Claims 1-22,29, and 35 are pending.
Claims 23-28, 30-34, and 36-41 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6,9,15,16,18,22,29, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as He et al, US 20210176659 A1, in view of Alireza et al, US 20230284291 A1.
Regarding claim 1, He discloses a method of reporting a queueing delay of data available for transmission at a user equipment (UE) to a network node of a radio access network (RAN) providing radio access to the UE([0096] In some examples, the UE 115-a maybe configured to report additional quality of service attributes (such as, queueing delay) using either an enhanced buffer status report or a flow-based buffer status report. ), the method comprising:
the UE transmitting a control message from the UE control messages to the network node, one or more of the control messages being indicative of the queueing delay of the data available for the transmission at the UE([0096] The UE 115-a maybe configured to report additional quality of service attributes (such as, queueing delay) using either an enhanced buffer status report or a flow-based buffer status report. In some examples, the UE 115-a may receive an uplink grant 205from the base station 105-a, based on transmitting the flow-based buffer status report. The UE 115-a may transmit the uplink data based on receiving the uplink grant 205.),
and the UE receiving a scheduling grant depending on the queueing delay from the network node, the scheduling grant being indicative of a radio resource for the transmission of the available data([0080] The UE may receive an uplink grant from the base station, in response to transmitting a buffer status report per logical channel group. After receiving the grant for an uplink resource (i.e., indicated by an uplink grant), the UE may allocate the resource among logical channels (e.g., logical channel having data in its buffer) based on one or more scheduling priorities.).
He does not disclose wherein transmitting the control messages comprises:the UE transmitting a first scheduling request (SR) on a first SR radio resource out of a first set of SR radio resources; and the UE transmitting a second SR on a second SR radio resource out of a second set of SR radio resources;
However, Alireza does disclose wherein transmitting the control messages comprises:the UE transmitting a first scheduling request (SR) on a first SR radio resource out of a first set of SR radio resources([0251] In an example, the configuration parameters may comprise parameters for a first scheduling requests (SR) uplink radio resources and a second scheduling requests (SR) uplink radio resources. In an example, the first SR and the second SR may be configured with different configuration indices. The wireless device may start a first SR process on the first SR uplink resources after data becomes available for one or more first logical channels.);
and the UE transmitting a second SR on a second SR radio resource out of a second set of SR radio resources([0251] In an example, the configuration parameters may comprise parameters for a first scheduling requests (SR) uplink radio resources and a second scheduling requests (SR) uplink radio resources. In an example, the first SR and the second SR may be configured with different configuration indices. The wireless device may start a second SR process on the second SR uplink resources after data becomes available for one or more second logical channels. The wireless device may start a second SR process on the second SR uplink resources after data becomes available for one or more second logical channels. The wireless device may transmit the one or more TBs employing the radio resource indicated by the uplink grant.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of He with the method wherein transmitting the control messages comprises:the UE transmitting a first scheduling request (SR) on a first SR radio resource out of a first set of SR radio resources; and the UE transmitting a second SR on a second SR radio resource out of a second set of SR radio resources as taught by Alireza. The motivation for doing SO would be to improve the SR mechanism when multiple SR resources of a base station are configured for a wireless device. (Alireza, [0223])
Regarding claim 2, He discloses the method wherein the queueing delay relates to uplink, UL, data available at the UE for the transmission to the network node or to sidelink, SL, data available at the UE for the transmission to another UE ([0096] In some examples, the UE 115-a maybe configured to report additional quality of service attributes (such as, queueing delay) using either an enhanced buffer status report or a flow-based buffer status report. In some examples, the UE 115-a may receive an uplink grant 205from the base station 105-a, based on transmitting the flow-based buffer status report. The UE 115-a may transmit the uplink data based on receiving the uplink grant 205.).
Regarding claim 3, He discloses the method wherein the queueing delay is indicated in terms of slots or transmission time intervals, TTIs, of the RAN ([0071] [0096] For example, communications over a carrier may be organized according to TTIs or slots, each of which may include user data as well as control information or signaling to support decoding the user data. In some examples, the UE 115-a maybe configured to report additional quality of service attributes (such as, queueing delay) using either an enhanced buffer status report or a flow based buffer status report. In some examples, the UE 115-a may receive an uplink grant 205 from the base station 105-a, based on transmitting the flow-based buffer status report. ).
