DETAILED ACTION
Claims 41-45, 50-54 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 37-45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youn et al. (US20200329450) in view of Ge et al. (US20220174119).
Regarding claim 37, Youn teaches A method performed by a first core network entity comprising an access and mobility management function (AMF), the method comprising: receiving a first user plane release request message from a radio access network entity (Fig. 18 “1. DERIGISTRATION REQUEST, [0561] “The UE may transmit to the AMF a NAS message deregistration request message (abbreviated as ‘deregistration request) (including 5G-GUTI, a deregistration type (e.g., switch-off), and an access type), [0050] “The RAN is defined at the terminal level and provides a connection to a core network”, (Examiner’s Note: UE is sending through the base station/RAN to AMF),
the first user plane release request message comprising a request for a downlink tunnel ([0124] “A logical channel lies above a transmission channel and is mapped to the transmission channel … The MCCH is a point-to-multipoint downlink channel used for delivering MBMS (Multimedia Broadcast and Multicast Service) control information from a network to a UE”, [0571] “The AMF transmits a deregistration accept message (abbreviated as ‘deregistration accept’) to the UE depending on the deregistration type, (Examiner’s Note: deregistration is equivalent to release);
sending a second user plane release request message to a third core network entity comprising a multicast broadcast session management function (MB-SMF) (Fig. 18 “2. Nsmf PDUSession Release SM Context”, “AMF”, SMF”, [0564] “The AMF may request to the SMF the release of the established PDU session by transmitting an Nsmf_PDUSession_Release SM context message (abbreviated as ‘Nsmf_PDUSession_Release SM context’) containing a subscriber permanent identifier (SUPI) and/or a PDU session identifier to the SMF. All PDU sessions through the target access belonging to the UE may be released by the AMF that transmits the Nsmf_PDUSession_Release SM context (including a subscriber's permanent ID and/or PDU session ID) message to the SMF for each PDU session”, [0124] “The MCCH is a point-to-multipoint downlink channel used for delivering MBMS (Multimedia Broadcast and Multicast Service) control information from a network to a UE”),
the second user plane release request message comprising a request for the downlink tunnel ([0564] “The AMF may request to the SMF the release of the established PDU session by transmitting an Nsmf_PDUSession_Release SM context message (abbreviated as ‘Nsmf_PDUSession_Release SM context’) containing a subscriber permanent identifier (SUPI) and/or a PDU session identifier to the SMF. All PDU sessions through the target access belonging to the UE may be released by the AMF that transmits the Nsmf_PDUSession_Release SM context (including a subscriber's permanent ID and/or PDU session ID) message to the SMF for each PDU session”, [0566] “The SMF may transmit an N4 session release request (including the N4 session ID) message to the UPF. The UPF drops any remaining packet of the PDU session and releases all tunnel resources and context associated with the N4 session (identified by the N4 session ID)”);
receiving a first user plane release response message from the third core network entity ((Fig. 18 “4. Nsmf PDUSession Release SM Context Response”, [0568] “The SMF may respond to the Nsmf_PDUSession_Release SM context message with an Nsmf_PDUSession_Release SM context response message”);
and after receiving said first user plane release response message from the third core network entity ([0568] “The SMF may respond to the Nsmf_PDUSession_Release SM context message with an Nsmf_PDUSession_Release SM context response message”),
sending a second user plane release response message to the radio access network entity (Fig. 18, “7. DEREGISTRATION ACCEPT”, [0571] “The AMF transmits a deregistration accept message (abbreviated as ‘deregistration accept’) to the UE depending on the deregistration type”, (Examiner’s Note: has to go through a base station/RAN)).
Youn does not explicitly teach the downlink tunnel associated with unicast, the downlink tunnel associated with unicast.
