DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-5, 8-9, 11 and 19-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 and its dependents are directed to a product (“power conversion device”) and as such are limited by structure. Claims 1-5, 8-9, 11 and 19-20 include functional language for performing an action (i.e. “…the driving circuit controls a voltage…”, “…temperature sensors measure the temperatures…”, “…driving circuit stores a control information map…”, “…the driving circuit heats the semiconductor element…”, etc.). Since these are functional limitations, they do not particularly limit the structure of the claimed product.
The Examiner suggests the following amendments to more clearly define the claimed product and corresponding structure.
Claim 1. A power conversion device comprising:
a plurality of semiconductor elements;
one or a plurality of temperature sensors;
a sealing material sealing the semiconductor elements; and
a driving circuit for the plurality of semiconductor elements, wherein the one or plurality of temperature sensors measures a temperature of either or both of the plurality of semiconductor elements and the sealing material, and
on the basis of temperature information measured by the one or plurality of temperature sensors, the driving circuit is configured to control a voltage steepness or a voltage crest value to be applied to each of the plurality of semiconductor elements, individually, or is configured to control the voltage steepnesses or the voltage crest values to be applied to the plurality of semiconductor elements, using a common value.
Claim 2. The power conversion device according to claim 1, comprising a plurality of semiconductor modules each including the semiconductor element, the temperature sensor, and the sealing material, wherein the plurality of temperature sensors measure the temperatures of either or both of the plurality of semiconductor elements and the plurality of sealing materials, and on the basis of the temperature information about each temperature measured by the plurality of temperature sensors, the driving circuit configured to control the voltage steepness or the voltage crest value to be applied to each of the plurality of semiconductor elements, individually, or configured to control the voltage steepnesses or the voltage crest values to be applied to the plurality of semiconductor elements, using a common value.
Claim 3. The power conversion device according to claim 1, comprising a semiconductor module including the plurality of the semiconductor elements, the one or plurality of the temperature sensors, and the sealing material sealing the plurality of semiconductor elements., wherein the one or plurality of temperature sensors configured to measure the temperatures of either or both of the plurality of semiconductor elements and the sealing material, and on the basis of the temperature information about each temperature measured by the one or plurality of temperature sensors, the driving circuit configured to control the voltage steepness or the voltage crest value to be applied to each of the plurality of semiconductor elements, individually, or configured to control the voltage steepnesses or the voltage crest values to be applied to the plurality of semiconductor elements, using a common value.
Claim 4. (Currently Amended) The power conversion device according to claim 1, wherein when the temperature measured by the temperature sensor has decreased, the driving circuit configured to decrease the voltage steepness or the voltage crest value to be applied to the semiconductor element, and when the temperature measured by the temperature sensor has increased, the driving circuit configured to increase the voltage steepness or the voltage crest value to be applied to the semiconductor element.
Claim 5. (Currently Amended) The power conversion device according to claim 1,wherein the driving circuit includes a storage means configured to store a control information map representing a relationship among withstand voltage at an interface between the semiconductor element and the sealing material, the voltage steepness, and the temperature of either or both of the semiconductor element and the sealing material, and the driving circuit configured to select the voltage steepness or the voltage crest value to be applied to the semiconductor element, on the basis of the control information map.
Claim 8. The power conversion device according to claim 1, further comprising a heat source, wherein when the temperature information is lower than a steady temperature during driving of the semiconductor element, the driving circuit is configured to heat the semiconductor element and the sealing material, using the heat source.
Claim 9. The power conversion device according to claim 7, further comprising a heat source, wherein when the temperature information is lower than a steady temperature during driving of the semiconductor element, the driving circuit is configured to heat the semiconductor element and the sealing material, using the heat source.
Claim 11. The power conversion device according to claim 9, wherein a heat dissipation material is joined to the metal plate via a joining material, and the heat source is provided outside the heat dissipation material and the sealing material, and is configured to heat the semiconductor element and the sealing material via the metal plate, the heat dissipation material, and the joining material.
