DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 1/14/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the x-ray imaging system" in lines 14 and 22. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner notes that a “two-dimensional X-ray imaging system” and also a “three-dimensional x-ray imaging system” are set forth within the claims, and therefore specific language should be used to define these elements as one of ordinary skill in the art would be unable to determine which x-ray system the limitation is referring to.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the x-ray imaging system" in lines 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner notes that a “two-dimensional X-ray imaging system” and also a “three-dimensional x-ray imaging system” are set forth within the claims, and therefore specific language should be used to define these elements as one of ordinary skill in the art would be unable to determine which x-ray system the limitation is referring to.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the x-ray imaging system" in lines 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner notes that a “two-dimensional X-ray imaging system” and also a “three-dimensional x-ray imaging system” are set forth within the claims, and therefore specific language should be used to define these elements as one of ordinary skill in the art would be unable to determine which x-ray system the limitation is referring to.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the x-ray imaging system" in lines 6 and 13-14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner notes that a “two-dimensional X-ray imaging system” and also a “three-dimensional x-ray imaging system” are set forth within the claims, and therefore specific language should be used to define these elements as one of ordinary skill in the art would be unable to determine which x-ray system the limitation is referring to.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the x-ray imaging system" in lines 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner notes that a “two-dimensional X-ray imaging system” and also a “three-dimensional x-ray imaging system” are set forth within the claims, and therefore specific language should be used to define these elements as one of ordinary skill in the art would be unable to determine which x-ray system the limitation is referring to.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the x-ray imaging system" in lines 8 and 15-16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner notes that a “two-dimensional X-ray imaging system” and also a “three-dimensional x-ray imaging system” are set forth within the claims, and therefore specific language should be used to define these elements as one of ordinary skill in the art would be unable to determine which x-ray system the limitation is referring to.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the x-ray imaging system" in lines 7-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner notes that a “two-dimensional X-ray imaging system” and also a “three-dimensional x-ray imaging system” are set forth within the claims, and therefore specific language should be used to define these elements as one of ordinary skill in the art would be unable to determine which x-ray system the limitation is referring to.
Claims dependent upon rejected claims are also rejected for indefiniteness. Therefore, dependent claims 2-6, 10-13, and 16-19 are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 7, 9-10, 14-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pizaine et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20160302757) hereinafter Pizaine.
Regarding claim 1, Pizaine teaches:
An angiography system (abstract), comprising:
a table configured to support a subject ([0044]-[0045], support table 20; figure 1);
a C-arm configured to rotate around the table, comprising a two-dimensional X-ray imaging system ([0044]-[0046], c-arm x-ray acquisition device 12 including source 12 and detector 18, figure 1);
a display arranged proximate the table so as to be visible by a user of the angiography system ([0044]-[0046], displays 34, 36, figure 1); and
a processing system communicatively coupled to the two-dimensional X-ray imaging system and the display ([0044]-[0046], “a calculation unit 26, which inter alia includes an image data providing unit 28 and a processing unit 30”, figure 1),
wherein the processing system is configured to:
receive, from the two-dimensional X-ray imaging system, contrast-enhanced two-dimensional X-ray imaging data of a region of the subject's body containing vasculature of interest and acquired after administration of an X-ray contrast agent to at least a portion of said vasculature, the contrast-enhanced two-dimensional X-ray imaging data corresponding to a position and orientation of the X-ray imaging system relative to the region of the subject's body ([0044], contrast agent into vessels for imaging using the C-arm x-ray acquisition device 12; [0047], angiographic image of a region of interest in an object, which is relative to the position and orientation that the x-ray imaging system is positioned relative to the patient; [0048]-[0052]; [0058]; figure 1, contrast agent injector 22; see also [0010]; [0022]-[0025]);
receive, from a three-dimensional X-ray imaging system, three-dimensional X-ray imaging data of the region of the subject's body acquired prior to administration of the X-ray contrast agent to at least the portion of the vasculature ([0013], preoperatively acquired 3D volume; [0014]-[0015], 3D volume; see also [0016] recitations of 3D volume acquired by CT imaging system; [0017]-[0031], see recitations of 3D volume image acquired; [0048], 3D volume; [0054], 3D volume; [0058]);
