DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to U.S. Patent Application No. 18/280,861 filed on 7 September 2023.
Election/Restrictions
In a phone message received 8 November following a telephone conversation with attorney for Applicant Mark Murphy, a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Species 1 of the above requirement for restriction/election, claims 1-17. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action.
Applicant affirmed election of the Species 1 invention in the response filed 9 March 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant' s Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS). The IDS(es) has/have been considered.
Priority
The status of the application as a 371 of PCT/IB2022/051720 is acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejections of claims 1 and 5 under § 112(b) are withdrawn, responsive to Applicant’s amendment of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2012/0205676 (published Aug. 16, 2012) (hereinafter “Seo 1”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0181202 (filed Dec. 7, 2018) (hereinafter “Lim”), and further in view of WIPO Publication No. WO2020026088A1 (published Feb. 6, 2020) (hereinafter “Seo 2”) (for convenience, U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0313520 is used as translation, attached herein).
Regarding independent claim 1, Seo 1 discloses: A display apparatus (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, depicting a display device, [0028], [0200]-[0201]) comprising:
a first light-emitting device (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, green light emitting element, 132a, [0029], [0200]-[0201]); and
a second light-emitting device (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, blue light emitting element, 132b, [0029], [0200]-[0201]),
wherein the second light-emitting device is adjacent to the first light-emitting device (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, disclosing wherein a green light emitting element and a blue light emitting element adjacent to each other, [0029], [0200]-[0201]),
wherein the first light-emitting device (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, green light emitting element) comprises
a first electrode (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, electrode 1101, [0203]),
a second electrode (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, electrode 1103, [0220]),
a first unit (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, depicting a first unit, i.e., light emitting layer 1113, hole transport layer 1112, and electron transport layer 1114a, collectively, [0229], [0207], [0210]),
a second unit (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, depicting a second unit, i.e., light emitting layer 1313, hole transport layer 1212, and electron transport layer 1214, collectively, [0215], [0214], [0216]),
a first intermediate layer (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, depicting an intermediate layer, i.e., charge generation layer 1102 and electron injection layer 1115b, collectively, [0213]), and
a first layer (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, depicting a first layer, i.e., electron injection layer 1115a and electron transport layer 1114b, collectively, [0212]),
wherein the first unit is interposed between the second electrode and the first electrode (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, depicting wherein the first unit is interposed between the electrode 1103 and the electrode 1101),
wherein the second unit is interposed between the second electrode and the first unit (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, depicting wherein the second unit is interposed between the electrode 1103 and the first unit),
wherein the first intermediate layer is interposed between the second unit and the first unit (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, depicting wherein the charge generation layer 1102 and electron injection layer 1115b is interposed between the second unit and the first unit),
wherein the first layer is interposed between the first intermediate layer and the first unit (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, depicting wherein the first layer is interposed between the charge generation layer 1102 and electron injection layer 1115b and the first unit),
wherein the first unit is configured to emit first light (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, disclosing wherein the first unit includes a light emitting layer 1113 that emits first light),
wherein the second unit is configured to emit second light (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, disclosing wherein the second unit includes a light emitting layer 1313 that emits second light),
wherein the first intermediate layer is configured to supply a hole to the second unit (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, disclosing wherein the charge generation layer 1102 is a charge generation layer, [0090]: “The charge generation layer 108 has functions of injecting holes into the EL layer on the cathode side and injecting electrons into the EL layer on the anode side.”),
wherein the first intermediate layer is configured to supply an electron to the first layer (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, disclosing wherein the charge generation layer 1102 is a charge generation layer, [0090]: “The charge generation layer 108 has functions of injecting holes into the EL layer on the cathode side and injecting electrons into the EL layer on the anode side.”),
wherein the first layer comprises unpaired electrons (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6; [0089] disclosing wherein the electron injection layer 1115a of the first layer may be formed from: “For the electron-injection layer, an alkali metal, an alkaline-earth metal, or a compound thereof, such as lithium, cesium, calcium, lithium fluoride, cesium fluoride, calcium fluoride, or lithium oxide, can be used. Alternatively, a rare earth metal compound such as erbium fluoride can be used. Further alternatively, any of the above substances for forming the electron-transport layer can be used.”; [0088] disclosing wherein the electron transport layer 1114b may be formed from: “As the substance having a high electron-transport property, any of the following can be used, for example: metal complexes having a quinoline skeleton or a benzoquinoline skeleton, such as tris(8-quinolinolato)aluminum (abbreviation: Alq), tris(4-methyl-8-quinolinolato)aluminum (abbreviation: Almq3), bis(10-hydroxybenzo[h]-quinolinato)beryllium (abbreviation: BeBq2), and bis(2-methyl-8-quinolinolato)(4-phenylphenolato)aluminum (abbreviation: BAlq). A metal complex or the like including an oxazole-based or thiazole-based ligand, such as bis[2-(2-hydroxyphenyl)benzoxazolato]zinc (abbreviation: Zn(BOX)2) or bis[2-(2-hydroxyphenyl)benzothiazolato]zinc (abbreviation: Zn(BTZ)2) can also be used. Other than the metal complexes, 2-(4-biphenylyl)-5-(4-tert-butylphenyl)-1,3,4-oxadiazole (abbreviation: PBD), 1,3-bis[5-(p-tert-butylphenyl)-1,3,4-oxadiazol-2-yl]benzene (abbreviation: OXD-7), 3-(4-biphenylyl)-4-phenyl-5-(4-tert-butylphenyl)-1,2,4-triazole (abbreviation: TAZ), bathophenanthroline (abbreviation: BPhen), bathocuproine (abbreviation: BCP), or the like can also be used.”),
