DETAILED ACTION
IDS
The IDS document(s) filed on 03/13/20241 have been considered. Copies of the PTO-1449 documents are herewith enclosed with this office action.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 04/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 11 will be treated as a linking claim and thus the restriction for Group II, claims 11 and 16-20, has been withdrawn. Claims 11 and 16-20 will be examined in the current office action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein a shape of an orthogonal projection of the first portion on the base substrate is annulus” recited in claims 6 and 20 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112(b)
Claims 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claims 6 and 20, the “annulus shape” being claimed is unclear. An annulus is a part, structure, or marking resembling a ring. That does not appear to be shown in Fig. 10. Further clarification is needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7-11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2023/0006112 A1), hereafter “Kim”.
As to claim 1, Kim teaches a display panel, comprising: a base substrate (SUB1, Fig. 5, ⁋ [0074]), a plurality of light-emitting devices (EL), a package layer (TFE, ⁋ [0109]), a hydrophobic layer (OC2, ⁋ [0163]), an isolation portion (BNL, ⁋ [0126]), and a light conversion structure (CWL, ⁋ [0074]); wherein
the plurality of light-emitting devices are disposed on a side of the base substrate (Fig. 5 EL disposed above SUB1);
the package layer (TFE) is disposed on a side, facing away from the base substrate, of the plurality of light-emitting devices, and the package layer is configured to package the plurality of light-emitting devices (TFE encapsulates EL);
the hydrophobic layer (OC2) is disposed on a side, facing away from the base substrate (SUB1), of the package layer (TFE) (Fig. 5), and the hydrophobic layer is in direct contact with the package layer (OC2 in direct contact with TFE);
the isolation portion (BNL) is disposed on a side, facing away from the base substrate (SUB1), of the hydrophobic layer (OC2) (Fig. 5), wherein a plurality of apertures in one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of light-emitting devices are defined in the isolation portion, and an orthogonal projection of each of the plurality of apertures on the base substrate covers an orthogonal projection of the corresponding light-emitting device on the base substrate (Fig. 5 shows BNL with a plurality of openings corresponding to the plurality of EL on a one-to-one basis and an orthographic projection of each opening on SUB1 covers the orthographic projection of the corresponding light-emitting element EL on the SUB1); and
the light conversion structure is disposed in the plurality of apertures, and the light conversion structure (CWL) is disposed in the plurality of apertures (Fig. 5), and the light conversion structure (CWL) comprises a transparent medium layer made of a hydrophobic material and a plurality of particles dispersed in the transparent medium layer (⁋⁋ [0150] – [0153], comprises a matrix resin BRS and a wavelength conversion material WCP, wherein the matrix resin BRS may be particles of polystyrene or polymethyl methacrylate, equivalent to a hydrophobic material, and the wavelength conversion material WCP may be quantum dots; and the wavelength control layer CWL converts the wavelength of incident light from the light emitting element layers EL and transmits the light having the converted wavelength therethrough), and a face, close to the base substrate, of the transparent medium layer is in direct contact with the hydrophobic layer (CWL face close to substrate in direct contact with OC2).
As to claim 2, Kim teaches the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the hydrophobic layer is made of an organic material (⁋ [0164], “second overcoat layer OC2 may be made of an organic material”).
As To claim 7, Kim teaches the display panel according to claim l, wherein a refractive index of the hydrophobic layer is less than a refractive index of the light conversion structure. Examiner notes that Kim’s hydrophobic layer and light conversion structure teach the same material as the instant application and therefore would have the similar refractive indices.
As to claim 9, Kim teaches the display panel according to claim l, wherein the plurality of light-emitting devices are configured to emit blue light (⁋ [0104]), and the display panel comprises a red pixel sub-region (SPX1), a green pixel sub-region (SPX2), and a blue pixel sub-region (SPX3) (⁋⁋ [0118]-[0120]); wherein particles in the light conversion structure in the red pixel sub-region comprise red quantum dots for converting blue light to red light and scattering particles for scattering light (⁋⁋ [0151], [0157]); particles in the light conversion structure in the green pixel sub-region comprise green quantum dots for converting blue light to green light and scattering particles for scattering light (⁋⁋ 0151], [0157]); and particles in the light conversion structure in the blue pixel sub-region comprise scattering particles for scattering light (⁋ [0152]).
As to claim 10, Kim teaches the display panel according to claim 9, further comprising: an auxiliary package layer (OC1, ⁋ [0124]) on a side, facing away from the base substrate, of the light conversion structure and a color resist layer (CF1, ⁋⁋ [0112], [0118] “may include colorants such as dyes or pigments”) on a side, facing away from the base substrate, of the auxiliary package layer, wherein the color resist layer comprises a red color resist block (CF1) in the red pixel sub-region, a green color resist block (CF2) in the green pixel sub-region, a blue color resist block (CF3) in the blue pixel sub-region, and a black matrix (⁋ [0012], BK) between two adjacent color resist blocks.
