DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
2. The response filed on April 30, 2026 has been entered and made of record.
3. Claims 1-16, 29-30, 33, 35-38 and 58 are pending.
4. Claims 1, 6, 7, 33, 38 and 58 have been amended.
5. Claims 17-28, 31-32, 34, 39-57 and 59 were cancelled.
6. Claims 2-5, 8-16, 29-30 and 35-37 are withdrawn from consideration.
7. Claims 1, 6-7, 33, 38 and 58 are currently pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
8. The applicant's arguments filed on April 30, 2026 regarding claims 1, 6-7, 33, 38 and 58 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1, 33, 38 and 58 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi et al. (US 2022/0303988 A1), hereinafter “Yi” in view of KARAKI et al. (US 2020/0359409 A1), hereinafter “Karaki”.
Regarding claim 1, Yi discloses a method performed by a wireless communication device, WCD (Figs. 8, 16, method for transmitting or receiving an uplink channel in a wireless communication system), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, information (Figs. 8, 16, step 801, step 1601-1602, paragraphs [0081], [0097], [0130], [0216]-[0217], PUSCH transmission and TB processing over multi-slot (TBoMS) configuration information through higher layer signaling or L1 signaling) that configures one or more parameters (Figs. 8, 16, step 801, step 1601-1602, paragraphs [0081], [0097], [0130], [0216]-[0217], Table 6), for an uplink configured grant (Figs. 8, 16, step 801, step 1601-1602, paragraphs [0081], [0097], [0130], [0216]-[0217], Configured grant Types PUSCH transmission);
determining physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH (Figs. 8, 16, step 802-807, step 1603-1605, paragraphs [0101], [0105], [0107], [0130], [0216], UE may distinguish PUSCH to be actually transmitted based on the multi-slot information for TBoMS and the time domain resource allocation type in the configured time domain PUSCH resources), resources for transmission of a multiple slot transport block, TB (Figs. 8, 16, step 802-807, step 1603-1605, paragraphs [0101], [0105], [0130], [0216], multi-slot information), using the uplink configured grant, based on the one or more parameters (Figs. 8, 18, step 802-807, step 1603-1605, paragraphs [0101], [0105], [0130], [0216], Configured grant Types PUSCH transmission); and
transmitting the multiple slot TB on the determined PUSCH resources (Figs. 8, 16, step 808, step 1606, paragraphs [0109], [00110], [0130], [0217], actual PUSCH through the configured multi-slot resource).
While Yi implicitly refers to “transmitting a number, K, of repetitions of the multiple slot TB on the determined PUSCH resources, wherein a duration of all the repetitions of the multiple slot TB is less than a time duration that corresponds to a periodicity of the uplink configured grant” (Figs. 8, 16, step 808, step 1606, paragraphs [0109], [00110], [0130], [0217]), Karaki from the same or similar field of endeavor explicitly discloses transmitting a number, K, of repetitions of the multiple slot TB on the determined PUSCH resources, wherein a duration of all the repetitions of the multiple slot TB is less than a time duration that corresponds to a periodicity of the uplink configured grant (Fig. 17, paragraphs [0173], [0174], illustrates an example of UL CG with repetition of a TB, when CG periodicity>repK slots, where repK=2 (slots), UL CG period=4*14 symbols (i.e., 4 slots), bitmap spans 8 UL CG period(s) i.e. 2 < 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “transmitting a number, K, of repetitions of the multiple slot TB on the determined PUSCH resources, wherein a duration of all the repetitions of the multiple slot TB is less than a time duration that corresponds to a periodicity of the uplink configured grant” as taught by Karaki, in the system of Yi, so that it would provide service for multiple use cases such as enhanced mobile broadband, ultra-reliable and low latency communication, and machine type communication configured to high data rate with moderate latency and moderate coverage (Karaki, paragraph [0003]).
Regarding claim 33, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 38, Yi discloses a method performed by a network node (Figs. 8, 16, method for transmitting or receiving an uplink channel in a wireless communication system), the method comprising:
sending, to a wireless communication device, WCD (Figs. 8, 16, step 801, step 1601-1602, paragraphs [0081], [0097], [0130], [0216]-[0217], PUSCH transmission and TB processing over multi-slot (TBoMS) configuration information through higher layer signaling or L1 signaling), information that configures one or more parameters for an uplink configured grant (Figs. 8, 16, step 801, step 1601-1602, paragraphs [0081], [0097], [0130], [0216]-[0217], Configured grant Types PUSCH transmission); and
receiving a multiple slot transport block, TB, from the WCD on physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH, resources in accordance with the uplink configured grant (Figs. 8, 16, step 808, step 1606, paragraphs [0109], [00110], [0130], [0217], actual PUSCH through the configured multi-slot resource).