wherein the unpaired electrons are configured to be observed at a spin density greater than or equal to 1×1016 spins/cm3 and less than or equal to 1×1018 spins/cm3 with an electron spin resonance spectrometer (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6; [0089] disclosing wherein the electron injection layer 1115a of the first layer may be formed from: “For the electron-injection layer, an alkali metal, an alkaline-earth metal, or a compound thereof, such as lithium, cesium, calcium, lithium fluoride, cesium fluoride, calcium fluoride, or lithium oxide, can be used. Alternatively, a rare earth metal compound such as erbium fluoride can be used. Further alternatively, any of the above substances for forming the electron-transport layer can be used.”; [0088] disclosing wherein the electron transport layer 1114b may be formed from: “As the substance having a high electron-transport property, any of the following can be used, for example: metal complexes having a quinoline skeleton or a benzoquinoline skeleton, such as tris(8-quinolinolato)aluminum (abbreviation: Alq), tris(4-methyl-8-quinolinolato)aluminum (abbreviation: Almq3), bis(10-hydroxybenzo[h]-quinolinato)beryllium (abbreviation: BeBq2), and bis(2-methyl-8-quinolinolato)(4-phenylphenolato)aluminum (abbreviation: BAlq). A metal complex or the like including an oxazole-based or thiazole-based ligand, such as bis[2-(2-hydroxyphenyl)benzoxazolato]zinc (abbreviation: Zn(BOX)2) or bis[2-(2-hydroxyphenyl)benzothiazolato]zinc (abbreviation: Zn(BTZ)2) can also be used. Other than the metal complexes, 2-(4-biphenylyl)-5-(4-tert-butylphenyl)-1,3,4-oxadiazole (abbreviation: PBD), 1,3-bis[5-(p-tert-butylphenyl)-1,3,4-oxadiazol-2-yl]benzene (abbreviation: OXD-7), 3-(4-biphenylyl)-4-phenyl-5-(4-tert-butylphenyl)-1,2,4-triazole (abbreviation: TAZ), bathophenanthroline (abbreviation: BPhen), bathocuproine (abbreviation: BCP), or the like can also be used.”),
wherein the first layer comprises a first inorganic compound and a first organic compound (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6; [0089] disclosing wherein the electron injection layer 1115a of the first layer may be formed from: “For the electron-injection layer, an alkali metal, an alkaline-earth metal, or a compound thereof, such as lithium, cesium, calcium, lithium fluoride, cesium fluoride, calcium fluoride, or lithium oxide, can be used. Alternatively, a rare earth metal compound such as erbium fluoride can be used. Further alternatively, any of the above substances for forming the electron-transport layer can be used.”; [0088] disclosing wherein the electron transport layer 1114b may be formed from: “As the substance having a high electron-transport property, any of the following can be used, for example: metal complexes having a quinoline skeleton or a benzoquinoline skeleton, such as tris(8-quinolinolato)aluminum (abbreviation: Alq), tris(4-methyl-8-quinolinolato)aluminum (abbreviation: Almq3), bis(10-hydroxybenzo[h]-quinolinato)beryllium (abbreviation: BeBq2), and bis(2-methyl-8-quinolinolato)(4-phenylphenolato)aluminum (abbreviation: BAlq). A metal complex or the like including an oxazole-based or thiazole-based ligand, such as bis[2-(2-hydroxyphenyl)benzoxazolato]zinc (abbreviation: Zn(BOX)2) or bis[2-(2-hydroxyphenyl)benzothiazolato]zinc (abbreviation: Zn(BTZ)2) can also be used. Other than the metal complexes, 2-(4-biphenylyl)-5-(4-tert-butylphenyl)-1,3,4-oxadiazole (abbreviation: PBD), 1,3-bis[5-(p-tert-butylphenyl)-1,3,4-oxadiazol-2-yl]benzene (abbreviation: OXD-7), 3-(4-biphenylyl)-4-phenyl-5-(4-tert-butylphenyl)-1,2,4-triazole (abbreviation: TAZ), bathophenanthroline (abbreviation: BPhen), bathocuproine (abbreviation: BCP), or the like can also be used.”),
wherein the first organic compound comprises an unshared electron pair (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6; [0089] disclosing wherein the electron injection layer 1115a of the first layer may be formed from: “For the electron-injection layer, an alkali metal, an alkaline-earth metal, or a compound thereof, such as lithium, cesium, calcium, lithium fluoride, cesium fluoride, calcium fluoride, or lithium oxide, can be used. Alternatively, a rare earth metal compound such as erbium fluoride can be used. Further alternatively, any of the above substances for forming the electron-transport layer can be used.”; [0088] disclosing wherein the electron transport layer 1114b may be formed from: “As the substance having a high electron-transport property, any of the following can be used, for example: metal complexes having a quinoline skeleton or a benzoquinoline skeleton, such as tris(8-quinolinolato)aluminum (abbreviation: Alq), tris(4-methyl-8-quinolinolato)aluminum (abbreviation: Almq3), bis(10-hydroxybenzo[h]-quinolinato)beryllium (abbreviation: BeBq2), and bis(2-methyl-8-quinolinolato)(4-phenylphenolato)aluminum (abbreviation: BAlq). A metal complex or the like including an oxazole-based or thiazole-based ligand, such as bis[2-(2-hydroxyphenyl)benzoxazolato]zinc (abbreviation: Zn(BOX)2) or bis[2-(2-hydroxyphenyl)benzothiazolato]zinc (abbreviation: Zn(BTZ)2) can also be used. Other than the metal complexes, 2-(4-biphenylyl)-5-(4-tert-butylphenyl)-1,3,4-oxadiazole (abbreviation: PBD), 1,3-bis[5-(p-tert-butylphenyl)-1,3,4-oxadiazol-2-yl]benzene (abbreviation: OXD-7), 3-(4-biphenylyl)-4-phenyl-5-(4-tert-butylphenyl)-1,2,4-triazole (abbreviation: TAZ), bathophenanthroline (abbreviation: BPhen), bathocuproine (abbreviation: BCP), or the like can also be used.”),
wherein the first organic compound is configured to interact with the first inorganic compound to form a singly occupied molecular orbital (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6; [0089] disclosing wherein the electron injection layer 1115a of the first layer may be formed from: “For the electron-injection layer, an alkali metal, an alkaline-earth metal, or a compound thereof, such as lithium, cesium, calcium, lithium fluoride, cesium fluoride, calcium fluoride, or lithium oxide, can be used. Alternatively, a rare earth metal compound such as erbium fluoride can be used. Further alternatively, any of the above substances for forming the electron-transport layer can be used.”; [0088] disclosing wherein the electron transport layer 1114b may be formed from: “As the substance having a high electron-transport property, any of the following can be used, for example: metal complexes having a quinoline skeleton or a benzoquinoline skeleton, such as tris(8-quinolinolato)aluminum (abbreviation: Alq), tris(4-methyl-8-quinolinolato)aluminum (abbreviation: Almq3), bis(10-hydroxybenzo[h]-quinolinato)beryllium (abbreviation: BeBq2), and bis(2-methyl-8-quinolinolato)(4-phenylphenolato)aluminum (abbreviation: BAlq). A metal complex or the like including an oxazole-based or thiazole-based ligand, such as bis[2-(2-hydroxyphenyl)benzoxazolato]zinc (abbreviation: Zn(BOX)2) or bis[2-(2-hydroxyphenyl)benzothiazolato]zinc (abbreviation: Zn(BTZ)2) can also be used. Other than the metal complexes, 2-(4-biphenylyl)-5-(4-tert-butylphenyl)-1,3,4-oxadiazole (abbreviation: PBD), 1,3-bis[5-(p-tert-butylphenyl)-1,3,4-oxadiazol-2-yl]benzene (abbreviation: OXD-7), 3-(4-biphenylyl)-4-phenyl-5-(4-tert-butylphenyl)-1,2,4-triazole (abbreviation: TAZ), bathophenanthroline (abbreviation: BPhen), bathocuproine (abbreviation: BCP), or the like can also be used.”),
wherein the second light-emitting device (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, green light emitting element) comprises
a third electrode (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, electrode 1101, [0203]),
a fourth electrode (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, electrode 1103, [0220]),
a third unit (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, depicting a third unit, i.e., light emitting layer 1113, hole transport layer 1112, and electron transport layer 1114a, collectively, [0229], [0207], [0210]),
a fourth unit (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, depicting a fourth unit, i.e., light emitting layer 1313, hole transport layer 1212, and electron transport layer 1214, collectively, [0215], [0214], [0216]),
a second intermediate layer (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, depicting an intermediate layer, i.e., charge generation layer 1102 and electron injection layer 1115b, collectively [0213]), and
a second layer (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, depicting a first layer, i.e., electron injection layer 1115a and electron transport layer 1114b, collectively, [0212]),