Claim 19. The power conversion device according to claim 2, wherein when the temperature information has decreased, the driving circuit is configured to decrease the voltage steepness or the voltage crest value to be applied to the semiconductor element, and when the temperature information has increased, the driving circuit configured to increase the voltage steepness or the voltage crest value to be applied to the semiconductor element.
Claim 20. The power conversion device according to claim 2, wherein the driving circuit includes a storage means configured to store a control information map representing a relationship among withstand voltage at an interface between the semiconductor element and the sealing material, the voltage steepness, and the temperature of either or both of the semiconductor element and the sealing material, and the driving circuit configured to select the voltage steepness or the voltage crest value to be applied to the semiconductor element, on the basis of the control information map.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a plurality of semiconductor modules, does not reasonably provide enablement for the plurality of semiconductor modules each including the semiconductor element, the temperature sensor, and the sealing material. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Claim 2 recites the semiconductor element, the temperature sensor, and the sealing material in singular form, and recites semiconductor modules in plural form. Claim 2 depends on claim 1, which recites a plurality of semiconductor element elements, one or a plurality of temperature sensor sensors, and a (single) sealing material (emphasis added). As such, claim 2 requires a plurality of semiconductors modules to each comprise (share) a single semiconductor element, a single temperature sensor, and a single sealing material.
Fig. 17 and ¶¶ 0086-0095 of the instant specification provide support for an embodiment (embodiment 9) including a plurality of semiconductor modules (SMA, SMB), each including a respective semiconductor element (2A, 2B), a respective temperature sensor (3aA, 3aB), and a respective sealing material (4A, 4B). Other embodiments, such as figs. 21-27 (embodiments 10-14), provide support for a plurality of semiconductor elements (2A, 2B), one or a plurality of temperature sensors (3e/3f/3g, or 3aA and 3aB), and a single sealing resin (4). However, these embodiments do not appear to include a plurality of semiconductor modules. Therefore, the disclosed embodiments do not provide support for the power conversion device as recited in claim 2.
For the purposes of compact prosecution, the Examiner has interpreted claim 2 to mean:
Claim 2. (Currently Amended) The power conversion device according to claim 1, comprising a plurality of semiconductor modules each including [[the]] a semiconductor element of the plurality of semiconductor elements, [[the]] a temperature sensor of the one or plurality of temperature sensors, and a portion of the sealing material.
Claims 4, 8-11, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4, 8-9, 11 and 15 each recite the phrase “when the temperature measured by the temperature sensor has decreased”, “…has increased”, “…is lower than a steady temperature” and “…has not changed”. ¶ 0041 of the instant specification indicates that these temperature changes or conditional, and may or may not occur. For example, ¶ 0041 discloses:
[0041] The control process in FIG. 6 includes step 31 (S31) to step 34 (S34) described below.
In a temperature information acquisition step of step 31 (S31), temperature information for the semiconductor element 2 and the sealing material 4 measured by the temperature sensor 3a is acquired.
In a temperature change determination step of step 32 (S32), whether the temperature acquired in the temperature information acquisition step of step 31 (S31) has increased or decreased from the previous temperature, is determined. As a result of determination in step 32 (S32), if the temperature has increased beyond a predetermined range, the process proceeds to step 33 (S33), and if the temperature has become smaller or decreased, the process proceeds to step 34 (S34). If the temperature change is within the predetermined range, it is determined that the temperature is not changed, and the process is ended.
In a control value increase step of step 33 (S33), the voltage steepness or the voltage crest value to be applied to the semiconductor element 2 is increased from the previous value before temperature increase. In a control value decrease step of step 34 (S34), the voltage steepness or the voltage crest value to be applied to the semiconductor element 2 is decreased from the previous value before temperature decrease.
