DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority The application data sheet prior to 03/27/2026 identified a foreign application KR 10-2022-0036416 having a filing date of 03/24/2020 as the foreign priority for the instant application. Examiner noted that the filed copy of KR 10-2022-0036416 has a filing date of 03/24/2022. In an interview on 3/27/2026, applicant’s representative agreed that the foreign priority of the instant application is to R 10-2022-0036416 having a filing date of 03/24/ 2022 . On 3/27/2026, applicant’s representative filed a corrected application data sheet to reflect the correct year of the filing date of the foreign priority application. The instant application is being examined with a foreign priority date of 03/24/2022. Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome US Patent Application Publication 2024/0249927 because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216. Applicant is kindly requested to provide a translation of the certified copy of the foreign priority document to demonstrated that the effective filing date of the instant application is prior to the effective filing date of US Patent Application Publication 2024/0249927. Claim Objections Claim 2 objected to because of the following informalities: In line 2, “are” should be added after “ and” such that the claim reads: “ The etching plasma processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the ions or radicals of the first metal combine with a polymer material plasma-deposited on the substrate and are deposited on the substrate. ” Applicant may also consider deleting “and deposited on the substrate” instead . Appropriate correction is required. Claim 6 objected to because of the following informalities: In line 2, “comprising” should be “ comprises ”. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Interpretation Regarding claim 2 , the limitations regarding the metal combining with polymer material deposited on the substrate and being deposited on the substrate are directed to the article worked upon and the manner in which the apparatus is intended to be employed. The instant claims are directed to an apparatus. Applicant is kindly reminded that [i] nclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). Applicant is further reminded that [i]t has been held that claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Danly , 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). Also, a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) . Additionally, if the claims is interpreted as requiring polymer forming gases during operation, applicant is reminded that Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969). In claim 3 , “and having one or more gas outlet holes” is interpreted as modifying the shower head of line 2 of the claim such that the shower head is “located at an upper part of the chamber and having one or more gas outlet holes”. This interpretation is consistent with the grammar of the claim language and the instant specification [0065-0066]. The claim is not interpreted as requiring a shower head despite the reference to a shower head structure because the structure has not been claimed. Applicant may wish to amend the claim to positively claim the shower head as a structure of the apparatus (e.g. by reciting that the apparatus further comprises a shower head located at an upper part of the chamber and having one or more gas outlet holes and then reciting that the consumable part is installed on the shower head). If applicant intends for the consumable part to have the oner or more gas outlets (i.e. a different interpretation than applied herein), applicant is kindly requested to amend the claim to recite “and the consumable part has having oner or more gas outlets”. In claim 6 , line 2 of the claim is interpreted as requiring that there is a silicon compound or silicon mixture and that the silicon compound or silicon mixture contains the first metal. This interpretation is consistent with the instant specification [0037-0038]. Applicant is kindly requested to amend the claim to improve the clarity of the claim by amending to recite “compris es a silicon (Si) compound or mixture , the silicon compound or mixture containing the first metal”. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claims 2, 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 2 and 4 recite the limitation "the substrate" in line 2-3 of claim 2 and line 3 of claim 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no antecedent basis for “a substrate” in claim 1. Note that claim 1 recites “a substrate support member” but this is a different structure than a “substrate” . For purpose of examination on the merits, the claims will be examined as if the first reference to “the substrate” in each of claim 2 and 4 is instead “ a substrate”. Applicant is kindly requested to amend the claim to correct this and thereby clarify the claim. For claim 4 , there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the edge of the substrate” in line 2-3 of the claim because there is no antecedent basis for “a substrate” and therefore there is no antecedent basis for the edge of said substrate. Applicant is kindly requested to amend claim 4 to recite “ an edge of a substrate” in line 2-3. Claim 5 recites the limitation " the inner wall of the chamber " in line 2 of claim 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no explicit antecedent basis for “the inner wall of the chamber” in claim 1 or 2. There is no inherent antecedent basis for “the inner wall” because a chamber is inclusive of the space without walls. For purpose of examination on the merits, the claim will be examined as if it is referring to “an inner wall of the chamber”. Applicant is kindly encouraged to amend line 2 of claim 5 to recite “ an inner wall of the chamber” to clarify the claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 2019/0385908 of Xie et al., hereinafter Xie. Regarding claim 1, Xie teaches an etching plasma processing apparatus (Fig 1-2 [0044], [0054-0055]) comprising: a vacuum chamber (100 Fig 1, 200 Fig 2 see pump 112 Fig 1-2 [0030] and [0023-0025]) ; a substrate support member (108 Fig 1-2 [0028]) arranged inside the chamber [0028] ; a gas supply member (110 Fig 1-2 [0029]) for injecting gas into the chamber [0029] ; a consumable part (114 Fig 1-2 or 142 Fig 1-2) arranged inside the chamber (Fig 1-2) and generating a metallic byproduct containing ions or radicals of a first metal when plasma is generated inside the chamber ([0031-0032], [0040], [0045], [0053]) ; a first electrode for applying power to generate plasma inside the chamber (one of 114, 142 [0043-0044], [0053] note that 114 or 142 are both a target and an electrode ) ; a second electrode facing the first electrode (unlabeled biasing component in substrate support 108 [0033], [0053]) ; and a power supply supplying power to the first and second electrodes (117, 150, 180 Fig 1-2) . Regarding claim 2, Xie remains as applied to claim 1 above. As indicated above, the limitations of claim 2 are directed to the article worked upon (e.g. a substrate with a polymer layer) and the intended use of the apparatus. The apparatus of Xie is capable of being operated with a substrate containing polymer and is capable of