wherein the third unit is interposed between the fourth electrode and the third electrode (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, depicting wherein the third unit is interposed between the electrode 1103 and the electrode 1101),
wherein the fourth unit is interposed between the fourth electrode and the third unit (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, depicting wherein the fourth unit is interposed between the electrode 1103 and the third unit),
wherein the second intermediate layer is interposed between the fourth unit and the third unit (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, depicting wherein the charge generation layer 1102 and electron injection layer 1115b is interposed between the fourth unit and the third unit),
wherein the second layer is interposed between the second intermediate layer and the third unit (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, depicting wherein the second layer is interposed between the charge generation layer 1102 and electron injection layer 1115b and the third unit),
wherein the third unit is configured to emit third light (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, disclosing wherein the third unit includes a light emitting layer 1113 that emits third light),
wherein the fourth unit is configured to emit fourth light (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, disclosing wherein the fourth unit includes a light emitting layer 1313 that emits fourth light),
wherein the second intermediate layer is configured to supply a hole to the fourth unit (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, disclosing wherein the charge generation layer 1102 is a charge generation layer, [0090]: “The charge generation layer 108 has functions of injecting holes into the EL layer on the cathode side and injecting electrons into the EL layer on the anode side.”),
wherein the second intermediate layer is configured to supply an electron to the second layer (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, disclosing wherein the charge generation layer 1102 is a charge generation layer, [0090]: “The charge generation layer 108 has functions of injecting holes into the EL layer on the cathode side and injecting electrons into the EL layer on the anode side.”),
wherein the second layer comprises the first inorganic compound and the first organic compound (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6; [0089] disclosing wherein the electron injection layer 1115a of the first layer may be formed from: “For the electron-injection layer, an alkali metal, an alkaline-earth metal, or a compound thereof, such as lithium, cesium, calcium, lithium fluoride, cesium fluoride, calcium fluoride, or lithium oxide, can be used. Alternatively, a rare earth metal compound such as erbium fluoride can be used. Further alternatively, any of the above substances for forming the electron-transport layer can be used.”; [0088] disclosing wherein the electron transport layer 1114b may be formed from: “As the substance having a high electron-transport property, any of the following can be used, for example: metal complexes having a quinoline skeleton or a benzoquinoline skeleton, such as tris(8-quinolinolato)aluminum (abbreviation: Alq), tris(4-methyl-8-quinolinolato)aluminum (abbreviation: Almq3), bis(10-hydroxybenzo[h]-quinolinato)beryllium (abbreviation: BeBq2), and bis(2-methyl-8-quinolinolato)(4-phenylphenolato)aluminum (abbreviation: BAlq). A metal complex or the like including an oxazole-based or thiazole-based ligand, such as bis[2-(2-hydroxyphenyl)benzoxazolato]zinc (abbreviation: Zn(BOX)2) or bis[2-(2-hydroxyphenyl)benzothiazolato]zinc (abbreviation: Zn(BTZ)2) can also be used. Other than the metal complexes, 2-(4-biphenylyl)-5-(4-tert-butylphenyl)-1,3,4-oxadiazole (abbreviation: PBD), 1,3-bis[5-(p-tert-butylphenyl)-1,3,4-oxadiazol-2-yl]benzene (abbreviation: OXD-7), 3-(4-biphenylyl)-4-phenyl-5-(4-tert-butylphenyl)-1,2,4-triazole (abbreviation: TAZ), bathophenanthroline (abbreviation: BPhen), bathocuproine (abbreviation: BCP), or the like can also be used.”).
Seo 1 does not specifically disclose wherein a first space is provided between the second intermediate layer and the first intermediate layer, wherein a second space is provided between the second layer and the first layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Lim discloses a display device (FIG. 2, display device 100, [0026]) including a plurality of light emitting units (FIG. 2, light emitting diodes D1-D3, [0026]) comprising a plurality of spaces disposed between adjacent light emitting units (FIG. 2, air gaps AG disposed between the light emitting diodes D1-D3, [0028]). Regarding the air gaps AG, in [0110], Lim states: “As such, paths of rays of light L1 and L2, which are obliquely output from the light-emitting diode D in each pixel region SP, are changed in a vertical direction by the insulating pattern IP which is formed in each pixel region SP and the air gap AG which are formed at the boundary of each pixel region SP and the rays of light L1 and L2 may be output to an upper region corresponding to each pixel region SP. Thus, light extraction efficiency can be improved and at the same time, color mixing can be effectively prevented or reduced.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display device of Seo 1 by adding the air gaps AG of Lim such that the air gaps would form a first space between the charge generation layer 1102 and electron injection layer 1115b of the green and blue light emitting elements and a second space between the second and first layers in order to improve light extraction efficiency and prevent color mixing. See Lim [0110].
Seo 1 in view of Lim does not specifically disclose wherein the first layer comprises a mixed material comprising a first inorganic compound and a first organic compound.
In the same field of endeavor, Seo 2 discloses a display apparatus (FIGS. 3A/3B, light-emitting apparatus 21, [0136]) including a first layer (FIGS. 3A/3B, including light emitting device 317, comprising an electron-transport layer 114, [0146]: “The structure and materials described in any of the other embodiments can be used for the structure of a light-emitting device 317 described in this embodiment.”), wherein the first layer comprises a mixed material comprising a first inorganic compound and a first organic compound (FIGS. 3A/3B, [0111]: “Note that for the electron-transport layer 114 of the light-emitting device of one embodiment of the present invention, it is preferable to use an electron-transport material (an organic compound having a structure in which an aromatic ring is fused to a furan ring of a furodiazine skeleton) in combination with an alkali metal or an alkaline earth metal, a compound thereof, or the like.”). Regarding the configuration of the electron transport layer, in [0111], Seo 2 states: “Such a combination enables the electron-transport layer 114 to function also as an electron-injection layer; thus, a light-emitting device in which the electron-injection layer 115 is not formed between the electron-transport layer 114 and the second electrode 102 can have substantially the same characteristics and reliability as in the case where the electron-injection layer 115 is formed.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display device of Seo 1 by substituting the electron transport layer configuration of Seo 2 such the electron transport layer and electron injection layer of Seo 1 comprise a mixed material in order to allow the electron-transport layer to function also as an electron injection layer, in order to obtain the characteristics and reliability of each within a single layer. See Seo 2 [0111].
Seo 1 in view of Lim does not specifically disclose wherein the second layer comprises a mixed material comprising a first inorganic compound and a first organic compound.