generate, from the three-dimensional X-ray imaging data, a two-dimensional mask of the region of the subject's body, the mask comprising simulated non-contrast- enhanced two-dimensional X-ray imaging data that corresponds to the position and orientation of the X-ray imaging system relative to the region of the subject's body ([0010], 3D-2D registration of geometry parameters of the image data and structures to be removed to create a digitally reconstructed radiograph image of these structures for image forms a simulated non-contrast enhanced mask that is used for subtraction processing of the acquired images; [0014], “a 3D-2D registration based on a plurality of structures to be removed and geometry parameters of the image data providing unit such that a “Digitally Reconstructed Radiograph” (DRR) of these structures is generated. It is ensured that the registration will compensate for the movement of structures under consideration only and the subtraction will suppress the corresponding transparent motions from the angiography image sequences”; [0015]-[0018]; [0019], suppression of specific structures forms a mask in the subtraction processing of the output images; [0021]-[0034]; [0048], generate DRR images; [0054], “digitally reconstructed radiograph images of a 3D-2D registration of the (preoperative) three-dimensional volume of the structures to be removed from the X-ray images is generated 50. This includes the projection of the structures onto the correct viewing plane as well as a registration thereof. Still further, the digitally reconstructed radiograph images are subtracted 52 from the X-ray images for generating structure-suppressed fluoroscopy images free of undesired/interfering motion of the suppressed structures”; [0055]-[0058]);
generate a vasculature image of the region of the subject's body, by subtracting the contrast-enhanced two-dimensional X-ray imaging data from the two-dimensional mask ([0010], 3D-2D registration of geometry parameters of the image data and structures to be removed to create a digitally reconstructed radiograph image of these structures for image forms a simulated non-contrast enhanced mask that is used for subtraction processing of the acquired images; [0014], “a 3D-2D registration based on a plurality of structures to be removed and geometry parameters of the image data providing unit such that a “Digitally Reconstructed Radiograph” (DRR) of these structures is generated. It is ensured that the registration will compensate for the movement of structures under consideration only and the subtraction will suppress the corresponding transparent motions from the angiography image sequences”; [0015]-[0018]; [0019], suppression of specific structures forms a mask in the subtraction processing of the output images; [0021]-[0034], structure-suppressed images form the generation of the vasculature image of the region of the subject without structures like bone; [0048], generate DRR images; [0054], “digitally reconstructed radiograph images of a 3D-2D registration of the (preoperative) three-dimensional volume of the structures to be removed from the X-ray images is generated 50. This includes the projection of the structures onto the correct viewing plane as well as a registration thereof. Still further, the digitally reconstructed radiograph images are subtracted 52 from the X-ray images for generating structure-suppressed fluoroscopy images free of undesired/interfering motion of the suppressed structures”; [0055]-[0058]); and
provide the vasculature image on the display ([0044]-[0046], displays 34, 36, figure 1; [0049], display unit 32 configured to display suppressed images; [0055]-[0058]).
Regarding claim 3, Pizaine teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Pizaine further teaches:
wherein configuring the processing system to generate the two-dimensional mask comprises configuring the processing system to:
register the three-dimensional X-ray imaging data to the contrast-enhanced two- dimensional X-ray imaging data ([0010], 3D-2D registration of geometry parameters of the image data and structures to be removed to create a digitally reconstructed radiograph image of these structures for image forms a simulated non-contrast enhanced mask that is used for subtraction processing of the acquired images; [0014], “a 3D-2D registration based on a plurality of structures to be removed and geometry parameters of the image data providing unit such that a “Digitally Reconstructed Radiograph” (DRR) of these structures is generated. It is ensured that the registration will compensate for the movement of structures under consideration only and the subtraction will suppress the corresponding transparent motions from the angiography image sequences”; [0015]-[0018]; [0019], suppression of specific structures forms a mask in the subtraction processing of the output images; [0021]-[0034]; [0048], generate DRR images; [0054], “digitally reconstructed radiograph images of a 3D-2D registration of the (preoperative) three-dimensional volume of the structures to be removed from the X-ray images is generated 50. This includes the projection of the structures onto the correct viewing plane as well as a registration thereof. Still further, the digitally reconstructed radiograph images are subtracted 52 from the X-ray images for generating structure-suppressed fluoroscopy images free of undesired/interfering motion of the suppressed structures”; [0055]-[0058]); and
project the registered three-dimensional X-ray imaging data to generate the two- dimensional mask ([0010], 3D-2D registration of geometry parameters of the image data and structures to be removed to create a digitally reconstructed radiograph image of these structures for image forms a simulated non-contrast enhanced mask that is used for subtraction processing of the acquired images; [0014], “a 3D-2D registration based on a plurality of structures to be removed and geometry parameters of the image data providing unit such that a “Digitally Reconstructed Radiograph” (DRR) of these structures is generated. It is ensured that the registration will compensate for the movement of structures under consideration only and the subtraction will suppress the corresponding transparent motions from the angiography image sequences”; [0015]-[0018]; [0019], suppression of specific structures forms a mask in the subtraction processing of the output images; [0021]-[0034]; [0048], generate DRR images; [0054], “digitally reconstructed radiograph images of a 3D-2D registration of the (preoperative) three-dimensional volume of the structures to be removed from the X-ray images is generated 50. This includes the projection of the structures onto the correct viewing plane as well as a registration thereof. Still further, the digitally reconstructed radiograph images are subtracted 52 from the X-ray images for generating structure-suppressed fluoroscopy images free of undesired/interfering motion of the suppressed structures”; [0055]-[0058]).