While Yi implicitly refers to “receiving a number, K, of repetitions of a multiple slot transport block, TB, from the WCD on physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH, resources in accordance with the uplink configured grant, wherein a duration of all the repetitions of the multiple slot TB is less than a time duration that corresponds to a periodicity of the uplink configured grant” (Figs. 8, 16, step 808, step 1606, paragraphs [0109], [00110], [0130], [0217]), Karaki from the same or similar field of endeavor explicitly discloses receiving a number, K, of repetitions of a multiple slot transport block, TB, from the WCD on physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH, resources in accordance with the uplink configured grant, wherein a duration of all the repetitions of the multiple slot TB is less than a time duration that corresponds to a periodicity of the uplink configured grant (Figs. 14-16, 17, paragraphs [0173], [0174], illustrates an example of UL CG with repetition of a TB, when CG periodicity>repK slots, where repK=2 (slots), UL CG period=4*14 symbols (i.e., 4 slots), bitmap spans 8 UL CG period(s) i.e. 2 < 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “receiving a number, K, of repetitions of a multiple slot transport block, TB, from the WCD on physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH, resources in accordance with the uplink configured grant, wherein a duration of all the repetitions of the multiple slot TB is less than a time duration that corresponds to a periodicity of the uplink configured grant” as taught by Karaki, in the system of Yi, so that it would provide service for multiple use cases such as enhanced mobile broadband, ultra-reliable and low latency communication, and machine type communication configured to high data rate with moderate latency and moderate coverage (Karaki, paragraph [0003]).
Regarding claim 58, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 38.
11. Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi et al. (US 2022/0303988 A1), hereinafter “Yi” in view of KARAKI et al. (US 2020/0359409 A1), hereinafter “Karaki” in view of Ly et al. (US 2022/0303983 A1), hereinafter “Ly”.
Regarding claim 6, Yi in view of Karaki disclose the method according to claim 1.
While Yi in view of Karaki implicitly refer to “a redundancy version, RV, granularity for the multiple slot TB is all slots of a repetition of the multiple slot TB” (Figs. 8, 16), Ly from the same or similar field of endeavor explicitly discloses a redundancy version, RV, granularity for the multiple slot TB is all slots of a repetition of the multiple slot TB (Fig. 4, paragraph [0059], reference numbers 425 and 430, a respective RV may be used for each repetition of a multi-slot transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “a redundancy version, RV, granularity for the multiple slot TB is all slots of a repetition of the multiple slot TB” as taught by Ly in the combined system of Yi and Karaki, so that it would provide communication of a transport block over multiple slots relates to wireless communication as the demand for mobile broadband access continues to increase (Ly, paragraph [0001]).
Regarding claim 7, Yi in view of Karaki disclose the method according to claim 1.
While Yi in view of Karaki implicitly refer to “a redundancy version, RV, granularity for the multiple slot TB is: (a) a subset of all slots of a repetition of the multiple slot T or (b) a single slot of a repetition of the multiple slot TB”, Ly from the same or similar field of endeavor explicitly discloses a redundancy version, RV, granularity for the multiple slot TB is: (a) a subset of all slots of a repetition of the multiple slot T or (b) a single slot of a repetition of the multiple slot TB (Fig. 4, paragraphs [0059], in the RV cycling shown by reference number 435, an RV may be used only over symbols within a single slot; in the RV cycling shown by reference number 440, an RV may be used only over a consecutive set of symbols).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “transmitting the multiple slot TB comprises transmitting a number, K, of repetitions of the multiple slot TB, and a redundancy version, RV, granularity for the multiple slot TB is: (a) a subset of all slots of a repetition of the multiple slot T or (b) a single slot of a repetition of the multiple slot TB” as taught by Ly in the combined system of Yi and Karaki, so that it would provide communication of a transport block over multiple slots relates to wireless communication as the demand for mobile broadband access continues to increase (Ly, paragraph [0001]).
Conclusion
12. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SITHU KO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414