being operated with polymer forming gases because the apparatus contains a gas inlet to which polymer forming gases may be supplied. Xie teaches metal ions or radicals will form and the reaction of the metal ions or radical with polymer on the substrate is a function of the specific substrate being treated (i.e. article worked upon) and/or a function of the specific plasma gases (i.e. contents during operation). Regarding claim 5, Xie teaches the consumable part (142 Fig 1-2) is installed on the inner wall of the chamber (Fig 1-2 [0039]). Regarding claim 7, Xie teaches the first metal comprises one or more of niobium (Nb), tantalum (Ta), tungsten (W) , titanium (Ti), and manganese (Mn) [0031]. Regarding claim 8, Xie teaches a consumable part connection power supply (one of 150 or 117, Fig 1-2 [0041]) applying power to the consumable part to facilitate the generation of ions or radicals of the first metal [0041] . Regarding claim 9, Xie teaches an apparatus that is capacitively coupled (see electrodes 108 and 114 Fig 1-2) [0053]. Xie also teaches inductively coupled plasma (coil 142 Fig 1-2 [0053]). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claim(s) 3-4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie in view of US Patent Application Publication 2020/0144034 of Yokoyama et al., hereinafter Yokoyama. Regarding claim 3, Xie fails to teach the consumable part is installed on a shower head , the shower head located at an upper part of the chamber and having one or more gas outlet holes because Xie teaches the consumable part arranged at the top of the chamber (114 Fig 1) but fails to teach this is a shower head. In the same field of endeavor of a plasma etching apparatus with sputtering (abstract), Yokoyama teaches the target to be sputtered may be above the substrate (layer 36 Fig 1 and 2A [0040], [0043]) as a layer on a shower head (38 Fig 1, 2A [00 23 ] ). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xie to include the upper target is on a shower head, the shower head located at an upper part of the chamber and having one or more gas outlet holes because Yokoyama teaches this arrangement ([0023], [0040-0043] Fig 2A) and teaches it allows for sputtering of material from above the substrate to on the substrate (Fig 2A and [0040-0043]) and teaches this allows for gas introduction to the chamber [0023] (note that Xie teaches a different gas introduction structure of gas supply member (110 Fig 1-2 [0029])). This represents a simple substitution of one known element for another to achieve predictable results. Regarding claim 4 , Xie fails to teach the consumable part is installed on an edge ring located at the bottom of the chamber to surround an edge of a substrate arranged on the substrate support member . In the same field of endeavor of a plasma etching apparatus with sputtering (abstract), Yokoyama teaches the target to be sputtered may be above the substrate (layer 36 Fig 1 and 2A [0040]) or may be an edge ring located at the bottom of the chamber to surround an edge of a substrate arranged on the substrate support member (24 Fig 1, 2B [0040], [004 4 ]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xie to include the consumable part is installed on an edge ring located at the bottom of the chamber to surround an edge of a substrate arranged on the substrate support member because Yokoyama teaches this is a functional alternative to a target arranged above the substrate (teaching of Xie, see claim 1 rejection for mapping) for the purpose of incorporating sputtered material onto the etched substrate [0040-0043]. This represents a simple substitution of one known element for another to achieve predictable results. Regarding claim 6 , Xie fails to teach the consumable part comprising a silicon (Si) compound or mixture , the silicon (Si) compound or mixture containing the first metal , because Xie teaches only using a target (consumable part) containing metal. Xie does suggest other materials may be used [0022] but does not explicitly teach a silicon compound or mixture. In the same field of endeavor of a plasma etching apparatus with sputtering (abstract), Yokoyama teaches the target to be sputtered is a silicon containing material [0022]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xie to include a silicon compound or mixture, the silicon compound or mixture containing the first metal (i.e. the target containing silicon and the first metal) because Yokoyama teaches the desire to sputter silicon onto the target and because Yokoyama teaches the inclusion of silicon allows for reaction with the photoresist layer on the substrate to harden it allowing it to function as a mask for additional layers [0051]. Claim(s) 2 is/are additionally and/or alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie in view of US Patent Application Publication 2024/0249927 of Park et al., hereinafter Park. As indicated above in the priority section of the office action, Applicant is kindly requested to provide a translation of the certified copy of the foreign priority document to demonstrated that the effective filing date of the instant application is prior to the effective filing date of US Patent Application Publication 2024/0249927 (i.e. Park) . Regarding claim 2, the rejection over Xie remains as applied above. This rejection is provided in the event applicant chooses the amend the claim (e.g. to recite a system) to a manner in which the limitations of claim 2 would represent more than being directed to the contents of the apparatus or article worked upon or if applicant can otherwise demonstrate that the limitation does meaningfully alter the structure of the apparatus as claimed. As indicated above, Xie does not explicitly teach the reaction of metal ions or radicals with polymer material plasma deposited on the substrate. In the same field of endeavor of a plasma etching apparatus with sputtering (abstract), Park teaches the reaction of metal ions or radicals with polymer material plasma deposited on the substrate [0070]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xie to include an article worked upon and operating conditions such that the metal reacts with the polymer plasma deposited on the substrate because Park teaches this operation prevents bowing during the etching [0064]. Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2010/0081066 teaches a Si and Mo mixture sputtering target [0121] and a chromium sputtering target [0123]. US 2007/0227668 teaches a sputtering target 11 (Fig 1) for sputtering during etching [0063] and teaches use with a plasma apparatus that is capacitively coupled plasma (CCP), electron cyclotron resonance plasma (ECRP), helicon wave plasma (HWP), inductive ly coupled plasma (ICP), and microwave excitation surface wave plasma (SWP) [0003]. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT MARGARET D KLUNK whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-5513 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Mon - Fri 9:30-5:30 . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Parviz Hassanzadeh can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-1435 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MARGARET KLUNK/ Examiner, Art Unit 1716 /KEATH T CHEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716