Therefore, the method disclosed by the Applicant merely includes conditional limitations (if/whether the temperature of the device under operation changes or remains steady). The conditions required to operate the device invoking the temperature change, or even the ‘predetermined temperature range’ values required to determine if a temperature change has occurred, are not disclosed.
The term “when” as used in claims 4, 8-9, 11 and 15 appears to correlate to the terms “whether” and “if” as used in the instant specification, and as such represent conditional limitations. These claims do not recite or clearly define operating conditions, or temperature ranges, which would be required to interpret whether the observed temperatures are changing. Accordingly, 4, 8-9, 11 and 15 are indefinite in scope.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 10 recites that the heat source is provided in the semiconductor element, or sealed in the sealing material, or provided outside the semiconductor element and the sealing material. Since this appears to provide all possible configurations for the heat source (i.e. sealed within or not sealed within the sealing material), claim 10 fails to further limit the claim on which it depends, and therefore does not meet the requirements of 35 USC § 112(d).
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 10, 12, 15, 19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2021/0111105 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a power conversion device (¶ 0026, figs. 1A-1C: 10) comprising:
a plurality of semiconductor elements (¶ 0029: 12, 14, 41, 43 and/or 46);
one or a plurality of temperature sensors (¶ 0063: 10 includes at least one temperature sensing function);
a sealing material (¶ 0026: mold compound 80) sealing the semiconductor elements (fig. 1B: 80 seals 12, 14, 41, 43 and/or 46); and
a driving circuit (¶ 0027: circuitry including control die 16) for the plurality of semiconductor elements (¶ 0063: 16 provides control for at least one of 12, 14, 41, 43 and/or 46),
wherein the one or plurality of temperature sensors measure a temperature of either or both of the plurality of semiconductor elements and the sealing material (¶ 0063: temperature of die 12, 14 or package 10 measured and/or sensed), and
on the basis of temperature information measured by the one or plurality of temperature sensors, the driving circuit controls a voltage steepness or a voltage crest value to be applied to each of the plurality of semiconductor elements, individually, or controls the voltage steepnesses or the voltage crest values to be applied to the plurality of semiconductor elements, using a common value (¶ 0063: temperature sensing provided to controller 16 which results in adjustment of voltage inputs of die 12, 14. Such an adjustment includes voltage magnitudes, thereby meeting the broadest reasonable interpretation of ‘voltage steepnesses’ or ‘voltage crest values’).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches the power conversion device according to claim 1, comprising a plurality of semiconductor modules (¶ 0004) each including the semiconductor element, the temperature sensor, and the sealing material (¶ 0082, figs. 1A-1C: in at least one embodiment, module including at least one of 12, 14, 41, 43 and 46, a temperature sensor, and mold compound 80 is configured as an array of packages on common substrate 20).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches the power conversion device according to claim 1, comprising a semiconductor module (¶ 0004) including the plurality of the semiconductor elements, the one or plurality of the temperature sensors, and the sealing material sealing the plurality of semiconductor elements (¶ 0082, figs. 1A-1C: in at least one embodiment, 10 includes a module comprising at least one of 12, 14, 41, 43 and 46, a temperature sensor, and mold compound 80).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches the power conversion device according to claim 1, wherein the temperature sensor is provided in the semiconductor element or sealed in the sealing material (¶ 0063, fig. 1B: temperature sensing incorporated into 16, and/or sealed in mold compound 80).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches the power conversion device according to claim 1, further comprising a metal plate (¶ 0040: 25) with the semiconductor element joined to one surface of the metal plate (fig. 1B: temperature sensor incorporated in 16 at least indirectly joined to surface of 25),
wherein the temperature sensor is sealed in the sealing material (¶¶ 0040, 0063 & fig. 1B temperature sensing element of 16 sealed in 80) and is joined to the surface of the metal plate at which the semiconductor element is joined or a surface of the metal plate opposite to the surface at which the semiconductor element is joined (figs. 1A, 1B: temperature sensing element of 16 and semiconductor element(s) 12, 14, 41, 43 and/or 46 at least indirectly joined to top surface of 25).