Regarding claim 4, He does not disclose the method wherein the first SR and/or the second SR is indicative of the queueing delay of the available data per logical channel (LCH) or per LCH group.
However, Alireza does disclose the method wherein the first SR and/or the second SR is indicative of the queueing delay of the available data per logical channel (LCH) or per LCH group([0192] In an example, the SR may be triggered in response to one or more events. In an example, the one or more events may comprise data becoming available for one or more logical channels and/or logical channel groups.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of He with the method the method wherein the first SR and/or the second SR is indicative of the queueing delay of the available data per logical channel (LCH) or per LCH group as taught by Alireza. The motivation for doing SO would be to improve the SR mechanism when multiple SR resources of a base station are configured for a wireless device. (Alireza, [0223])
Regarding claim 5, He does disclose the method wherein the transmitting of the control messages further comprises transmitting: a control protocol data unit (PDU) of a protocol layer in a protocol stack for the radio access in the RAN [[0134] In some cases, the signal indicating one or more thresholds includes at least one of a MAC control element, a radio resource control message, or a service data adaptation protocol data unit.);
a radio resource control information element (IE) ([0112] In some examples, the UE115-c may signal the flow-based buffer status report using one or more of a MAC control element, a radio resource control message (e.g., an information element in UE Assistance Information.);
a control PDU of a service data adaptation protocol ([0110] The signal indicating the one or more thresholds may include at least one of a MAC control element, a radio resource control message, or a service data adaptation protocol data unit.);
a control PDU of a packet data convergence protocol ([0112] In some examples, the UE115-c may signal the flow-based buffer status report using one or more of a MAC control element, a radio resource control message (e.g., an information element in UE Assistance Information), or a service data adaptation protocol data unit.);
a control PDU of a radio link control layer ([0042] A Radio Link Control (RLC) layer may perform packet segmentation and reassembly to communicate over logical channels.);
a medium access control element ([0112] In some examples, the UE 115-c may signal the flow-based buffer status report using one or more of a MAC control element, a radio resource control message (e.g., an information element in UE Assistance Information), or a service data adaptation protocol data unit.);
a signaling of a physical layer or an uplink control information ([0086] a protocol stack for a UE and a network device (or base station) may include three layers: Layer 1, Layer 2, and Layer 3. Layer 1 may be the lowest layer and implements various physical layer signal processing functions (such as, monitoring, controlling, or otherwise managing aspects of the wireless transmissions over a wireless medium).);
and/or an uplink message in a random access procedure or in a random access channel (optional element citation not required ).
Regarding claim 6, He discloses the method wherein the transmitting of the control messages further comprises transmitting: a buffer status report ([0096] transmitting an enhanced buffer status report or a flow-based buffer status report).
Regarding claim 9, He does not disclose the method wherein the first SR and/or the second SR comprises a flag or a field that is indicative of the queueing delay.
However, Alireza does disclose the method wherein the first SR and/or the second SR comprises a flag or a field that is indicative of the queueing delay([0260] The MAC entity may delay triggering of a SR in response to the wireless device not having an uplink grant. The delay in triggering the SR may be due to the wireless device (e.g., the logical channel configured for the wireless device) being configured with semi-persistent scheduling grants and/or grant-free transmissions.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of He with the method the method wherein the first SR and/or the second SR comprises a flag or a field that is indicative of the queueing delay as taught by Alireza. The motivation for doing SO would be to improve the SR mechanism when multiple SR resources of a base station are configured for a wireless device. (Alireza, [0223])
Regarding claim 15, He does disclose the method wherein the control messages are transmitted periodically([0092] In one or more examples, the UE 115-a may be triggered to transmit the buffer status report including the buffer status of the first quality of service flow by a periodic buffer status timer.).
Regarding claim 16, He does disclose the method wherein the transmitting of the control messages is triggered by the event of the data for a LCH which belongs to an LCG becomes available to a MAC entity of the UE ([0093] In some examples, the UE 115-a may signal the flow-based buffer status report using one or more of a MAC control element, a radio resource control message (e.g., an information element in UE Assistance Information), or a service data adaptation protocol data unit. The flow-based buffer status report may be performed independently from the existing buffer status reporting procedures.).