Ge teaches the downlink tunnel associated with unicast ([0271] “When broadcast received quality is poor, a network entity on a network side needs to switch a receive transmission mode of the terminal to a unicast transmission mode … a unicast session establishment procedure needs to be triggered to establish the unicast path”, [0260-262] “If an N4 session has been established, the SMF entity initiates an N4 session modification procedure, to update access network (access network, AN) tunnel information and core network (core network, CN) tunnel information…S115 b. The UPF entity sends an N4 session establishment/modification response message to the SMF entity….S116. The SMF entity sends an SM response message to the AMF entity”),
the downlink tunnel associated with unicast ([0271] “When broadcast received quality is poor, a network entity on a network side needs to switch a receive transmission mode of the terminal to a unicast transmission mode … a unicast session establishment procedure needs to be triggered to establish the unicast path”, [0260-262] “If an N4 session has been established, the SMF entity initiates an N4 session modification procedure, to update access network (access network, AN) tunnel information and core network (core network, CN) tunnel information…S115 b. The UPF entity sends an N4 session establishment/modification response message to the SMF entity….S116. The SMF entity sends an SM response message to the AMF entity).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Youn to incorporate the teaching of Ge. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase utilization efficiency of network transmission resources.
Regarding claim 38, Youn teaches wherein one or more of the first and second user plane release request messages comprises an identity of the multicast or broadcast session ([0124] “A logical channel lies above a transmission channel and is mapped to the transmission channel. The logical channel may be divided into a control channel for delivering control area information and a traffic channel for delivering user area information …The MCCH is a point-to-multipoint downlink channel used for delivering MBMS (Multimedia Broadcast and Multicast Service) control information from a network to a UE”, [0395] “A QoS flow ID (QFI) is used to identify a QoS flow within a 5G system,).
Regarding claim 39, Youn teaches wherein one or more of the first and second user plane release request messages comprises an identity of the downlink tunnel ([0165] “Specifically, the SMF supports functions, such as session management (e.g., session setup, modification and release including the maintenance of a tunnel between a UPF and an AN node)”, [0564] “including a subscriber's permanent ID and/or PDU session ID) message to the SMF for each PDU session”).
Regarding Claim 40, Youn teaches A method performed by a core network entity comprising a multicast broadcast session management function (MB-SMF), the method comprising:
receiving a first user plane release request message from a core network entity comprising an access and mobility management function (AMF) (Fig. 18 “2. Nsmf PDUSession Release SM Context”, “AMF”, SMF”, [0564] “The AMF may request to the SMF the release of the established PDU session by transmitting an Nsmf_PDUSession_Release SM context message (abbreviated as ‘Nsmf_PDUSession_Release SM context’) containing a subscriber permanent identifier (SUPI) and/or a PDU session identifier to the SMF. All PDU sessions through the target access belonging to the UE may be released by the AMF that transmits the Nsmf_PDUSession_Release SM context (including a subscriber's permanent ID and/or PDU session ID) message to the SMF for each PDU session”, [0124] “The MCCH is a point-to-multipoint downlink channel used for delivering MBMS (Multimedia Broadcast and Multicast Service) control information from a network to a UE”),
the first user plane release request message comprising a request for a downlink tunnel ([0564] “The AMF may request to the SMF the release of the established PDU session by transmitting an Nsmf_PDUSession_Release SM context message (abbreviated as ‘Nsmf_PDUSession_Release SM context’) containing a subscriber permanent identifier (SUPI) and/or a PDU session identifier to the SMF. All PDU sessions through the target access belonging to the UE may be released by the AMF that transmits the Nsmf_PDUSession_Release SM context (including a subscriber's permanent ID and/or PDU session ID) message to the SMF for each PDU session”, [0566] “The SMF may transmit an N4 session release request (including the N4 session ID) message to the UPF. The UPF drops any remaining packet of the PDU session and releases all tunnel resources and context associated with the N4 session (identified by the N4 session ID)”);
and sending a second user plane release request message to a core network entity comprising a multicast broadcast user plane function (MB-UPF) (Fig. 18 “3a N4 SESSION RELEASE REQUEST”, [0566] “The SMF may transmit an N4 session release request (including the N4 session ID) message to the UPF. The UPF drops any remaining packet of the PDU session and releases all tunnel resources and context associated with the N4 session (identified by the N4 session ID), [0124] “The MCCH is a point-to-multipoint downlink channel used for delivering MBMS (Multimedia Broadcast and Multicast Service) control information from a network to a UE”),