As to claim 11, Kim teaches a display device, comprising: a power supply assembly (⁋⁋ [0072]-[0075]) and a display panel electrically connected to the power supply assembly, wherein the display panel comprises: a base substrate (SUB1, Fig. 5, ⁋ [0074]), a plurality of light-emitting devices (EL), a package layer (TFE, ⁋ [0109]), a hydrophobic layer (OC2, ⁋ [0163]), an isolation portion (BNL, ⁋ [0126]), and a light conversion structure (CWL, ⁋ [0074]); wherein
the plurality of light-emitting devices are disposed on a side of the base substrate (Fig. 5 EL disposed above SUB1);
the package layer (TFE) is disposed on a side, facing away from the base substrate, of the plurality of light-emitting devices, and the package layer is configured to package the plurality of light-emitting devices (TFE encapsulates EL);
the hydrophobic layer (OC2) is disposed on a side, facing away from the base substrate (SUB1), of the package layer (TFE) (Fig. 5), and the hydrophobic layer is in direct contact with the package layer (OC2 in direct contact with TFE);
the isolation portion (BNL) is disposed on a side, facing away from the base substrate (SUB1), of the hydrophobic layer (OC2) (Fig. 5), wherein a plurality of apertures in one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of light-emitting devices are defined in the isolation portion, and an orthogonal projection of each of the plurality of apertures on the base substrate covers an orthogonal projection of the corresponding light-emitting device on the base substrate (Fig. 5 shows BNL with a plurality of openings corresponding to the plurality of EL on a one-to-one basis and an orthographic projection of each opening on SUB1 covers the orthographic projection of the corresponding light-emitting element EL on the SUB1); and
the light conversion structure is disposed in the plurality of apertures, and the light conversion structure (CWL) is disposed in the plurality of apertures (Fig. 5), and the light conversion structure (CWL) comprises a transparent medium layer made of a hydrophobic material and a plurality of particles dispersed in the transparent medium layer (⁋⁋ [0150] – [0153], comprises a matrix resin BRS and a wavelength conversion material WCP, wherein the matrix resin BRS may be particles of polystyrene or polymethyl methacrylate, equivalent to a hydrophobic material, and the wavelength conversion material WCP may be quantum dots; and the wavelength control layer CWL converts the wavelength of incident light from the light emitting element layers EL and transmits the light having the converted wavelength therethrough), and a face, close to the base substrate, of the transparent medium layer is in direct contact with the hydrophobic layer (CWL face close to substrate in direct contact with OC2).
As to claim 16, Kim teaches the display panel according to claim 11, wherein the hydrophobic layer is made of an organic material (⁋ [0164], “second overcoat layer OC2 may be made of an organic material”).
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, and further in view of Heller et al. (US 20130082244 A1), hereafter “Heller”.
As to claim 3, Kim teaches the display panel according to claim 2, but fails to teach wherein the hydrophobic layer comprises a hydrophobic layer body made of the organic material and a plurality of hollow particles dispersed in the hydrophobic layer body.
Heller teaches a similar device wherein hollow objects (52, Fig. 6) are placed into hydrophobic layers (⁋ [0034], “hollow objects 52 into layers of the OLED stack 10 which are substantially hydrophobic”) made of organic layers (18+20+24+26, ⁋ [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teaching of the hollow objects as taught by Heller into the hydrophobic layers of Kim because the hollow objects may improve the scattering of otherwise trapped light out of the device layers, thereby improving the efficiency of the OLED device (⁋ [0014]).
As to claim 17, Kim teaches the display panel according to claim 16, but fails to teach wherein the hydrophobic layer comprises a hydrophobic layer body made of the organic material and a plurality of hollow particles dispersed in the hydrophobic layer body.
Heller teaches a similar device wherein hollow objects (52, Fig. 6) are placed into hydrophobic layers (⁋ [0034], “hollow objects 52 into layers of the OLED stack 10 which are substantially hydrophobic”) made of organic layers (18+20+24+26, ⁋ [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teaching of the hollow objects as taught by Heller into the hydrophobic layers of Kim because the hollow objects may improve the scattering of otherwise trapped light out of the device layers, thereby improving the efficiency of the OLED device (⁋ [0014]).
Claims 4-5 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, and further in view of Hung et al. (US 2018/0138411 A1), hereafter “Hung”.
