DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/21/23 and 11/2/23 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ho et al., KR 10-2020-0082491.
Regarding claim 1, Ho teaches a display apparatus (Figure 4) comprising: a first light-emitting device (P1); a second light-emitting device (P2); a first insulating layer (125); a second insulating layer (127); a first coloring layer (CF1); and a second coloring layer (CF2), wherein the first light-emitting device comprises a first pixel electrode (121), a first light- emitting layer over the first pixel electrode (131-133), and a common electrode (140) over the first light- emitting layer, wherein the second light-emitting device comprises a second pixel electrode (122), a second light-emitting layer over the second pixel electrode (131-133), and the common electrode (140) over the second light-emitting layer, wherein an end portion of the first pixel electrode and an end portion of the second pixel electrode are covered with the first insulating layer (125, see Figure 4)), wherein the second insulating layer (127) is over the first insulating layer (see Figure 4), wherein the second insulating layer covers side surfaces of the first light-emitting layer and the second light-emitting layer (131-133), wherein the first coloring layer is placed to overlap with the first light-emitting device (CF1 over P1 light emitting device, Figure 4), wherein the second coloring layer is placed to overlap with the second light- emitting device (CF2 is over P2 light emitting device, Figure 4), wherein the first light-emitting device and the second light-emitting device are configured to emit white light ([0061, 0065, 0069]), and wherein the first coloring layer and the second coloring layer are configured to transmit visible light of different colors ([0089]).
Regarding claim 3, Ho teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 and further teaches the first light-emitting device comprises a common layer (130) between the first light-emitting layer and the common electrode ([0061]), wherein the second light-emitting device comprises the common layer between the second light-emitting layer and the common electrode (131-133), and wherein the common layer comprises at least one of a hole-injection layer, a hole-inhibition layer, a hole-transport layer, an electron-transport layer, an electron- inhibition layer, and an electron-injection layer (133, [0106]).
Regarding claim 4, Ho teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 and further teaches the first light-emitting layer and the second light-emitting layer comprise the same material ([0065 and 0069]).
Regarding claim 5, Ho teaches (at least in Figure 4) a display apparatus comprising: a first light-emitting device (in P1, Figure 4); a second light-emitting device (in P2, Figure 4); a first insulating layer (125); a second insulating layer (127); a first coloring layer (CF1); and a second coloring layer (CF2), wherein the first light-emitting device comprises a first pixel electrode (121), a first light- emitting unit over the first pixel electrode (131-133), a first charge-generation layer over the first light-emitting unit (id), a second light-emitting unit over the first charge-generation layer (id), and a common electrode (140) over the second light-emitting unit, wherein the second light-emitting device comprises a second pixel electrode (122), a third light-emitting unit over the second pixel electrode (131-133), a second charge-generation layer over the third light-emitting unit (id), a fourth light-emitting unit over the second charge- generation layer (id), and the common electrode (140) over the fourth light-emitting unit, wherein an end portion of the first pixel electrode and an end portion of the second pixel electrode are covered with the first insulating layer (125), wherein the second insulating layer (127) is over the first insulating layer, wherein the second insulating layer covers side surfaces of the first pixel electrode (see Figure 4), the second pixel electrode, the first charge-generation layer, and the second charge-generation layer, wherein the first coloring layer (CF1) is placed to overlap with the first light-emitting device, wherein the second coloring layer (CF2) is placed to overlap with the second light- emitting device, wherein the first light-emitting device and the second light-emitting device are configured to emit white light ([0061, 0065, 0069]), and wherein the first coloring layer and the second coloring layer are configured to transmit visible light of different colors ([0089]).
Regarding claim 7, Ho teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 5 and further teaches the first light-emitting device comprises a common layer between the second light-emitting unit and the common electrode (130 including 131-133), wherein the second light-emitting device comprises the common layer (130) between the fourth light-emitting unit and the common electrode, and wherein the common layer comprises at least one of a hole-injection layer, a hole-inhibition layer, a hole-transport layer, an electron-transport layer, an electron- inhibition layer, and an electron-injection layer ([0106])).
Regarding claim 8, Ho teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 5 and further teaches the first light-emitting unit and the third light-emitting unit comprise the same material ([0065 and 0069]), wherein the first charge-generation layer and the second charge-generation layer comprise the same material (131-133), and wherein the second light-emitting unit and the fourth light-emitting unit comprise the same material ([0065 and 0069]).
Regarding claim 9, Ho teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 and further teaches at least one of a connector and an integrated circuit ([0023] integrated circuit).
Regarding claim 10, Ho teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 9 and further teaches at least one of a housing, a battery, a camera, a speaker, and a microphone (Figure 11a, housing).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 6, 16 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11-15, 18 and 19 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach or suggest a third insulating layer, wherein the second insulating layer comprises an inorganic material and the third insulating layer comprises an organic material and overlaps the first insulating layer and the side surfaces of the first light emitting layer and the second light emitting layer with the second insulating layer therebetween.
Further, the prior art fails to teach or suggest forming a first insulating film covering at least a top surface of the first insulating layer, a side surface of the second layer, a side surface of the third layer, a side surface and a top surface of the second sacrificial layer, and a side surface and a top surface of the third sacrificial layer, in conjunction with the remaining limitations of the independent claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hirano et al., US 6120338 teaches a first insulating layer covering the end surfaces of the pixel electrode and a second insulating layer covering the side surfaces of the EL layer.
MARY ELLEN BOWMAN
Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/MARY ELLEN BOWMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875