Regarding claim 7, Pizaine teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Pizaine further teaches:
wherein the vasculature image is a first vasculature image, the processing system further configured to:
receive, from the two-dimensional X-ray imaging system, non-contrast-enhanced two- dimensional X-ray imaging data of the region of a subject's body and acquired prior to administration of the X-ray contrast agent, the non-contrast-enhanced two-dimensional X-ray imaging data corresponding to a different position and orientation of the X-ray imaging system relative to the region of the subject's body, the different position and orientation due to motion of the subject between acquisition of the non-contrast-enhanced two-dimensional X-ray imaging data and the contrast-enhanced two-dimensional X-ray imaging data (see [0021] and [0030] teach to further processing of an additional DRR mask for further images or iterative processing of different motions and corresponding structures to achieve additional object suppressed images as output; See also: [0010], 3D-2D registration of geometry parameters of the image data and structures to be removed to create a digitally reconstructed radiograph image of these structures for image forms a simulated non-contrast enhanced mask that is used for subtraction processing of the acquired images; [0014], “a 3D-2D registration based on a plurality of structures to be removed and geometry parameters of the image data providing unit such that a “Digitally Reconstructed Radiograph” (DRR) of these structures is generated. It is ensured that the registration will compensate for the movement of structures under consideration only and the subtraction will suppress the corresponding transparent motions from the angiography image sequences”; [0015]-[0018]; [0019], suppression of specific structures forms a mask in the subtraction processing of the output images; [0021]-[0034]; [0048], generate DRR images; [0054], “digitally reconstructed radiograph images of a 3D-2D registration of the (preoperative) three-dimensional volume of the structures to be removed from the X-ray images is generated 50. This includes the projection of the structures onto the correct viewing plane as well as a registration thereof. Still further, the digitally reconstructed radiograph images are subtracted 52 from the X-ray images for generating structure-suppressed fluoroscopy images free of undesired/interfering motion of the suppressed structures”; [0055]-[0058]);
generate a second vasculature image of the region of the subject's body, by subtracting the contrast-enhanced two-dimensional X-ray imaging data from the non- contrast-enhanced two-dimensional X-ray imaging data, wherein the second vasculature image is contaminated by an artifact arising from the motion of the subject (see [0021] and [0030] teach to further processing of an additional DRR mask for further images or iterative processing of different motions and corresponding structures to achieve additional object suppressed images as output; See also: [0010], 3D-2D registration of geometry parameters of the image data and structures to be removed to create a digitally reconstructed radiograph image of these structures for image forms a simulated non-contrast enhanced mask that is used for subtraction processing of the acquired images; [0014], “a 3D-2D registration based on a plurality of structures to be removed and geometry parameters of the image data providing unit such that a “Digitally Reconstructed Radiograph” (DRR) of these structures is generated. It is ensured that the registration will compensate for the movement of structures under consideration only and the subtraction will suppress the corresponding transparent motions from the angiography image sequences”; [0015]-[0018]; [0019], suppression of specific structures forms a mask in the subtraction processing of the output images; [0021]-[0034], structure-suppressed images form the generation of the vasculature image of the region of the subject without structures like bone; [0048], generate DRR images; [0054], “digitally reconstructed radiograph images of a 3D-2D registration of the (preoperative) three-dimensional volume of the structures to be removed from the X-ray images is generated 50. This includes the projection of the structures onto the correct viewing plane as well as a registration thereof. Still further, the digitally reconstructed radiograph images are subtracted 52 from the X-ray images for generating structure-suppressed fluoroscopy images free of undesired/interfering motion of the suppressed structures”; [0055]-[0058]);
provide the second vasculature image on the display ([0044]-[0046], displays 34, 36, figure 1; [0049], display unit 32 configured to display suppressed images; [0055]-[0058]); and
provide a user interface control to send a request to correct motion artifacts in the second vasculature image, wherein the first vasculature image is generated only after receiving a request to correct motion artifacts from the user interface control ([0044]-[0046], include the control unit and displays for controlling imaging of the system; [0060], user control of the system to continue imaging provides for correction of motion artifacts as in [0010] and [0014]-[0036] of the process of motion suppression initiated by a user operating the system).
