Response to Amendment
Claim 15 is canceled. Therefore, the 112 rejection of claim 15 is withdrawn.
Applicant’s response filed on 2/27/2026 regarding the notice of a non-responsive amendment is persuasive and this notice is hereby withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
This application includes one drawing – Fig. 1, reproduced below.
The reference numbers are identified as: electronic substrate 1; circuit board 2; solder part 3; coating film 4; electronic device 5.
The drawings do not show the features of: “the coating agent comprising hollow particles” as recited in claim 18. Instead, Fig. 1 shows the coating film 4 does not comprise hollow particles.
Also, the drawings do not show the features of: “disposing, in a mold, the electronic component on which the coating film is formed and performing injection molding to seal, with a thermoplastic resin, the electronic component on which the coating film is formed” as recited in claim 18. For example, Fig. 1 does not show a mold or thermoplastic resin.
Also, the drawings do not show the features of: “wherein a content of the hollow particles in the region having a thickness of 1/2 of the coating film from the outer surface to the inside of the coating film is larger than a content of the hollow particles in the region having a thickness of 1/2 of the coating film from the inner surface to the outside of the coating film, the inner surface of the coating film being a surface of the coating film on the conductive bonding part side and the outer surface of the coating film being a surface of the coating film on the side opposite from the conductive bonding part side” as recited in claim 20. Instead, Fig. 1 shows the coating film 4 that has a single thickness and does not comprise different regions having a thickness of 1/2 of the coating film 4, or that the coating film 4 comprises hollow particles.
Also, the drawings do not show the features of: “the coating film includes a first layer and a second layer, a content of the hollow particles is less than 1.0 wt% in 100 wt% of the first layer, and a content of the hollow particles is 1.0 wt% or more in 100 wt% of the second layer” as recited in claim 21. Instead, Fig. 1 shows the coating film 4 is a single layer with no hollow particle content.
Also, the drawings do not show the features of: “wherein in the coating film, the first layer is positioned closer to the solder part than the second layer is” as recited in claim 22. Stated differently, Fig. 1 does not show two layers of coating films 4. Instead, Fig. 1 shows the coating film 4 is a single layer.
Also, the drawings do not show the features of: “the hollow particles, . . . when the balloon particles are contained in the coating agent, a content of the balloon particles is 0.5 wt% or more and 50 wt% or less in 100 wt% of the coating agent, and when the porous hollow particles are contained in the coating agent, a content of the porous hollow particles is 5 wt% or more and 40 wt% or less in 100 wt% of the coating agent” as recited in claim 25. Instead, Fig. 1 shows the coating film 4 does not comprise balloon or hollow particles.
Also, the drawings do not show the features of: “the hollow particles include balloon particles and porous hollow particles, a content of the balloon particles is 0.5 wt % or more and 10 wt % or less in 100 wt % of the coating agent, and a content of the porous hollow particles is 5 wt % or more and 40 wt % or less in 100 wt % of the coating agent” as recited in claim 26. Instead, Fig. 1 shows the coating film 4 does not comprise balloon or hollow particles.
Also, the drawings do not show the features of: “wherein the hollow particles have a hollow rate of 40 vol % or more and 99 vol % or less” as recited in claim 27. Instead, Fig. 1 shows the coating film 4 does not comprise hollow particles.
These features of claims 18, 20-22 and 25-28 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-19 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Miller” (US 2014/0345923) in view of “Nall” (US 2007/0121326).
Regarding claim 18, Miller discloses 18. A method for producing an electronic component
module, the method comprising:
a step of preparing an electronic component in which an electronic device is mounted on a
circuit board and the circuit board and the electronic device are electrically connected to each other
by a conductive bonding part (Figs. 1B, 3, [0016], [0020]; the circuit board 140 includes various interconnected circuits that are electrically connected to each other by solder);
a step of disposing a coating agent on a surface of the electronic component to cover at least the conductive bonding part, the coating agent comprising hollow particles and a curable compound curable with ultraviolet rays, heat, or moisture (Figs. 1B, 3, [0016], [0020]; the solder mask 360 is disposed on the surface of the electronic component to cover the solder, the solder mask 360 includes epoxy 365 which is a curable compound curable with ultraviolet rays, heat, or moisture, and the solder mask 360 includes hollow glass micro-ballons 370);
a step of forming a coating film by curing the coating agent (Figs. 1B, 3, [0016], [0020]; the solder mask 360 is a coating film formed by curing the epoxy 365);
and a step of the electronic component on which the coating film is formed, to seal with a thermoplastic resin, the electronic component on which the coating film is formed (Figs. 1B, 3, [0016], [0020]; the solder mask 365 is formed to seal with the epoxy resin, the electronic component on which the coating film is formed).
Miller does not disclose a step of disposing, in a mold, and performing injection molding.
Nall discloses a step of disposing, in a mold, and performing injection molding (Figs. 2A-2C, [0028]-[0029], [0039]; electronic components are disposed in the mold 40, 42 and insert injection molding is performed with the molding material 56 injected into the mold 40, 42).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Miller’s method with Nall’s insert injection molding method in order to reduce the cost, weight, and bulk of the assembly, as suggested by Nall at [0005] and [0008].