Regarding claim 18, He does disclose the method wherein the transmitting of the control messages is triggered by receiving a request for the reporting of the queueing delay from the network node ([0096] [0098] In some examples, the UE115-a may be configured to report additional quality of service attributes (such as, queueing delay) using either an enhanced buffer status report or a flow-based buffer status report. In some examples, the UE115-a may receive an uplinkgrant205from the base station 105-a, based on transmitting the flow-based buffer status report. In some cases, the one or more thresholds for triggering remapping maybe different from the one or more thresholds triggering flow-based buffer status report. ).
Regarding claim 22, He does disclose a method of scheduling a user equipment (UE) depending on a queueing delay of data available for transmission at the UE, the method being performed by a network node of a radio access network (RAN) providing radio access to the UE ([0096] In some examples, the UE115-a maybe configured to report additional quality of service attributes (such as, queueing delay) using either an enhanced buffer status report or a flow-based buffer status report. ), the method comprising:
receiving a control message from the UE at the network node, the control message being indicative of the queueing delay of the data available for transmission at the UE ([0096] The UE 115-a may be configured to report, to a base station, additional quality of service attributes (such as, queueing delay) using either an enhanced buffer status report or a flow based buffer status report. In some examples, the UE 115-a may receive an uplink grant 205from the base station 105-a, based on transmitting the flow-based buffer status report. The UE 115-a may transmit the uplink data based on receiving the uplink grant 205),
and transmitting a scheduling grant depending on the queueing delay to the UE, the scheduling grant being indicative of a radio resource for the transmission of the available data ([0080] The UE may receive an uplink grant from the base station, in response to transmitting a buffer status report per logical channel group. After receiving the grant for an uplink resource (i.e., indicated by an uplink grant), the UE may allocate the resource among logical channels (e.g., logical channel having data in its buffer) based on one or more scheduling priorities.).
He does not disclose wherein the receiving of the control message comprises receiving, from the UE, a first scheduling request (SR) on a first SR radio resource out of a first set of SR radio resources and a second SR on a second SR radio resource out of a second set of SR radio resources;
However, Alireza does disclose wherein the receiving of the control message comprises receiving, from the UE, a first scheduling request (SR) on a first SR radio resource out of a first set of SR radio resources and a second SR on a second SR radio resource out of a second set of SR radio resources([0251] In an example, the configuration parameters may comprise parameters for a first scheduling requests (SR) uplink radio resources and a second scheduling requests (SR) uplink radio resources. In an example, the first SR and the second SR may be configured with different configuration indices. The wireless device may start a first SR process on the first SR uplink resources after data becomes available for one or more first logical channels. The wireless device may start a second SR process on the second SR uplink resources after data becomes available for one or more second logical channels. The wireless device may start a first SR process on the first SR uplink resources after data becomes available for one or more first logical channels. The wireless device may start a second SR process on the second SR uplink resources after data becomes available for one or more second logical channels. The wireless device may transmit the one or more TBs employing the radio resource indicated by the uplink grant.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of He with the method wherein transmitting the control messages comprises:the UE transmitting a first scheduling request (SR) on a first SR radio resource out of a first set of SR radio resources; and the UE transmitting a second SR on a second SR radio resource out of a second set of SR radio resources as taught by Alireza. The motivation for doing SO would be to improve the SR mechanism when multiple SR resources of a base station are configured for a wireless device. (Alireza, [0223])
Regarding claim 29, He does disclose a user equipment (UE) for reporting a queueing delay of data available for transmission at the UE to a base station of a radio access network (RAN) providing radio access to the UE, the UE being configured to communicate with the base station and comprising a radio interface and processing circuitry configured to ([0096] In some examples, the UE 115-a maybe configured to report additional quality of service attributes (such as, queueing delay) using either an enhanced buffer status report or a flow-based buffer status report. ):
transmit control messages to the base station, one or more of the control messages being indicative of the queueing delay of the data available for the transmission at the UE ([0096] The UE 115-a maybe configured to report additional quality of service attributes (such as, queueing delay) using either an enhanced buffer status report or a flow-based buffer status report. In some examples, the UE 115-a may receive an uplink grant205from the base station 105-a, based on transmitting the flow-based buffer status report. The UE 115-a may transmit the uplink data based on receiving the uplink grant 205),
and receive a scheduling grant depending on the queueing delay from the base station, the scheduling grant being indicative of a radio resource for the transmission of the available data ([0080] The UE may receive an uplink grant from the base station, in response to transmitting a buffer status report per logical channel group. After receiving the grant for an uplink resource (i.e., indicated by an uplink grant), the UE may allocate the resource among logical channels (e.g., logical channel having data in its buffer) based on one or more scheduling priorities.).