the second user plane release request message comprising a request for the downlink tunnel (Fig. 18 “3a N4 SESSION RELEASE REQUEST”, [0566] “The SMF may transmit an N4 session release request (including the N4 session ID) message to the UPF. The UPF drops any remaining packet of the PDU session and releases all tunnel resources and context associated with the N4 session (identified by the N4 session ID), [0124] “The MCCH is a point-to-multipoint downlink channel used for delivering MBMS (Multimedia Broadcast and Multicast Service) control information from a network to a UE”);
receiving a first user plane release response message from the core network entity comprising the MB-UPF (Fig. 18. “3b N4 SESSION RELEASE RESPONSE”, [0567] “3b. The UPF acknowledges the N4 session release request by transmitting an N4 session release response (including the N4 session ID) message to the SMF”, [0124] “The MCCH is a point-to-multipoint downlink channel used for delivering MBMS (Multimedia Broadcast and Multicast Service) control information from a network to a UE”);
after receiving said first user plane release response message from the core network entity comprising the MB-UPF (Fig. 18. “3b N4 SESSION RELEASE RESPONSE”, [0567] “3b. The UPF acknowledges the N4 session release request by transmitting an N4 session release response (including the N4 session ID) message to the SMF”, [0124] “The MCCH is a point-to-multipoint downlink channel used for delivering MBMS (Multimedia Broadcast and Multicast Service) control information from a network to a UE”),
sending a second user plane release response message to the core network entity comprising the AMF (Fig. 18. “4”, “SMF, “AMF”, [0568] “4. The SMF may respond to the Nsmf_PDUSession_Release SM context message with an Nsmf_PDUSession_Release SM context response message.”).
Youn does not explicitly teach the downlink tunnel associated with unicast, the downlink tunnel associated with unicast.
Ge teaches the downlink tunnel associated with unicast ([0271] “When broadcast received quality is poor, a network entity on a network side needs to switch a receive transmission mode of the terminal to a unicast transmission mode … a unicast session establishment procedure needs to be triggered to establish the unicast path”, [0260-262] “If an N4 session has been established, the SMF entity initiates an N4 session modification procedure, to update access network (access network, AN) tunnel information and core network (core network, CN) tunnel information…S115 b. The UPF entity sends an N4 session establishment/modification response message to the SMF entity….S116. The SMF entity sends an SM response message to the AMF entity”),
the downlink tunnel associated with unicast ([0271] “When broadcast received quality is poor, a network entity on a network side needs to switch a receive transmission mode of the terminal to a unicast transmission mode … a unicast session establishment procedure needs to be triggered to establish the unicast path”, [0260-262] “If an N4 session has been established, the SMF entity initiates an N4 session modification procedure, to update access network (access network, AN) tunnel information and core network (core network, CN) tunnel information…S115 b. The UPF entity sends an N4 session establishment/modification response message to the SMF entity….S116. The SMF entity sends an SM response message to the AMF entity).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Youn to incorporate the teaching of Ge. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase utilization efficiency of network transmission resources.
Regarding claim 41, Youn teaches wherein one or both of the user plane release request message comprises an identity of the multicast or broadcast session ([0124] “A logical channel lies above a transmission channel and is mapped to the transmission channel. The logical channel may be divided into a control channel for delivering control area information and a traffic channel for delivering user area information …The MCCH is a point-to-multipoint downlink channel used for delivering MBMS (Multimedia Broadcast and Multicast Service) control information from a network to a UE”, [0395] “A QoS flow ID (QFI) is used to identify a QoS flow within a 5G system, [0564] “message (abbreviated as ‘Nsmf_PDUSession_Release SM context’) containing a subscriber permanent identifier (SUPI) and/or a PDU session identifier to the SMF”).
Regarding claim 42, Youn teaches wherein one or both of the user plane release request message comprises an identity of the downlink tunnel ([0165] “Specifically, the SMF supports functions, such as session management (e.g., session setup, modification and release including the maintenance of a tunnel between a UPF and an AN node)”, [0564] “including a subscriber's permanent ID and/or PDU session ID) message to the SMF for each PDU session”).
Regarding claim 43, Youn teaches wherein one or both of the user plane release response message comprises an indication that the downlink tunnel has been released ([0567] “3b. The UPF acknowledges the N4 session release request by transmitting an N4 session release response (including the N4 session ID) message to the SMF”).
Regarding claim 44, Youn teaches wherein one or both of the user plane release response message comprises an identity of the multicast or broadcast session ([0567] “3b. The UPF acknowledges the N4 session release request by transmitting an N4 session release response (including the N4 session ID) message to the SMF”), [0123] “Downlink transport channels transmitting data from a network to a UE include a Broadcast Channel (BCH) transmitting system information … through a separate downlink Multicast Channel (MCH)”) .
