DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14 and 15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method and product, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/1/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 11-13, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kono et al (JP 2020-166125 and its machine translation).
Kono et al disclose a negative resin composition comprising an initiator, a binder polymer (instant polymer compound (A)), and a polymerizable compound, and preferably further comprises a photoacid generator. The binder polymer may comprise a polyimide, polyamide, having a functional group including a carboxyl group. One example in [0066] includes a binder polymer prepared from bis(3,4-dicarboxyphenyl)ether dianhydride (0.150 mol), 2,2-bis(3-amino-4-hydroxyphenyl)hexafluoropropane (0.100 mol), and 1,3-bis(3-aminopropyl)tetramethyldisiloxane (0.008 mol), and 3-aminophenol (0.010 mol; meets the limitations of the instant claim 2, formula (3)), wherein the polymer includes A mol carboxylic acid residues (0.150), B mole of diamine residues (0.100, 0.008, total of 0.108), and C mol of monoamine residue (0.010), which meets the limitations of the instant claims for the relations.
0.6 A(0.150)<B(0.18)+0.5C(0.010)<0.98A(0.150)
0.05(B+C) (0.18+0.10) < C (0.10)<0.25(B+C (0.108 +0.10)
The reference teaches that the initiator may include cationic polymerization initiators ([0029], [0030]), including a sulfonium salt as the acid generator (instant claim 7; [0033], [0034]).
The reference fails to disclose the property of the instant claim 3 wherein the light transmittance at a wavelength of 365nm per µm film thickness of the component (A is 90% or more. However, the reference teaches a polymer which may comprise alicyclic tetracarboxylic dianhydride which is taught by the instant specification as contributing to the claimed light transmittance. The reference teaches aromatic or cyclic aliphatic groups for R1, such as 1,2,3,4-cyclopentanetetracarboxylic dianhydride and other aliphatic tetracarboxylic dianhydrides ([0035]-[0042]). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the polymer compound comprising a diamine, monoamine, and carboxylic acid (alicyclic tetracarboxylic acid) residues, in a ration as claimed, to mee the limitations of the instant claim 3.
The reference teaches that the composition is used to form a cured film on a support ([0063]; instant claim 12, 16, 17). As discussed above, the reference teaches a material having similar polymers and components. The examples use polymers meeting the limitations of the instant claims, and teach an initiator which may include a cationic polymerization initiator, and while the reference fails to specifically disclose the melt viscosity and T1/T2 > 0.98 relation of the instant claims 11 and 13, given the similarity of the materials, one of skill in the art would have expected the material of the reference to also meet the property limitations of the instant claims 11 and 13.
Given the teachings of the reference, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the material of Kono et al, choosing as the initiator, a cationic initiator as suggested by the reference.
Claim(s) 4 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kono et al in view of Fukunaga et al (11,370,751).
Kono et al has been discussed above. The reference teaches broadly PAGs such as triphenylsulfonium compounds, but fails to teach the anions as claimed.
The reference further teaches that the polymerizable monomer is selected based on the initiator. Broadly monomer mentioned include those having (meth)acrylic groups (polyfunctional) and those having glycidyl (epoxy groups).
However, the reference fails to specifically teach a polyfunctional epoxy polymerizable compound as instantly claimed.
Fukunaga et al disclose a heat or photocurable composition comprising an onium/ sulfonium acid generator, preferably having a triphenyl sulfonium structure as a cationic polymerization initiator, wherein the initiator anion is taught to be a gallate (abstract, column 38; instant claims 7-9).
The reference further teaches that the cationic polymerizable compound may be epoxies such as glycidyl-containing compounds as preferred in combination with initiator, and two or more maybe used in combination (columns 41 and 42). The reference employs commercially available CELLOXIDE 2021 P, a multifunctional epoxide having a an epoxy equivalent of 130 g/eq and would have a C log P value falling within the claimed range as the epoxide rings are slightly hydrophobic and have a small positive ClogP value, the carboxylate group is polar and hydrophilic and lowers the ClogP, but the compound would be expected to low or slightly negative ClogP, falling within the range of -2 to 5 as claimed (instant claim 4).
While the reference prefers gallate anion having some fluorine (halogen) substitution, the broadest teachings of the reference that the groups in R27 to R30 may be phenyl or perfluoroalkyl, with some hydrogen atoms in the phenyl group may be replaced with a perfluoroalkyl or alkoxy group, a cyano, nitro, acyl, or halogen (column 6, lines 20-46). The material of Kono et al in view of Fukunaga et al includes a binder, a polymerizable monomer, initiator, and other components, wherein the components other than the anion in the initiator of Fukunaga et al which maybe free or have a low halogen content, are free of halogen. Therefore, the material of the references would meet the limitations of the instant claim 10 wherein the content of halogen atom is less than 100ppm by mass (this limitation includes zero).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the material of Kono et al, choosing as the sulfonium cationic initiator, that taught to be known and useful in curable compositions by Fukunaga et al, wherein the sulfonium compound includes a gallate anion. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the material of Kono et al, choosing as the cationic polymerizable compound, the polyfunctional epoxy of Fukunaga et al taught to be useful with similar materials and with the sulfonium initiator.
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 8, 10-12, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuya et al (2011/0143103).
Furuya et al disclose a photocurable resin composition for forming a cured layer of a printed wiring board or other device (instant claims 12, 16, 17) comprising a polyimide silicone resin, a photoacid generator, and a multi-functional epoxy compound.