In the same field of endeavor, Seo 2 discloses a display apparatus (FIGS. 3A/3B, light-emitting apparatus 21, [0136]) including a second layer (FIGS. 3A/3B, including light emitting device 317, comprising an electron-transport layer 114, [0146]: “The structure and materials described in any of the other embodiments can be used for the structure of a light-emitting device 317 described in this embodiment.”), wherein the first layer comprises a mixed material comprising a first inorganic compound and a first organic compound (FIGS. 3A/3B, [0111]: “Note that for the electron-transport layer 114 of the light-emitting device of one embodiment of the present invention, it is preferable to use an electron-transport material (an organic compound having a structure in which an aromatic ring is fused to a furan ring of a furodiazine skeleton) in combination with an alkali metal or an alkaline earth metal, a compound thereof, or the like.”). Regarding the configuration of the electron transport layer, in [0111], Seo 2 states: “Such a combination enables the electron-transport layer 114 to function also as an electron-injection layer; thus, a light-emitting device in which the electron-injection layer 115 is not formed between the electron-transport layer 114 and the second electrode 102 can have substantially the same characteristics and reliability as in the case where the electron-injection layer 115 is formed.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display device of Seo 1 by substituting the electron transport layer configuration of Seo 2 such the electron transport layer and electron injection layer of Seo 1 comprise a mixed material in order to allow the electron-transport layer to function also as an electron injection layer, in order to obtain the characteristics and reliability of each within a single layer. See Seo 2 [0111].
Regarding claim 2, Seo 1 in view of Lim and Seo 2 further discloses wherein the first light-emitting device (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, green light emitting element) comprises
a third layer (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, hole injection layer 1111, [0206]),
wherein the third layer is interposed between the first unit and the first electrode (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, depicting wherein the hole injection layer 1111 is interposed between the first unit and the electrode 1101),
wherein the second light-emitting device (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, blue light emitting element) comprises
a fourth layer (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, hole injection layer 1111, [0206]),
wherein the fourth layer is interposed between the third unit and the third electrode (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, depicting wherein the hole injection layer 1111 is interposed between the third unit and the electrode 1101), and
wherein a third space is provided between the fourth layer and the third layer (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, the air gaps AG of Lim, added to the display device of Seo 1 is configured such that the air gaps would form a third space between the hole injection layers 1111 of the green and blue light emitting elements).
Regarding claim 3, Seo 1 in view of Lim and Seo 2 further discloses wherein the third layer (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, hole injection layer 1111) has an electrical resistivity greater than or equal to 1×102 Ω·cm and less than or equal to 1×108 Ω·cm (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, disclosing various hole-injection layer 1111 materials; [0068]-[0075]: “As the organic compound that can be used for the composite material, any of the following can be used: aromatic amine compounds such as TDATA, MTDATA, DPAB, DNTPD, DPA3B, PCzPCA1, PCzPCA2, PCzPCN1, 4,4′-bis[N-(1-naphthyl)-N-phenylamino]biphenyl (abbreviation: NPB or α-NPD), N,N′-bis(3-methylphenyl)-N,N′-diphenyl-[1,1′-biphenyl]-4,4′-diamine (abbreviation: TPD), and 4-phenyl-4′-(9-phenylfluoren-9-yl)triphenylamine (abbreviation: BPAFLP), and carbazole derivatives, such as 4,4′-di(N-carbazolyl)biphenyl (abbreviation: CBP), 1,3,5-tris[4-(N-carbazolyl)phenyl]benzene (abbreviation: TCPB), 9-[4-(10-phenyl-9-anthryl)phenyl]-9H-carbazole (abbreviation: CzPA), 9-phenyl-3-[4-(10-phenyl-9-anthryl)phenyl]-9H-carbazole (abbreviation: PCzPA), and 1,4-bis[4-(N-carbazolyl)phenyl]-2,3,5,6-tetraphenylbenzene.”).
Regarding claim 4, Seo 1 in view of Lim and Seo 2 further discloses wherein the unpaired electrons comprise a g-value in a range greater than or equal to 2.003 and less than or equal to 2.004 (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6; [0089] disclosing wherein the electron injection layer 1115a of the first layer may be formed from: “For the electron-injection layer, an alkali metal, an alkaline-earth metal, or a compound thereof, such as lithium, cesium, calcium, lithium fluoride, cesium fluoride, calcium fluoride, or lithium oxide, can be used. Alternatively, a rare earth metal compound such as erbium fluoride can be used. Further alternatively, any of the above substances for forming the electron-transport layer can be used.”; [0088] disclosing wherein the electron transport layer 1114b may be formed from: “As the substance having a high electron-transport property, any of the following can be used, for example: metal complexes having a quinoline skeleton or a benzoquinoline skeleton, such as tris(8-quinolinolato)aluminum (abbreviation: Alq), tris(4-methyl-8-quinolinolato)aluminum (abbreviation: Almq3), bis(10-hydroxybenzo[h]-quinolinato)beryllium (abbreviation: BeBq2), and bis(2-methyl-8-quinolinolato)(4-phenylphenolato)aluminum (abbreviation: BAlq). A metal complex or the like including an oxazole-based or thiazole-based ligand, such as bis[2-(2-hydroxyphenyl)benzoxazolato]zinc (abbreviation: Zn(BOX)2) or bis[2-(2-hydroxyphenyl)benzothiazolato]zinc (abbreviation: Zn(BTZ)2) can also be used. Other than the metal complexes, 2-(4-biphenylyl)-5-(4-tert-butylphenyl)-1,3,4-oxadiazole (abbreviation: PBD), 1,3-bis[5-(p-tert-butylphenyl)-1,3,4-oxadiazol-2-yl]benzene (abbreviation: OXD-7), 3-(4-biphenylyl)-4-phenyl-5-(4-tert-butylphenyl)-1,2,4-triazole (abbreviation: TAZ), bathophenanthroline (abbreviation: BPhen), bathocuproine (abbreviation: BCP), or the like can also be used.”).
Regarding claim 5, Seo 1 in view of Lim and Seo 2 further discloses wherein the unpaired electrons are configured to be observed in an atmosphere at a spin density of 50% or more of an initial spin density after 24 hours with an electron spin resonance spectrometer (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6; [0089] disclosing wherein the electron injection layer 1115a of the first layer may be formed from: “For the electron-injection layer, an alkali metal, an alkaline-earth metal, or a compound thereof, such as lithium, cesium, calcium, lithium fluoride, cesium fluoride, calcium fluoride, or lithium oxide, can be used. Alternatively, a rare earth metal compound such as erbium fluoride can be used. Further alternatively, any of the above substances for forming the electron-transport layer can be used.”; [0088] disclosing wherein the electron transport layer 1114b may be formed from: “As the substance having a high electron-transport property, any of the following can be used, for example: metal complexes having a quinoline skeleton or a benzoquinoline skeleton, such as tris(8-quinolinolato)aluminum (abbreviation: Alq), tris(4-methyl-8-quinolinolato)aluminum (abbreviation: Almq3), bis(10-hydroxybenzo[h]-quinolinato)beryllium (abbreviation: BeBq2), and bis(2-methyl-8-quinolinolato)(4-phenylphenolato)aluminum (abbreviation: BAlq). A metal complex or the like including an oxazole-based or thiazole-based ligand, such as bis[2-(2-hydroxyphenyl)benzoxazolato]zinc (abbreviation: Zn(BOX)2) or bis[2-(2-hydroxyphenyl)benzothiazolato]zinc (abbreviation: Zn(BTZ)2) can also be used. Other than the metal complexes, 2-(4-biphenylyl)-5-(4-tert-butylphenyl)-1,3,4-oxadiazole (abbreviation: PBD), 1,3-bis[5-(p-tert-butylphenyl)-1,3,4-oxadiazol-2-yl]benzene (abbreviation: OXD-7), 3-(4-biphenylyl)-4-phenyl-5-(4-tert-butylphenyl)-1,2,4-triazole (abbreviation: TAZ), bathophenanthroline (abbreviation: BPhen), bathocuproine (abbreviation: BCP), or the like can also be used.”).