Regarding claim 45, Youn teaches wherein one or both of the user plane release response message comprises an identity of the downlink tunnel ([0567] “3b. The UPF acknowledges the N4 session release request by transmitting an N4 session release response (including the N4 session ID) message to the SMF”, [0021] “ the SMF may be a network entity that transmits an N4 session release request message for requesting the release of an N4 session to a user plane function (UPF) and the UPF may be a network entity that releases all tunnel resources and contexts associated with the N4 session”).
Claim(s) 46-54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youn in view of Ge further in view of Gunnarsson et al. (US20200037145).
Regarding claim 46, Youn teaches A core network entity comprising an access and mobility management function (AMF), the core network entity comprising:
and processing circuitry configured to cause the core network entity to perform ([0022] “an access and mobility management function (AMF) performing network-initiated deregistration in a wireless communication system includes: a communication module configured to transmit/receive a signal; and a processor configured to control the communication module”):
receiving a first user plane release request message from a radio access network entity (Fig. 18 “1. DERIGISTRATION REQUEST, [0561] “The UE may transmit to the AMF a NAS message deregistration request message (abbreviated as ‘deregistration request) (including 5G-GUTI, a deregistration type (e.g., switch-off), and an access type), [0050] “The RAN is defined at the terminal level and provides a connection to a core network”, (Examiner’s Note: UE is sending through the base station/RAN to AMF),
the first user plane release request message comprising a request for a downlink tunnel ([0124] “A logical channel lies above a transmission channel and is mapped to the transmission channel … The MCCH is a point-to-multipoint downlink channel used for delivering MBMS (Multimedia Broadcast and Multicast Service) control information from a network to a UE”, [0571] “The AMF transmits a deregistration accept message (abbreviated as ‘deregistration accept’) to the UE depending on the deregistration type, (Examiner’s Note: deregistration is equivalent to release);
sending a second user plane release request message to a third core network entity comprising a multicast broadcast session management function (MB- SMF) (Fig. 18 “2. Nsmf PDUSession Release SM Context”, “AMF”, SMF”, [0564] “The AMF may request to the SMF the release of the established PDU session by transmitting an Nsmf_PDUSession_Release SM context message (abbreviated as ‘Nsmf_PDUSession_Release SM context’) containing a subscriber permanent identifier (SUPI) and/or a PDU session identifier to the SMF. All PDU sessions through the target access belonging to the UE may be released by the AMF that transmits the Nsmf_PDUSession_Release SM context (including a subscriber's permanent ID and/or PDU session ID) message to the SMF for each PDU session”, [0124] “The MCCH is a point-to-multipoint downlink channel used for delivering MBMS (Multimedia Broadcast and Multicast Service) control information from a network to a UE”),
the second user plane release request message comprising a request for the downlink tunnel wireless devices in a multicast or broadcast session to be released ([0564] “The AMF may request to the SMF the release of the established PDU session by transmitting an Nsmf_PDUSession_Release SM context message (abbreviated as ‘Nsmf_PDUSession_Release SM context’) containing a subscriber permanent identifier (SUPI) and/or a PDU session identifier to the SMF. All PDU sessions through the target access belonging to the UE may be released by the AMF that transmits the Nsmf_PDUSession_Release SM context (including a subscriber's permanent ID and/or PDU session ID) message to the SMF for each PDU session”, [0566] “The SMF may transmit an N4 session release request (including the N4 session ID) message to the UPF. The UPF drops any remaining packet of the PDU session and releases all tunnel resources and context associated with the N4 session (identified by the N4 session ID)”);
receiving a first user plane release response message from the third core network entity ((Fig. 18 “4. Nsmf PDUSession Release SM Context Response”, [0568] “The SMF may respond to the Nsmf_PDUSession_Release SM context message with an Nsmf_PDUSession_Release SM context response message”);
and after receiving said first user plane release response message from the third core network entity ((Fig. 18 “4. Nsmf PDUSession Release SM Context Response”, [0568] “The SMF may respond to the Nsmf_PDUSession_Release SM context message with an Nsmf_PDUSession_Release SM context response message”),
sending a second user plane release response message to the radio access network entity (Fig. 18, “7. DEREGISTRATION ACCEPT”, [0571] “The AMF transmits a deregistration accept message (abbreviated as ‘deregistration accept’) to the UE depending on the deregistration type”, (Examiner’s Note: has to go through a base station/RAN)).