Regarding claim 9, Pizaine teaches:
A method for digital subtraction angiography (abstract), comprising:
receiving, from a two-dimensional X-ray imaging system, contrast-enhanced two- dimensional X-ray imaging data of a region of a subject's body containing vasculature of interest and acquired after administration of an X-ray contrast agent to at least a portion of said vasculature, the contrast-enhanced two-dimensional X-ray imaging data corresponding to a position and orientation of the X-ray imaging system relative to the region of the subject's body ([0044], contrast agent into vessels for imaging using the C-arm x-ray acquisition device 12; [0047], angiographic image of a region of interest in an object, which is relative to the position and orientation that the x-ray imaging system is positioned relative to the patient; [0048]-[0052]; [0058]; figure 1, contrast agent injector 22; see also [0010]; [0022]-[0025]);
receiving, from a three-dimensional X-ray imaging system, three-dimensional X-ray imaging data of the region of the subject's body acquired prior to administration of the X-ray contrast agent to at least the portion of the vasculature ([0013], preoperatively acquired 3D volume; [0014]-[0015], 3D volume; see also [0016] recitations of 3D volume acquired by CT imaging system; [0017]-[0031], see recitations of 3D volume image acquired; [0048], 3D volume; [0054], 3D volume; [0058]);
generating, from the three-dimensional X-ray imaging data, a two-dimensional mask of the region of the subject's body, the mask comprising simulated non-contrast-enhanced two-dimensional X-ray imaging data that corresponds to the position and orientation of the X-ray imaging system relative to the region of the subject's body ([0010], 3D-2D registration of geometry parameters of the image data and structures to be removed to create a digitally reconstructed radiograph image of these structures for image forms a simulated non-contrast enhanced mask that is used for subtraction processing of the acquired images; [0014], “a 3D-2D registration based on a plurality of structures to be removed and geometry parameters of the image data providing unit such that a “Digitally Reconstructed Radiograph” (DRR) of these structures is generated. It is ensured that the registration will compensate for the movement of structures under consideration only and the subtraction will suppress the corresponding transparent motions from the angiography image sequences”; [0015]-[0018]; [0019], suppression of specific structures forms a mask in the subtraction processing of the output images; [0021]-[0034]; [0048], generate DRR images; [0054], “digitally reconstructed radiograph images of a 3D-2D registration of the (preoperative) three-dimensional volume of the structures to be removed from the X-ray images is generated 50. This includes the projection of the structures onto the correct viewing plane as well as a registration thereof. Still further, the digitally reconstructed radiograph images are subtracted 52 from the X-ray images for generating structure-suppressed fluoroscopy images free of undesired/interfering motion of the suppressed structures”; [0055]-[0058]);
generating a vasculature image of the region of the subject's body, by subtracting the contrast-enhanced two-dimensional X-ray imaging data from the two-dimensional mask ([0010], 3D-2D registration of geometry parameters of the image data and structures to be removed to create a digitally reconstructed radiograph image of these structures for image forms a simulated non-contrast enhanced mask that is used for subtraction processing of the acquired images; [0014], “a 3D-2D registration based on a plurality of structures to be removed and geometry parameters of the image data providing unit such that a “Digitally Reconstructed Radiograph” (DRR) of these structures is generated. It is ensured that the registration will compensate for the movement of structures under consideration only and the subtraction will suppress the corresponding transparent motions from the angiography image sequences”; [0015]-[0018]; [0019], suppression of specific structures forms a mask in the subtraction processing of the output images; [0021]-[0034], structure-suppressed images form the generation of the vasculature image of the region of the subject without structures like bone; [0048], generate DRR images; [0054], “digitally reconstructed radiograph images of a 3D-2D registration of the (preoperative) three-dimensional volume of the structures to be removed from the X-ray images is generated 50. This includes the projection of the structures onto the correct viewing plane as well as a registration thereof. Still further, the digitally reconstructed radiograph images are subtracted 52 from the X-ray images for generating structure-suppressed fluoroscopy images free of undesired/interfering motion of the suppressed structures”; [0055]-[0058]); and
providing the vasculature image on a display ([0044]-[0046], displays 34, 36, figure 1; [0049], display unit 32 configured to display suppressed images; [0055]-[0058]).