Regarding claim 6, Seo 1 in view of Lim and Seo 2 further discloses wherein the first organic compound comprises an electron deficient heteroaromatic ring (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6; [0089] disclosing wherein the electron injection layer 1115a of the first layer may be formed from: “For the electron-injection layer, an alkali metal, an alkaline-earth metal, or a compound thereof, such as lithium, cesium, calcium, lithium fluoride, cesium fluoride, calcium fluoride, or lithium oxide, can be used. Alternatively, a rare earth metal compound such as erbium fluoride can be used. Further alternatively, any of the above substances for forming the electron-transport layer can be used.”; [0088] disclosing wherein the electron transport layer 1114b may be formed from: “As the substance having a high electron-transport property, any of the following can be used, for example: metal complexes having a quinoline skeleton or a benzoquinoline skeleton, such as tris(8-quinolinolato)aluminum (abbreviation: Alq), tris(4-methyl-8-quinolinolato)aluminum (abbreviation: Almq3), bis(10-hydroxybenzo[h]-quinolinato)beryllium (abbreviation: BeBq2), and bis(2-methyl-8-quinolinolato)(4-phenylphenolato)aluminum (abbreviation: BAlq). A metal complex or the like including an oxazole-based or thiazole-based ligand, such as bis[2-(2-hydroxyphenyl)benzoxazolato]zinc (abbreviation: Zn(BOX)2) or bis[2-(2-hydroxyphenyl)benzothiazolato]zinc (abbreviation: Zn(BTZ)2) can also be used. Other than the metal complexes, 2-(4-biphenylyl)-5-(4-tert-butylphenyl)-1,3,4-oxadiazole (abbreviation: PBD), 1,3-bis[5-(p-tert-butylphenyl)-1,3,4-oxadiazol-2-yl]benzene (abbreviation: OXD-7), 3-(4-biphenylyl)-4-phenyl-5-(4-tert-butylphenyl)-1,2,4-triazole (abbreviation: TAZ), bathophenanthroline (abbreviation: BPhen), bathocuproine (abbreviation: BCP), or the like can also be used.”).
Regarding claim 7, Seo 1 in view of Lim and Seo 2 further discloses wherein the first organic compound has a LUMO level in a range greater than or equal to −3.6 eV and less than or equal to −2.3 eV (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6; [0089] disclosing wherein the electron injection layer 1115a of the first layer may be formed from: “For the electron-injection layer, an alkali metal, an alkaline-earth metal, or a compound thereof, such as lithium, cesium, calcium, lithium fluoride, cesium fluoride, calcium fluoride, or lithium oxide, can be used. Alternatively, a rare earth metal compound such as erbium fluoride can be used. Further alternatively, any of the above substances for forming the electron-transport layer can be used.”; [0088] disclosing wherein the electron transport layer 1114b may be formed from: “As the substance having a high electron-transport property, any of the following can be used, for example: metal complexes having a quinoline skeleton or a benzoquinoline skeleton, such as tris(8-quinolinolato)aluminum (abbreviation: Alq), tris(4-methyl-8-quinolinolato)aluminum (abbreviation: Almq3), bis(10-hydroxybenzo[h]-quinolinato)beryllium (abbreviation: BeBq2), and bis(2-methyl-8-quinolinolato)(4-phenylphenolato)aluminum (abbreviation: BAlq). A metal complex or the like including an oxazole-based or thiazole-based ligand, such as bis[2-(2-hydroxyphenyl)benzoxazolato]zinc (abbreviation: Zn(BOX)2) or bis[2-(2-hydroxyphenyl)benzothiazolato]zinc (abbreviation: Zn(BTZ)2) can also be used. Other than the metal complexes, 2-(4-biphenylyl)-5-(4-tert-butylphenyl)-1,3,4-oxadiazole (abbreviation: PBD), 1,3-bis[5-(p-tert-butylphenyl)-1,3,4-oxadiazol-2-yl]benzene (abbreviation: OXD-7), 3-(4-biphenylyl)-4-phenyl-5-(4-tert-butylphenyl)-1,2,4-triazole (abbreviation: TAZ), bathophenanthroline (abbreviation: BPhen), bathocuproine (abbreviation: BCP), or the like can also be used.”).
Regarding claim 8, Seo 1 in view of Lim and Seo 2 further discloses wherein the first inorganic compound comprises a metal element and oxygen (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6; [0089] disclosing wherein the electron injection layer 1115a of the first layer may be formed from: “For the electron-injection layer, an alkali metal, an alkaline-earth metal, or a compound thereof, such as lithium, cesium, calcium, lithium fluoride, cesium fluoride, calcium fluoride, or lithium oxide, can be used. Alternatively, a rare earth metal compound such as erbium fluoride can be used. Further alternatively, any of the above substances for forming the electron-transport layer can be used.”; [0088] disclosing wherein the electron transport layer 1114b may be formed from: “As the substance having a high electron-transport property, any of the following can be used, for example: metal complexes having a quinoline skeleton or a benzoquinoline skeleton, such as tris(8-quinolinolato)aluminum (abbreviation: Alq), tris(4-methyl-8-quinolinolato)aluminum (abbreviation: Almq3), bis(10-hydroxybenzo[h]-quinolinato)beryllium (abbreviation: BeBq2), and bis(2-methyl-8-quinolinolato)(4-phenylphenolato)aluminum (abbreviation: BAlq). A metal complex or the like including an oxazole-based or thiazole-based ligand, such as bis[2-(2-hydroxyphenyl)benzoxazolato]zinc (abbreviation: Zn(BOX)2) or bis[2-(2-hydroxyphenyl)benzothiazolato]zinc (abbreviation: Zn(BTZ)2) can also be used. Other than the metal complexes, 2-(4-biphenylyl)-5-(4-tert-butylphenyl)-1,3,4-oxadiazole (abbreviation: PBD), 1,3-bis[5-(p-tert-butylphenyl)-1,3,4-oxadiazol-2-yl]benzene (abbreviation: OXD-7), 3-(4-biphenylyl)-4-phenyl-5-(4-tert-butylphenyl)-1,2,4-triazole (abbreviation: TAZ), bathophenanthroline (abbreviation: BPhen), bathocuproine (abbreviation: BCP), or the like can also be used.”).
