DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6, 14-15, 28-32, 35, 37, 39, 40, 48, 49, 62 and 66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mu (US Publication 2024/0057171 A1).
In regards to claims 1 and 62, Prior art Mu (US Publication 2024/0057171 A1) teaches, a method performed by a reduced bandwidth Wireless Communication Device, WCD, during a random access procedure (see paragraph 61; random access process; see paragraph 46; A capability of the first-type terminal is different from a capability of the second-type terminal. In an example, the first-type terminal may be a normal UE and the second-type terminal may be a redcap terminal; the redcap terminal reads on reduced bandwidth WCD), the method comprising: obtaining a Physical Uplink Control Channel, PUCCH, configuration for the reduced bandwidth WCD (see paragraph 61 and figure 5; FIG. 5 is a diagram illustrating a PUCCH configuration parameter with different FH widths configured for a normal UE and a redcap terminal; the redcap terminal implies the reduced bandwidth WCD), wherein the PUCCH configuration for the reduced bandwidth WCD enables or disables intra-slot frequency hopping (see paragraph 60; the first-type terminal may be a normal UE and the second-type terminal may be a redcap terminal. A transceiving bandwidth supported by the normal UE is greater than a transceiving bandwidth supported by the redcap terminal. The first PUCCH configuration parameter is partially different from the second PUCCH configuration parameter. For example, the first PUCCH configuration parameter includes a configuration parameter supporting FH and the second PUCCH configuration parameter includes a configuration parameter not supporting FH; and/or an FH width configured in the first PUCCH configuration parameter is greater than an FH width configured in the second PUCCH configuration parameter; see paragraph 95; the first-type terminal may be a normal UE and the second-type terminal may be a redcap terminal. A transceiving bandwidth supported by the normal UE is greater than a transceiving bandwidth supported by the redcap terminal. The first PUCCH configuration parameter is partially different from the second PUCCH configuration parameter. For example, the first PUCCH configuration parameter includes a configuration parameter supporting FH and the second PUCCH configuration parameter includes a configuration parameter not supporting FH; and/or an FH width configured in the first PUCCH configuration parameter is greater than an FH width configured in the second PUCCH configuration parameter) based on whether or not the reduced bandwidth WCD and a non-reduced bandwidth WCD have a same initial uplink bandwidth part (see paragraph 43; redcap terminal and normal terminal share an uplink bandwidth part (UL BWP)); and transmitting a PUCCH in accordance with the PUCCH configuration for the reduced bandwidth WCD (see paragraphs 67, 87 and 94; the terminal transmit on the determined PUCCH resource based on the PUCCH configuration).
In regards to claims 35 and 66, Mu teaches, A method performed by a base station during a random access procedure the method comprising: providing, to a reduced bandwidth Wireless Communication Device, WCD (see paragraph 61; random access process; see paragraph 46; A capability of the first-type terminal is different from a capability of the second-type terminal. In an example, the first-type terminal may be a normal UE and the second-type terminal may be a redcap terminal; the redcap terminal reads on reduced bandwidth WCD), , a Physical Uplink Control Channel, PUCCH, configuration for the reduced bandwidth WCD (see paragraph 61 and figure 5; FIG. 5 is a diagram illustrating a PUCCH configuration parameter with different FH widths configured for a normal UE and a redcap terminal; the redcap terminal implies the reduced bandwidth WCD), wherein the PUCCH configuration for reduced bandwidth WCD enables or disables intra-slot frequency hopping (see paragraph 60; the first-type terminal may be a normal UE and the second-type terminal may be a redcap terminal. A transceiving bandwidth supported by the normal UE is greater than a transceiving bandwidth supported by the redcap terminal. The first PUCCH configuration parameter is partially different from the second PUCCH configuration parameter. For example, the first PUCCH configuration parameter includes a configuration parameter supporting FH and the second PUCCH configuration parameter includes a configuration parameter not supporting FH; and/or an FH width configured in the first PUCCH configuration parameter is greater than an FH width configured in the second PUCCH configuration parameter; see paragraph 95; the first-type terminal may be a normal UE and the second-type terminal may be a redcap terminal. A transceiving bandwidth supported by the normal UE is greater than a transceiving bandwidth supported by the redcap terminal. The first PUCCH configuration parameter is partially different from the second PUCCH configuration parameter. For example, the first PUCCH configuration parameter includes a configuration parameter supporting FH and the second PUCCH configuration parameter includes a configuration parameter not supporting FH; and/or an FH width configured in the first PUCCH configuration parameter is greater than an FH width configured in the second PUCCH configuration parameter) based on whether or not the reduced bandwidth WCD and a non-reduced bandwidth WCD have a same initial uplink bandwidth part (see paragraph 43; redcap terminal and normal terminal share an uplink bandwidth part (UL BWP)); and receiving a PUCCH in accordance with the PUCCH configuration for the reduced bandwidth WCD (see paragraphs 67, 87 and 94; the terminal transmit on the determined PUCCH resource based on the PUCCH configuration).
In regards to claims 3 and 37, Mu teaches, wherein the PUCCH configuration for the reduced bandwidth WCD is the same as the PUCCH configuration for a non-reduced bandwidth WCD except that, in a time slot, only one of two or more frequency hops defined by the PUCCH configuration for the non-reduced bandwidth WCD is active for the reduced bandwidth WCD (see figure 5; the FH range of a redcap terminal vis the FH range of the normal UE).