He does not disclose wherein the transmitting of the control messages comprises transmitting a first scheduling request (SR) on a first SR radio resource out of a first set of SR radio resources and transmitting a second SR on a second SR radio resource out of a second set of SR radio resources.
However, Alireza does disclose wherein the transmitting of the control messages comprises transmitting a first scheduling request (SR) on a first SR radio resource out of a first set of SR radio resources and transmitting a second SR on a second SR radio resource out of a second set of SR radio resources([0251] In an example, the configuration parameters may comprise parameters for a first scheduling requests (SR) uplink radio resources and a second scheduling requests (SR) uplink radio resources. In an example, the first SR and the second SR may be configured with different configuration indices. The wireless device may start a first SR process on the first SR uplink resources after data becomes available for one or more first logical channels. The wireless device may start a second SR process on the second SR uplink resources after data becomes available for one or more second logical channels. The wireless device may start a first SR process on the first SR uplink resources after data becomes available for one or more first logical channels. The wireless device may start a second SR process on the second SR uplink resources after data becomes available for one or more second logical channels. The wireless device may transmit the one or more TBs employing the radio resource indicated by the uplink grant.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of He with the method wherein transmitting the control messages comprises:the UE transmitting a first scheduling request (SR) on a first SR radio resource out of a first set of SR radio resources; and the UE transmitting a second SR on a second SR radio resource out of a second set of SR radio resources as taught by Alireza. The motivation for doing SO would be to improve the SR mechanism when multiple SR resources of a base station are configured for a wireless device. (Alireza, [0223])
Regarding claim 35, He does disclose a base station for scheduling a user equipment, (UE) depending on a queueing delay of data available for transmission at the UE, the base station being configured to communicate with the UE and comprising a radio interface and processing circuitry configured to([0096] In some examples, the UE 115-a may be configured to report, to a base station, additional quality of service attributes (such as, queueing delay) using either an enhanced buffer status report or a flow-based buffer status report. ):
receive a control message from the UE at the network node, the control message being indicative of the queueing delay of the data available for transmission at the UE([0096] The UE115-a may be configured to report additional quality of service attributes (such as, queueing delay) using either an enhanced buffer status report or a flow-based buffer status report. In some examples, the UE 115-a may receive an uplink grant 205from the base station 105-a, based on transmitting the flow-based buffer status report. The UE 115-a may transmit the uplink data based on receiving the uplink grant 205),
and transmit a scheduling grant depending on the queueing delay to the UE, the scheduling grant being indicative of a radio resource for the transmission of the available data([0080] The UE may receive an uplink grant from the base station, in response to transmitting a buffer status report per logical channel group. After receiving the grant for an uplink resource (i.e., indicated by an uplink grant), the UE may allocate the resource among logical channels (e.g., logical channel having data in its buffer) based on one or more scheduling priorities.).
He does not disclose wherein the receiving of the control message comprises receiving, from the UE, a first scheduling request (SR) on a first SR radio resource out of a first set of SR radio resources and a second SR on a second SR radio resource out of a second set of SR radio resources;
However, Alireza does disclose wherein the receiving of the control message comprises receiving, from the UE, a first scheduling request (SR) on a first SR radio resource out of a first set of SR radio resources and a second SR on a second SR radio resource out of a second set of SR radio resources([0251] In an example, the configuration parameters may comprise parameters for a first scheduling requests (SR) uplink radio resources and a second scheduling requests (SR) uplink radio resources. In an example, the first SR and the second SR may be configured with different configuration indices. The wireless device may start a first SR process on the first SR uplink resources after data becomes available for one or more first logical channels. The wireless device may start a second SR process on the second SR uplink resources after data becomes available for one or more second logical channels. The wireless device may start a first SR process on the first SR uplink resources after data becomes available for one or more first logical channels. The wireless device may start a second SR process on the second SR uplink resources after data becomes available for one or more second logical channels. The wireless device may transmit the one or more TBs employing the radio resource indicated by the uplink grant.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of He with the method wherein transmitting the control messages comprises:the UE transmitting a first scheduling request (SR) on a first SR radio resource out of a first set of SR radio resources; and the UE transmitting a second SR on a second SR radio resource out of a second set of SR radio resources as taught by Alireza. The motivation for doing SO would be to improve the SR mechanism when multiple SR resources of a base station are configured for a wireless device. (Alireza, [0223])
Claims 7,10,11,17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as He et al, US 20210176659 A1, in view of Alireza et al, US 20230284291 A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Babaei et al, US 20180270699 A1.