Youn does not explicitly teach power supply circuitry configured to supply power to the core network entity; the downlink tunnel associated with unicast, the downlink tunnel associated with unicast.
Ge teaches the downlink tunnel associated with unicast ([0271] “When broadcast received quality is poor, a network entity on a network side needs to switch a receive transmission mode of the terminal to a unicast transmission mode … a unicast session establishment procedure needs to be triggered to establish the unicast path”, [0260-262] “If an N4 session has been established, the SMF entity initiates an N4 session modification procedure, to update access network (access network, AN) tunnel information and core network (core network, CN) tunnel information…S115 b. The UPF entity sends an N4 session establishment/modification response message to the SMF entity….S116. The SMF entity sends an SM response message to the AMF entity”),
the downlink tunnel associated with unicast ([0271] “When broadcast received quality is poor, a network entity on a network side needs to switch a receive transmission mode of the terminal to a unicast transmission mode … a unicast session establishment procedure needs to be triggered to establish the unicast path”, [0260-262] “If an N4 session has been established, the SMF entity initiates an N4 session modification procedure, to update access network (access network, AN) tunnel information and core network (core network, CN) tunnel information…S115 b. The UPF entity sends an N4 session establishment/modification response message to the SMF entity….S116. The SMF entity sends an SM response message to the AMF entity).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Youn to incorporate the teaching of Ge. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase utilization efficiency of network transmission resources.
Ge does not explicitly teach power supply circuitry configured to supply power to the core network entity.
Gunnarsson teaches power supply circuitry configured to supply power to the core network entity ([0365] “Power source 1986 and/or power circuitry 1987 may be configured to provide power to the various components of network node 1960 in a form suitable for the respective components (e.g., at a voltage and current level needed for each respective component). Power source 1986 may either be included in, or external to, power circuitry 1987 and/or network node 1960”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Youn, Ge to incorporate the teaching of Gunnarsson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in provide power to the core network.
Regarding claim 47, Youn teaches wherein one or more of the first and second user plane release request messages comprises an identity of the multicast or broadcast session ([0124] “A logical channel lies above a transmission channel and is mapped to the transmission channel. The logical channel may be divided into a control channel for delivering control area information and a traffic channel for delivering user area information …The MCCH is a point-to-multipoint downlink channel used for delivering MBMS (Multimedia Broadcast and Multicast Service) control information from a network to a UE”, [0395] “A QoS flow ID (QFI) is used to identify a QoS flow within a 5G system).
Regarding claim 48, Youn teaches wherein one or more of the first and second user plane release request messages comprises an identity of the downlink tunnel ([0165] “Specifically, the SMF supports functions, such as session management (e.g., session setup, modification and release including the maintenance of a tunnel between a UPF and an AN node)”, [0564] “including a subscriber's permanent ID and/or PDU session ID) message to the SMF for each PDU session”).
