DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 10, 2025, regarding claims 8 and 19, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 2-3, Applicant argues, “The Office Action states that Park '504 discloses the claimed subject matter of claims 8 and 19, including that the DU obtains a report with a layer 3 measurement from the UE and performs an action that depends on the layer 3 measurement in the report only when the measurement ID of the report is associated with the DU.
Applicant respectfully submits that Park '504 does not disclose "obtaining a report with a layer 3 measurement from the UE" by the DU as recited by claim 8, nor does it disclose the DU "perform[ing] an action that depends on the layer 3 measurement in the report only when the measurement ID of the report is associated with the DU" as recited by both claims 8 and 19. Instead, Park '504 teaches that "the base station CU may receive, from the wireless device via the first base station DU, a measurement report comprising one or more measurement results of at least one cell of the second base station DU." Park '504, paragraph [0366]. This portion of Park '504 describes the CU receiving measurement reports from the UE via the DU, not the DU obtaining the report directly from the UE as required by the claims.
The cited paragraphs in Park '504 describe coordination of power control parameters between the CU and DUs for multiple DU connections, but do not teach the DU independently obtaining layer 3 measurement reports from the UE and making autonomous decisions about whether to act based on measurement ID association with the DU. Park '504 describes that "the base station CU may determine a base station DU addition to establish multiple DU connections with the second base station DU for the wireless device based on the measurement report." Park '504, paragraph [0367]. This portion of Park '504 describes the CU making decisions based on measurement reports and then coordinating with DUs, rather than the DU independently obtaining reports and acting based on measurement ID association.
The claimed feature of "performing an action that depends on the layer 3 measurement in the report only when the measurement ID of the report is associated with the DU" as recited by claims 8 and 19 means, in other words, that the DU makes an independent determination about measurement ID association before acting. Park '504 does not disclose this conditional action based on measurement ID association with the DU. Park '504 teaches coordination mechanisms where "the base station CU may send, to the first base station DU based on the measurement report, a first message indicating a base station DU addition for the wireless device." Park '504, paragraph [0383]. This describes CU-initiated coordination based on measurement reports received by the CU, not DU-initiated actions based on measurement reports obtained directly by the DU.
Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that Park '504 fails to anticipate the claimed subject matter of claims 8 and 19, which recite that the DU obtains measurement reports from the UE and performs actions conditionally based on measurement ID association with the DU. Applicant respectfully requests that the rejection of claims 8 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 be withdrawn.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the above arguments. First, the Examiner respectfully submits that the claim does not say that the UE directly obtaining reporting the measurement. However, Park 504’ also describes that a UE transmits measurement report including measurement parameters (such as cell identifier, RSRP/RSRQ values) to CU through a second DU (e.g. paragraph [0365]-[0366]). That is, the UE directly transmits the measurement report to second DU. As per the argument regarding the second limitation that the DU performing an action depending on the measurement report only when the measurement ID of the report is associated with the DU, it is clear that the DU receives the measurement report including such as cell identifier, RSRP/RSRQ value (which in this case associated with the DU, if not, the DU would have been received it). DU further forwards the measurement report including the measurement parameters or elements to the CU, and transmitting or forwarding the measurement report is taking or performing an action.
Furthermore, the Examiner respectfully submits that, even though through CU, a first/second DU receives the measurement report including the measurement parameters from UE and determines a first power coordination parameters for multiple DU connection of the UE based on a first message including the measurement parameters or elements forwarded from the CU (and this is simply performing an action based on the measurement parameters or elements associated with the first/second DU) (paragraph [0367]-[0370]; [0389]; [0399]-[0400]; and so on).
Therefore, the arguments regarding claims 8 and 19 are not persuasive in view of Park ‘504 and the above brief response.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to claims 1, 16-17, and 22, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of 1-7, 16-17, and 22 has been withdrawn. However, the Applicant need to file terminal disclaimer for the double patenting rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, 16-17, and 22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7, 9, 11-12, and 14-15, respectively of copending Application No. 18/281,131. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are the same as the claims of the copending application except the performing, at the DU, an action (in the copending application) … is when the measurement ID of the report is one of the measurement IDs in the second subset instead of the first subset associated with the CU. However, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the performing, at the DU, an action … is when the measurement ID of the report is one of the measurement IDs in the second subset instead of the first subset associated with the CU as the DU can directly access, the measurement ID reported by the UE, by DU in order to improve securing of user data and the communication.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8, 12-15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2021/0112504 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Park ‘504 discloses a method for handling layer 3 measurements of a user equipment, UE, the method being performed by a distributed unit, DU, of an access network node, the DU being operatively connected to a CU of the access network node (e.g. figs. 20-28), the method comprising: obtaining a report with a layer 3 measurement from the UE, the report having a measurement ID (fig. 20; paragraph [0365]-[0367]; [0370]; [0372]-[0373; [0376]; [0378]-[0379]; [0383]; [0388]-[0389]; and so on, illustrating DU receives RRC layer measurement report including ID or parameter from UE); and performing an action that depends on the layer 3 measurement in the report only when the measurement ID of the report is associated with the DU (paragraph [0366]-[0392]; [0396]; [0397]-[0401]; and etc., the DU performs action based on measurement report when the received ID or parameter associated with the DU or parameter or ID of a cell of the DU).
Regarding claim 19, Park ‘504 discloses a distributed unit, DU, of an access network node for handling layer 3 measurements of a user equipment, UE, the DU being operatively connected to a central unit, CU, of the access network node (e.g. figs. 20-28), the DU comprising processing circuitry, the processing circuitry being configured to cause the DU (paragraph [0393]; [0407]; and etc.) to: obtain a report with a layer 3 measurement from the UE, the report having a measurement ID (paragraph [0148]; [0167]; [0366]-[0367]; [0370]; [0376]; [0378]-[0379]; [0383]; [0389]; [0396]; [0399]-[0400]; and so on); and perform an action that depends on the layer 3 measurement in the report only when the measurement ID of the report is associated with the DU (figs. 22-24; paragraph [0366]-[0367]; [0370]; [0376]; [0378]-[0379]; [0383]; [0389]; [0396]; [0399]-[0400]; [0366]-[0392]; [0396]; [0397]-[0401]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 12, Park ‘504 discloses wherein the method further comprises: forwarding the report to the CU when the measurement ID of the report is not associated with the DU (figs. 20-21, paragraph [0365]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 13, Park ‘504 discloses wherein the report is forwarded to the DU from the CU (figs. 20-22, 24; and so on).
Regarding claim 14, Park ‘504 discloses wherein the method further comprises: providing a request to the CU for the DU to perform the action (paragraph [0371]-[0373]; [0376]; [0378]-[0379]; [0383]; [0385]-[0390]; [00392]-[0394]; [0397]-[0401]; and so on).
Regarding claim 15, Park ‘504 discloses wherein the method further comprises: providing an indication to the CU that the DU has performed the action (figs. 20-24; paragraph [0371]-[0373]; [0376]; [0378]-[0379]; [0383]; [0385]-[0390]; [00392]-[0394]; [0397]-[0401]; and so on).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIBROM T HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461