Regarding claim 7, He and Alireza do not disclose the method of wherein the UE performs a 4-step random access procedure, and the transmitting of the control messages further comprises transmitting a third message (Msg3) of the random access procedure, which is indicative of the queueing delay of the data available for the transmission at the UE, or wherein the UE performs a 2-step random access procedure, and the transmitting of the control messages further comprises transmitting a message A (MsgA) of the random access procedure, which is indicative of the queueing delay of the data available for the transmission at the UE.
However, Babaei does discloses the method of wherein the UE performs a 4-step random access procedure, and the transmitting of the control messages further comprises transmitting a third message (Msg3) of the random access procedure, which is indicative of the queueing delay of the data available for the transmission at the UE ([0145] [0172] In an example, a wireless device in an RRC inactive state may select a cell to perform a random access procedure to resume an RRC connection and/or to transmit one or more packets to a base station (e.g. to a network). A random access procedure may be performed with two messages (e.g. 2 stage random access) and/or four messages (e.g. 4 stage random access) between the wireless device and the base station. In an example, a UE with delay-critical service and small packets may be configured with multi-bits SR to indicate the buffer size. The network/gNB may schedule a grant with proper size so that all data can be transmitted in one round of signaling. ),
or wherein the UE performs a 2-step random access procedure, and the transmitting of the control messages further comprises transmitting a message A (MsgA) of the random access procedure, which is indicative of the queueing delay of the data available for the transmission at the UE (optional element no citation is needed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of He and Alireza with the method wherein the UE performs a 4-step random access procedure, and the transmitting of the control message comprises transmitting a third message, (Msg3) of the random access procedure, which is indicative of the queueing delay of the data available for the transmission at the UE, or wherein the UE performs a 2-step random access procedure, and the transmitting of the control message comprises transmitting a message A, (MsA) of the random access procedure, which is indicative of the queueing delay of the data available for the transmission at the UE as taught by Babaei. The motivation for doing so would be to improve performance of a wireless network. (Babaei, [0147]).
Regarding claim 10, He and Alireza do not disclose the method wherein each of the SR radio resources in the second set corresponds to a different value or range of the queueing delay and/or a selection of the second SR radio resource out of the second set is indicative of the queueing delay.
However, Babaei does disclose the method wherein each of the SR radio resources in the second set corresponds to a different value or range of the queueing delay and/or a selection of the second SR radio resource out of the second set is indicative of the queueing delay ([0172] In an example, a UE with delay-critical service and small packets may be configured with multi-bits SR to indicate the buffer size. In an example, a mapping maybe configured between the size of SR and the type of services required by the UE. In an example, using SR and/or BSR and/or a combination of SR and BSR, the network/gNB may allocate a suitable TTI/transmission duration/numerology for the services the UE requests. In an example, for a type of service, a different value of the SR may indicate different buffer size of the service.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of He and Alireza with the method wherein the transmitting of the control message comprises transmitting, from the UE, a first SR on a first scheduling request (SR) radio resource out of a first set of SR radio resources and a second SR on a second SR radio resource out of a second set of SR radio resources, and each of the SR radio resources in the second set corresponds to a different value or range of the queueing delay, and/or a selection of the second SR radio resource out of the second set is indicative of the queueing delay as taught by Babaei. The motivation for doing so would be to improve performance of a wireless network. (Babaei, [0147]).
Regarding claim 11, He and Alireza do not disclose the method wherein the transmitting of the control messages further comprises transmitting, from the UE, a buffer status report (BSR) on a BSR radio resource out of a set of BSR radio resources, and each of the BSR radio resources in the set corresponds to a different value or range of the queueing delay and/or a selection of the BSR radio resource out of the set is indicative of the queueing delay.