Regarding claim 19, Miller in view of Nall discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 18, above.
Miller discloses 19. The method for producing an electronic component module according to claim 18, wherein the conductive bonding part is a solder part (Figs. 1B, 3, [0016], [0020]; the conductive bonding part is a solder part).
Regarding claim 25, Miller in view of Nall discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 18, above.
Miller discloses 25. The method for producing an electronic component module according to claim 18, wherein the hollow particles are balloon particles or porous hollow particles (Fig. 3, [0019]; the solder mask material includes hollow glass micro-ballons),
when the balloon particles are contained in the coating agent, a content of the balloon particles is 0.5 wt% or more and 50 wt% or less in 100 wt% of the coating agent, and when the porous hollow particles are contained in the coating agent, a content of the porous hollow particles is 5 wt% or more and 40 wt% or less in 100 wt% of the coating agent (Fig. 3, [0019]; a content of the hollow glass micro-ballons is 30%).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller in view of Nall and “Yamakido” (JPH07232131).
Regarding claim 24, Miller in view of Nall discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 18, above.
Miller does not disclose the limitations of claim 24.
Yamakido discloses wherein the curable compound has a viscosity at 25°C of 50 mPa·s or more and 3,000 mPa·s or less, wherein a coating agent has a viscosity at 25° C. of 100 mPa·s or more and 30,000 mPa·s or less (Page 3, middle; the curable resin coating compound has a viscosity of 1000 cps or less).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Miller’s method, as modified by Nall, with Yamakido’s particles in order to produce a cured coating film formed on a molded article body made of a synthetic resin, as suggested by Yamakido at Abstract.
Claims 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller in view of Nall and “Ito” (JP2008251500. Examiner’s note: the citations of Ito are based on the English translation).
Regarding claim 26, Miller in view of Nall discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 25, above.
Miller discloses wherein the hollow particles include balloon particles (Fig. 3, [0019]; the solder mask material includes hollow glass micro-ballons).
Miller does not disclose the hollow particles include balloon particles and porous hollow particles, a content of the balloon particles is 0.5 wt % or more and 10 wt % or less in 100 wt % of the coating agent, and a content of the porous hollow particles is 5 wt % or more and 40 wt % or less in 100 wt % of the coating agent.
Ito discloses the hollow particles include balloon particles and porous hollow particles, a content of the balloon particles is 0.5 wt % or more and 10 wt % or less in 100 wt % of the coating agent, and a content of the porous hollow particles is 5 wt % or more and 40 wt % or less in 100 wt % of the coating agent (page 4, top; the fillers 5 and 6 have a mass ratio of 10:90 to 70:30 with respect to the binder, and the ratio of the fillers 5 and 6 are blended at a mass ratio of 1:9 to 9:1. Therefore, the fillers 5 and 6 can have a mass ratio of 40% with filler 5 at 4% and filler 6 at 36%).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Miller’s method, as modified by Nall, with Ito’s particles in order to produce a coating agent with high reliability, as suggested by Ito at Abstract.
Regarding claim 27, Miller in view of Nall discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 18, above.
Miller does not disclose the limitations of claim 27.
Ito discloses wherein the hollow particles have a hollow rate of 40 vol % or more and 99 vol % or less (Page 5, bottom; the hollow silica fine particles have a hollow rate of 60%).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Miller’s method, as modified by Nall, with Ito’s particles in order to produce a coating agent with high reliability, as suggested by Ito at Abstract.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller in view of Nall and “Nakamura” (JP2011075786. Examiner’s note: the citations of Nakamura are based on the English translation).
Regarding claim 28, Miller in view of Nall discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 18, above.
Miller does not disclose the limitations of claim 28.
Nakamura discloses wherein the hollow particles contain polyacrylonitrile or an acrylic resin (Page 2, top; the hollow particles are acrylic and epoxy compounds).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Miller’s method, as modified by Nall, with Nakamura’s particles in order to produce a cured composition material superior in heat resistant crack and workability, as suggested by Nakamura at Abstract.
Claims 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller in view of Nall and “Wu” (US 2021/0195814).
Regarding claim 29, Miller in view of Nall discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 18, above.
Miller does not disclose the limitations of claim 29.
Wu discloses 10. The coating agent according to claim 4, wherein the curable compound includes a first curable compound curable with ultraviolet rays ([0028]; the epoxy compound is photo-curable using ultraviolet rays).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Miller’s method, as modified by Nall, with Wu’s photo-curable epoxy in order to have an advantage of being environmentally friendly without traditional drying where volatile solvents evaporate into the immediate environment, as suggested by Wu at [0028].
Regarding claim 30, Miller in view of Nall and Wu discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 29, above.
Miller does not disclose the limitations of claim 30.
Wu discloses wherein the first curable compound is curable with ultraviolet rays and curable with heat or moisture ([0028]; the epoxy compound is curable with ultraviolet rays and with heat or moisture).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if the drawings objections (see above) are cured.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STANLEY TSO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847