Regarding claim 49, Youn teaches A core network entity, the core network entity comprising a multicast broadcast session management function (MB-SMF), the core network entity comprising: ([0631] “The network node 2210 includes a processor 2211, memory 2212, and a communication module 2213”):
receiving a first user plane release request message from a core network entity comprising an access and mobility management function (AMF) (Fig. 18 “2. Nsmf PDUSession Release SM Context”, “AMF”, SMF”, [0564] “The AMF may request to the SMF the release of the established PDU session by transmitting an Nsmf_PDUSession_Release SM context message (abbreviated as ‘Nsmf_PDUSession_Release SM context’) containing a subscriber permanent identifier (SUPI) and/or a PDU session identifier to the SMF. All PDU sessions through the target access belonging to the UE may be released by the AMF that transmits the Nsmf_PDUSession_Release SM context (including a subscriber's permanent ID and/or PDU session ID) message to the SMF for each PDU session”, [0124] “The MCCH is a point-to-multipoint downlink channel used for delivering MBMS (Multimedia Broadcast and Multicast Service) control information from a network to a UE”),
the first user plane release request message comprising a request for a downlink tunnel ([0564] “The AMF may request to the SMF the release of the established PDU session by transmitting an Nsmf_PDUSession_Release SM context message (abbreviated as ‘Nsmf_PDUSession_Release SM context’) containing a subscriber permanent identifier (SUPI) and/or a PDU session identifier to the SMF. All PDU sessions through the target access belonging to the UE may be released by the AMF that transmits the Nsmf_PDUSession_Release SM context (including a subscriber's permanent ID and/or PDU session ID) message to the SMF for each PDU session”, [0566] “The SMF may transmit an N4 session release request (including the N4 session ID) message to the UPF. The UPF drops any remaining packet of the PDU session and releases all tunnel resources and context associated with the N4 session (identified by the N4 session ID)”);
and sending a second user plane release request message to a core network entity comprising a multicast broadcast user plane function (MB- UPF) (Fig. 18 “3a N4 SESSION RELEASE REQUEST”, [0566] “The SMF may transmit an N4 session release request (including the N4 session ID) message to the UPF. The UPF drops any remaining packet of the PDU session and releases all tunnel resources and context associated with the N4 session (identified by the N4 session ID), [0124] “The MCCH is a point-to-multipoint downlink channel used for delivering MBMS (Multimedia Broadcast and Multicast Service) control information from a network to a UE”),
the second user plane release request message comprising a request for the downlink tunnel (Fig. 18 “3a N4 SESSION RELEASE REQUEST”, [0566] “The SMF may transmit an N4 session release request (including the N4 session ID) message to the UPF. The UPF drops any remaining packet of the PDU session and releases all tunnel resources and context associated with the N4 session (identified by the N4 session ID), [0124] “The MCCH is a point-to-multipoint downlink channel used for delivering MBMS (Multimedia Broadcast and Multicast Service) control information from a network to a UE”);
receiving a first user plane release response message from the core network entity comprising the MB-UPF (Fig. 18. “3b N4 SESSION RELEASE RESPONSE”, [0567] “3b. The UPF acknowledges the N4 session release request by transmitting an N4 session release response (including the N4 session ID) message to the SMF”, [0124] “The MCCH is a point-to-multipoint downlink channel used for delivering MBMS (Multimedia Broadcast and Multicast Service) control information from a network to a UE”);
and after receiving said first user plane release response message from the core network entity comprising the MB-UPF (Fig. 18. “3b N4 SESSION RELEASE RESPONSE”, [0567] “3b. The UPF acknowledges the N4 session release request by transmitting an N4 session release response (including the N4 session ID) message to the SMF”, [0124] “The MCCH is a point-to-multipoint downlink channel used for delivering MBMS (Multimedia Broadcast and Multicast Service) control information from a network to a UE”),
sending a second user plane release response message to the core network entity comprising the AMF (Fig. 18. “4”, “SMF, “AMF”, [0568] “4. The SMF may respond to the Nsmf_PDUSession_Release SM context message with an Nsmf_PDUSession_Release SM context response message.”).
Youn does not explicitly teach power supply circuitry configured to supply power to the core network entity; the downlink tunnel associated with unicast, the downlink tunnel associated with unicast.
Ge teaches the downlink tunnel associated with unicast ([0271] “When broadcast received quality is poor, a network entity on a network side needs to switch a receive transmission mode of the terminal to a unicast transmission mode … a unicast session establishment procedure needs to be triggered to establish the unicast path”, [0260-262] “If an N4 session has been established, the SMF entity initiates an N4 session modification procedure, to update access network (access network, AN) tunnel information and core network (core network, CN) tunnel information…S115 b. The UPF entity sends an N4 session establishment/modification response message to the SMF entity….S116. The SMF entity sends an SM response message to the AMF entity”),
the downlink tunnel associated with unicast ([0271] “When broadcast received quality is poor, a network entity on a network side needs to switch a receive transmission mode of the terminal to a unicast transmission mode … a unicast session establishment procedure needs to be triggered to establish the unicast path”, [0260-262] “If an N4 session has been established, the SMF entity initiates an N4 session modification procedure, to update access network (access network, AN) tunnel information and core network (core network, CN) tunnel information…S115 b. The UPF entity sends an N4 session establishment/modification response message to the SMF entity….S116. The SMF entity sends an SM response message to the AMF entity).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Youn to incorporate the teaching of Ge. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase utilization efficiency of network transmission resources.