However, Babaei does disclose the method wherein the transmitting of the control messages further comprises transmitting, from the UE, a buffer status report (BSR) on a BSR radio resource out of a set of BSR radio resources, and each of the BSR radio resources in the set corresponds to a different value or range of the queueing delay and/or a selection of the BSR radio resource out of the set is indicative of the queueing delay ([0172] In an example, for one or more the services (e.g., with high data rate such as eMBB), a combination of SR and BSR may be used. In an example, a UE with delay-critical service and small packets may be configured with multi-bits SR to indicate the buffer size. In an example, using SR and/or BSR and/or a combination of SR and BSR, the network/gNB may allocate a suitable TTI/transmission duration/numerology for the services the UE requests. In an example, for a type of service, a different value of the SR may indicate different buffer size of the service.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of He and Alireza with the method wherein the transmitting of the control messages further comprises transmitting, from the UE, a buffer status report (BSR) on a BSR radio resource out of a set of BSR radio resources, and each of the BSR radio resources in the set corresponds to a different value or range of the queueing delay and/or a selection of the BSR radio resource out of the set is indicative of the queueing delay as taught by Babaei. The motivation for doing so would be to improve performance of a wireless network. (Babaei, [0147]).
Regarding claim 17, He and Alireza do not disclose the method wherein the transmitting of the control messages is triggered by at least one of the events of: at least one LCH or LCG contains the data available for the transmission, which has not been scheduled with any scheduling grant over a configured time period, wherein the configured time period is different for different LCHs or LCGs, or the configured time period is the function of the priority of the LCH or the LCG; the available data belongs to a LCH a priority of which is greater than a configured priority threshold; the available data comprises multiple data packets in a queue at the UE and the queueing delay of at least one of data packets in the queue is greater than a configured time period; or a time elapsed between a last transmission of the control message and availability of the data is greater than a configured threshold.
However, Babaei does disclose the method wherein the transmitting of the control messages is triggered by at least one of the events of: at least one LCH or LCG contains the data available for the transmission, which has not been scheduled with any scheduling grant over a configured time period, wherein the configured time period is different for different LCHs or LCGs, or the configured time period is the function of the priority of the LCH or the LCG ([0165] In an example, SR may indicate the type of LCG with available data, and/or the amount of available data associated with the LCG. In an example, by indicating the amount of available data associated with the LCG that needs grant at the UE, gNB may provide suitable grant size on the preferred numerology/TTI duration/transmission duration to the UE. In an example, to avoid the delay caused by BSR grant allocation, grant-free transmission of BSR without sending an SR maybe supported.);
the available data belongs to a LCH a priority of which is greater than a configured priority threshold (no citation is required for this limitation);
the available data comprises multiple data packets in a queue at the UE and the queueing delay of at least one of data packets in the queue is greater than a configured time period (no citation is required for this limitation);
or a time elapsed between a last transmission of the control message and availability of the data is greater than a configured threshold (no citation is required for this limitation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of He and Alireza with the method wherein the transmitting of the control message is triggered by at least one of the events of: at least one LCH or LCG contains the data available for the transmission, which has not been scheduled with any scheduling grant over a configured time period, wherein the configured time period is different for different LCHs or LCGs, or the configured time period is the function of the priority of the LCH or the LCG; the available data belongs to a LCH a priority of which is greater than a configured priority threshold; the available data comprises multiple data packets in a queue at the UE and the queueing delay of at least one of data packets in the queue is greater than a configured time period; and or a time elapsed between a last transmission of the control message and availability of the data is greater than a configured threshold as taught by Babaei. The motivation for doing so would be to improve performance of a wireless network. (Babaei, [0147]).
Regarding claim 19, He and Alireza do not disclose the method further comprising or initiating: receiving a dynamic scheduling grant for the control message, wherein the control messages are transmitted on a radio resource indicated in the dynamic scheduling grant, the radio resource indicated in the dynamic scheduling grant is on a physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH, of the RAN.
