DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 7-16) in the reply filed on 6/16/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification merely states that the ratio should be 0.9-1.1 without explaining why or how that range is achieved. Accordingly, there is a written description or enablement issue.
Claims 9, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites “a volume ratio that is obtained by dividing a total volume”. The claim does not explain how the “total volume” of the lower electrode is determined after it has been “separated into the plurality of areas” (claim 8). Does “total volume” include the etched-away portions or only the remaining conductive areas? Are all lower electrode areas summed together? Is the volume measured before etching or after etching? If the lower electrode has different thicknesses because of the etching, how is the volume calculated?
Claim 10 recites “an area ratio that is obtained by dividing a total area of the upper electrode layer by a total area of the lower electrode layer is 0.9 to 1.1 in case that thicknesses of the upper electrode layer and the lower electrode layer are equal to each other.” Similar to claim 9, the “total area” becomes ambiguous once the lower electrode has been divided into a plurality of areas. Is the “total area” the sum of the remaining conductive areas? Are etched spaces excluded? Is the perimeter of each segment relevant? Is the area measured before or after etching?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP Publication No. 2013-197432 (Kazuhiro), cited by Applicant in view of DE Publication No. 10-2006-011995 (Steger).
Kazuhiro discloses
7. (Original) A method for producing a power module comprising:
preparing an upper electrode layer 11 and a lower electrode layer 12 on upper and lower surfaces of a ceramic base material 2, and preparing a ceramic substrate 11 / 2 / 12;
preparing a base plate 1E having a recess groove CP2 formed thereon to correspond to the lower electrode layer 12;
inserting the lower electrode layer 12 into the recess groove CP2; and
bonding (with solder 10) the ceramic substrate 11 / 2 / 12 on the base plate 1E in a laminated state.
Kazuhiro fails to disclose
preparing a ceramic substrate on which the lower electrode layer is separated into a plurality of areas.
Steger teaches
A method comprising:
preparing a ceramic substrate 5 on which the lower electrode layer 56 is separated into a plurality of areas 562.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to separate the lower electrode layer into a plurality of areas in Kazuhiro. The motivation would be to reduce stresses caused by the different coefficients of thermal expansion of the ceramic substrate, thereby improving service life and bonding reliability as taught by Steger ([0003]).
Steger teaches
8. (Original) The method of claim 7, wherein the preparing of the ceramic substrate 5 comprises forming a space 560 that is separated into the plurality of areas 562 by etching (structured, [0013]) a part of the lower electrode layer 56 in a thickness direction.
Steger teaches that the geometry of the upper and lower electrode layers impacts thermal stress and reliability.
9. (Original) The method of claim 8, wherein the forming of the space that is separated into the plurality of areas forms the space so that a volume ratio that is obtained by dividing a total volume of the upper electrode layer by a total volume of the lower electrode layer is 0.9 to 1.1.
To the extent taught and understood, it would have been obvious to optimize the relative volumes or areas through routine experimentation to obtain the desired stress reduction. See MPEP 2144.05.
Steger teaches that the geometry of the upper and lower electrode layers impacts thermal stress and reliability.
10. (Original) The method of claim 8, wherein the forming of the space that is separated into the plurality of areas forms the space so that an area ratio that is obtained by dividing a total area of the upper electrode layer by a total area of the lower electrode layer is 0.9 to 1.1 in case that thicknesses of the upper electrode layer and the lower electrode layer are equal to each other.
To the extent taught and understood, it would have been obvious to optimize the relative volumes or areas through routine experimentation to obtain the desired stress reduction. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazuhiro in view of Steger as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of JP Publication No. 4-104253 (Masahiro).
The combination of references fails to teach
11. (Original) The method of claim 7, wherein in the preparing of the base plate, the base plate is annealed to remove a thermal stress therefrom.
Masahiro teaches
A method comprising:
wherein in the preparing of the base plate 4, the base plate 4 is annealed to remove a thermal stress therefrom ([0039]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to anneal the base plate in the modified method of Kazuhiro. The motivation would be to provide a lightweight device that avoids warpage, cracks and solder fatigue which is well-known in the art as taught by Masahiro. See MPEP 2144.03.
Claim(s) 12, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazuhiro in view of Steger as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of JP Publication No. JP 2005-005400 (Tsukada).
The combination of references fails to teach
12. (Original) The method of claim 7, wherein the preparing of the base plate comprises disposing a brazing filler onto the recess groove.
Tsukada teaches
A method comprising:
wherein the preparing of the base plate 14 comprises disposing a brazing filler 20.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dispose a brazing filler in the modified method of Kazuhiro. The motivation would be to ensure precise alloy pre-placement, promote uniform capillary flow, and maximize joint strength which is well-known in the art as taught by Tsukada ([0029]). See MPEP 2144.03.
Steger teaches that the geometry of the upper and lower electrode layers impacts thermal stress and reliability.
13. (Original) The method of claim 12, wherein in the preparing of the base plate, the recess groove is formed by etching the base plate in a thickness direction, and wherein a depth of the recess groove is equal to a sum of thicknesses of the lower electrode layer and the brazing filler.
To the extent taught and understood, it would have been obvious to select the groove depth to accommodate the known thickness of the lower electrode and braze filler as a matter of routine optimization. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazuhiro in view of Steger and Tsukada as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0029666 (Kurihara).
The combination of references fails to teach
14. (Original) The method of claim 12, wherein the disposing of the brazing filler disposes the brazing filler having a thickness that is equal to or larger than 5 µm and equal to or smaller than 100 µm onto the recess groove by any one method of paste application, foil attachment, and P-filler.
Hurihara teaches
A method comprising:
wherein the disposing of the brazing filler disposes the brazing filler having a thickness that is equal to or larger than 5 µm and equal to or smaller than 100 µm (20 µm, [0374]) onto the recess groove by any one method of paste application ([0380]), foil attachment, and P-filler.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dispose the braze filler at a certain thickness in the modified method of Kazuhiro. The motivation would be to a brazing filler thickness in the recited range is suitable for bonding ceramic substrates to metal members to obtain a reliable bond while maintaining good heat transfer and controlling the amount of brazing material used as taught by Hurihara ([0007]-[0011], [0150], [0357], [0414]). See MPEP 2143.
Hurihara teaches
15. (Original) The method of claim 12, wherein the bonding of the ceramic substrate 1 on the base plate 14 in the laminated state comprises brazing the brazing filler through melting ([0375]).
Hurihara teaches
16. (Original) The method of claim 15, wherein the brazing is performed at 780°C to 900°C, and top weighting or pressurization is carried out during the brazing ([0379]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. JP Publication No. 4-848539 (Endo), JP Publication No. 2004-064081 (Kondo), JP Publication No. 2010-258420 (Nagatomo) teach a method including annealing and / or brazing.
/TERESA M. ARROYO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893