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches the power conversion device according to claim 8, wherein the heat source is provided in the semiconductor element, or sealed in the sealing material, or provided outside the semiconductor element and the sealing material (¶ 0053: temperature sensing may be incorporated into 16 and/or sealed in 80).
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches a power conversion device control method (¶ 0004) performed using a power conversion device (figs. 1A-1C: 10) including a plurality of semiconductor elements (12, 14, 41, 43 and/or 46), one or a plurality of temperature sensor sensors (¶ 0063), a sealing material (80) sealing the semiconductor elements (fig. 1B), and a driving circuit (16) for the plurality of semiconductor elements (¶ 0029), the method comprising:
a temperature measurement step of measuring a temperature of either or both of the plurality of semiconductor elements and the sealing material by the one or plurality of temperature sensor sensors (¶ 0063: temperature sensing for semiconductor dies 12, 14 or package 10);
a control value selection step of selecting a voltage steepness or a voltage crest value to be applied to the plurality of semiconductor elements, on the basis of temperature information measured by the one or plurality of temperature sensor sensors (¶ 0063: over-temperature protection includes determining a voltage adjustment provided to at least 12 and/or 14. Such an adjustment includes voltage magnitudes, thereby meeting the broadest reasonable interpretation of ‘voltage steepnesses’ or ‘voltage crest values’);
a control value adjustment step of adjusting the voltage steepness or the voltage crest value to be applied to the plurality of semiconductor elements, to the selected voltage steepness or voltage crest value (¶ 0063: determined voltage adjustment applied to at least 12 and/or 14); and
in the control value selection step, and the control value adjustment step, the process is performed for the voltage steepness or the voltage crest value to be applied to each of the plurality of semiconductor elements, as an individual value, or the process is performed for the voltage steepnesses or the voltage crest values to be applied to the plurality of semiconductor elements, as a common value (¶ 0063: voltage adjustment provided to 12 and 14 individually and/or collectively).
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches the power conversion device control method according to claim 12, wherein the power conversion device includes a heat source (¶ 0025: 0025: 10 configured to generate heat), the method further comprises a heating step after the control value adjustment step, in the control value selection step,
when the temperature information has increased from a previous temperature, the voltage steepness or the voltage crest value is increased,
when the temperature information has decreased from a previous temperature, the voltage steepness or the voltage crest value is decreased, and
when the temperature information has not changed from a previous temperature, the voltage steepness or the voltage crest value is kept without being changed (Kim implicitly teaches at least one embodiment where the temperature and voltage values are unchanged), and
in the heating step, on the basis of the temperature information measured by the temperature sensor,
when the temperature measured by the temperature sensor is lower than a steady temperature during driving of the semiconductor element, the semiconductor element and the sealing material are heated.
The Examiner note that the limitations “when the temperature information has increased from a previous temperature”, “when the temperature information has decreased from a previous temperature”, and “when the temperature measured by the temperature sensor is lower than a steady temperature” are conditional limitation, and are only invoked when certain thermal conditions are satisfied. Conditional limitations are inherently optional, and/or are only relevant when certain external conditions are met. Accordingly, these limitations do not explicitly limit the claimed method and are not given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 19, Kim teaches the power conversion device according to claim 2, wherein when the temperature measured by the temperature sensor has decreased, the driving circuit decreases the voltage steepness or the voltage crest value to be applied to the semiconductor element, and when the temperature measured by the temperature sensor has increased, the driving circuit increases the voltage steepness or the voltage crest value to be applied to the semiconductor element.
Regarding claim 21, Kim teaches the power conversion device according to claim 2, wherein the temperature sensor is provided in the semiconductor element or sealed in the sealing material (¶ 0063, figs. 1A-1C: temperature sensing element incorporated into 16 and/or sealed by 80).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2014/0184312 A1, hereinafter referenced as ‘Kim-312’).
