Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II and Species A (claims 5-6 are representative) in the reply filed on 27 August 2027 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 24 October 2025.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: claim 10 treatment gas supply device which has been interpreted as a vaporizer, and equivalents thereof, as set forth, e.g., in the specification at paras. 25-26; claim 10 exhaust device which has been interpreted as including an exhaust pipe and a pump, and equivalents thereof, as set forth, e.g., in the specification at para. 29; claim 10 control unit which has been interpreted as including storage and a calculation unit, and equivalents thereof, as set forth, e.g., in the specification at para. 50.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claims 11 and 12, appear to require that the threshold be non-zero and positive, although this is not claimed in either of these claims or in claim 10. The claims are considered at best unclear (although other rejections may be appropriate depending on Applicant’s response/amendments) because there is no indication in the disclosure that processing is performed when the amount of remaining processing is equal to zero (as in current claim 11), nor is there an indication that processing continues when the substrate has been etched past the endpoint (as in current claim 12). Thus, it appears that further clarifications are necessary with how to determine the remaining amount of processing and the associated “threshold”. In order to expedite examination, the claims have been examined as written.
In order to overcome the rejections and advance examination, Examiner provides the following suggestion as an amendment to claim 10 for clarifying how to determine the remaining amount of processing and the “threshold” by adding the following steps, or similar, as first and second steps attributed to the controller and modifying the other steps accordingly:
“a step of providing the substrate with the film to be treated and the film having a non-zero remaining amount of processing;
a step of comparing the remaining amount of processing for the film to be treated with a threshold amount of remaining processing; …”
Clarification and/or correction is requested.
Additionally, with respect to claim 11, it is unclear whether or not the recitations of the claim are met by either value of the inequality/equality or must be met by both of the values. If the former instance is Applicant’s intention, Examiner suggests stating “in a case where the remaining amount of processing is at least one of equal to the threshold of remaining processing or less than the threshold of remaining processing…” to clarify the intention. If the second instance is the intention, Examiner suggests stating “in a case where the remaining amount of processing is equal to the threshold of remaining processing and in case where the remaining amount is less than the threshold of remaining processing”. Presently, Examiner has assumed that either scenario is acceptable and has examined accordingly.
Clarification and/or correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al (US 2021/0233747 A1) in view of WO 2021/124539 to Kobayashi et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0118576 is considered an English language equivalent of ‘539 and below is used as a translation with respect to citations)
Yamaguchi discloses a semiconductor manufacturing apparatus substantially as claimed and comprising: Yamaguchi discloses a semiconductor manufacturing apparatus comprising: a vacuum container (e.g., Fig. 1, 60) having a treatment chamber (1) therein; a stage (4) that is disposed within the treatment chamber and that has a top surface on which a semiconductor wafer (3) having, on a surface thereof, a film (cobalt, [0030]) to be treated is placed; a treatment gas supply device (e.g., vaporizer/vaporizing nozzle unit, 70) configured to supply an organic gas (acetylacetone) into the treatment chamber; an exhaust device (exhaust pipes 80A and 80B and pump not illustrated [24]) configured to exhaust the gas inside the treatment chamber; a heater (62) configured to heat the semiconductor wafer to raise a temperature of the semiconductor wafer to a predetermined temperature; and a control unit (40) that controls the apparatus (see, e.g., para. 34) to perform a process, including:
a step of comparing a remaining amount of processing (e.g., 0 OR <0) for the film to be treated with a threshold (i.e. the threshold being the total amount processing needed or desired) (in there is a step of providing a substrate with >0 and full amount of remaining processing for a film and then subjecting that substrate/film to that processing), wherein determining a substrate needs to be processed and providing the substrate to the apparatus for said processing is inherently comparing with the threshold),
forming a compound made from the film to be treated (cobalt, [0030]) and an organic gas (acetylacetone [0035]) by heating the semiconductor wafer while supplying the organic gas (using control unit 40, [0036]), the organic gas including a material having, within a molecule, at least two substituents that hold a lone pair (oxygen atoms of acetylacetone);
causing the compound to desorb from a surface of the semiconductor wafer by further heating the semiconductor wafer after the step of forming the compound, to raise a temperature of the semiconductor wafer to a predetermined temperature (conversion from physisorption to chemisorption [0037], heating to 200 °C [0038]).
However, Yamaguchi fails to explicitly disclose the control unit comprising storage and a calculation unit.
Kobayashi et al. disclose providing a control unit including storage and a calculation unit as part of a semiconductor manufacturing device performing etching for the purpose of storing data indicating a correlation related to etched film thickness in the storage, calculating a number of cycles to determine that a target removal amount has been reached and carrying the substrate out of the apparatus by terminating the etching without starting a next cycle (see, e.g., paras. 54, 107, 109 and 112).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided in Yamaguchi a control unit including storage and a calculation unit in order to store data indicating a correlation related to etched film thickness in the storage, calculate a number of cycles to determine that a target removal amount has been reached and carry the substrate out of the apparatus by terminating the etching without starting a next cycle as taught by Kobayashi et al.
With respect to claim 11, in modified Yamaguchi, Kobayashi et al. teaches during etching/desorbing, in a case where the remaining amount of processing is equal to less than the threshold, heating the semiconductor wafer in a plurality of stages after the supply of the organic gas is stopped, to raise the temperature of the semiconductor wafer to the predetermined temperature. Kobayashi et al. disclose when the remaining amount of process is less than the threshold, repeating for the number of cycles, including a plurality of cycles, needed to reach the threshold.
With respect to claim 12, in modified Yamaguchi, both Yamaguchi and Kobayashi et al., teach that the etching cycle may be repeated, wherein if an additional film was provided on the substate causing the remaining amount of processing to be greater than the threshold, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to continue etching to the threshold, by continuously heating the semiconductor wafer while supplying the organic gas to the treatment chamber, to raise the temperature of the semiconductor wafer to the predetermined temperature.
Conclusion
The (prior) art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent and Patent Pubs. "20180308707"|20190131120"|"11515167" disclose similar semiconductor etching apparatus, as do WO 2020157954 and WO 2021192210.
/KARLA A MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716