However, Babaei does disclose the method further comprising or initiating: receiving a dynamic scheduling grant for the control message, wherein the control messages are transmitted on a radio resource indicated in the dynamic scheduling grant, the radio resource indicated in the dynamic scheduling grant is on a physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH, of the RAN ([[0143] [0161] [0164] In an example, an anchor base station may broadcast a message (e.g. RAN paging message) to base stations of an RNA to reach to a wireless device in an RRC inactive state, and/or the base stations receiving the message from the anchor base station may broadcast and/or multicast another message (e.g. paging message) to wireless devices in their coverage area, cell coverage area, and/or beam coverage area associated with the RNA through an air interface. In an example, the gNB MAC may dynamically schedule physical layer resources for the downlink and the uplink. In an example, considering the traffic volume and the QoS requirements of a UE and associated radio bearers, gNB scheduler may assign resources. In an example, if SR resources are not configured for the UE, the UE may initiate a Random Access procedure in order to receive a scheduling grant in uplink. In LTE, SR may comprise one bit of information and may indicate that the UE needs an uplink grant.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of He and Alireza with the method further comprising or initiating: receiving a dynamic scheduling grant for the control message, wherein the control message is transmitted on a radio resource indicated in the dynamic scheduling grant, the radio resource indicated in the dynamic scheduling grant is on a physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH, of the RAN as taught by Babaei. The motivation for doing so would be to improve performance of a wireless network. (Babaei, [0147]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as He et al, US 20210176659 A1, in view of Alireza et al, US 20230284291 A1 as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Han et al, US 20210289558 A1, in further view of Hu et al, US 20230131188 A1.
Regarding claim 8, He and Alireza do not disclose the method wherein the transmitting of the control messages further comprises transmitting a random access preamble (RAP) from the UE in a Random Access Channel (RACH) occasion (RO) out of a set of ROs, each of the ROs in the set corresponding to a different value or range of the queueing delay,
However, Han does disclose the method wherein the transmitting of the control messages further comprises transmitting a random access preamble (RAP) from the UE in a Random Access Channel (RACH) occasion (RO) out of a set of ROs, each of the ROs in the set corresponding to a different value or range of the queueing delay ([0081] [0101] In some examples, the random access configuration may indicate time and frequency resources for ROs (the term RO maybe used interchangeably with RACH occasion or PRACH occasion herein)for the UE to use to transmit a random access preamble. At 315, UE 115-b may determine, for each SSB of the plurality of SSBs, a received power and a value of one or more additional parameters for random access occasion selection. The UE 115-b determining, for each SSB, a received power and a value of one or more additional parameters for random access occasion selection may improve the selection of Ros for transmitting a first message (e.g., message 1 or message A) of the random access procedure (e.g., four-step or two-step random access procedure), increases reliability and reduces latency.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of He and Alireza with the method wherein the transmitting of the control message comprises transmitting a random access preamble (RAP} from UE in a Random Access Channel (RACH) occasion, (RO) out of a set of ROs, each of the ROs in the set corresponding to a different value or range of the queueing delay as taught by Han. The motivation for doing SO would be to improve the selection of PRACH occasions for transmitting a PRACH. (Han, [0003]).
He, Alireza, and Han do not disclose and wherein a selection of the RO out of the set for the transmission is indicative of the queueing delay.
However, Hu does disclose and wherein a selection of the RO out of the set for the transmission is indicative of the queueing delay ([0081] Optionally, in some embodiments, the network configures the UE with a set of candidate SSBs, a set of random access preamble resources and random access occasion (RACH Occasion, or RO) resources. The network device can estimate a transmission delay between the network device and the terminal device according to the preamble).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of He, Alireza, and Han with and wherein a selection of the RO out of the set for the transmission is indicative of the queueing delay as taught by Hu. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce the signaling overhead. (Hu, [0098]).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as He et al, US 20210176659 A1, in view of Alireza et al, US 20230284291 A1, in view of Babaei et al, US 20180270699 A1 as applied to claim 11 above, and in further view of Shih et al, US 20200008218 A1.
Regarding claim 12, He, Alireza, and Babaei do not disclose the method wherein the transmitting of the control messages further comprises transmitting at least one of the second SR and the BSR earlier than or prior to transmitting the first SR.
However, Shih does disclose the method wherein the transmitting of the control messages further comprises transmitting at least one of the second SR and the BSR earlier than or prior to transmitting the first SR ([0149] In some examples, prior to receiving the first BSR from the child node, the IAB-node may receive a second SR associated with a second SR configuration from the child node. The first SR and/or the first SR configuration may be triggered and/or generated based upon the second SR and/or the second SR configuration.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of He, Alireza, and Babaei with the method wherein the transmitting of the control messages further comprises transmitting at least one of the second SR and the BSR earlier than or prior to transmitting the first SR as taught by Shih. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the signal-to-noise ratio of forward links for the different access terminals 116 and 122. (Shih, [0039]).