Ge does not teach power supply circuitry configured to supply power to the core network entity.
Gunnarsson teaches power supply circuitry configured to supply power to the core network entity ([0365] “Power source 1986 and/or power circuitry 1987 may be configured to provide power to the various components of network node 1960 in a form suitable for the respective components (e.g., at a voltage and current level needed for each respective component). Power source 1986 may either be included in, or external to, power circuitry 1987 and/or network node 1960”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination Youn, Ge to incorporate the teaching of Gunnarsson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide power to the system.
Regarding claim 50, Youn teaches wherein one or both of the user plane release request message comprises an identity of the multicast or broadcast session ([0124] “A logical channel lies above a transmission channel and is mapped to the transmission channel. The logical channel may be divided into a control channel for delivering control area information and a traffic channel for delivering user area information …The MCCH is a point-to-multipoint downlink channel used for delivering MBMS (Multimedia Broadcast and Multicast Service) control information from a network to a UE”, [0395] “A QoS flow ID (QFI) is used to identify a QoS flow within a 5G system, [0564] “message (abbreviated as ‘Nsmf_PDUSession_Release SM context’) containing a subscriber permanent identifier (SUPI) and/or a PDU session identifier to the SMF”).
Regarding claim 51, Youn teaches wherein one or both of the user plane release request message comprises an identity of the downlink tunnel ([0165] “Specifically, the SMF supports functions, such as session management (e.g., session setup, modification and release including the maintenance of a tunnel between a UPF and an AN node)”, [0564] “including a subscriber's permanent ID and/or PDU session ID) message to the SMF for each PDU session”).
Regarding claim 52, Youn teaches wherein one or both of the user plane release response message comprises an indication that the downlink tunnel has been released ([0567] “3b. The UPF acknowledges the N4 session release request by transmitting an N4 session release response (including the N4 session ID) message to the SMF”).
Regarding claim 53, Youn teaches wherein one or both of the user plane release response message comprises an identity of the multicast or broadcast session ([0567] “3b. The UPF acknowledges the N4 session release request by transmitting an N4 session release response (including the N4 session ID) message to the SMF”), [0123] “Downlink transport channels transmitting data from a network to a UE include a Broadcast Channel (BCH) transmitting system information … through a separate downlink Multicast Channel (MCH)”).
Regarding claim 54, Youn teaches wherein one or both of the user plane release response message comprises an identity of the downlink tunnel ([0567] “3b. The UPF acknowledges the N4 session release request by transmitting an N4 session release response (including the N4 session ID) message to the SMF”, [0021] “ the SMF may be a network entity that transmits an N4 session release request message for requesting the release of an N4 session to a user plane function (UPF) and the UPF may be a network entity that releases all tunnel resources and contexts associated with the N4 session”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Argument 1
The Office Action's analysis begins with Youn. With respect to the step of "receiving a first user plane release request message," the Office Action points to Youn's Figure 18.1 and paragraph 0561, which teach that a "UE may transmit to the AMF a NAS message deregistration request message." (Office Action p. 3.) As an initial matter, the Applicant respectfully submits that the Office Action's assertion that "deregistration is equivalent to release" is unfounded and8 of 12
incorrect - while a deregistration may sometimes (but certainly not always) result in the release of certain user plane resources, there is nothing in the record to suggest that the person of ordinary skill in the art would consider a deregistration request message to be "equivalent" to a user plane release request.
Examiner’s Response 1
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant states that deregistration may sometime result in release. Youn clearly shows the deregistration may result in a release of resource according to Fig. 18.
Applicant’s Argument 2
Youn's deregistration request message is assumed, for the sake of argument, to be equivalent to a user plane release request message, claim 37 specifies that the first user plane release request message includes a request for a certain downlink tunnel to be released - in particular, a downlink tunnel associated with unicast of user plane for one or more wireless devices in a multicast or broadcast session." This is not disclosed or suggested by Youn - to the contrary, Youn describes its deregistration request as including only a "5G-GUTI, a deregistration type (e.g., switch-off), and an access type." (Office Action p. 3; Youn 0561.)
