DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to a Preliminary Amendment filed on 09/07/2023.
Currently, claims 1-17 are examined as below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 09/07/2023. The IDS has been considered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested:
(Marked-Up Version) Display Device Having Higher Image Quality While Emitting No Light
(Clean Version) Display Device Having Higher Image Quality While Emitting No Light
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6, 12-14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Japanese Patent Publication No. 2005062441 A (“JP441”).
Regarding independent claim 1, JP441 in Figs. 1-4 and Annotated Fig. 3 teaches a display device (Figs. 1-4 & ¶ 32, display device), comprising:
a cavity structure 2/3/4 (¶ 32, a collective of board 2, sheet member 3 and frame body 4) including a display surface (Figs. 1-4, ¶ 32, ¶ 34, ¶ 38 & ¶ 48, light emitting surface with light emitted from light emitters 1 displaying characters 10) and a cavity CV (Annotated Fig. 3) in the display surface; and
a light emitter 1 (¶ 32, LED 1 as light-emitting element) in the cavity CV (Annotated Fig. 3),
wherein the display surface includes a first area 3 (¶ 32, sheet member 3) configured to display information (Fig. 1 & ¶ 48) with light emitted from the light emitter 1 in the cavity CV and a second area 4 (¶ 32, frame body 4) adjacent to the first area 3 (Figs. 1-3), and
a ratio of a first brightness of the first area 3 in a non-display state (¶ 37, when the LED 1 is not lit) to a second brightness of the second area 4 is in a predetermined range including 1 (¶ 37, when the LED 1 is not lit, the frame body 4 and the sheet member 3 look like a single wood plate as a whole. In other words, when the LED 1 is not lit, the brightnesses of the areas 3 and 4 are the same (i.e., ratio of 1) such that they look like a single wood plate as a whole).
Regarding claim 4, JP441 in Figs. 1-3 further teaches a ratio of a first hue of the first area 3 in the non-display state to a second hue of the second area 4 is in a predetermined range including 1 (¶ 37, when the LED 1 is not lit, the frame body 4 and the sheet member 3 look like a single wood plate as a whole. In other words, when the LED 1 is not lit, the hues of the areas 3 and 4 are the same (i.e., ratio of 1) such that they look like a single wood plate as a whole).
Regarding claim 6, JP441 in Figs. 1-4 further teaches a ratio of a first chroma of the first area 3 in the non-display state to a second chroma of the second area 4 is in a predetermined range including 1 (¶ 37, when the LED 1 is not lit, the frame body 4 and the sheet member 3 look like a single wood plate as a whole. In other words, when the LED 1 is not lit, the chromas of the areas 3 and 4 are the same (i.e., ratio of 1) such that they look like a single wood plate as a whole).
Regarding claim 12, JP441 in Figs. 1-4 further teaches the display surface is a design surface (Figs. 1-4, ¶ 32, ¶ 34, ¶ 38 & ¶ 48 disclose the display surface is designed to display characters 10 i.e., design surface).
Regarding claim 13, JP441 in Figs. 1-4 further teaches the design surface includes at least one of the group consisting of a patterned part 9 (Fig. 4 & ¶ 36, translucent hole portion 9 is a patterned part) and a text part 10 (Fig. 1, ¶ 38 & ¶ 48, character 10 of “Yamaya” in Japanese as text).
Regarding claim 14, JP441 in Figs. 1-4 and Annotated Fig. 3 further teaches the cavity structure 2/3/4 includes a layered portion 3 (Fig. 4, ¶ 32 & ¶ 36, sheet member 3 includes base material 6, black coating layer 7 and image display layer 8) defining the display surface (Figs. 1-4, ¶ 32, ¶ 34, ¶ 38 & ¶ 48, light emitting surface with light emitted from light emitters 1 displaying characters 10), and the layered portion 3 has a thickness less than half a width WD (Annotated Fig. 3) of an opening CV (Annotated Fig. 3) of the cavity CV (Annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 17, JP441 in Fig. 3 further teaches the first area 3 is surrounded by the second area 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 5, 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP441.
Regarding claim 2, JP441 in Figs. 1-4 teaches S1=S11+S12, where S1 is an area size of the first area 3, S11 is a total area size of an opening 9 (Fig. 4 & ¶ 36, translucent hole portion 9) in the first area 3, and S12 is an area size of the portion of the first area 3 other than the opening 9, V1 is the first brightness (Figs. 1-4 & ¶ 37, the brightness of area 3 when the LED 1 is not lit; see the rejection of claim 1 as noted above), and V2 is the second brightness (Figs. 1-4 & ¶ 37, the brightness of area 4 when the LED 1 is not lit; see the rejection of claim 1 as noted above), and
the predetermined range is 0.8≤V1/V2≤1.2 (¶ 37, the ratio of the first brightness in the non-display state to the second brightness is in a predetermined range including 1, which anticipates the claimed range of 0.8≤V1/V2≤1.2; see the rejection of claim 1 as noted above).
JP441 does not explicitly disclose V1=V11×S11/S1+V12×S12/S1, where V11 is a brightness, defined by a Munsell color system, of an opening of the cavity in the first area in the non-display state, V12 is a brightness of a portion of the first area other than the opening.
