DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-5, 7 and 12-15 in the reply filed on 1/21/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5,7 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Yao et al, “A novel glycidyl methacrylate-based monolith with sub-micron skeletons and well-defined macropores,” 770 | J. Mater. Chem., 2009, 19, 767–772, in view of MARUTA (US 2020/0054967)
Yao teaches GMA-EDMA monolith with Pluronic 127 bonded thereon. The formula 1 by applicant’s own admission, is commercially available as Pluronic including F127 (Spec., [0027].) See the abstract and the experimental details of the reference. While the reference does not say whether the bond is through an -OH group, it would have been inherent because the reactive group in Pluronic is -OH. The l, m and n values are as claimed in Pluronic F127. Id.
Yao teaches that the resulting monolith is highly porous (100-1000nm) and the morphology of its porosity can be tailored by varying Pluronic F127. Particle size of a molecule of weight 1,000,000 is about 100 nm (google search). Therefore, claim 5 is anticipated.
Yao fails to teach the range of concentration of the monomers as recited.
Maruta teaches chromatographic beads from block copolymer of similar monomers with the monomer mol% range close to but slightly overlapping range of 70-95% and 5-30% respectively – see [0041]-[0042]. Maruta also teaches that the actual mol% can be optimized to obtain the desired balance of hydrophilicity and mechanical strength. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the teaching of Maruta in the teaching of Yao for the organic polymer carrier.
Claims 7 and 12-15: the monolith is described as a chromatography medium and is tested for it in an HPLC system. Therefore these claims are at the least made obvious if not anticipated.
Claim(s) 1-5,7 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Zhang et al., “Preparation of a Novel Glycidyl Methacrylate-Based Monolith and Its Application for the Determination of m-Nisoldipine in Human Plasma,” Journal of Chromatographic Science, Vol. 48, July 2010, in view of MARUTA (US 2020/0054967)
Zhang teaches the chromatographic medium and use in HPLC columns as claimed from GMA, EDMA and Pluronic F68. The F68 binding to the monolith through -OH group is inherent. The molecular weight limit in claim 5 is optimizable as needed as shown in rejection 1 above. F68 would meet the l, m and n values because applicant cites this as one of the compound of formula 1.
Regarding the mol% of the monomers in the copolymer, see Maruta, as described in rejection1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KRISHNAN S MENON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777