The examples (example 4, [0218]) include a polyimide comprising 0.1 mol of 4, 4’-oxydiphthalic acid dianhydride, 0.15 mol acid anhydride-modified siloxane, 0.175 mol 2,2’-bis-(4-amino-3-hydroxyphenyl)propane, and 0.25 mol p-aminophenol (instant claim 2, formula (3)).
0.6 A(0.25)<B(0.225)+0.5C(0.025)<0.98A(0.25)
0.05(B+C) (0.225+0.025) < C (0.025)<0.25(B+C (0.225 +0.025)
The reference fails to disclose the property of the instant claim 3 wherein the light transmittance at a wavelength of 365nm per µm film thickness of the component (A is 90% or more. However, the reference teaches a polymer which may comprise alicyclic tetracarboxylic dianhydride which is taught by the instant specification as contributing to the claimed light transmittance. The reference teaches aliphatic tetracarboxylic dianhydrides ([0098], examples). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the polymer compound comprising a diamine, monoamine, and carboxylic acid (alicyclic tetracarboxylic acid) residues, in a ration as claimed, to mee the limitations of the instant claim 3.
The reference includes an exemplified material comprising the polyimide (A), a melamine (crosslinker), a sulfonium salt (C), and a bifunctional epoxy CELLOXIDE 2021P, discussed previous as taught by the Fukunaga et al reference), which meets the limitations of the instant claim 4. Given the amount of each component, the component (D) (instant (B)) is present in an amount of 0.05 to 100 parts by mass ([0160]), and 100 parts (A) ([0024]), the reference material meets the limitations of the instant claim 5.
The photoacid generator includes a sulfonium salt (C-2, examples; instant claim 7) wherein the anion may be a phosphate ([0128]).
The material of Furuya et al includes a binder, a polymerizable monomer, initiator, crosslinker, and other components, wherein the components other than a possible anion in the initiator which maybe free or have a low halogen content, are free of halogen. Therefore, the material of the references would meet the limitations of the instant claim 10 wherein the content of halogen atom is less than 100ppm by mass (this limitation includes zero).
The resin is applied to a substrate and cured to form a film. As discussed above, the reference teaches a material having similar polymers and components. The examples use polymers meeting the limitations of the instant claims, and teach an initiator which may include a cationic polymerization initiator, and while the reference fails to specifically disclose the melt viscosity and T1/T2 > 0.98 relation of the instant claims 11 and 13, given the similarity of the materials, one of skill in the art would have expected the material of the reference to also meet the property limitations of the instant claims 11 and 13.
Given the teachings of the reference, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the material of Furuya et al, choosing as the initiator, a cationic initiator as suggested by the reference.
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuya et al in view of Fukunaga et al.
Both references have been discussed above. Furuya et al disclose a sulfonium cation, wherein “L-“, the corresponding anion may beknown anions, and provides a non-limiting list, but fails to specifically disclose the anion as claimed.
Fukunaga et al disclose a heat or photocurable composition comprising an onium/ sulfonium acid generator, preferably having a triphenyl sulfonium structure as a cationic polymerization initiator, wherein the initiator anion is taught to be a gallate anion (abstract, column 38; instant claims 7-9).
The reference further teaches that the cationic polymerizable compound may be epoxies, such as CELLOXIDE 2021P, also used in Furuya et al.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the material of Furuya et al, choosing as the sulfonium cationic initiator, that taught to be known and useful in curable compositions by Fukunaga et al, wherein the sulfonium compound includes a gallate anion.
Claim(s) 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kono et al or Furuya et al in view of Takahi et al (WO 2015/005211 and its machine translation).
Each of Kono et al and Furuya et al have been discussed above. The references each teach compositions having sulfonium compounds as initiators, and epoxy polymerizable compounds which may be used in combination. The references do not specifically teach a combination of epoxy compounds as set forth by the instant claim 6 or a borate anion for the sulfonium compound.
Takahi et al disclose a cationic-polymerizable composition comprising a combination of cationic polymerizable epoxy compounds, wherein the combination includes (1A), and (1B) and/or (1C).
Preferred examples of (1A) include polyfunctional aromatic epoxy compounds having an epoxy equivalent of 80 to 500, such as TECHMORE VG 3101L ([0012]), and (1C) alicyclic epoxy such as CELLOXIDE 2021P ([0013]-[0015], [0061], compounds 1A-9 and 1C-1, see example 23). The compounds are used in amounts falling within the scope of the instant claim 6 (40 to 99 mass% to 1 to 60 mass %).
The reference further teaches cationic initiators including triphenyl sulfonium compounds, wherein suitable anions are taught to be borates and phosphates ([0028]-[0038])
The reference teaches that the compounds are known and usable together. The combination of epoxy compounds results in excellent curability and adhesiveness.
Given the teachings of the references, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the material of either Kono et al or Furuya et al, choosing as the epoxy compound, the combination of epoxy compounds as suggested as preferable by Takahi et al to improves curability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Takahi et al (Wo 2016/0158523), and Matsudo et al (WO 2017/170883 and WO2018/181846) are cited as teaching similar compositions comprising epoxy compounds. Tanigaki et al is cited for its teaching of a similar material. Iwabuchi et al (7,396,960) is cited for its teaching of common sulfonium salt anions.
/AMANDA C. WALKE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722