DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “laminate conveying means” in claim 9; “film composite conveying means” in claim 9; and “separating device” in claim 9.
The limitation “laminate conveying means” recites the generic placeholder “means” coupled with the functional modifier “conveying” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 12, shown in figure 4, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “film composite conveying means” recites the generic placeholder “means” coupled with the functional modifier “conveying” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 16, shown in figure 4, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “separating device” recites the generic placeholder “device” coupled with the functional modifier “separating” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 20, shown in figure 3, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-9, and 17-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GRADER et al. (US 2017/0225442) in view of NEEPER et al. (US 2010/0089537).
Regarding claims 1, 7, and 21, GRADER teaches providing a laminate 10 comprising two films 11 and 12 with a pharmaceutically active adherent formulation therebetween, feeding the laminate, separating the first film 12 with the formulation from the second film 11 by feeding the first film obliquely to the feeding direction of the second film, the first film rotating around an axis while feeding (paras. 16, 31, 32, 40, and 42; fig. 1). GRADER does not teach that the first film is fed out at an angle from 60 to 90 degrees relative to the feeding direction by rotating about its longitudinal axis at an angle from 90 to 270 degrees. NEEPER teaches another method of peeling a film from a laminate via feeding the first film obliquely to the feeding direction from the second film, wherein the first film is fed out at an angle of 90 degrees relative to the feeding direction via rotating the first film upward approximately 180 degrees about its longitudinal axis, and that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize a peeling direction at an angle to the feeding direction in order to avoid the need to overcome the strength of the adhesive along the entire width of the leading edge of the film (NEEPER; paras. 32 and 34; figs. 4-5). While NEEPER does not teach the range of feed angle between 60 and 120 degrees or a rotation angle between 90 and 270 degrees. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize the claimed ranges because the angle of the prior art overlaps those ranges claimed (MPEP 2144.05), and there would have been a reasonable expectation of producing the same peeling within the ranges claimed as would be produced by the 90 degree peeling disclosed by NEEPER (MPEP 2141; KSR).
Regarding claim 4, GRADER teaches feeding the laminate on a plane different from the feeding out plane (fig. 1).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, GRADER teaches applying silicone to a film (para. 36), which is an adherence reducer.
Regarding claim 8, GRADER teaches utilizing a device (para. 39).
Regarding claims 9 and 19-20, GRADER teaches a laminate conveying means 23, film composite conveying means 60, and separation device 40 (fig. 1) capable of performing the functions claimed. GRADER teaches separating device 40 has a bending edge adjacent and parallel to the plane of the feeding path (fig. 1). NEEPER teaches arranging the bending edge at 45 degrees so the feeding-out direction is approximately 90 degrees relative to the feeding direction, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize a peeling direction at an angle to the feeding direction, as disclosed by NEEPER, in the method of GRADER in order to avoid the need to overcome the strength of the adhesive along the entire width of the leading edge of the film (NEEPER; para. 34; fig. 5). While NEEPER does not teach the ranges of bending edge and feeding-out directions claimed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrange the bending edge at an angle between 30 and 60 degrees and a feeding out direction angle between 60 and 120 degrees because the ranges claimed overlap the angles disclosed by the prior art (MPEP 2144.05) and there would have been a reasonable expectation of producing the same peeling within the ranges as that produced by NEEPER (MPEP 2141; KSR).
Regarding claim 17, GRADER teaches the feeding plane, passing plane, and feeding-out plane are parallel (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 22, GRADER teaches providing a laminate 10 comprising two films 11 and 12 with a pharmaceutically active adherent formulation therebetween, feeding the laminate, separating the first film 12 with the formulation from the second film 11 by feeding the first film obliquely to the feeding direction of the second film, the first film rotating around an axis while feeding (paras. 16, 31, 32, 40, and 42; fig. 1). GRADER does not teach that the first film is fed out at an angle from 60 to 90 degrees relative to the feeding direction by rotating about its longitudinal axis at an angle from 90 to 270 degrees. NEEPER teaches another method of peeling a film from a laminate via feeding the first film obliquely to the feeding direction from the second film, wherein the first film is fed out at an angle of 90 degrees relative to the feeding direction via rotating the first film upward approximately 180 degrees about its longitudinal axis, and that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize a peeling direction at an angle to the feeding direction in order to avoid the need to overcome the strength of the adhesive along the entire width of the leading edge of the film (NEEPER; paras. 32 and 34; figs. 4-5). While NEEPER does not teach the range of feed angle between 60 and 120 degrees or a rotation angle between 90 and 270 degrees. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize the claimed ranges because the angle of the prior art overlaps those ranges claimed (MPEP 2144.05), and there would have been a reasonable expectation of producing the same peeling within the ranges claimed as would be produced by the 90 degree peeling disclosed by NEEPER (MPEP 2141; KSR). GRADER teaches feeding the laminate on a plane different from the feeding out plane (fig. 1). GRADER teaches the feeding plane, passing plane, and feeding-out plane are parallel (fig. 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/1/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the “means” limitations of claim 9 should not be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the scope has been adequately defined. The limitations claimed recite only the generic placeholders coupled with functional language, and not any particular structural limitations, which is not sufficient definition for an apparatus structure.
Applicant argues that NEEPER does not teach the ranges of feed angles and film rotations claimed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize the claimed ranges because the angles disclosed by the prior art overlap those ranges claimed (MPEP 2144.05), and there would have been a reasonable expectation of producing the same peeling utilizing the ranges claimed (MPEP 2141; KSR). Applicant does not appear to disclose any unexpected results or criticality that would differ from the prior art angles disclosed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICKOLAS R HARM/ Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/PHILIP C TUCKER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1745