadrupole rod set, see paragraph [0057]; quadrupoles that are used in mass spectrometers, and therefore subjected to both RF and DC voltages, see paragraph [0033]; DC voltage source inherent; multi-device interface 602 does not have to be working simultaneously (e.g. different temporal intervals) when one or more ion sources provide ions for two different mass analyzers, see paragraph [0055], controller is inherent).
Regarding claim 13, Chernushevic discloses at least one of the first and second mass spectrometers comprises a mass filter positioned downstream of the outlet of the ion routing device associated with the at least one mass spectrometer for selecting precursor ions having m/z ratios within a desired range among ions exiting through the outlet (mass analyzer 16 may be a mass filter that selects ions having various m/z ratios, see paragraph [0032]; downstream of multi-device interface 602, see Fig. 7 and paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 14, Chernushevic discloses a collision cell positioned downstream of the mass filter for causing fragmentation of at least a portion of the precursor ions so as to generate a plurality of product ions (ion focusing guide 14 may include a combination of a collision cell to create fragment ions, see paragraph [0031]; positioned downstream of the mass filter (e.g. mass analyzer 16 may be a mass filter, see paragraph [0032]) (e.g. detector 18a may be additional downstream elements, such as an ion focusing device/collision cell, see paragraph [0053])).
Regarding claim 15, Chernushevic discloses the collision cell comprises a plurality of rods arranged in a multipole configuration and configured for application of RF and/or DC voltages thereto for providing radial confinement of the precursor ions (ion-focusing element device 14, typically a quadrupole ion guide, see paragraph [0030]; quadrupoles that are used in mass spectrometers, and therefore subjected to both RF and DC voltages, see paragraph [0033]; collision cell used to create fragment ions are confined in the collision cell, see paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 16, Chernushevic discloses a mass analyzer disposed downstream of the collision cell for receiving at least a portion of the plurality of product ions and providing a mass analysis thereof (ion focusing guide 14 may include a combination of a collision cell to create fragment ions, see paragraph [0031]; mass analyzer 16 downstream ion focusing guide 14, see paragraph [0053]; mass analyzer provides mass analysis, see paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 17, Chernushevic discloses the mass analyzer comprises a quadrupole mass analyzer (mass analyzer 16 may be any suitable mass analyzer such as a linear quadrupole mass analyzer, see paragraph [0032]).
Regarding claim 18, Chernushevic discloses the mass analyzer comprises a TOF mass analyzer (mass analyzer 16 may be any suitable mass analyzer such as a linear or reflecting TOF mass analyzer, see paragraph [0032]).
Regarding claim 19, Chernushevic discloses the mass filter comprises a plurality of rods arranged in a multipole configuration for application of an RF and/or DC voltage thereto for generating an electromagnetic field for facilitating selection for the ions having m/z rations within the desired range (mass analyzer 16 may be a mass filter that selects ions having various m/z ratios by using DC and RF voltages applied to the mass analyzer 16 (see paragraph [0032]; mass analyzer 16 may be a quadrupole mass analyzer, see paragraph [0032]).
Regarding claim 20, Chernushevic discloses the multipole configuration comprises a quadrupole configuration (mass analyzer 16 may be any suitable mass analyzer such as a linear quadrupole mass analyzer, see paragraph [0032]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Hanway Chang
/HC/ Examiner, Art Unit 2878
/GEORGIA Y EPPS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2878