Regarding claim 10, Pizaine teaches all of the limitations of claim 9. Pizaine further teaches:
wherein generating the two-dimensional mask comprises:
registering the three-dimensional X-ray imaging data to the contrast-enhanced two- dimensional X-ray imaging data ([0010], 3D-2D registration of geometry parameters of the image data and structures to be removed to create a digitally reconstructed radiograph image of these structures for image forms a simulated non-contrast enhanced mask that is used for subtraction processing of the acquired images; [0014], “a 3D-2D registration based on a plurality of structures to be removed and geometry parameters of the image data providing unit such that a “Digitally Reconstructed Radiograph” (DRR) of these structures is generated. It is ensured that the registration will compensate for the movement of structures under consideration only and the subtraction will suppress the corresponding transparent motions from the angiography image sequences”; [0015]-[0018]; [0019], suppression of specific structures forms a mask in the subtraction processing of the output images; [0021]-[0034]; [0048], generate DRR images; [0054], “digitally reconstructed radiograph images of a 3D-2D registration of the (preoperative) three-dimensional volume of the structures to be removed from the X-ray images is generated 50. This includes the projection of the structures onto the correct viewing plane as well as a registration thereof. Still further, the digitally reconstructed radiograph images are subtracted 52 from the X-ray images for generating structure-suppressed fluoroscopy images free of undesired/interfering motion of the suppressed structures”; [0055]-[0058]); and
projecting the registered three-dimensional X-ray imaging data to generate the two- dimensional mask ([0010], 3D-2D registration of geometry parameters of the image data and structures to be removed to create a digitally reconstructed radiograph image of these structures for image forms a simulated non-contrast enhanced mask that is used for subtraction processing of the acquired images; [0014], “a 3D-2D registration based on a plurality of structures to be removed and geometry parameters of the image data providing unit such that a “Digitally Reconstructed Radiograph” (DRR) of these structures is generated. It is ensured that the registration will compensate for the movement of structures under consideration only and the subtraction will suppress the corresponding transparent motions from the angiography image sequences”; [0015]-[0018]; [0019], suppression of specific structures forms a mask in the subtraction processing of the output images; [0021]-[0034]; [0048], generate DRR images; [0054], “digitally reconstructed radiograph images of a 3D-2D registration of the (preoperative) three-dimensional volume of the structures to be removed from the X-ray images is generated 50. This includes the projection of the structures onto the correct viewing plane as well as a registration thereof. Still further, the digitally reconstructed radiograph images are subtracted 52 from the X-ray images for generating structure-suppressed fluoroscopy images free of undesired/interfering motion of the suppressed structures”; [0055]-[0058]).
Regarding claim 14, Pizaine teaches all of the limitations of claim 9. Pizaine further teaches:
wherein the vasculature image is a first vasculature image, the method further comprising:
receiving, from the two-dimensional X-ray imaging system, non-contrast-enhanced two-dimensional X-ray imaging data of the region of a subject's body and acquired prior to administration of the X-ray contrast agent, the non-contrast-enhanced two-dimensional X-ray imaging data corresponding to a different position and orientation of the X-ray imaging system relative to the region of the subject's body, the different position and orientation due to motion of the subject between acquisition of the non-contrast-enhanced two-dimensional X-ray imaging data and the contrast-enhanced two-dimensional X-ray imaging data (see [0021] and [0030] teach to further processing of an additional DRR mask for further images or iterative processing of different motions and corresponding structures to achieve additional object suppressed images as output; See also: [0010], 3D-2D registration of geometry parameters of the image data and structures to be removed to create a digitally reconstructed radiograph image of these structures for image forms a simulated non-contrast enhanced mask that is used for subtraction processing of the acquired images; [0014], “a 3D-2D registration based on a plurality of structures to be removed and geometry parameters of the image data providing unit such that a “Digitally Reconstructed Radiograph” (DRR) of these structures is generated. It is ensured that the registration will compensate for the movement of structures under consideration only and the subtraction will suppress the corresponding transparent motions from the angiography image sequences”; [0015]-[0018]; [0019], suppression of specific structures forms a mask in the subtraction processing of the output images; [0021]-[0034]; [0048], generate DRR images; [0054], “digitally reconstructed radiograph images of a 3D-2D registration of the (preoperative) three-dimensional volume of the structures to be removed from the X-ray images is generated 50. This includes the projection of the structures onto the correct viewing plane as well as a registration thereof. Still further, the digitally reconstructed radiograph images are subtracted 52 from the X-ray images for generating structure-suppressed fluoroscopy images free of undesired/interfering motion of the suppressed structures”; [0055]-[0058]);
generating a second vasculature image of the region of the subject's body, by subtracting the contrast-enhanced two-dimensional X-ray imaging data from the non- contrast-enhanced two-dimensional X-ray imaging data, wherein the second vasculature image is contaminated by an artifact arising from the motion of the subject (see [0021] and [0030] teach to further processing of an additional DRR mask for further images or iterative processing of different motions and corresponding structures to achieve additional object suppressed images as output; See also: [0010], 3D-2D registration of geometry parameters of the image data and structures to be removed to create a digitally reconstructed radiograph image of these structures for image forms a simulated non-contrast enhanced mask that is used for subtraction processing of the acquired images; [0014], “a 3D-2D registration based on a plurality of structures to be removed and geometry parameters of the image data providing unit such that a “Digitally Reconstructed Radiograph” (DRR) of these structures is generated. It is ensured that the registration will compensate for the movement of structures under consideration only and the subtraction will suppress the corresponding transparent motions from the angiography image sequences”; [0015]-[0018]; [0019], suppression of specific structures forms a mask in the subtraction processing of the output images; [0021]-[0034], structure-suppressed images form the generation of the vasculature image of the region of the subject without structures like bone; [0048], generate DRR images; [0054], “digitally reconstructed radiograph images of a 3D-2D registration of the (preoperative) three-dimensional volume of the structures to be removed from the X-ray images is generated 50. This includes the projection of the structures onto the correct viewing plane as well as a registration thereof. Still further, the digitally reconstructed radiograph images are subtracted 52 from the X-ray images for generating structure-suppressed fluoroscopy images free of undesired/interfering motion of the suppressed structures”; [0055]-[0058]);