Regarding claim 9, Seo 1 in view of Lim and Seo 2 further discloses wherein the first inorganic compound comprises lithium and oxygen (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6; [0089] disclosing wherein the electron injection layer 1115a of the first layer may be formed from: “For the electron-injection layer, an alkali metal, an alkaline-earth metal, or a compound thereof, such as lithium, cesium, calcium, lithium fluoride, cesium fluoride, calcium fluoride, or lithium oxide, can be used. Alternatively, a rare earth metal compound such as erbium fluoride can be used. Further alternatively, any of the above substances for forming the electron-transport layer can be used.”; [0088] disclosing wherein the electron transport layer 1114b may be formed from: “As the substance having a high electron-transport property, any of the following can be used, for example: metal complexes having a quinoline skeleton or a benzoquinoline skeleton, such as tris(8-quinolinolato)aluminum (abbreviation: Alq), tris(4-methyl-8-quinolinolato)aluminum (abbreviation: Almq3), bis(10-hydroxybenzo[h]-quinolinato)beryllium (abbreviation: BeBq2), and bis(2-methyl-8-quinolinolato)(4-phenylphenolato)aluminum (abbreviation: BAlq). A metal complex or the like including an oxazole-based or thiazole-based ligand, such as bis[2-(2-hydroxyphenyl)benzoxazolato]zinc (abbreviation: Zn(BOX)2) or bis[2-(2-hydroxyphenyl)benzothiazolato]zinc (abbreviation: Zn(BTZ)2) can also be used. Other than the metal complexes, 2-(4-biphenylyl)-5-(4-tert-butylphenyl)-1,3,4-oxadiazole (abbreviation: PBD), 1,3-bis[5-(p-tert-butylphenyl)-1,3,4-oxadiazol-2-yl]benzene (abbreviation: OXD-7), 3-(4-biphenylyl)-4-phenyl-5-(4-tert-butylphenyl)-1,2,4-triazole (abbreviation: TAZ), bathophenanthroline (abbreviation: BPhen), bathocuproine (abbreviation: BCP), or the like can also be used.”).
Regarding claim 10, Seo 1 in view of Lim and Seo 2 further discloses wherein the first intermediate layer (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, charge generation layer 1102 and electron injection layer 1115b) comprises unpaired electrons (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, [0091]: “The charge generation layer 108 can be formed using the above composite material [of acceptor and hole transport material of [0068]-[0073]]. The charge generation layer 108 may have a stacked-layer structure including a layer containing the composite material and a layer containing another material. In that case, as the layer containing another material, a layer containing an electron donating substance and a substance with high electron-transport properties . . . can be used.”; [0089] disclosing wherein the electron injection layer 1115a of the first layer may be formed from: “For the electron-injection layer, an alkali metal, an alkaline-earth metal, or a compound thereof, such as lithium, cesium, calcium, lithium fluoride, cesium fluoride, calcium fluoride, or lithium oxide, can be used. Alternatively, a rare earth metal compound such as erbium fluoride can be used. Further alternatively, any of the above substances for forming the electron-transport layer can be used.”; [0088] disclosing wherein the electron transport layer 1114b may be formed from: “As the substance having a high electron-transport property, any of the following can be used, for example: metal complexes having a quinoline skeleton or a benzoquinoline skeleton, such as tris(8-quinolinolato)aluminum (abbreviation: Alq), tris(4-methyl-8-quinolinolato)aluminum (abbreviation: Almq3), bis(10-hydroxybenzo[h]-quinolinato)beryllium (abbreviation: BeBq2), and bis(2-methyl-8-quinolinolato)(4-phenylphenolato)aluminum (abbreviation: BAlq). A metal complex or the like including an oxazole-based or thiazole-based ligand, such as bis[2-(2-hydroxyphenyl)benzoxazolato]zinc (abbreviation: Zn(BOX)2) or bis[2-(2-hydroxyphenyl)benzothiazolato]zinc (abbreviation: Zn(BTZ)2) can also be used. Other than the metal complexes, 2-(4-biphenylyl)-5-(4-tert-butylphenyl)-1,3,4-oxadiazole (abbreviation: PBD), 1,3-bis[5-(p-tert-butylphenyl)-1,3,4-oxadiazol-2-yl]benzene (abbreviation: OXD-7), 3-(4-biphenylyl)-4-phenyl-5-(4-tert-butylphenyl)-1,2,4-triazole (abbreviation: TAZ), bathophenanthroline (abbreviation: BPhen), bathocuproine (abbreviation: BCP), or the like can also be used.”).
Regarding claim 11, Seo 1 in view of Lim and Seo 2 further discloses wherein the first intermediate layer (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, charge generation layer 1102 and electron injection layer 1115b) comprises
a second organic compound (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, [0091]: “The charge generation layer 108 can be formed using the above composite material [of acceptor and hole transport material of [0068]-[0073]]. The charge generation layer 108 may have a stacked-layer structure including a layer containing the composite material and a layer containing another material. In that case, as the layer containing another material, a layer containing an electron donating substance and a substance with high electron-transport properties . . . can be used.”; [0070]: “As the organic compound that can be used for the composite material, any of the following can be used: aromatic amine compounds such as TDATA, MTDATA, DPAB, DNTPD, DPA3B, PCzPCA1, PCzPCA2, PCzPCN1, 4,4′-bis[N-(1-naphthyl)-N-phenylamino]biphenyl (abbreviation: NPB or α-NPD), N,N′-bis(3-methylphenyl)-N,N′-diphenyl-[1,1′-biphenyl]-4,4′-diamine (abbreviation: TPD), and 4-phenyl-4′-(9-phenylfluoren-9-yl)triphenylamine (abbreviation: BPAFLP), and carbazole derivatives, such as 4,4′-di(N-carbazolyl)biphenyl (abbreviation: CBP), 1,3,5-tris[4-(N-carbazolyl)phenyl]benzene (abbreviation: TCPB), 9-[4-(10-phenyl-9-anthryl)phenyl]-9H-carbazole (abbreviation: CzPA), 9-phenyl-3-[4-(10-phenyl-9-anthryl)phenyl]-9H-carbazole (abbreviation: PCzPA), and 1,4-bis[4-(N-carbazolyl)phenyl]-2,3,5,6-tetraphenylbenzene.”) and
a third organic compound (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, [0091]: “The charge generation layer 108 can be formed using the above composite material [of acceptor and hole transport material of [0068]-[0073]]. The charge generation layer 108 may have a stacked-layer structure including a layer containing the composite material and a layer containing another material. In that case, as the layer containing another material, a layer containing an electron donating substance and a substance with high electron-transport properties . . . can be used.”; [0073]: “Examples of the electron acceptor include organic compounds such as 7,7,8,8-tetracyano-2,3,5,6-tetrafluoroquinodimethane (abbreviation: F4-TCNQ) and chloranil; and transition metal oxides.”),
