DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 4-6, 8-11, and 14 in the reply filed on 08/07/2026 is acknowledged. The Applicant has cancelled claims 16-18.
Claims 4-6, 8-11, and 14 are pending and under consideration for this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6, 8-11, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al (US 20120199492 A1) in view of Rabaey et al (US 20110315560 A1).
Claim 4: Jin discloses a microbial electrolysis cell (MEC) stack in a bio-electromethanogenesis plant (see e.g. abstract; [0008]) comprising:
at least two MEC cells (see e.g. #100-1, etc. on Fig 3),
wherein each MEC cell comprises a cathode compartment and an anode compartment (see e.g. #100 on Fig 1);
wherein the MEC cells are fluidly connected in series (see e.g. #100-1, etc. on Fig 3); and
wherein the MEC stack comprises at least one catholyte circuit, connecting the cathode compartments of two or more MEC cells of the MEC stacks (see e.g. Fig 3; [0040]) characterized in that the MEC stack comprises the MEC stack comprising a degassing element for extracting at least one output gas (see e.g. “Organic Compounds” on Fig 3) and at least two gas inlets located within the at least one catholyte circuit (each cell has a gas inlet, see e.g. #122 on Fig 1, and there are at least two cells, see e.g. #304 on Fig 3), wherein each gas inlet comprises a respective flow controller to regulate the gas input from the gas source (see e.g. [0039]).
Jin does not explicitly teach that the MEC stack comprises at least two degassing elements for extracting at least one output gas. Rabaey teaches a microbial electrolysis cell (see e.g. abstract), making it analogous art (see MPEP § 2141.01(a) I). The cell of Rabaey includes two degassing elements (see e.g. #28 and #36 on Fig 1) which collects the desired product (see e.g. [0064]) and release excess gas built up in the system (see e.g. [0063]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the stack of Jin so that it includes the additional degassing element taught in Rabaey to remove any excess gas built up in the system.
Claim 5: Jin in view of Rabaey teaches at least one gas inlet at one or more individual MEC cells of the MEC stack (see e.g. Jin - #122 on Fig 1).
Claim 6: Jin in view of Rabaey teaches at least one gas inlet within the cathode compartment of the one or more individual MEC cells (see e.g. Jin - #122 on Fig 1).
Claim 8: Jin in view of Rabaey teaches that one of the de-gassing elements is located after a last MEC cell of the MEC stack to extract at least a first gas/one of the process gases from the MEC stack (see e.g. Jin - “Organic Compounds” on Fig 3).
Claim 9: Jin in view of Rabaey teaches that one or more de-gassing elements are located after one or more of the other MEC cells (each cell has the vent for releasing excess gas, see e.g. Rabaey - #28 on Fig 1).
Claim 10: Jin in view of Rabaey teaches that the pH of the system is adjusted and controlled to be within a specific range, as well as the temperature (see e.g. Jin - [0026], [0032]). Therefore, a pH measuring system and a temperature measuring system would have to be a part of the system because the pH and temperature are monitored and maintained even though it is not explicitly disclosed.
Claim 11: Jin in view of Rabaey teaches that the pH measuring system and temperature system are located after at least one gas inlet (they measure the conditions of the cathode compartment, see e.g. Jin - [0026], [0032]).
Claim 14: Jin in view of Rabaey teaches that the two or more MEC stacks being fluidly connected through the catholyte circuit (see e.g. Jin - Fig 3; [0040]).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALEXANDER W KEELING whose telephone number is (571)272-9961. The examiner can normally be reached 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Luan Van can be reached at 571-272-8521. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALEXANDER W KEELING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795