providing the second vasculature image on the display ([0044]-[0046], displays 34, 36, figure 1; [0049], display unit 32 configured to display suppressed images; [0055]-[0058]); and
providing a user interface control to send a request to correct motion artifacts in the second vasculature image, wherein generating the first vasculature image comprises receiving a request to correct motion artifacts from the user interface control ([0044]-[0046], include the control unit and displays for controlling imaging of the system; [0060], user control of the system to continue imaging provides for correction of motion artifacts as in [0010] and [0014]-[0036] of the process of motion suppression initiated by a user operating the system).
Regarding claim 15, Pizaine teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of computer-executable instructions for digital subtraction angiography (abstract), the set of instructions comprising one or more instructions to:
receive, from a two-dimensional X-ray imaging system, contrast-enhanced two- dimensional X-ray imaging data of a region of a subject's body containing vasculature of interest and acquired after administration of an X-ray contrast agent to at least a portion of said vasculature, the contrast-enhanced two-dimensional X-ray imaging data corresponding to a position and orientation of the X-ray imaging system relative to the region of the subject's body ([0044], contrast agent into vessels for imaging using the C-arm x-ray acquisition device 12; [0047], angiographic image of a region of interest in an object, which is relative to the position and orientation that the x-ray imaging system is positioned relative to the patient; [0048]-[0052]; [0058]; figure 1, contrast agent injector 22; see also [0010]; [0022]-[0025]);
receive, from a three-dimensional X-ray imaging system, three-dimensional X-ray imaging data of the region of the subject's body acquired prior to administration of the X-ray contrast agent to at least the portion of the vasculature ([0013], preoperatively acquired 3D volume; [0014]-[0015], 3D volume; see also [0016] recitations of 3D volume acquired by CT imaging system; [0017]-[0031], see recitations of 3D volume image acquired; [0048], 3D volume; [0054], 3D volume; [0058]);
generate, from the three-dimensional X-ray imaging data, a two-dimensional mask of the region of the subject's body, the mask comprising simulated non-contrast-enhanced two- dimensional X-ray imaging data that corresponds to the position and orientation of the X-ray imaging system relative to the region of the subject's body ([0010], 3D-2D registration of geometry parameters of the image data and structures to be removed to create a digitally reconstructed radiograph image of these structures for image forms a simulated non-contrast enhanced mask that is used for subtraction processing of the acquired images; [0014], “a 3D-2D registration based on a plurality of structures to be removed and geometry parameters of the image data providing unit such that a “Digitally Reconstructed Radiograph” (DRR) of these structures is generated. It is ensured that the registration will compensate for the movement of structures under consideration only and the subtraction will suppress the corresponding transparent motions from the angiography image sequences”; [0015]-[0018]; [0019], suppression of specific structures forms a mask in the subtraction processing of the output images; [0021]-[0034]; [0048], generate DRR images; [0054], “digitally reconstructed radiograph images of a 3D-2D registration of the (preoperative) three-dimensional volume of the structures to be removed from the X-ray images is generated 50. This includes the projection of the structures onto the correct viewing plane as well as a registration thereof. Still further, the digitally reconstructed radiograph images are subtracted 52 from the X-ray images for generating structure-suppressed fluoroscopy images free of undesired/interfering motion of the suppressed structures”; [0055]-[0058]);
generate a vasculature image of the region of the subject's body, by subtracting the contrast-enhanced two-dimensional X-ray imaging data from the two-dimensional mask ([0010], 3D-2D registration of geometry parameters of the image data and structures to be removed to create a digitally reconstructed radiograph image of these structures for image forms a simulated non-contrast enhanced mask that is used for subtraction processing of the acquired images; [0014], “a 3D-2D registration based on a plurality of structures to be removed and geometry parameters of the image data providing unit such that a “Digitally Reconstructed Radiograph” (DRR) of these structures is generated. It is ensured that the registration will compensate for the movement of structures under consideration only and the subtraction will suppress the corresponding transparent motions from the angiography image sequences”; [0015]-[0018]; [0019], suppression of specific structures forms a mask in the subtraction processing of the output images; [0021]-[0034], structure-suppressed images form the generation of the vasculature image of the region of the subject without structures like bone; [0048], generate DRR images; [0054], “digitally reconstructed radiograph images of a 3D-2D registration of the (preoperative) three-dimensional volume of the structures to be removed from the X-ray images is generated 50. This includes the projection of the structures onto the correct viewing plane as well as a registration thereof. Still further, the digitally reconstructed radiograph images are subtracted 52 from the X-ray images for generating structure-suppressed fluoroscopy images free of undesired/interfering motion of the suppressed structures”; [0055]-[0058]); and
provide the vasculature image on a display ([0044]-[0046], displays 34, 36, figure 1; [0049], display unit 32 configured to display suppressed images; [0055]-[0058]).