wherein the second organic compound comprises at least one of an electron rich heteroaromatic ring and aromatic amine (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, [0091]: “The charge generation layer 108 can be formed using the above composite material [of acceptor and hole transport material of [0068]-[0073]]. The charge generation layer 108 may have a stacked-layer structure including a layer containing the composite material and a layer containing another material. In that case, as the layer containing another material, a layer containing an electron donating substance and a substance with high electron-transport properties . . . can be used.”; [0070]: “As the organic compound that can be used for the composite material, any of the following can be used: aromatic amine compounds such as TDATA, MTDATA, DPAB, DNTPD, DPA3B, PCzPCA1, PCzPCA2, PCzPCN1, 4,4′-bis[N-(1-naphthyl)-N-phenylamino]biphenyl (abbreviation: NPB or α-NPD), N,N′-bis(3-methylphenyl)-N,N′-diphenyl-[1,1′-biphenyl]-4,4′-diamine (abbreviation: TPD), and 4-phenyl-4′-(9-phenylfluoren-9-yl)triphenylamine (abbreviation: BPAFLP), and carbazole derivatives, such as 4,4′-di(N-carbazolyl)biphenyl (abbreviation: CBP), 1,3,5-tris[4-(N-carbazolyl)phenyl]benzene (abbreviation: TCPB), 9-[4-(10-phenyl-9-anthryl)phenyl]-9H-carbazole (abbreviation: CzPA), 9-phenyl-3-[4-(10-phenyl-9-anthryl)phenyl]-9H-carbazole (abbreviation: PCzPA), and 1,4-bis[4-(N-carbazolyl)phenyl]-2,3,5,6-tetraphenylbenzene.”),
wherein the second organic compound has a HOMO level in a range greater than or equal to −5.7 eV and less than or equal to −5.3 eV (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, [0091]: “The charge generation layer 108 can be formed using the above composite material [of acceptor and hole transport material of [0068]-[0073]]. The charge generation layer 108 may have a stacked-layer structure including a layer containing the composite material and a layer containing another material. In that case, as the layer containing another material, a layer containing an electron donating substance and a substance with high electron-transport properties . . . can be used.”; [0070]: “As the organic compound that can be used for the composite material, any of the following can be used: aromatic amine compounds such as TDATA, MTDATA, DPAB, DNTPD, DPA3B, PCzPCA1, PCzPCA2, PCzPCN1, 4,4′-bis[N-(1-naphthyl)-N-phenylamino]biphenyl (abbreviation: NPB or α-NPD), N,N′-bis(3-methylphenyl)-N,N′-diphenyl-[1,1′-biphenyl]-4,4′-diamine (abbreviation: TPD), and 4-phenyl-4′-(9-phenylfluoren-9-yl)triphenylamine (abbreviation: BPAFLP), and carbazole derivatives, such as 4,4′-di(N-carbazolyl)biphenyl (abbreviation: CBP), 1,3,5-tris[4-(N-carbazolyl)phenyl]benzene (abbreviation: TCPB), 9-[4-(10-phenyl-9-anthryl)phenyl]-9H-carbazole (abbreviation: CzPA), 9-phenyl-3-[4-(10-phenyl-9-anthryl)phenyl]-9H-carbazole (abbreviation: PCzPA), and 1,4-bis[4-(N-carbazolyl)phenyl]-2,3,5,6-tetraphenylbenzene.”),
wherein the third organic compound comprises fluorine (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, [0091]: “The charge generation layer 108 can be formed using the above composite material [of acceptor and hole transport material of [0068]-[0073]]. The charge generation layer 108 may have a stacked-layer structure including a layer containing the composite material and a layer containing another material. In that case, as the layer containing another material, a layer containing an electron donating substance and a substance with high electron-transport properties . . . can be used.”; [0073]: “Examples of the electron acceptor include organic compounds such as 7,7,8,8-tetracyano-2,3,5,6-tetrafluoroquinodimethane (abbreviation: F4-TCNQ) and chloranil; and transition metal oxides.”),
wherein the third organic compound has a LUMO level less than or equal to −5.0 eV (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, [0091]: “The charge generation layer 108 can be formed using the above composite material [of acceptor and hole transport material of [0068]-[0073]]. The charge generation layer 108 may have a stacked-layer structure including a layer containing the composite material and a layer containing another material. In that case, as the layer containing another material, a layer containing an electron donating substance and a substance with high electron-transport properties . . . can be used.”; [0073]: “Examples of the electron acceptor include organic compounds such as 7,7,8,8-tetracyano-2,3,5,6-tetrafluoroquinodimethane (abbreviation: F4-TCNQ) and chloranil; and transition metal oxides.”), and
wherein the third organic compound has an electron-accepting property with respect to the second organic compound (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, [0091]: “The charge generation layer 108 can be formed using the above composite material [of acceptor and hole transport material of [0068]-[0073]]. The charge generation layer 108 may have a stacked-layer structure including a layer containing the composite material and a layer containing another material. In that case, as the layer containing another material, a layer containing an electron donating substance and a substance with high electron-transport properties . . . can be used.”; [0073]: “Examples of the electron acceptor include organic compounds such as 7,7,8,8-tetracyano-2,3,5,6-tetrafluoroquinodimethane (abbreviation: F4-TCNQ) and chloranil; and transition metal oxides.”).
Regarding claim 12, Seo 1 in view of Lim and Seo 2 further discloses wherein the third organic compound comprises a cyano group (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, [0091]: “The charge generation layer 108 can be formed using the above composite material [of acceptor and hole transport material of [0068]-[0073]]. The charge generation layer 108 may have a stacked-layer structure including a layer containing the composite material and a layer containing another material. In that case, as the layer containing another material, a layer containing an electron donating substance and a substance with high electron-transport properties . . . can be used.”; [0073]: “Examples of the electron acceptor include organic compounds such as 7,7,8,8-tetracyano-2,3,5,6-tetrafluoroquinodimethane (abbreviation: F4-TCNQ) and chloranil; and transition metal oxides.”).
Regarding claim 13, Seo 1 in view of Lim and Seo 2 further discloses wherein the first intermediate layer does not comprise a metal element (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, regarding 1115b, [0089]: “Further alternatively, any of the above substances for forming the electron-transport layer can be used.”; [0091]: “The charge generation layer 108 can be formed using the above composite material [of acceptor and hole transport material of [0068]-[0073]].”; [0073]: “Examples of the electron acceptor include organic compounds such as 7,7,8,8-tetracyano-2,3,5,6-tetrafluoroquinodimethane (abbreviation: F4-TCNQ) and chloranil; and transition metal oxides.”; [0070]: “As the organic compound that can be used for the composite material, any of the following can be used: aromatic amine compounds such as TDATA, MTDATA, DPAB, DNTPD, DPA3B, PCzPCA1, PCzPCA2, PCzPCN1, 4,4′-bis[N-(1-naphthyl)-N-phenylamino]biphenyl (abbreviation: NPB or α-NPD), N,N′-bis(3-methylphenyl)-N,N′-diphenyl-[1,1′-biphenyl]-4,4′-diamine (abbreviation: TPD), and 4-phenyl-4′-(9-phenylfluoren-9-yl)triphenylamine (abbreviation: BPAFLP), and carbazole derivatives, such as 4,4′-di(N-carbazolyl)biphenyl (abbreviation: CBP), 1,3,5-tris[4-(N-carbazolyl)phenyl]benzene (abbreviation: TCPB), 9-[4-(10-phenyl-9-anthryl)phenyl]-9H-carbazole (abbreviation: CzPA), 9-phenyl-3-[4-(10-phenyl-9-anthryl)phenyl]-9H-carbazole (abbreviation: PCzPA), and 1,4-bis[4-(N-carbazolyl)phenyl]-2,3,5,6-tetraphenylbenzene.”).