Regarding claim 13, He, Alireza, and Babaei do not disclose the method wherein the first and second SRs have the same time duration and fully overlap in time, or the first and second SRs have different time durations and partially overlap in time.
However, Shih does disclose the method wherein the first and second SRs have the same time duration and fully overlap in time, or the first and second SRs have different time durations and partially overlap in time ([0149] In some examples, prior to receiving the first BSR from the child node, the IAB-node may receive a second SR associated with a second SR configuration from the child node. The first SR and/or the first SR configuration may be triggered and/or generated based upon the second SR and/or the second SR configuration.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of He, Alireza, and Babaei with the method wherein the first and second SRs have the same time duration and fully overlap in time, or the first and second SRs have different time durations and partially overlap in time as taught by Shih. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the signal-to-noise ratio of forward links for the different access terminals 116 and 122. (Shih, [0039]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as He et al, US 20210176659 A1, in view of Alireza et al, US 20230284291 A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Gao et al, US 20210014854 A1.
Regarding claim 14, He and Alireza do not disclose the method of wherein the transmission of the first SR temporally overlaps with the transmission of the second SR, and the UE splits a transmission power, which is used by the UE for exclusively transmitting at least one of the first SR and the second SR outside of the temporal overlap, for simultaneously transmitting the first SR and the second SR during the temporal overlap.
However, Gao does disclose the method of wherein the transmission of the first SR temporally overlaps with the transmission of the second SR ([0071] the at least two second transmission resources that overlap with the first transmission resource in the time domain may be transmission resources for multiple transmissions of the same type of second uplink control information.),
and the UE splits a transmission power, which is used by the UE for exclusively transmitting at least one of the first SR and the second SR outside of the temporal overlap, for simultaneously transmitting the first SR and the second SR during the temporal overlap ([0071] It is to be noted that, the at least two second transmission resources that overlap with the first transmission resource in the time domain may be transmission resources for multiple transmissions of the same type of second uplink control information. The second transmission resources may be multiple SR transmission opportunities according to the same SR configuration (corresponding to the same period) (e.g., when a short period is configured.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of He and Alireza with the method wherein the transmission of the first SR temporally overlaps with the transmission of the second SR, and UE splits a transmission power, which is used by the UE for exclusively transmitting at least one of the first SR and the second SR outside of the temporal overlap, for simultaneously transmitting the first SR and the second SR during the temporal overlap as taught by Gao. The motivation for doing so would be to provide a definite uplink control information transmitting method capable of ensuring normal operation of the system. (Gao, [0040]).
Claims 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as He et al, US 20210176659 A1, in view of Alireza et al, US 20230284291 A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Jeon et al, US 20210167930 A1.
Regarding claim 20, He and Alireza do not disclose the method further comprising: receiving a configured grant (CG) for the first SR, wherein the first SR is transmitted on a radio resource granted according to the CG, the radio resource granted according to the CG is on a physical uplink shared channel, of the RAN.
However, Jeon does disclose the method further comprising: receiving a configured grant (CG) for the first SR, wherein the first SR is transmitted on a radio resource granted according to the CG, the radio resource granted according to the CG is on a physical uplink shared channel, of the RAN ([0512] [0542] a base station may employ one or more preamble sequences that may be transmitted together with the PUSCH data. The base station may transmit control message(s) (e.g., RRC, MAC CE, and/or DCI) to a wireless to configure and/or activate a second configured grant on the new UL BWP.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of He with the method further comprising: receiving a configured grant (CG) for the first SR, wherein the first SR is transmitted on a radio resource granted according to the CG, the radio resource granted according to the CG is on a physical uplink shared channel, of the RAN as taught by Jeon. The motivation for doing so would be to improve battery or power consumption of the wireless device. (Jeon, [0238]).
Regarding claim 21, He and Alireza do not disclose the method wherein the radio resource granted according to the CG is shared among multiple radio devices served by the RAN.
However, Jeon does disclose the method wherein the radio resource granted according to the CG is shared among multiple radio devices served by the RAN ([0542] May impact an UL transmission on one or more radio resources associated with the at least one configured grant.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of He with the method wherein the radio resource granted according to the CG is shared among multiple radio devices served by the RAN as taught by Jeon. The motivation for doing so would be to improve battery or power consumption of the wireless device. (Jeon, [0238]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYA TEON NELSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419