DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-11 and 13-19 in the reply filed on January 20, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12 and 20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention , there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 20, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “low-alcohol” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “low-alcohol” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
It is further noted that the limitation of “a component derived from wort fermented liquid” does not further limit claim 1. A component derived from wort fermented liquid reads on water, and since water is already a part of the beverage, the limitation of “a component derived from wort fermented liquid” does not further limit claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 and 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi (JP 2015123053 A).
In regard to claim 1, Takahashi discloses a beer taste beverage containing acetic acid ([0008], [0013], [0035], [0036]) and linalool ([0007], [0008], [0016]-[0018], [0031], [0035], [0037]).
In regard to the recitation of “low-alcohol” beverage, Takahashi discloses producing fermented malt beverages with a very low alcohol content, such as non-alcoholic beer with an alcohol content of less than 1% by volume ([0027]).
Takahashi discloses a “fermented malt beverage characterized in that ... the total content of phosphoric acid, citric acid, pyruvic acid, malic acid, succinic acid, lactic acid, formic acid, acetic acid, and pyroglutamic acid is 800 to 1200 mg/L, and the linalool content is 4 to 8 ppb” (0008]).
In regard to claims 1, 4 and 13-14, Takahashi discloses “[w]hen adding organic acids or their edible salts as raw materials, one type of organic acid may be added, or two or more types may be added in combination” ([0015]). Takahashi discloses the total amount of organic acids added. Takahashi also suggest that all nine organic acids may be employed ([0015]). In case where all nine acids are used in equal amounts, Takahashi meets the limitation of acetic acid concentration.
In regard to the recitation of “low-alcohol” beverage, Takahashi discloses producing fermented malt beverages with a very low alcohol content, such as non-alcoholic beer with an alcohol content of less than 1% by volume ([0027]).
Further in regard to the concentration recitations, it is noted that:
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05, II A).
Further, regarding the concentration ranges as examined above, it is noted that in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In regard to claims 2 and 3,Takahashi discloses a “fermented malt beverage characterized in that ... the linalool content is 4 to 8 ppb” (0008]).
In regard to claims 5-6 and 15-19, it is noted that the claimed ratio would depend on the amounts of acetic acid and linalool employed.
In regard to claim 7,Takahashi discloses addition of hops in several stages before or during wort boiling ([0024]). Hops are responsible for the bitter flavor of beer. Hence, the particular bitterness value would depend on the amount and nature of hops added to wort before or during boiling.
In regard to claim 8, it is noted that the recitation of apparent extract refers to the fermentation of wort. The instant claims are not directed to the fermentation of wort. The instant claims are also not directed to the fermented wort.
In regard to claim 9, it is noted that the recitation of “a wort bottom fermented liquid” refers to the fermentation of wort. The instant claims are not directed to the fermentation of wort. The instant claims are also not directed to the fermented wort. In any case, Takahashi discloses bottom-fermenting yeast ([0026]).
In regard to claim 10, it is noted that the recitation of a malt use ratio refers to the fermentation of wort. The instant claims are not directed to the fermentation of wort. The instant claims are also not directed to the fermented wort.
In regard to claim 11, it is noted that the recitation of alcohol removal from wort is directed to the process for fermentation of wort. The instant claims are not directed to the process for fermentation of wort.
In regard to claim 20, Takahashi discloses a “fermented malt beverage characterized in that ... the linalool content is 4 to 8 ppb” (0008]).
Conclusion
/VERA STULII/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791