Regarding claim 14, Seo 1 in view of Lim and Seo 2 further discloses wherein the first intermediate layer (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, depicting an intermediate layer, i.e., charge generation layer 1102 and electron injection layer 1115b, collectively, [0213]) comprises
a fifth layer (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, electron injection layer 1115b) and
a sixth layer (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, charge generation layer 1102),
wherein the fifth layer is interposed between the first layer and the sixth layer (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, depicting wherein the electron injection layer 1115b is interposed between the first layer and the charge generation layer 1102),
wherein the fifth layer comprises a fourth organic compound (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, [0212] disclosing wherein the electron injection layer may comprise CuPc, among other materials), and
wherein the fourth organic compound has a LUMO level in a range greater than or equal to −4.0 eV and less than or equal to −3.3 eV (FIGS. 1A-1B2/6, [0212], disclosing wherein the electron injection layer may comprise CuPc, among other materials).
Regarding claim 15, Seo 1 in view of Lim and Seo 2 further discloses wherein the display apparatus further comprises:
a first functional layer (FIGS. 4A/4B, the portion of the driver circuit areas 401/403 including layers including transistors 424/423, [0157]);
a second functional layer (FIGS. 4A/4B, the portion of the pixel portion 402 including layers including transistors 412a-412c, [0152]); and
a display region (FIGS. 4A/4B, pixel portion 402, [0147]),
wherein the first functional layer comprises a driver circuit (FIGS. 4A/4B, depicting wherein the portion of the driver circuit area 401/403 includes layers includes transistors 424/423 forming a circuit, [0157]),
wherein the driver circuit generates a first image signal (FIGS. 4A/4B, depicting wherein transistors in the driver circuit area 401 generate a first image signal) and a second image signal (FIGS. 4A/4B, depicting wherein transistors in the driver circuit area 401 generate a second image signal),
wherein the second functional layer overlaps with the first functional layer (FIGS. 4A/4B, depicting wherein the portion of the pixel portion 402 including layers including transistors 412a-412c overlaps with the portion of the driver circuit areas 401/403 including layers including transistors 424/423),
wherein the second functional layer comprises a first pixel circuit (FIGS. 4A/4B, depicting wherein the portion of the pixel portion 402 including layers includes transistor 412b forming a first pixel circuit) and a second pixel circuit (FIGS. 4A/4B, depicting wherein the portion of the pixel portion 402 including layers includes transistor 412c forming a second pixel circuit),
wherein the first pixel circuit is supplied with the first image signal (FIGS. 4A/4B, depicting wherein each of the driver circuits 401/403 are electrically connected to each of the transistors 412a and 412b, and thus the transistors 412b and 412c are supplied with the first and second image singals),
wherein the second pixel circuit is supplied with the second image signal (FIGS. 4A/4B, depicting wherein each of the driver circuits 401/403 are electrically connected to each of the transistors 412a and 412b, and thus the transistors 412b and 412c are supplied with the first and second image signals),
wherein the display region comprises a pixel set (FIGS. 4A/4B, depicting wherein the pixel portion 402 includes a plurality of pixels 420a-420c forming a pixel set),
wherein the pixel set comprises a first pixel (FIGS. 4A/4B, pixel 420b, [0152]) and a second pixel (FIGS. 4A/4B, pixel 420c, [0152]),
wherein the first pixel comprises the first light-emitting device and the first pixel circuit (FIGS. 4A/4B, depicting wherein the pixel 420b includes the light-emitting element 418b, which may be the green light emitting device, [0146], and the transistor 412b),
wherein the first light-emitting device is electrically connected to the first pixel circuit (FIGS. 4A/4B, depicting wherein the green light emitting device is electrically connected to the transistor 412b),
wherein the second pixel comprises the second light-emitting device and the second pixel circuit (FIGS. 4A/4B, depicting wherein the pixel 420c includes the light-emitting element 418c, which may be the blue light emitting device, [0146], and the transistor 412c), and
wherein the second light-emitting device is electrically connected to the second pixel circuit (FIGS. 4A/4B, depicting wherein the blue light emitting device is electrically connected to the transistor 412c).
Regarding claim 16, Seo 1 in view of Lim and Seo 2 further discloses:
an arithmetic unit (FIGS. 4A/4B, flexible printed circuit (FPC) 409 which serves as an external input terminal and printed wiring board (PWB), [0148]); and
the display apparatus according to claim 1 (FIG. 1, depicting wherein the light emitting elements of the pixel portion 402 includes the display apparatus of claim 1, [0146]),
wherein the arithmetic unit generates image data (FIGS. 4A/4B, [0148]: “Note that a wiring 408 is a wiring for transmitting signals that are to be inputted to the source side driver circuit 401 and the gate side driver circuit 403, and receives a video signal, a clock signal, a start signal, a reset signal, and the like from a flexible printed circuit (FPC) 409 which serves as an external input terminal.”), and
wherein the display apparatus displays the image data (FIGS. 4A/4B, depicting wherein the FPC is electrically connected to the pixel portion 402 including the display apparatus of claim 1, which is configured to display the image data according to the video signal, a clock signal, a start signal, a reset signal, and the like).
Regarding claim 17, Seo 1 in view of Lim and Seo 2 further discloses:
an arithmetic unit (FIGS. 4A/4B, flexible printed circuit (FPC) 409 which serves as an external input terminal and printed wiring board (PWB), [0148]); and
the display apparatus according to claim 15 (FIGS. 4A/4B, depicting wherein the light emitting elements of the pixel portion 402 includes the display apparatus of claims 1 and 15, [0146]),
wherein the first functional layer comprises the arithmetic unit (FIGS. 4A/4B, depicting wherein the portion of the driver circuit areas 401/403 including layers including transistors 424/423 also includes at least a part of the FPC, e.g., wiring 408),
wherein the arithmetic unit generates image data (FIGS. 4A/4B, [0148]: “Note that a wiring 408 is a wiring for transmitting signals that are to be inputted to the source side driver circuit 401 and the gate side driver circuit 403, and receives a video signal, a clock signal, a start signal, a reset signal, and the like from a flexible printed circuit (FPC) 409 which serves as an external input terminal.”), and
wherein the display apparatus displays the image data (FIGS. 4A/4B, depicting wherein the FPC is electrically connected to the pixel portion 402 including the display apparatus of claim 1, which is configured to display the image data according to the video signal, a clock signal, a start signal, a reset signal, and the like).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM D WEILAND/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813