In regards to claims 5 and 39, Mu teaches, wherein the PUCCH configuration for the non-reduced bandwidth WCD enable or disable intra-slot frequency hopping based on one or more parameters (see paragraph 60; The first PUCCH configuration parameter is partially different from the second PUCCH configuration parameter. For example, the first PUCCH configuration parameter includes a configuration parameter supporting FH and the second PUCCH configuration parameter includes a configuration parameter not supporting FH).
In regards to claims 6 and 40, Mu teaches, wherein the one or more parameters comprise whether or not the reduced bandwidth WCD and the non-reduced bandwidth WCD have a same initial uplink bandwidth part (see paragraph 66; a PUCCH configuration parameter set is configured by the network device, to satisfy capabilities of performing Msg.4 HARQ in the random access process for the first-type terminal and the second-type terminal. For example, the configured PUCCH does not use FH, or an FH width of the configured PUCCH is within a capability range of the second-type terminal. In this case, the first-type terminal and the second-type terminal share the same PUCCH configuration).
In regards to claims 14 and 48, Mu teaches, wherein the PUCCH configuration for the non-reduced bandwidth WCD[[s]] is such that, in the time slot, the one of the two or more frequency hops that is active for the reduced bandwidth WCD is extended in time and/or frequency (see figure 5; frequency hopping range of a normal UE corresponding to a first PUCCH configuration parameter).
In regards to claims 15 and 49, Mu teaches, wherein the PUCCH configuration for the reduced bandwidth WCD and the PUCCH configuration for the non-reduced bandwidth WCD use different time-domain configurations and have overlapping frequency-domain configurations (see figure 5, the redcap and normal UE configurations have different time domain configuration and overlapping frequency-domain configuration).
In regards to claim 28, Mu teaches, wherein obtaining the PUCCH configuration for the reduced bandwidth WCD comprises receiving the PUCCH configuration for the reduced bandwidth WCD from a base station (see step s81 in figure 11; the PUCCH configuration is obtained from the network device).
In regards to claim 29, Mu teaches, wherein receiving the PUCCH configuration for the reduced bandwidth WCD from the base station comprises receiving the PUCCH configuration for the reduced bandwidth WCD from the base station via a broadcast of system information (see paragraph 73; he PUCCH configuration parameter is sent by the network device by means of broadcasting).
In regards to claim 30, Mu teaches, wherein the PUCCH configuration for the reduced bandwidth WCD is indicated in the system information separately from the PUCCH configuration for the non-reduced bandwidth WCD (see paragraph 71; On one hand, the PUCCH configuration parameter may include a first PUCCH configuration parameter and a second PUCCH configuration parameter).
In regards to claim 31, Mu teaches, wherein obtaining the PUCCH configuration for the reduced bandwidth WCD comprises: receiving the PUCCH configuration for the non-reduced bandwidth WCD from a base station (see step s81 in figure 11; the PUCCH configuration is obtained from the network device); and deriving the PUCCH configuration for the reduced bandwidth WCD based on a known or signaled dependency between the PUCCH configuration for the reduced bandwidth WCD and the PUCCH configuration for the non-reduced bandwidth WCD (see figure 9 and step s62 and paragraph 83; a resource of performing Msg.4 HARQ in a random access process is determined according to the determined PUCCH configuration parameter).
In regards to claim 32, Mu teaches, wherein the PUCCH configuration for the reduced bandwidth WCD is dependent on PUCCH format (see paragraph 59; in the first PUCCH configuration parameter and the second PUCCH configuration parameter is different: a PRB located by the PUCCH being different; a PUCCH format being different).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-17 and 50-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mu as stated above further in view of He et al. (US Publication 2023/0361828 A1).
In regards to claims 16-17 and 50-51, Mu teaches, all the limitations of the parent claims as stated above.
However, Mu fails to particularly shows, wherein the PUCCH configuration for the reduced bandwidth WCD and the PUCCH configuration for the non-reduced bandwidth WCD configure different frequency-domain PUCCH resources for the reduced bandwidth WCD and the non-reduced bandwidth WCD and wherein the different frequency-domain PUCCH resources are adjacent in the frequency-domain.
He et al. (US Publication 2023/0361828 A1) teaches, wherein the PUCCH configuration for the reduced bandwidth WCD and the PUCCH configuration for the non-reduced bandwidth WCD configure different frequency-domain PUCCH resources for the reduced bandwidth WCD and the non-reduced bandwidth WCD and wherein the different frequency-domain PUCCH resources are adjacent in the frequency-domain (see paragraph 126; separate UL BWP(s), referred to herein as “Redcap initial UL BWPs” is provided in the SIB1 in addition to the “normal initial UL BWP,” which is formed by aggregating a set of contiguous RBs adjacent to the RBs of Normal initial UL BWP and includes a number of RBs as dedicated PRACH resources for Redcap devices. Conceptually, the Redcap initial UL BWP may serve a similar function as the normal initial UL BWP to provide dedicated PRACH resources for the particular device type, i.e., one for Redcap devices and the other for normal NR devices).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to incorporate the use of the resource arrangement as taught by He into the teachings of Mu. The motivation to do so would be to use control resources more efficiently by allocating redcap resources relatively close to the resources allocated to normal UEs.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/15/2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAY P PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466