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches the power conversion device according to claim 1, comprising a temperature measured by the temperature sensor (¶ 0063). Kim further teaches maintaining/regulating a temperature of the device (¶ 0021).
Kim is silent to wherein
when the temperature measured by the temperature sensor has decreased, the driving circuit configured to decreases the voltage steepness or the voltage crest value to be applied to the semiconductor element, and
when the temperature measured by the temperature sensor has increased, the driving circuit configured to increases the voltage steepness or the voltage crest value to be applied to the semiconductor element.
Kim-312 teaches power conversion device (figs. 1A-1B among others) including components and/or circuits configured to adjust voltage supplied to a control circuit based on a temperature measured by a temperature sensor (¶¶ 0042, 0075, 0083-0084: processing unit 153 configured to change operating speed of a semiconductor chip based on a signal from a temperature measurement device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the device of Kim to include the temperature control of Kim-312, as a means to improve reliability by reducing malfunctions, reducing operation interruptions, reducing data loss, and maintaining data processing speed at a desired (and/or reliable) level (Kim-312, ¶ 0075).
Furthermore, said artisan would recognize that the power adjustment of Kim-312 would implicitly include changing voltage magnitude, such that the limitations
“when the temperature measured by the temperature sensor has decreased, the driving circuit configured to decreases the voltage steepness or the voltage crest value to be applied to the semiconductor element”, and “when the temperature measured by the temperature sensor has increased, the driving circuit configured to increases the voltage steepness or the voltage crest value to be applied to the semiconductor element” are met.
Regarding claims 8-9, Kim teaches the power conversion device according to claims 1 and 7, configured to regulate heat (¶¶ 0021, 0040 among others).
Kim does not teach the power conversion device further comprising a heat source, wherein when the temperature measured by the temperature sensor is lower than a steady temperature during driving of the semiconductor element, the driving circuit heats the semiconductor element and the sealing material, using the heat source.
Kim-312 teaches power conversion device (figs. 1A-1B among others) including a heat source (¶ 0083: 159), components and/or circuits configured to adjust voltage supplied to a control circuit based on a temperature measured by a temperature sensor (¶¶ 0042, 0075, 0083-0084: processing unit 153 controls the semiconductor chip 150 and adjusts an operation speed of 159 when the temperature of the semiconductor package 10 is lower and/or higher than a reference temperature).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the device of Kim to include the temperature control of Kim-312, as a means to improve reliability by reducing malfunctions, reducing operation interruptions, reducing data loss, and maintaining data processing speed at a desired (and/or reliable) level (Kim-312, ¶ 0075).
Furthermore, said artisan would recognize that the power adjustment of Kim-312 would implicitly include operating the heat source (59), which would supply at least some amount of heat to the device, such that broadest reasonable interpretation of the limitations
“when the temperature measured by the temperature sensor is lower than a steady temperature during driving of the semiconductor element, the driving circuit heats the semiconductor element and the sealing material, using the heat source” is met.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 13, 16-18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach or clearly suggest the limitations stating:
“the driving circuit stores a control information map representing a relationship among withstand voltage at an interface between the semiconductor element and the sealing material, the voltage steepness, and the temperature of either or both of the semiconductor element and the sealing material” as recited in claims 5, 13, 16 and 20, and
“the heat source is provided outside the heat dissipation material and the sealing material, and heats the semiconductor element and the sealing material via the metal plate, the heat dissipation material, and the joining material” as recited in claim 11.
Claims 17 and 18 depend on claims 16 and 13, and are allowable for implicitly including the allowable subject matter above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Otremba et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2014/0103902 A1) teaches a semiconductor module (100) including a temperature sensor (30), a control element (11), and a sealing material (40).
Gao et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2017/0287875 A1) teaches a semiconductor module (700) including a temperature sensor (734), a driver/control circuit (732), and a sealing material (760).
/BRIAN TURNER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2818