As to claim 4, Kim teaches the display panel according to claim l, but fails to teach further comprising: a hydrophilic layer on a side, facing away from the base substrate, of the isolation portion, wherein at least part of the hydrophilic layer is disposed on sidewalls of the plurality of apertures, and a plurality of hollow grooves in one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of apertures are defined in the hydrophilic layer, wherein an orthogonal projection of each of the plurality of hollow grooves on the base substrate is within an orthogonal projection of the corresponding aperture on the base substrate.
Hung teaches a pixel defining layer (Fig. 7, ⁋⁋ [0037], [0048]) wherein a hydrophilic layer 6 is on a side of the base body 4, disposed on sidewalls of openings 3, and a plurality of hollow grooves (where hydrophilic layer is missing at the base of opening) in one-to-one correspondence, and an orthogonal projection of the follow grooves is within an orthogonal projection of the corresponding aperture on the substrate 1. Examiner notes that “facing away from the base substrate” in its broadest reasonable interpretation is any direction that is not facing towards the base substrate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teaching of the hydrophilic layer as taught by Hung into the device of Kim for the benefit of preventing the ink within the pixel of oozing to the outside of the pixel to result in color mixture between adjacent pixels. Compared with other types of double-layer pixel define layer, the light emitting region within the pixel would not be decreased (⁋ [0057]).
As to claim 18, Kim teaches the display panel according to claim l1, but fails to teach further comprising: a hydrophilic layer on a side, facing away from the base substrate, of the isolation portion, wherein at least part of the hydrophilic layer is disposed on sidewalls of the plurality of apertures, and a plurality of hollow grooves in one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of apertures are defined in the hydrophilic layer, wherein an orthogonal projection of each of the plurality of hollow grooves on the base substrate is within an orthogonal projection of the corresponding aperture on the base substrate.
Hung teaches a pixel defining layer (Fig. 7, ⁋⁋ [0037], [0048]) wherein a hydrophilic layer 6 is on a side of the base body 4, disposed on sidewalls of openings 3, and a plurality of hollow grooves (where hydrophilic layer is missing at the base of opening) in one-to-one correspondence, and an orthogonal projection of the follow grooves is within an orthogonal projection of the corresponding aperture on the substrate 1. Examiner notes that “facing away from the base substrate” in its broadest reasonable interpretation is any direction that is not facing towards the base substrate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teaching of the hydrophilic layer as taught by Hung into the device of Kim for the benefit of preventing the ink within the pixel of oozing to the outside of the pixel to result in color mixture between adjacent pixels. Compared with other types of double-layer pixel define layer, the light emitting region within the pixel would not be decreased (⁋ [0057]).
As to claim 5, Kim modified by Hung teaches the display panel according to claim 4, wherein the hydrophilic layer comprises a first portion covering the sidewalls of the plurality of apertures and a second portion covering the side, facing away from the base substrate, of the isolation portion (Fig. 7 shows the hydrophilic layer covering sidewalls of the openings and also facing away from the substrate).
As to claim 19, Kim modified by Hung teaches the display panel according to claim 18, wherein the hydrophilic layer comprises a first portion covering the sidewalls of the plurality of apertures and a second portion covering the side, facing away from the base substrate, of the isolation portion (Fig. 7 shows the hydrophilic layer covering sidewalls of the openings and also facing away from the substrate).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, and further in view of Rhe et al. (US 2019/0131562 A1), hereafter “Rhe”.
As to claim 8, Kim teaches the display panel according to claim l, wherein the package layer (TFE) comprises a first inorganic package layer (171, ⁋ [0109]), an organic package layer (172), and a second inorganic package layer (173) that are laminated in a direction perpendicular to and away from the base substrate (laminated in the DR3 direction, Fig. 5), wherein the hydrophobic layer (OC2) is in direct contact with the second inorganic package layer (173).
Kim fails to teach a thickness of the hydrophobic layer is less than a thickness of the second inorganic package layer.
Rhe teaches a similar device wherein a thickness of an organic layer may be thicker than a neighboring inorganic layer (Fig. 8, ⁋ [0082]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teaching of the thicknesses as taught by Rhe into the device of Kim as it would have been well known in the art that the organic layer would prevent impurities from penetrating into the light-emitting layer (⁋ [0082]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 6 and 20, Kim and Hung are the closest prior arts but fail to teach wherein a shape of an orthogonal projection of the first portion on the base substrate is an annulus, and an inner boundary of the annulus is coincident with a boundary of the orthogonal projection of each of the plurality of hollow grooves on the base substrate.
Conclusion
/CARNELL HUNTER III/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/SUE A PURVIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893