Regarding claim 16, Pizaine teaches all of the limitations of claim 15. Pizaine further teaches:
wherein the set of instructions to generate the two-dimensional mask comprises sets of instructions to:
register the three-dimensional X-ray imaging data to the contrast-enhanced two- dimensional X-ray imaging data ([0010], 3D-2D registration of geometry parameters of the image data and structures to be removed to create a digitally reconstructed radiograph image of these structures for image forms a simulated non-contrast enhanced mask that is used for subtraction processing of the acquired images; [0014], “a 3D-2D registration based on a plurality of structures to be removed and geometry parameters of the image data providing unit such that a “Digitally Reconstructed Radiograph” (DRR) of these structures is generated. It is ensured that the registration will compensate for the movement of structures under consideration only and the subtraction will suppress the corresponding transparent motions from the angiography image sequences”; [0015]-[0018]; [0019], suppression of specific structures forms a mask in the subtraction processing of the output images; [0021]-[0034]; [0048], generate DRR images; [0054], “digitally reconstructed radiograph images of a 3D-2D registration of the (preoperative) three-dimensional volume of the structures to be removed from the X-ray images is generated 50. This includes the projection of the structures onto the correct viewing plane as well as a registration thereof. Still further, the digitally reconstructed radiograph images are subtracted 52 from the X-ray images for generating structure-suppressed fluoroscopy images free of undesired/interfering motion of the suppressed structures”; [0055]-[0058]); and
project the registered three-dimensional X-ray imaging data to generate the two- dimensional mask ([0010], 3D-2D registration of geometry parameters of the image data and structures to be removed to create a digitally reconstructed radiograph image of these structures for image forms a simulated non-contrast enhanced mask that is used for subtraction processing of the acquired images; [0014], “a 3D-2D registration based on a plurality of structures to be removed and geometry parameters of the image data providing unit such that a “Digitally Reconstructed Radiograph” (DRR) of these structures is generated. It is ensured that the registration will compensate for the movement of structures under consideration only and the subtraction will suppress the corresponding transparent motions from the angiography image sequences”; [0015]-[0018]; [0019], suppression of specific structures forms a mask in the subtraction processing of the output images; [0021]-[0034]; [0048], generate DRR images; [0054], “digitally reconstructed radiograph images of a 3D-2D registration of the (preoperative) three-dimensional volume of the structures to be removed from the X-ray images is generated 50. This includes the projection of the structures onto the correct viewing plane as well as a registration thereof. Still further, the digitally reconstructed radiograph images are subtracted 52 from the X-ray images for generating structure-suppressed fluoroscopy images free of undesired/interfering motion of the suppressed structures”; [0055]-[0058]).