However, the ordinary artisan would have recognized “an area size of the first area, a brightness, defined by a Munsell color system, of an opening of the cavity in the first area in the non-display state, a total area size of the opening in the first area, a brightness of a portion of the first area other than the opening, an area size of the portion of the first area other than the opening” to be a result effective variable affecting “the first brightness.” Thus, it would have been obvious to modify the “an area size of the first area, a brightness, defined by a Munsell color system, of an opening of the cavity in the first area in the non-display state, a total area size of the opening in the first area, a brightness of a portion of the first area other than the opening, an area size of the portion of the first area other than the opening” to be within the claimed range [and such that it satisfies the conditions of V1=V11×S11/S1+V12×S12/S1], since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 3, JP441 in Fig. 4 further teaches the opening 9 in the non-display state has the brightness V11 lower than the brightness V12 of the portion of the first area 3 other than the opening 9 (¶ 37, the light transmitting hole portion 9 is part of the inside of the display device which is darker than the outside (i.e., surface of the first area 3) when the LED 1 is not lit).
Regarding claim 5, JP441 in Figs. 1-4 teaches S1=S11+S12, where S1 is an area size of the first area 3, S11 is a total area size of the opening 9 (Fig. 4 & ¶ 36, translucent hole portion 9) in the first area 3, and S12 is an area size of the portion of the first area 3 other than the opening 9, H1 is the first hue (Figs. 1-4 & ¶ 37, the hue of area 3 when the LED 1 is not lit; see the rejection of claim 4 as noted above), and H2 is the second hue (Figs. 1-4 & ¶ 37, the hue of area 4 when the LED 1 is not lit; see the rejection of claim 4 as noted above), and
the predetermined range is 0.8≤H1/H2≤1.2 (¶ 37, the ratio of the first hue in the non-display state to the second hue is in a predetermined range including 1, which anticipates the claimed range of 0.8≤H1/H2≤1.2; see the rejection of claim 4 as noted above).
JP441 does not explicitly disclose H1=H11×S11/S1+H12×S12/S1, where H11 is a hue, defined by a Munsell color system, of an opening of the cavity in the first area in the non-display state, H12 is a hue of a portion of the first area other than the opening.
However, the ordinary artisan would have recognized “an area size of the first area, a hue, defined by a Munsell color system, of an opening of the cavity in the first area in the non-display state, a total area size of the opening in the first area, a hue of a portion of the first area other than the opening, an area size of the portion of the first area other than the opening” to be a result effective variable affecting “the first hue.” Thus, it would have been obvious to modify the “an area size of the first area, a hue, defined by a Munsell color system, of an opening of the cavity in the first area in the non-display state, a total area size of the opening in the first area, a hue of a portion of the first area other than the opening, an area size of the portion of the first area other than the opening” to be within the claimed range [and such that it satisfies the conditions of H1=H11×S11/S1+H12×S12/S1], since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 7, JP441 in Figs. 1-4 teaches S1=S11+S12, where S1 is an area size of the first area 3, S11 is a total area size of the opening 9 (Fig. 4 & ¶ 36, translucent hole portion 9) in the first area 3, and S12 is an area size of the portion of the first area 3 other than the opening 9, C1 is the first chroma (Figs. 1-4 & ¶ 37, the chroma of area 3 when the LED 1 is not lit; see the rejection of claim 6 as noted above), and C2 is the second chroma (Figs. 1-4 & ¶ 37, the hue of area 4 when the LED 1 is not lit; see the rejection of claim 6 as noted above), and
the predetermined range is 0.8≤C1/C2≤1.2 (¶ 37, the ratio of the first chroma in the non-display state to the second chroma is in a predetermined range including 1, which anticipates the claimed range of 0.8≤C1/C2≤1.2; see the rejection of claim 6 as noted above).
JP441 does not explicitly disclose C1=C11×S11/S1+C12×S12/S1, where C11 is a chroma, defined by a Munsell color system, of an opening of the cavity in the first area in the non-display state, C12 is a chroma of a portion of the first area other than the opening.
However, the ordinary artisan would have recognized “an area size of the first area, a chroma, defined by a Munsell color system, of an opening of the cavity in the first area in the non-display state, a total area size of the opening in the first area, a chroma of a portion of the first area other than the opening, an area size of the portion of the first area other than the opening” to be a result effective variable affecting “the first chroma.” Thus, it would have been obvious to modify the “an area size of the first area, a chroma, defined by a Munsell color system, of an opening of the cavity in the first area in the non-display state, a total area size of the opening in the first area, a chroma of a portion of the first area other than the opening, an area size of the portion of the first area other than the opening” to be within the claimed range [and such that it satisfies the conditions of C1=C11×S11/S1+C12×S12/S1], since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 15, JP441 in Annotated Fig. 3 teaches an opening CV (Annotated Fig. 3) of the cavity CV (Annotated Fig. 3).
JP441 does not explicitly disclose the opening of the cavity has a maximum width less than or equal to 85 μm.
However, it would have been obvious to form the maximum width of the opening within the claimed range, since it has been held by the Federal circuit that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. (In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 8-11 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if (i) rewritten in independent form to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims or (ii) the objected claim and any intervening claims are fully incorporated into the base claim.
Claim 8 would be allowable, because the prior art of record, singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other claimed elements in claim 8, wherein the second area includes an optical adjuster corresponding to an opening of the cavity, and the optical adjuster adjusts the second brightness.
Claims 9-11 would be allowable, because they depend from the allowable claim 8.
Claim 16 would be allowable, because the prior art of record, singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other claimed elements in claim 16 the opening is apart from another opening adjacent to the opening at an interval greater than or equal to 85 μm.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2021/0143229 A1 to Feng
/M.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/ELISEO RAMOS FELICIANO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817