DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
1. Applicant's submittal of claims 1, 10, 12, 14-15, 18-19, 22-33, and 40 in the “Claims” filed on 09/22/2023 is acknowledged and entered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (100; Fig 3A; [0063]) = (element 100; Figure No. 3A; Paragraph No. [0063]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
2. Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kashiwabara (US 20030178621 A1; hereinafter Kashiwabara).
Regarding claim 1, Kashiwabara teaches a system (see the entire document, specifically Fig. 1(a)+; [0085+], and as cited below), comprising:
forming a first light-emitting layer (14; Figs. 2(a)-2(n); see [0110-0111, 0121]) configured to emit light in a first color (see [0121]; blue) in at least a first region on a substrate (11; Figs. 2(a)-2(n); see [0110-0111, 0121]) by using a first solution including a first light-emitting material and a first solvent (see [0110-0111, 0102-0104, 0122-0123]); and
forming a second light-emitting layer (18; Figs. 2(a)-2(n); see [0110-0121]) configured to emit light in a second color (see [0121]; green) different from the first color(see [0121]; blue) in at least a second region (see Fig. 2(n)) different from the first region (see Fig. 2(n)) on the substrate (11; Figs. 2(a)-2(n); see [0110-0121]) by using a second solution including a second light-emitting material and a second solvent (see [0112-0116, 0122-0123]) in which a solubility of the first light-emitting material is less than a solubility of the first light-emitting material in the first solvent (see [0102-0104, 0110-0111, 0122-0123]), the forming a second tight-emitting layer (18; Figs. 2(a)-2(n); see [0110-0121]) being performed after the forming a first light-emitting layer (14; Figs. 2(a)-2(n); see [0110-0121]), wherein the first light-emitting layer (18; Figs. 2(a)-2(n); see [0110-0121]) and the second light-emitting layer (14; Figs. 2(a)-2(n); see [0110-0121]) emit light in different regions (see Fig. 2(n)).
Regarding claim 10, Kashiwabara teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Kashiwabara further teaches wherein the first light-emitting layer (14; Figs. 2(a)-2(n); see [0110-0121]) in the first region (see Fig. 2(n)) is included in a first subpixel, the second light-emitting layer (18; Figs. 2(a)-2(n); see [0110-0121]) in the second region (see Fig. 2(n)) is included in a second subpixel, the first subpixel and the second subpixel are included in one pixel of a display region (see [0028, 0034, 0156, 0162]), wherein the first solution (see [0103, 0104, 0110-0111, 0121]) includes a photosensitive resin, and the second solution (see [0103, 0104, 0112-0116, 0121]) does not include a photosensitive resin.
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claim 12 (and claims dependent upon claim 12, namely claim 14-15, 18-19, and 22-33) is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form, and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: A search of the prior art failed to disclose or reasonably suggest the limitations “forming a third light-emitting layer configured to emit light in a third color different from the first color and the second color in at least a third region different from the first region and the second region on the substrate by using a third solution including a third light-emitting material and a third solvent in which a solubility of the second light-emitting material is less than a solubility of the second light-emitting material in the second solvent, the forming a third light-emitting layer being performed after the forming a second light-emitting layer, wherein the third light-emitting layer emits light in a region different from regions of the first light-emitting layer and the second light-emitting layer” of claim 12 (the individual limitations may be found just not in combination).
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claim 40 is allowable.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject
matter: A search of the prior art failed to disclose or reasonably suggest the limitations
of claim 40 (the individual limitations may be found just not in combination).
Regarding Claim 40: this is allowable, because, the references of the Prior Art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure, and the examiner’s knowledge does not teach or render obvious, at least to the skilled artisan, the instant invention regarding: “a first light-emitting material, the first light-emitting layer being configured to emit light in a first color, a second light-emitting layer including a second light-emitting material, the second light-emitting layer being configured to emit light in a second color different from the first color, and a third light-emitting layer including a third light-emitting material, the third light-emitting layer being configured to emit light in a third color different from the first color and the second color, wherein the first light-emitting layer and the second light-emitting layer are in contact with each other, one of the first light-emitting material and the second light-emitting material is a polar molecule, the other of the first light-emitting material and the second light-emitting material is a non-polar molecule, the first light-emitting layer and the second light-emitting layer emit light in different regions, the third light-emitting layer is in contact with the second light emitting layer, the first light-emitting material and the third light-emitting material are one of a polar molecule and anon-polar molecule, the second light-emitting material is the other of the polar molecule and the non-polar molecule, the first light-emitting layer is included in a first subpixel, the second light-emitting layer is included in a second subpixel, the third light-emitting layer is included in a third subpixel, and the first subpixel, the second subpixel, and the third subpixel are included in one pixel of a display region”, as recited in Claim 40, in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
/OMAR F MOJADDEDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2898