Regarding claim 20, Pizaine teaches all of the limitations of claim 15. Pizaine further teaches:
wherein the vasculature image is a first vasculature image, the set of instructions further comprising one or more instructions to:
receive, from the two-dimensional X-ray imaging system, non-contrast-enhanced two- dimensional X-ray imaging data of the region of a subject's body and acquired prior to administration of the X-ray contrast agent, the non-contrast-enhanced two-dimensional X-ray imaging data corresponding to a different position and orientation of the X-ray imaging system relative to the region of the subject's body, the different position and orientation due to motion of the subject between acquisition of the non-contrast-enhanced two-dimensional X-ray imaging data and the contrast-enhanced two-dimensional X-ray imaging data (see [0021] and [0030] teach to further processing of an additional DRR mask for further images or iterative processing of different motions and corresponding structures to achieve additional object suppressed images as output; See also: [0010], 3D-2D registration of geometry parameters of the image data and structures to be removed to create a digitally reconstructed radiograph image of these structures for image forms a simulated non-contrast enhanced mask that is used for subtraction processing of the acquired images; [0014], “a 3D-2D registration based on a plurality of structures to be removed and geometry parameters of the image data providing unit such that a “Digitally Reconstructed Radiograph” (DRR) of these structures is generated. It is ensured that the registration will compensate for the movement of structures under consideration only and the subtraction will suppress the corresponding transparent motions from the angiography image sequences”; [0015]-[0018]; [0019], suppression of specific structures forms a mask in the subtraction processing of the output images; [0021]-[0034]; [0048], generate DRR images; [0054], “digitally reconstructed radiograph images of a 3D-2D registration of the (preoperative) three-dimensional volume of the structures to be removed from the X-ray images is generated 50. This includes the projection of the structures onto the correct viewing plane as well as a registration thereof. Still further, the digitally reconstructed radiograph images are subtracted 52 from the X-ray images for generating structure-suppressed fluoroscopy images free of undesired/interfering motion of the suppressed structures”; [0055]-[0058]);
generate a second vasculature image of the region of the subject's body, by subtracting the contrast-enhanced two-dimensional X-ray imaging data from the non- contrast-enhanced two-dimensional X-ray imaging data, wherein the second vasculature image is contaminated by an artifact arising from the motion of the subject (see [0021] and [0030] teach to further processing of an additional DRR mask for further images or iterative processing of different motions and corresponding structures to achieve additional object suppressed images as output; See also: [0010], 3D-2D registration of geometry parameters of the image data and structures to be removed to create a digitally reconstructed radiograph image of these structures for image forms a simulated non-contrast enhanced mask that is used for subtraction processing of the acquired images; [0014], “a 3D-2D registration based on a plurality of structures to be removed and geometry parameters of the image data providing unit such that a “Digitally Reconstructed Radiograph” (DRR) of these structures is generated. It is ensured that the registration will compensate for the movement of structures under consideration only and the subtraction will suppress the corresponding transparent motions from the angiography image sequences”; [0015]-[0018]; [0019], suppression of specific structures forms a mask in the subtraction processing of the output images; [0021]-[0034], structure-suppressed images form the generation of the vasculature image of the region of the subject without structures like bone; [0048], generate DRR images; [0054], “digitally reconstructed radiograph images of a 3D-2D registration of the (preoperative) three-dimensional volume of the structures to be removed from the X-ray images is generated 50. This includes the projection of the structures onto the correct viewing plane as well as a registration thereof. Still further, the digitally reconstructed radiograph images are subtracted 52 from the X-ray images for generating structure-suppressed fluoroscopy images free of undesired/interfering motion of the suppressed structures”; [0055]-[0058]);
provide the second vasculature image on the display ([0044]-[0046], displays 34, 36, figure 1; [0049], display unit 32 configured to display suppressed images; [0055]-[0058]); and
provide a user interface control to send a request to correct motion artifacts in the second vasculature image, wherein generating the first vasculature image comprises receiving a request to correct motion artifacts from the user interface control ([0044]-[0046], include the control unit and displays for controlling imaging of the system; [0060], user control of the system to continue imaging provides for correction of motion artifacts as in [0010] and [0014]-[0036] of the process of motion suppression initiated by a user operating the system).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pizaine as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pickert et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20200029921) hereinafter Pickert.
Regarding claim 2, primary reference Pizaine teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Primary reference Pizaine further fails to teach:
wherein the C-arm is a first C-arm, the angiography system further comprising a second C-arm configured to rotate around the table independently of the first C-arm, wherein the second C-arm comprises the three-dimensional X-ray imaging system
However, the analogous art of PIckert of a x-ray assembly system for use with at least two x-ray imaging systems (abstract) teaches:
wherein the C-arm is a first C-arm, the angiography system further comprising a second C-arm configured to rotate around the table independently of the first C-arm, wherein the second C-arm comprises the three-dimensional X-ray imaging system ([0037]-[0040], including 3D C-arm imaging teaches to primary reference Pizaine; [0041]-[0042], ceiling suspended C-arm combined with a second mobile C-arm; [0081]-[0085], figure 10 depicts a ceiling supported C-arm and a mobile C-arm which teach to first and second independently rotatable C-arms for imaging a single patient).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the C-arm x-ray imaging and image processing system of PIzaine to incorporate the dual C-arm imaging system for acquisition of both 2D and 3D images as taught by Pickert because the use of only a s