Ge also fails to disclose or suggest that a user plane release request message (or a
deregistration request) includes a request for that particular downlink tunnel, i.e., the downlink tunnel associated with unicast of user plane data for one or more wireless devices in a multicast or broadcast session, to be released. The Office Action's analysis points to several paragraphs in Ge, but these paragraphs simply demonstrate that a UE receiving broadcast services may need to be switched to a unicast transmission mode, which may involve "updating" tunnel information. (Office Action pp. 5, 6.)
Examiner’s Response 2
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant states “the first user plane release request message includes a request for a certain downlink tunnel to be released”, which is not same as what is claimed.
Youn is relied upon to show the first user plane release request message comprising a request for a downlink tunnel ([0124] “A logical channel lies above a transmission channel and is mapped to the transmission channel … The MCCH is a point-to-multipoint downlink channel used for delivering MBMS (Multimedia Broadcast and Multicast Service) control information from a network to a UE”, [0571] “The AMF transmits a deregistration accept message (abbreviated as ‘deregistration accept’) to the UE depending on the deregistration type, (Examiner’s Note: deregistration is equivalent to release);
Further more, as shown in Youn the deregistration that occurs in fig. 18 and [0571] results in the release of all tunnel resource and context in UPF because the claim calls for “to be released” which includes the “a downlink tunnel of user plane data for one or more wireless devices to be released and [0124] generally talks about the type of transmission channels to communicate information from a network to a UE. This could be broadly interpreted as the first user plane release request message comprising a request for a downlink tunnel
[0561] that was mapped above for receiving a first user plane release request message from a radio access network entity (Fig. 18 “1. DERIGISTRATION REQUEST, [0561] “The UE may transmit to the AMF a NAS message deregistration request message (abbreviated as ‘deregistration request) (including 5G-GUTI, a deregistration type (e.g., switch-off), and an access type), [0050] “The RAN is defined at the terminal level and provides a connection to a core network”, (Examiner’s Note: UE is sending through the base station/RAN to AMF).
Youn is not clear whether the downlink tunnel associated with unicast. Ge shows that the downlink tunnel is associated with unicast.
Ge is reiled upon to show the downlink tunnel associated with unicast ([0271] “When broadcast received quality is poor, a network entity on a network side needs to switch a receive transmission mode of the terminal to a unicast transmission mode … a unicast session establishment procedure needs to be triggered to establish the unicast path”, [0260-262] “If an N4 session has been established, the SMF entity initiates an N4 session modification procedure, to update access network (access network, AN) tunnel information and core network (core network, CN) tunnel information…S115 b. The UPF entity sends an N4 session establishment/modification response message to the SMF entity….S116. The SMF entity sends an SM response message to the AMF entity”).
Applicant’s Argument 3
claim 38 depends from claim 37 and specifies that one or more of the first and second user plane release request messages comprises an identity of the multicast or broadcast session. The Office Action's analysis, at pages 6 and 7, points to Youn's paragraphs and 0395, but neither of these suggest that Youn's deregistration message (which the Office Action equates to the "first user plane release request message") or Youn's "Nsmf PDUSession Release SM Context" message (which the Office Action equates to the "second user plane release request message") includes an identifier for a multicast or broadcast session. The Office Action's analysis of claim 38 simply shows that Youn discloses an "MCCH," which is a "point-to- multipoint downlink channel used for delivering MBMS," as well as a "QoS flow ID," which "is used to identify a QoS flow within a 5G system."
Examiner’s Response 3
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Youn is relied upon to show wherein one or more of the first and second user plane release request messages comprises an identity of the multicast or broadcast session ([0124] “A logical channel lies above a transmission channel and is mapped to the transmission channel. The logical channel may be divided into a control channel for delivering control area information and a traffic channel for delivering user area information …The MCCH is a point-to-multipoint downlink channel used for delivering MBMS (Multimedia Broadcast and Multicast Service) control information from a network to a UE”, [0395] “A QoS flow ID (QFI) is used to identify a QoS flow within a 5G system). QOS flow ID or QFI are used to identify data being transmitted in the 5g system. For example, is the QFI relates to multicast session because the system uses multicast channels to send data in which the system uses QFI to identify which QOS to apply to which session which is shown further in [0449].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dao et al. (US20190223250) is about multicast-broadcast session release and modification.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.T.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411